Best antivirus for Laptop?, do gave ur opinion ...

TSooomieooo
post Apr 9 2007, 02:42 AM, updated 19y ago

14 posts

i have laptop, now i need to put antivirus on its but i need u guys sugestion what the best should i put on the laptop, to avoid low performence or slow loading.

ur comments were appriceated. tongue.gif
cadmus
post Apr 9 2007, 02:49 AM

too long...
1,132 posts

You can try Active virus shield. Not bad la. Great in detecting.Change the setting for the startup scan. Disable it if want fast NO-SCAN boot up.

If the laptop too slow for u, then try AVG..not as good as Active virus shield but ok la..

Both are free program.

TSooomieooo
post Apr 9 2007, 03:43 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(cadmus @ Apr 9 2007, 02:49 AM)
You can try Active virus shield. Not bad la. Great in detecting.Change the setting for the startup scan. Disable it if want fast NO-SCAN boot up.

If the laptop too slow for u, then try AVG..not as good as Active virus shield but ok la..

Both are free program.

i see, thank for the comments, i already testing kaspersky vers.6.0 its run perfectly. then i left it to my bro. he install bitdefender bcoz of virus attack. consiquenctly laptop itself become slower than b4.

This post has been edited by ooomieooo: Apr 9 2007, 03:43 AM
ycfreak
post Apr 9 2007, 06:23 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(ooomieooo @ Apr 9 2007, 02:42 AM)
i have laptop, now i need to put antivirus on its but i need u guys sugestion what the best should i put on the laptop, to avoid low performence or slow loading.

ur comments were appriceated.  tongue.gif
ur laptop doesn't come with an antivirus software (original)? You can use the kasper, around RM60 per month (Lowyat.net garage). That one should be perfect since you're paying for it and I heard lots of comments
Irzani
post Apr 9 2007, 08:02 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(ycfreak @ Apr 9 2007, 06:23 AM)
ur laptop doesn't come with an antivirus software (original)? You can use the kasper, around RM60 per month (Lowyat.net garage). That one should be perfect since you're paying for it and I heard lots of comments
Isn't that Rm60 per year? OEM version right? laugh.gif

eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 9 2007, 01:50 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(ooomieooo @ Apr 9 2007, 03:43 AM)
i see, thank for the comments, i already testing kaspersky vers.6.0 its run perfectly. then i left it to my bro. he install bitdefender bcoz of virus attack. consiquenctly laptop itself become slower than b4.
You are not advised to run BD on your laptop, it's resource heavy.

AVS should do the trick, or Kaspersky.

BTW, 1 AV per computer/lappie! Other than that please uninstall BD.
pipedream
post Apr 9 2007, 02:08 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 9 2007, 02:50 PM)
You are not advised to run BD on your laptop, it's resource heavy.

AVS should do the trick, or Kaspersky.

BTW, 1 AV per computer/lappie! Other than that please uninstall BD.
BD .. resources heavy? dun think so.. at least for my computer, i can run both ZA and BD at the same time smile.gif

on a 512mb ram
marxmannn
post Apr 9 2007, 02:16 PM

138 posts

just about ANY brand-name antivirus will do imho. usage pattern is the key... and just be cautious on ur WiFi (file sharing) usage. tap into unsecured connection at your own risk =)
pipedream
post Apr 9 2007, 02:19 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(marxmannn @ Apr 9 2007, 03:16 PM)
just about ANY brand-name antivirus will do imho. usage pattern is the key... and just be cautious on ur WiFi (file sharing) usage. tap into unsecured connection at your own risk =)
agreed, u dun need heavy avs actually if u dont surf into those warez+pron sites.. a simple AV will do
TSooomieooo
post Apr 9 2007, 03:50 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Apr 9 2007, 02:19 PM)
agreed, u dun need heavy avs actually if u dont surf into those warez+pron sites.. a simple AV will do
dude, what avs and av stand for? sorry not familier this kind stuff.
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 9 2007, 03:59 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Apr 9 2007, 02:08 PM)
BD .. resources heavy? dun think so.. at least for my computer, i can run both ZA and BD at the same time smile.gif
on a 512mb ram
Erm, usually lappies will be the one suffering. Not desktops.

