Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

mytaffeta
post May 21 2019, 06:07 AM

1,324 posts

hi sifu, can suggest me 20' folding bike that suit my budget around 1.5k.. im eyeing on XDS evo k1.. is that bike good for a starter?
mytaffeta
post May 21 2019, 11:22 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(gck @ May 21 2019, 02:19 PM)
I absolutely love the K1, if not mistaken is below 11kg which is quite ok weight for the money and spec.
would this be good choice within my budget? saw in BBS there also dahon speed d8, 1.8k.. should i go with that one? plan to use in hill road as well..

1) xds evo k1
2) java pro 4
3) dahon speed d8 (single chairing)
4) java ira (but this one stretch bajet)
4) dahon boardwalk (my friend recommend, touring spec but single chairing?)
mytaffeta
post Jun 3 2019, 04:09 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(ron c @ Jun 3 2019, 02:16 PM)
Hi guys, what is your take on the XDS K1?
RM1.6K, 18 speed and design looks great...at least to me.
i did raised this question before, i like the bicycle too.. someone suggest to go for java ira.. also i did go to 2 shop, they seems kurang on the xds k1..
mytaffeta
post Jun 3 2019, 05:06 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(ron c @ Jun 3 2019, 04:43 PM)
Java Ira looks nice but the XDS K1 looks more sleek with the curved frame.
How much is the Java Ira by the way?
1.9k but the frame is chromoly.. i have not bought yet.. maybe after raya and still gathering info.. anyone have experience with dahon mariner d8?
mytaffeta
post Jun 7 2019, 10:58 AM

1,324 posts

After scrolling2 bbs, im eyeing on dahon speed d18 2019 or dahon archer r p18.. eventho same kac083 frame, archer is heavier.. which one will sifu here buy?
mytaffeta
post Jun 21 2019, 09:40 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 21 2019, 08:00 PM)
here is the summarized of 3 different bike.

java pro 4
- disc brake
- 451 wheelset
- aluminium frame
- 52/42 crankset 18speed groupset

java ira
- caliper brake
- 451 wheelset
- chromoly frame
- carbon fork
- 52/42 crankset 18speed groupset

xds k1
- disc brake
- 451 wheelset
- aluminium frame
- 50/34 crankset with 18speed groupset

happy hunting!
sifu, do you know dahon speed d18 crankset? can change xds k1's crankset only similiar to dahon speed?
mytaffeta
post Jun 28 2019, 02:14 AM

1,324 posts

xds k1 smaller chainring is too small 34T and the brake disc is not grip compare to dahon v brake.. other than that k1 is a good bike..
mytaffeta
post Jul 11 2019, 02:11 PM

1,324 posts

the new camp c9 specs at 1.5k is super great..
mytaffeta
post Jul 30 2019, 08:15 AM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jul 27 2019, 11:14 PM)
After looking around, I think I would like to get a folding bike. Seems to fit with my lifestyle better, anyone has any recommendations on where I check out some of the bikes? Also, is 24 inch that rare? I feel that the 20" wheel a little small.
usjcycles but dont buy there..
mytaffeta
post Aug 8 2019, 09:15 AM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Aug 7 2019, 03:40 PM)
small wheel the defining feature of a foldie. if you want a big wheeler, go full sized, because a big wheel on a foldie just defeats the benefits of fold.
i second this! 20' or less..
mytaffeta
post Aug 24 2019, 01:53 AM

1,324 posts

Bought tern verge p9 today at lerun warehouse.. hehe.. handlepost height cannot adjust like dahon?

This post has been edited by mytaffeta: Aug 25 2019, 12:19 AM
mytaffeta
post Aug 24 2019, 04:13 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Aug 24 2019, 06:44 AM)
Sales cheaper?  Price now?
60% off from 3.9k.. i think mine is 2014 verge..
mytaffeta
post Sep 4 2019, 09:43 AM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 3 2019, 08:47 AM)
i have both dahon speed d18 and tern verge p9.. after few test ride on both bike, i would say dahon speed is my favourite.. verge is super good at handling, very firm and sturdy.. but when u reach 20kmh, u need more effort to go further.. unlike dahon, u can feel the speed momentum mean you can do more with less effort, maybe due to chromoly frame.. dahon is my choice.. hehe laugh.gif
mytaffeta
post Sep 5 2019, 01:30 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(luthansa @ Sep 5 2019, 08:43 AM)
Putrajaya. Already msg Kimbell Jaya. They have last unit of Dahon Speed. Maybe going to check today 😁
Tq.
dont waste ur time go check kimbell jaya.. last time i go there no stock but in BBS updated few hours before.. i bought from KnL cycle serdang, they got stock rm2680 if not mistaken.. enjoy bro.. saya biasa ride putrajaya juga..
mytaffeta
post Sep 5 2019, 05:01 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(luthansa @ Sep 5 2019, 04:59 PM)
Noted. Just came back from Kimbell. Got last unit of Speed D18
nice! is a very good bike.. my fav.. hehe... hw much u got that d18?
mytaffeta
post Sep 9 2019, 03:03 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(Affn @ Sep 7 2019, 01:58 PM)
Hello & happy weekends guys. A newbie here. I've learned a lot reading through this forum in just a few days and also a lot of confusion also. 😂 I came across this fb account selling fnhon folding bikes & parts. Anyone bought folding bike or parts from this seller before?

https://m.facebook.com/fnhon/
yes, he is a FB enthusiast, trusted seller.. smile.gif
mytaffeta
post Sep 11 2019, 03:22 AM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 9 2019, 09:30 PM)
monday wet blues

#smallwheelbigheart
abam, tern minivelo 451 can fit to verge p9? no need to change the kinetix brake right? looks like the positioning is adjustable..
mytaffeta
post Dec 6 2019, 10:00 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(icedlink @ Dec 6 2019, 03:29 PM)
Any advice for stray dog issue while cycling?

Today I encountered a pack of dogs... they were barking and chasing me, incline road for about a short distance, I made no eye contact and continued my pace. Luckily a passer by Car gave the dogs a good Horn, then they stopped chasing after me ...  phew..  cold sweats
encountered once when cycling in rimbayu housing area at night.. 2 guards dog chasing us.. fuh pedal full speed! biggrin.gif
mytaffeta
post Dec 21 2019, 01:29 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(Bumblebee2000 @ Dec 21 2019, 12:41 AM)
I’m a total newbie here and have been reading through posts from V1 to V6 and been doing research for past few months. I’m coming to a decision point of getting either a Dahon Speed D18 (RM2500) or Dahon Archer P18 (domestic China) (RM2300). I can’t find much information on Archer P18 but it’s a Tiagra 9 Speed + rear Derailleur but with ProWheel Hollow Crankset and Microshift Front derailleur. Is it a worthy buy compared to Speed D18 which comes with Sora components? Needs some expert opinion here.

Thank you very much in advance.
dahon speed d18 is my favorite FB..
mytaffeta
post Dec 22 2019, 07:39 AM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(Bumblebee2000 @ Dec 21 2019, 04:56 PM)
I like Speed too. Ask heard Archer is the same as Speed. Just that it’s called a different name in China. So, now in dilemma on whether to get a D18 or P18. I read that D is deluxe and P is Performance so I’m guessing P18 is better but I think will also need to look at the components to know.
d18 is using full shimano sora on a 406 wheelset while p18 is mix microshift and tiagra on a 451 wheelset.. may due to larger wheel, p18 is more to performance..

0.1240sec    1.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:15 AM