QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 14 2018, 08:18 AM)
Not necessary lor :-

1) can be used for reducing tax with some proper plannings
2) for hedging purposes against future risks
3) a good  form of savings/assets  for passing down to children
4) Wealth protection
5) etc, ( think out of the box )

U also talk like a cash flow guru now, well encouraging sign too biggrin.gif
Unless one buy property with cash it incur bank interest. To hedge for future, wealth protection, for heritage with incurring loan interest and liability doesn't make financial sense.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 14 2018, 09:09 AM
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 14 2018, 09:10 AM

13,759 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 09:07 AM)
Unless one buy property with cash it incur bank interest. To hedge for future, wealth protection, for heritage with incurring loan interest and liability doesn't make sense financially.
Cocr and leverage gain both hav own strength. End day must suit own portfolio.

Opportunists can go either way. DOA.
icemanfx
post Apr 14 2018, 09:12 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Apr 14 2018, 09:10 AM)
Cocr and leverage gain both hav own strength. End day must suit own portfolio.

Opportunists can go either way. DOA.
Leverage amplify profit as well as losses.

ManutdGiggs
post Apr 14 2018, 09:18 AM

13,759 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 09:12 AM)
Leverage amplify profit as well as losses.
Take note of my statement 😉 read between lines n und the key words.

Thanks for elaborate further but repeating is unnecessary.
SKY 1809
post Apr 14 2018, 09:36 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 09:07 AM)
Unless one buy property with cash it incur bank interest. To hedge for future, wealth protection, for heritage with incurring loan interest and liability doesn't make financial sense.
U are right ..in the sense ..in herd thinking/behavior way. ( by having some very narrow perspectives ) .

Do u know why some listed companies have 300M loans ( borrowings ) ..and also having 500M cash, they do not have financial sense ?

At one time , Apple borrows Billions too, while keeping tonnes of cash with them, no financial sense ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 14 2018, 10:00 AM
icemanfx
post Apr 14 2018, 10:04 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 14 2018, 09:36 AM)
U are right ..in the sense ..in herd thinking/behavior  way..or similarly  to Rule of 80/20, also a herd thinking way , coz  the bulk ( 80% ) of the population have the same thinking as u  ( by having some  very narrow perspectives ) .

Do u know why some listed companies have 300M loans ( borrowings ) ..and also having 500M cash, they do not have financial sense  ?

At one time , Apple borrows Billions too, while keeping tonnes of cash with them, no financial sense  ?
There are differences between corporate and individual, business and wealth protection, etc. Leverage is essential on one doesn't mean for all.

On AAPL, their cash is in offshore; borrowing is in the u.s. if you aware how u.s tax works, you will understand their reasons of borrowing.

For reasons, only 3% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth.

ManutdGiggs
post Apr 14 2018, 10:10 AM

13,759 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 10:04 AM)
There are differences between corporate and individual, business and wealth protection, etc. Leverage is essential on one doesn't mean for all.

On AAPL, their cash is in offshore; borrowing is in the u.s. if you aware how u.s tax works, you will understand their reasons of borrowing.

Be the 1%
SKY 1809
post Apr 14 2018, 10:12 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 10:04 AM)

U mean Corporates not owned by Individuals or people ? by whom ? AI ?

And these Individuals always buy with cash ? otherwise like u say , with no financial sense ?

Didn't I say tax planning as to asnwer yr earlier Q ?

" Isn't investment is about making profit? "

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 14 2018, 10:24 AM
Just Saying
post Apr 14 2018, 10:17 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 12:46 AM)
Suggest you reread my statement. One doesn't has to be a tycoon to be contented.

I have no feeling, enemy or losses on cbj, there is nothing to revenge. I am just here to share facts, reality check and 2¢ worth of what I have learned from my lecturers.
Suggest u dump what u learnt from your lecturer. Wonder which ‘top’ university that produced such rigid student like you. Definitely not Oxford or Cambridge. Textbook smart but lacks in experience and practical knowledge.
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 14 2018, 10:23 AM

13,759 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 14 2018, 10:12 AM)

And these Individuals always buy with cash ? otherwise like u say , no financial sense ?

Didn't I say tax planning as to asnwer yr earlier Q ?

" Isn't investment is about making profit? "
QUOTE(Just Saying @ Apr 14 2018, 10:17 AM)
Suggest u dump what u learnt from your lecturer. Wonder which ‘top’ university that produced such rigid student like you. Definitely not Oxford or Cambridge.  Textbook smart but lacks in experience and practical knowledge.
Pls dun blame her 🙏🙏🙏

Mood swing happens due to PMS
icemanfx
post Apr 14 2018, 10:25 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 14 2018, 10:12 AM)

And these Individuals always buy with cash ? otherwise like u say , no financial sense ?
There are many approach to investment. A financial instrument suitable for one doesn't mean suitable for all. Gearing amplify profit as well as losses.

