Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

lerijiso
post Feb 26 2020, 09:39 AM

842 posts

Hi. First time posting in this tered.

Wanted to get into cycling but I have no space to keep a full size bike, hence the interest on folding ones.

I Went to Rodalink Bayan lepas yesterday in search for one but they don’t have stock for a tern d9 which is what I’ve been eyeing for a while now.

I’m stretching my budget to 3k but that’s probably the most I’m willing to spend for a foldie. If I can find one for less than that the better because I still have to get accessories like helmet n other stuff as well.

Since I’m a beginner.. any other suggestions for other models that I should be looking into?

Also where to get it in Penang or Seberang Perai area? Need help.

Edit: I’m not a hardcore rider.. just looking for some motivation for exercising and get healthier. I’m not opposed to getting bike online too if there’s a good deal. Just needed a starting point.

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Feb 26 2020, 09:45 AM
lerijiso
post Feb 26 2020, 07:31 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Feb 26 2020, 06:55 PM)
tern d9 is a good choice, if u can't find it in penang why not travel to other place to get it? of course call to ask for stock 1st.

else have a look on taobao? those customized built fnhon. if u like tern d9 then fnhon vg2018 looks alike.
https://shop.m.taobao.com/shop/shop_index.h...id=520363905100
They have one at rodalink bangsar. They Said if I confirm I want it they’ll bring it here.

Those Fnhons looks great. Many Sifus here also praise them a lot. I don’t mind it but taobao gg. Now with the outbreak situation, might encounter shipping problems. Also, i can’t read mandarin so a bit tough to negotiate.

I’ll go foldie hunting again this weekend when I’m free
lerijiso
post Feb 27 2020, 09:00 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Feb 27 2020, 08:21 AM)
had u ask rodalink penang to oder the tern d9?last time here in Ipoh got PMJ Bikes that bring tern to Ipoh, i odered few things from them. not that fast, but at least u save money from travelling :thumbsup:
Yeah. They can do that. I have yet to decide what bike I want to buy.. that’s why I hesitated to ask them to order it and bring it here. I’m still doing google research and mainly reading this thread to gain more information on foldies.

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Feb 27 2020, 06:09 PM)
D9.... 👍

Haha. Where is this ?

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Feb 27 2020, 09:01 PM
lerijiso
post Feb 29 2020, 07:13 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Feb 29 2020, 03:43 AM)
wah bos your house ceiling so high....
Edit: *mansion

Btw. I ordered the tern d9 from rodalink yesterday. Wait for it to be shipped here.. probably by next Friday I should get it. Last unit.. silver green.

Will be my first bicycle in almost 20 years. Last time during secondary school got a cheapo mtb.. first n last bike. Everyday did wheelie and felt so proud lol.

Now will have to get accessories. Need to spend more money.
lerijiso
post Mar 2 2020, 09:38 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 2 2020, 07:44 AM)
Congrats. 1stly find good helmet, lights (if u wanna cycle at night), gloves, and some good cycling attire. fint penang foldies at FB to join their ride
1 bike 1st lor..later poison him more  devil.gif
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 2 2020, 07:49 AM)
oh ya lerijiso do remember after a while ur bike need some maintainence and services.
Thanks for the friendly advice.

I’ll learn as I go.

Do I need to get a pump as well?
lerijiso
post Mar 2 2020, 03:58 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Mar 2 2020, 01:38 PM)
lolol. i thought verge series dont have these.
lerijiso
post Mar 9 2020, 12:54 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2020, 09:30 AM)
last time, i owned ka1606.
what i do, i change the rear hub from freewheel to freehub and change front crank 53/39.
its good setup. enough for mostly route, accept for flat road. feel not enough gearing

so

i change to 55/42 crankset.
a bit heavy, and good enough gear. problem occur is the rolling feel. still feel not enough rolling compare to 20" 406

Nice picture. I know this place. Alor Setar.

Anyway..what is rolling feel?
lerijiso
post Mar 18 2020, 09:42 PM

842 posts

Is it the norm to have the rear brake on the right lever and vice versa?

I remember when i last ride bicycles, which was circa 20 years ago, its always right lever for front brake and left lever for rear brake.

im still not used to it.

