Luno Malaysia, Your experience, reviews, thoughts
sleepwalker
Mar 15 2023, 05:26 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 15 2023, 07:46 AM) Possible liquidity shortage. And these is how fake news are started and people make bank runs. It is a security feature stated in their FAQ on newly activated accounts. Even some of our local banks are now enforcing a delay when a new devices are added to bank apps or changes in transfer limit to fight scams/fraud.
sleepwalker
Apr 20 2023, 12:33 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(MrBaba @ Apr 19 2023, 10:41 PM) Mr luno can come out address this ?? Ross has left Luno and currently working for Binance.
sleepwalker
Apr 24 2023, 04:32 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(jack2 @ Apr 23 2023, 02:56 PM) How did you know Ross has left and working with Binance? Binance needs insiders to introduce to secure the position. I applied several times without news although I have good experiences in financial markets. There is this thing called Linkedin...
sleepwalker
Jul 14 2023, 01:02 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Kopistall @ Jul 14 2023, 07:52 AM) Luno is having a glitch, the MYR price is lower than USD price. Btc now around 144k but luno only 135k. It's not a glitch. You buy/sell bitcoin with MYR at the LUNO Malaysia exchange. It is not based on conversion or spot bitcoin prices in USD. Arbitrage trading will eventually 'even' out the prices. This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jul 14 2023, 01:04 PM
sleepwalker
Jul 14 2023, 01:06 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(John Chaser @ Jul 14 2023, 09:14 AM) Yeah, you are correct. Now XRP is up. Looks like there's aggressive selling going on. No he's not correct. This is where people make money from arbitrage trading. They buy the bitcoin at a lower price in the Malaysia exchange and sell it for higher price in another country. When you purchase anything from LUNO Malaysia you are buying against the people selling it in LUNO exchange in Malaysia priced in MYR. We have gone through this in many postings in here. Since Malaysia is a small market, the price will take a little time to catch up once the arbitrage traders come in. This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jul 14 2023, 01:08 PM
sleepwalker
Nov 24 2023, 10:26 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Nov 24 2023, 01:08 AM) sent from binance to ownself in luno and got asked to provide info for the transaction on luno's end whats up with that? was thinking about exiting the market using luno but now it seems like it'll get flagged and banned for something that is essentially my own money? btw what is the best way to cash out BTC and USDT? just swap it with a cheap fee crypto like LTC and then cash out from there? Just provide the info. Why would you get flagged and banned for providing info on yourself.
sleepwalker
Dec 10 2023, 11:37 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(tshihmin @ Dec 10 2023, 08:19 PM) Not good. Luno track transactions. All regulated exchanges track transactions. Why do you think CZ from Binance got charged for? The response was for the question on where to start and Luno is about the safest anyone can start in Malaysia.
sleepwalker
Dec 10 2023, 11:38 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(kembayang @ Dec 10 2023, 08:48 PM) What maximum amount on Luno will not be flagged? Are you asking about the maximum amount you can trade in Luno or how much you can money launder before getting caught?
sleepwalker
Dec 11 2023, 08:05 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(tshihmin @ Dec 11 2023, 07:50 AM) What I meant is exchange asking to provide info for transaction. Binance didn't ask to provide info for transaction is good. That is only if you are doing any form of crypto transfers. If the person is interested to start purchasing crypto from LUNO and trading it as BTC/MYR pairs, there will be no questions asked by LUNO.
sleepwalker
Dec 22 2023, 03:13 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 22 2023, 01:14 PM) The latest updated Luno app has PIN/Fingerprint verification before login. Dislike this feature Biometric verification has been available for a very long time now. It's not a new feature.