Most hedge funds would avoid 1:9 leverage on illiquid assets.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 14 2018, 10:34 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 14 2018, 10:36 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 10:25 AM)
There are many approach to investment. A financial instrument suitable for one doesn't mean suitable for all. Gearing amplify profit as well as losses.

Most hedge funds and reit avoid 1:9 leverage on illiquid assets.
U are shifting your Goal Post every minute of the day , to make sure u win every topic u discuss..no one can bet u for sure thumbup.gif

The original Goal Post put up by u was " Isn't investment is about making profit? " vmad.gif
icemanfx
post Apr 14 2018, 11:51 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Just Saying @ Apr 14 2018, 10:17 AM)
Suggest u dump what u learnt from your lecturer. Wonder which ‘top’ university that produced such rigid student like you. Definitely not Oxford or Cambridge.  Textbook smart but lacks in experience and practical knowledge.
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 14 2018, 10:36 AM)
U are shifting your Goal Post every minute of the day  , to make sure u win every topic u discuss..no one can bet u for sure  thumbup.gif

The original Goal Post put up by u was " Isn't investment is about making profit? " vmad.gif
When the herd is blinded by greed couldn't distinguish wheat from chaffs.

ManutdGiggs
post Apr 14 2018, 12:16 PM

13,759 posts

Fun minizer is fun
Soros007
post Apr 14 2018, 12:17 PM

3,852 posts

Talk like an expert with loud sound as if empty tim w/o cover.

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 11:51 AM)
When the herd is blinded by greed couldn't distinguish wheat from chaffs.
icemanfx
post Apr 14 2018, 01:50 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(Soros007 @ Apr 14 2018, 12:17 PM)
Talk like an expert with loud sound as if empty tim w/o cover.
When a hedge funds leverage 1:2 on a highly liquidity assets is generally considered high risks. What's more leverage 1:9 on a illiquid assets.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 14 2018, 01:52 PM
wsoon82
post Apr 15 2018, 12:35 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 14 2018, 01:50 PM)
When a hedge funds leverage 1:2 on a highly liquidity assets is generally considered high risks. What's more leverage 1:9 on a illiquid assets.
Theory and real life can be very much different. Your lecturers may have mastered the theory but why they still need to teach you to earn a living? Apply what you have learnt then you will start to realise what is real life, learn from mistakes and improve continuously, make your lecturers proud of you.
Beware a lot of books are written by western people and their theory may not be applicable to asian considering local culture etc.
icemanfx
post Apr 15 2018, 12:48 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(wsoon82 @ Apr 15 2018, 12:35 AM)
Theory and real life can be very much different. Your lecturers may have mastered the theory but why they still need to teach you to earn a living? Apply what you have learnt then you will start to realise what is real life, learn from mistakes and  improve continuously, make your lecturers proud of you.
Beware a lot of books are written by western people and their theory may not be applicable to asian considering local culture etc.
Accounting, finance and economic like science and mathematics could apply universally and doesn't limit or restrict by culture.

what's wrong with teaching? some central bankers teach after retiring, and many central bankers were academics.

wsoon82
post Apr 15 2018, 08:26 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 15 2018, 12:48 AM)
Accounting, finance and economic like science and mathematics could apply universally and doesn't limit or restrict by culture.

what's wrong with teaching? some central bankers teach after retiring, and many central bankers were academics.
Cultures will influence the structure of economy for example we like to save money like to own property vs. Western, are different.

Nothing wrong with academy but you need to apply then it become yours. I am sure you find those lecturers able to share real life experience are much more interesting and useful.

According to a psychologist, when people give you advice, good or bad, the first thing you should do is say "thank you", that would make you more successful.
icemanfx
post Apr 15 2018, 08:49 AM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(wsoon82 @ Apr 15 2018, 08:26 AM)
Cultures will influence the structure of economy for example we like to save money like to own property vs. Western, are different.

Nothing wrong with academy but you need to apply then it become yours. I am sure you find those lecturers able to share real life experience are much more interesting and useful.

According to a psychologist, when people give you advice, good or bad, the first thing you should do is say "thank you", that would make you more successful.
The difference between the west and the east on buying property is not culture but social welfare. Most Western countries have social welfare to provide council housing, old aged home, etc and it is not a necessity to own a house at old age.

Real life is indeed more interesting and challenging than acedemic. It is sad to see so many are mislead and chasing something unrealistic.

Should tell these to the herd blinded by greed. It is a no wonder that most herd end up in slaughter house.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 15 2018, 08:53 AM

133 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:42 PM