Luno Malaysia, Your experience, reviews, thoughts

sleepwalker
post Jul 23 2021, 08:28 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Jul 23 2021, 05:40 PM)
I see from another thread here that PBE will just outright ban your account if they see Luno transaction.

May I know what banks are you all using (and highly recommended) to receive from Luno?
Luno is transferring via a local company that is registered with the local securities commission. Why would PBE ban the account? Post that link here.
sleepwalker
post Jul 24 2021, 12:41 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Jul 23 2021, 10:41 PM)
Luno does not just send money from any account. It goes through MTrustee Bhd via Ambank as their chosen bank via IBG. That's what it shows in my Maybank account. It's not breaking any rules for bank to bank transfer in Malaysia. So unlikely that it will be flagged. I haven't gone back to read this few hundred pages but I'm sure if any accounts got banned for accepting money from Mtrustee Bhd Luno would have been listed in this thread and not in Binance thread.
sleepwalker
post Jul 24 2021, 06:32 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(skyzone101 @ Jul 24 2021, 04:49 PM)
All Luno accounts around the world can stake BTC to earn APY% if not mistaken around 3% Except Luno Malaysia. It written in their T & C. Fark shits treat Mesians like bozo clown customers. Others Luno also can trade USDC
Not treat Malaysian's like bozo. This is due to Syariah compliance.
sleepwalker
post Jul 25 2021, 12:04 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 24 2021, 08:42 PM)
got backup ma
what is the official jakim stand regarding crypto in malaysia?
It is syariah compliant because it is trading. That is the reason why for Malaysian market it cannot earn interest as that would not be syariah compliant.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/sc-s...s-says-chairman
sleepwalker
post Aug 19 2021, 07:27 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyCat @ Aug 19 2021, 03:27 PM)
Anyone know when will Luno staking come to Malaysia?
There won't be staking as Luno Malaysia is syariah compliant.
sleepwalker
post Nov 11 2021, 08:38 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(JollyRogers @ Nov 11 2021, 01:56 AM)
Rate in LUNO is US$1 = Rm4.12x
He asking about this lah !
If you are looking at the market charts, that is not the exchange rates. BTC/MYR is against local Malaysia market price and is not converted from BTC/USDC. If you take the 2 charts and compare, there is some co-relation but they are not exact conversion and there are some deviation. The BTC/MYR rates depends on what the local exchange is willing to set the BUY/SELL prices in LUNO Malaysia.
sleepwalker
post Nov 13 2021, 08:04 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Nov 13 2021, 01:26 AM)
Just go convert Luno underlying and you know why got sucker paying 2% more in FX chargesĀ  doh.gif
You still don't get it. You are not buying/selling spot prices with LUNO. You are buying against seller in LUNO's exchange in MYR. The LUNO exchange is where everyone sets their buy/sell price just like Stock Exchange. That is why it is called an Exchange. You are confusing with buying/selling FOREX where you deal directly with the broker and not another person who is also buying/selling.

Just look at LUNO's exchange and on the right column you can see the Order Book. Those are the prices and quantity that people are offering to buy and sell in LUNO exchange in MYR. There is no exchange rate to BTC.

Go and read the article below on Binance own Exchange where BTC price plunged 87% to USD 8k on Oct21 but you don't see actual SPOT price of BTC making this move. It all happened within Binance's own Exchange. This is how LUNO's exchange operates too.

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/banki...o-algorithm-bug

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Nov 13 2021, 08:08 AM
sleepwalker
post Jan 6 2022, 06:14 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(ultimate93 @ Jan 6 2022, 12:42 PM)
Hi guys, i would like to buy ETH from my Luno BTC wallet, but it aborted with error currency pair not enabled, any ideas?
Luno Malaysia only supports Crypto/Fiat pairs in MYR at the moment. It does not support Crypto/Crypto pairs yet like other countries. Very likely due to restrictions put upon by the Malaysian SC.

https://www.luno.com/en/countries/MY

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jan 6 2022, 06:14 PM
sleepwalker
post Jan 31 2022, 08:49 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(zeilouz @ Jan 31 2022, 12:30 AM)
Yup - at times i do sell at the market too, but was wondering if i were to sell 50-100 eth instantly, can the myr liquidity support?
I don't see why not. There is a even a bid for 99 ETH in the Malaysian Luno market at the time I took this screenshot a few minutes ago.