sleepwalker
Feb 10 2024, 11:28 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(maxmillion @ Feb 10 2024, 09:19 AM) I've been trading on Luno forever. Usually the spreads arent that large with the broader market. If anything, Luno is often slightly above the market price (USD Price of BTC converted to MYR). Last night, CNY Eve, bitcoin exploded and I was shocked there was a RM5k differential. I quickly bought up thinking it would close quickly. It usually does. But no, woke up early and the differential had grown to RM7k. Now one could argue that is is coincidental, that such a large gap opened up same time as CNY Eve. The alternate explanation is, the pool of BTC buyers is so small on Luno in MY, that as price rose, people bought along the way. And the funds amongst that pool has been exhausted. Could be. It could be a bunch of whales trading against whales with some retail. Anyways, I've offloaded and converted to USDT...too dangerous to keep BTC as BTC on Luno. When there's price action, the market cant keep up! Anyway if anyone wants a ref code, PM me. Im a level 3 on Luno. That's usually because the large arbitrage traders weren't in the market at that time. Gaps are always closed by the arbitrage traders taking advantage of the price difference in various overseas exchanges. The opposite happens too as we've seen up to 20k differentials in Dec when BTC drops RM20k and nothing moved on Luno. That's how the arbitrage traders make their money.
sleepwalker
Feb 10 2024, 12:02 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 10 2024, 11:49 AM) this is weird considering that arbitrage is nowadays automated territory (bcos it's free money/risk free trades) unless they are human chinese traders  Automated only if the trade is automatically executed. Latencies are bound to happen on a small local exchange like Luno Malaysia hence some quick spikes are not even reflected in the local exchange.
sleepwalker
Oct 21 2024, 02:26 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Oct 20 2024, 05:55 PM) so how will the 2% dividend tax affect luno users? Dividends are company payouts to shareholders. This will not affect Luno users.
sleepwalker
Nov 23 2024, 07:51 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Nov 23 2024, 06:39 AM) That's a good simple explanation that I understand thank you. God bless you. Bro. Besides Luno is there other exchanges I can transfer my coins to & cash out into my bank account. Thank you. Wait what? After spending so many replies trying to explain this to you in the bitcoin topic you finally get it? Here is a list of SCM registered digital exchanges as alternatives to Luno: https://www.sc.com.my/regulation/guidelines...asset-exchanges
sleepwalker
Nov 27 2024, 03:32 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 27 2024, 03:01 PM) Seems like Luno is updating the price with real time now At least i can keep track with about same value as per MooMoo chart (currency & crypto) Like slight delay compare to big gap amount Luno's price is set by the price last traded in the Malaysian Exchange and not set by Luno. If someone buys at 415K, then that is the price published by Luno. 20 seconds later, if a buy order at 414K is done because someone decided to sell it at a lower price, then 414K is the price updated in LUNO. We have explained this many times before in here.
sleepwalker
Nov 27 2024, 03:38 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(gashout @ Nov 27 2024, 03:35 PM) It should be based on buyer seller price. Correct. To say luno needs to rebalanced the price isn't quite right. That's not Luno's business model. Can only say the market is pretty dead in luno to have such huge price discrepancy as compared to other exchange price Yeap this happens in every small exchange since they will have less liquidity and hence borne the arbitrage traders.
sleepwalker
Nov 27 2024, 03:58 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Nov 27 2024, 03:50 PM) Bro. You MooMoo user, is it better than Luno, any comments from you ? MooMoo is an online trading platform and not a digital exchange so you can't compare it with Luno. You can't buy bitcoins from them but they do have ETFs.
sleepwalker
Nov 30 2024, 09:55 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 30 2024, 09:03 AM) just want to add on that crypto trading is open for Moomoo SG, but you must be a PR/citizen (singpass) to trade https://www.moomoo.com/sg/invest/crypto-trading Yes but it's not an exchange and wallet. Practically spot trading with broker. Can't transfer crypto in and out yet unless they are regulated as an exchange.
sleepwalker
Jan 12 2025, 12:29 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Jan 11 2025, 11:47 PM) You are correct. This is normal for most if not all exchanges. The answer is obvious. Something else to ponder, what happens if the exchange suddenly disappears/bankrupt/MIA/etc.? There is nothing to ponder. Not your wallet, not your coins. The same with your money in Bank accounts and why they have PIDM protection against the bank going under. E-Wallets don't have that kind of protection but the company that runs e-wallets will they you they are too big to fail yadayadayada.
sleepwalker
Feb 3 2025, 09:08 PM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 3 2025, 05:02 PM) No wonder last year news got guy lost 700k from his Luno app. And sue Luno but lost. And that proves that it's not Luno's fault.