Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion
cute_boboi
Sep 10 2020, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 10 2020, 11:28 AM) most of folding bike will feel like that. its main disadvantage of folding bikke. but even dahon and tern also got the same problem, as time fly by and depends on usage (if both bike same milage, same rider) dahon and tern will last longer than java. if u know how to maintain/tighten the flex then it should be no problem with it. java also a good bike, and nowdays many china bike also good if i were u and got a hole in my pocket i wont dare to try. few years back when folding bike are not popular, and parts are very hard to find (that time im using mongoose), i've tried my friend dahon speed p8 ended up im buying dahon vybe. 6 month after that im bought my verge and 6 month after the verge my sister wanted my vybe and i ended up finally with speed p8. haiyoo.. dont even dare to try  Can give some advise on what to regular check and tighten up ? I notice my dahon handle post (above front fork) got squeaking noise (not the handlebar). I already try to check/tighten the quick release bolt, but seems still there. Also when pedaling, squeaking sound from either the chain/RD/rear-hub. No squeak if not pedalling. Thanks in advance
cute_boboi
Sep 10 2020, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 10 2020, 01:56 PM) a video might help a bit. in ur case, i presume it maybe from the bold joining handlepost and fork. if ur freewheeling, does that sound come?if got, then ur hub got problem video will be difficult to take while cycling  it's either the handlepost folding joint (or inner bolt) or the quick release to extend the handlepost higher up  e.g. when go over a road bump, *ngek ngek* (twice) sound. Then no more sound if flat road. Unless I use my arm to horizontally force push-and-pull the handlebar -> the handlepost will have that *ngek ngek* sound. Freewheeling = no squeak sound. Should I put lubricants on the RD gears ? Long long long time ago (not this foldie), used to just put Singer oil. Thanks again bro.
cute_boboi
Dec 10 2020, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(Venge @ Dec 10 2020, 11:03 AM) Any thoughts on Dahon Speed P18 Glo? Price close to 4k, is it worth it? Hardly found any review for it online though I bought mine at end-2018 which is Dahon Speed D18 2019 (picture below) which looks exactly the same as the P18  wonder what is the difference between D18 and P18 - same Sora 2x9 - same seat pump - etc.
cute_boboi
Dec 18 2020, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(talexeh @ Dec 18 2020, 10:51 AM) azamunekurone can I check with you what's the function of this part for the Tern Verge series? Can it be removed? I think my chain is rubbing against it when I use gear 8 & 9.  My understanding is to prevent the chain from drop-off the chain-ring and scratch the frame or crank, even though you don't have a FD. Also the difficulty and dirty to mount back the chain when you are outside cycling. Sure it can be removed but be aware of the risk. I think you can adjust it by loosen/tighten and rotating it slightly around the seat post there.
cute_boboi
Feb 2 2021, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(gck @ Feb 2 2021, 02:37 PM) covid can't travel so gotta revert to a larger wheel for speed and distance. 14" 16" all masuk store waiting for air travel to be opened back. Anyway becareful with smaller wheel like 14" especially when passing bump or potholes, a lady friend of mine just fell, landed on face ,chin has to be patched up, leg n palm all kena. due to bump. she say on roadbike can just ride thru, 14 inch terbalik Even mine 20" when passing certain high bump, if one pedal at lowest point (and the other pedal at highest), my crankshaft/arm scratch the bump. Lost balance for split second, but not going fast over bump and recovered. Have to remember put both my leg pedals at similiar height. Now my left crank joint with pedal there, scratch until can see metal already Used to ride 26" mountain bike and never encounter this issue.