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Mar 18 2020, 09:43 PM
lerijiso
post Mar 18 2020, 10:39 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 18 2020, 10:29 PM)
It's easily switchable.

I switched mine because I am used to motorcycle, front brake on the right lever
yeah..wouldn't that be more logical/sensible? like a motorbike. or is it a US vs UK/european thing?

anyway..think im gonna switch it mine too. Since we're in lockdown..now i have time to do it.

lerijiso
post Jun 7 2020, 09:06 PM

842 posts

My handle post is creaking. I’m still diagnosing where the sound came from. Must be from the folding mechanism area.. I have to grease it right? What grease you guys use for this type of application?
lerijiso
post Aug 2 2020, 03:28 PM

842 posts

My paddle on the right side kept coming loose. The other day I kept paddling and felt it coming loose. Lucky it didn’t fell out while I was cycling in the middle of the road. Now I can see there is damage to the thread inside the crank. This is not good. The Right paddle is screwed in clock-wise. Is this correct? Shouldn’t they make it anti-clockwise? So that the rotation of your paddling tighten it instead of loosening it.. if you Understand what I mean.

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Aug 2 2020, 03:29 PM
lerijiso
post Aug 2 2020, 03:29 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Jul 31 2020, 08:34 AM)
what saddle do u guys use or recommend for long distance riding? u all can ride 100km buntut no sakit ka? tongue.gif
I want to know too.
lerijiso
post Aug 3 2020, 01:35 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 3 2020, 10:11 AM)
i guess someone force it in the wrong way

u can try use red loc-tite to permanently put it in place
Ouch..I need to send it back to Rodalink for servicing if that’s the case. The handle post also a bit loose d. Got minor play. Mileage around 90km only. Bought just before MCO. I never posted pictures of it here.. might as well.

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Aug 3 2020, 01:41 PM

lerijiso
post Aug 9 2020, 08:48 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 9 2020, 04:40 PM)
here u go

Shopee Link
can,. no problemo. my friend done it before bcoz wanna used fold out handlepost on his trinx ka2016. currently, his eyeing on carbon fork after this laugh.gif
I want to get litepro carbon handle bar and seatpost from Ali express but I dunno which one to get? This kind of price legit or not?

lerijiso
post Aug 9 2020, 08:53 PM

842 posts

Post some pics first.

lerijiso
post Aug 10 2020, 09:16 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 10 2020, 08:30 AM)
seatpost is 33.9mm length around 580-600mm
handlebar is 25.4mm

dont know is it original or not. i stop using litepro product for some item coz of the fake issue. but not to worries, carbon are not easily to broken, but it can cracked :lol
Itulah pasal. Any other alternatives to recommend? I want to avoid litepro if possible.
lerijiso
post Aug 31 2020, 06:59 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(shsu @ Aug 30 2020, 10:27 PM)
Thanks for the hints....

Could visit 2 bicycle shops here in Penang.
1. Giant Store: only have 4 types in stocks, cheapest is 1350 RM, then 1800 RM, the other 2 more expensive, so I did not even ask.
2. Lim Cycle Outlet, only have 16" or smaller, could see a Java which cost 1300 RM. The 20"in what they refer as beginner bikes are all sold out. Next delivery mid of Sept.

So, still need to hunt further.
Bro.. how’s the hunt going?

Poison a bit.

lerijiso
post Nov 3 2020, 09:09 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Oct 30 2020, 05:21 PM)
Managed to remove the pedal & its thread seems OK. However, I think the crank's thread is not OK. There's a lot of thin wire poking out of the crank's thread surface & I can't fully install the pedal back. sad.gif

Will have to bring it back to Rodalink for further inspection.
Same bro. I had this problem too. Mines on the right paddle. Same model, D9 same colour also. I think crank thread also damaged. I managed to screw it back in but I dunno how long it will remain screwed in. I have yet to go back to Rodalink for inspection and servicing.

Do post update when u go Rodalink for inspection.

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Nov 3 2020, 09:14 AM
lerijiso
post Mar 5 2021, 04:08 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 5 2021, 07:52 AM)
good morning everyone!
ready to enjoy ur ride this weekend?

Haha...BROMPNOT. I like

0.1224sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:56 PM