The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

KahLooN
post Feb 10 2018, 09:26 AM

~(^^)~
704 posts

Hi sifu, I have question to ask about SSD. Currently my PC is only running on SATA 2 (3Gb/s), definitely I won't able to achieve the rated speed for SSD.

Will it benefit to add SSD to my system even-though only on SATA 2?

At the moment, I have a WD Velociraptor 1TB as my main drive.
notworthy.gif

KahLooN
post Nov 10 2018, 11:35 AM

~(^^)~
704 posts

This seller in shopee selling the MX500 1TB for RM719. Is that for real?

Coz other seller was ranging from RM840.

icon_question.gif

https://shopee.com.my/Crucial-MX500-1TB-SSD...6936.1489609695

This post has been edited by KahLooN: Nov 10 2018, 11:36 AM
KahLooN
post Nov 10 2018, 12:52 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Nov 10 2018, 11:58 AM)
hmm, i saw Viewnet is selling for RM 699

http://www.viewnet.com.my/downloads/viewne...y_pricelist.pdf
Guess I'm going to drop by to Viewnet soon to found out the MX500.

Thanks for the sharing bro.
icon_rolleyes.gif
KahLooN
post Nov 11 2018, 12:15 AM

~(^^)~
704 posts

Added the last unit of MX500 and proceed to payment, keep on error.

Till last, said the unit sold out.
KahLooN
post Dec 13 2018, 08:10 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

Sifu, this is my first time buying and installing SSD. I'm running on SATA2, so is the speed correct?

The SSD is Crucial MX500 1TB.
icon_question.gif Attached Image
KahLooN
post Dec 13 2018, 10:18 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 13 2018, 09:04 PM)
SATA2 is half the bandwidth of SATA2. Thats clear bottleneck.
I think you meant SATA2 is half the bandwidth of SATA3 right?

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 13 2018, 10:12 PM)
Compare my mx500 500gb on SATA3, so I guess your speed is about right. hmm.gif
Should be since I got halve from what you got. biggrin.gif
Theoretically SATA2 at 300MB/s while SATA3 at 600MB/s.

Is a good investment as I notice the startup and shutdown quite responsive compare to mechanical drive. rclxm9.gif

0.1041sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:38 AM