Not this again... doh.gif Not in a top condition to explain today~

QUOTE(ooomieooo @ Apr 9 2007, 03:50 PM)
dude, what avs and av stand for? sorry not familier this kind stuff.
AVS - ActiveVirusShield -- AOL AVS
AV - anti virus
bean_man
post Apr 9 2007, 05:19 PM

371 posts

Err.....i beg to differ.
Just because you don't surf warez sites or porn doensn't means you are less vunerable. as an example, i once connected to my brand new streamyx connection and got hit by LSASS exploit aka sasser(or was it blaster) immediately.
simple click on a link you friend send to you via Instant Messenger would infect you with worms and trojans. Or perhaps you would like to share a tumbdrive only to be hit by brontok...
all this anot surfing porn or warez sites, yet very nasty viruses, trojans and worms propagate in various ways.

If you value you data, get a good antivirus and don't curse that it cost 'x' amount of money. its your precious data we are talking about here.

regards...
goliath
post Apr 9 2007, 05:23 PM

5,533 posts

Try NOD32. Pretty good.
pipedream
post Apr 9 2007, 07:06 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(bean_man @ Apr 9 2007, 06:19 PM)
Err.....i beg to differ.
Just because you don't surf warez sites or porn doensn't means you are less vunerable. as an example, i once connected to my brand new streamyx  connection and got hit by LSASS exploit aka sasser(or was it blaster) immediately.
simple click on a link you friend send to you via Instant Messenger would infect you with  worms and trojans. Or perhaps you would like to share a tumbdrive only to be hit by brontok...
all this anot surfing porn or warez sites, yet very nasty viruses, trojans and worms propagate in various ways.

If you value you data, get a good antivirus and don't curse that it cost 'x' amount of money. its your precious data we are talking about here.

regards...
yeah, i trust vista security and so far so good on my computer, i never do daily scan ups unlike the past, and i am living a happy AV free life on my computer

nah.. i am just kidding, its just that i am not as loaded as some of u guys are, i cant afford paying for AV just for the sake of my computer protection .. better spend that money on something else

my 0.00002 cents

oh as might as well add... i dun have any confidential data on my computer tongue.gif
Skylinestar
post Apr 9 2007, 07:43 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

use antivir. free and reliable.
natakaasd
post Apr 9 2007, 08:22 PM

2,188 posts

Sasser = Blaster. Keep Note, it was a worm, not a virus. It infects via exploits, most AV couldnt block it in time. It was under a category called Zero-Hour Exploits/Attacks. Only Programs with Excellent Heuristics like Cyberhawk, NOD32, and a few others could block it in time.

For a Lappy, NOD32 will be one the excellent choices around. It is currently the world's most Light Weight AV, which has highly Perfected Heuristics.

On the other hand, For Excellent Signature Based Detections, Kaspersky, AVS (Uses Kaspersky Engine), AntiVir and of course BD are the other choices. Use Symantec at your own risk. laugh.gif

Hopefully this can aid your decision making. Cheers!
adriankhoo153
post Apr 10 2007, 08:06 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

AVG 7.5. Fast n doesn't cramp up ur lappy
intune
post Apr 11 2007, 08:15 PM

LOWYAT 1ST MALAYSIA 2nD
879 posts

NOD32 my recomendation. Low memory usage and doesnt hog cpu resources.
TSooomieooo
post Apr 13 2007, 12:45 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(intune @ Apr 11 2007, 08:15 PM)
NOD32 my recomendation. Low memory usage and doesnt hog cpu resources.
owh, thank guys for ur opinion, NOD32 ermm what that stand? wassa that norton or what...
SUSDiligent Sloth
post Apr 13 2007, 02:40 AM

Lowyat VPN provider
880 posts

Bit of trivia here, it stands for 'Nemocnica na Okraji Disku'

0.0171sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:50 AM