sleepwalker
post Jan 31 2022, 08:51 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Ikankoring @ Jan 31 2022, 01:07 PM)
How does this work. Buy kena charge 2%
Sell another 2%?
This is only if you don't want to wait for bids for your sale. The 2% is the price you pay is the risk Luno takes to instantly fulfil your order.
sleepwalker
post Jan 31 2022, 08:52 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Ikankoring @ Jan 31 2022, 04:30 PM)
How to sell @ exchange
Go to the exchange and make your sale there instead of selling directly from your wallet.
sleepwalker
post Feb 17 2022, 08:22 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Joseph @ Feb 16 2022, 05:59 PM)
Bank did not call you and ask why and from where these much money goes into your saving account?
Banks only call you when the funds come from dubious sources. LUNO is regulated by Malaysian SC and they are not going to be bothered unless you transfer millions of bitcoin from another country into LUNO and then sell it there and transfer the money to your bank account. This is where LUNO will keep an eye out for as part of their regulations. If you transfer 200K to LUNO, make 50% profit and transfer 300K back to your bank, LUNO is not going to report as a suspicious transaction since they know you made your money in LUNO and not laundering it.
sleepwalker
post Feb 19 2022, 05:07 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(archief @ Feb 19 2022, 04:54 PM)
what is the max RM value that we can withdraw b4 bank give u a call?
btw luno will pay to ur bank account, or someone else ? is this like P2P?
LUNO Malaysia is approved my Malaysian Securities commission as a Digital Exchange. You transfer money there, make money and transfer back to your account will not be questioned by the authorities. They are not going to report you either because that is not their job unless they suspect dubious transfers from out of Malaysia.
sleepwalker
post Feb 19 2022, 05:10 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Feb 19 2022, 12:03 PM)
Some banks might call you and ask for the transaction background.
Not from Luno because they already know where you are transferring from. It's the same as transferring money to a Malaysian Broker to buy shares in Bursa Malaysia and back. Nobody is going to question that.
sleepwalker
post Feb 19 2022, 05:47 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(archief @ Feb 19 2022, 05:21 PM)
how do they know if transfer from outside malaysia?
if i have usdt in bin***e wanna cash out, i convert to xrp, then send to luno and cash out in msia. will this kena?
Unless you are transferring in the millions that raise a red flag as a possible money laundering, the answer is no. LUNO Malaysia is a Malaysian company and a proper Digital Exchange. Not P2P. THey hold billions of ringgit in assets held by Malaysians. The moment you transfer to LUNO they already know it belongs to you as LUNO's exchange wallet is tied to your IC number. You don't even need to cash out but they are not going to care unless it raises a lot of red flags.
sleepwalker
post Mar 28 2022, 08:37 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Mar 15 2022, 01:35 PM)
I checked split screen between Luno & Huobi. Luno's prices seems to react really slowly, whereas Huobi fluctuates real time. So don't know which one is accurate, will affect the maker/taker price or not?
With LUNO Malaysia, you are trading with Malaysian Exchange. This has been explained many times. It is not converted from USD to MYR. You are trading your bitcoin with other LUNO Malaysia users in the exchange and not in the global market.
sleepwalker
post Aug 6 2022, 04:51 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 6 2022, 09:59 AM)
Also will get trace de... haha
Not really. To LUNO you will just be transferring from your own account in a VASP to your luno account. If it is a registered VASP, Luno will not ask for verification since it can get the transfer details from the VASP. So you can dump all your transfers from any personal wallet to that VASP and then transfer to LUNO.
sleepwalker
post Aug 6 2022, 07:14 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 6 2022, 06:36 PM)
what is VASP?
Businesses that operates exchanges and allow people to send/receive crypto just like LUNO's business.
sleepwalker
post Sep 19 2022, 01:17 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(emale @ Sep 18 2022, 08:39 PM)
SOL is available to trade on Tokenizer. I still do not see it in LUNO?
Based on recent news Luno will add Cardano (ADA) on 21 September 2022 and Solana (SOL) on 6 October 2022.
sleepwalker
post Nov 5 2022, 05:06 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Nov 5 2022, 12:39 PM)
Exactly. Luno is NOT a bank and Luno is NOT a financial institution.
So why accept changing your practices to a bank/financial institution.

Its one thing implementing it when the SC requires you to in order to maintain your license, but don't take the stand that Luno asking the Malaysia crypto community to abandon some fundamentals of crypto which is to be permissionless as something good for them. Adding hurdles and negatively impacting user experience and ease of use is not good for any business.

Actively comparing to a bank lowers user's trust on Luno as a crypto institution when you then say you are not a bank.
How can people lose trust in an exchange when it has proper regulation? If you don't want to be totally anonymous then you have to maintain your own wallet to hide your identity. This is the requirements to operate in Malaysia with the convenience of working with Malaysian banks. Forex don't even get this chance as the SC made the framework for crypto before forex.

LUNO is operating as a proper exchange and not for people to launder money through them. They don't need that kind of business.

0.1342sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:00 AM