Luno Malaysia, Your experience, reviews, thoughts

honsiong
post May 7 2021, 10:33 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(diehardfans @ May 7 2021, 10:20 AM)
Yes, the fee is 2% each, so u need to margin at least 6% in order to get a little of profit. pls correct me if i am wrong
Fee is 0.5% top in exchange mode, don't use simple mode.
honsiong
post Jun 2 2021, 01:12 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(ismail268 @ Jun 2 2021, 01:14 AM)
Hello,

Ismail here.

Any update on the Flare networks Spark Token airdrop support in LUNO ?
Who is Ismail? Don't think Luno support any kind of airdrops, please keep coins in your own wallet unless you wanna trade them.
honsiong
post Jul 6 2021, 02:09 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(juan22 @ Jul 6 2021, 01:01 AM)
it doesn't matter when Bitcoin surpasses RM300,000. drop in a bucket, think long term!
Yes... but that's still 4% gone. 4% of RM 300000 is RM 12000 still. That's half a perodua axia per bitcoin loss.
honsiong
post Oct 29 2022, 05:06 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ross_Luno_MY @ Oct 29 2022, 02:06 AM)
Hi bro,

My name is Ross and I am the Community & Education Lead for Luno Malaysia.

I can help to explain this new regulation.

We call this the "Foreign Exchange Notice"
- This is nothing new, it's something that BNM already has implemented in our banking system
- We are just following their regulation and adding it to Luno

Who is NOT AFFECTED by this regulation?

- Basically, if you do not have any loans = Not affected at all
- Also, if you are sending crypto from Luno to other local regulated exchanges = Not affected at all
- If you only have 1 house loan  = Not affected at all
- If you only have 1 car loan = Not affected at all
- If you have only 1 house & 1 car loan together = Not affected at all

Who IS AFFECTED by this regulation?

- If you have more than 1 house and car loan combined = Affected
- If you have 1 personal loan = Affected
- If you have 1 business loan = Affected

What happens if you are affected?

- Basically you will have a limit of RM 1 Million per year to send crypto from Luno to any other overseas exchange/Private wallet.
- If you hit the 1 Million per year limit you just need to apply for permission from BNM to transfer more (it can be done from the app)
- Most users still won't be affected by this because very few people transfer more than 1 Million per year unless you are a whale.

Hope this explains it a bit better

If you have any follow up questions just let me know smile.gif
Happy to answer and clarify  thumbup.gif
We need more companies' reps to participate in forums.
honsiong
post Nov 17 2022, 07:23 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ross_Luno_MY @ Nov 17 2022, 02:02 AM)
Hello

We’d like to reassure everyone that Luno Malaysia’s operations are not impacted by the recent announcement by Genesis Capital (Genesis’ lending arm).

1) If you can kindly go onto Twitter you can read a statement from our CEO, @marcswane
(I apologise I am unable to share the link as LowYat doesn't let me share links yet)

2) There is also a blog update to reassure that all LUNO customer funds are safe.
- Please go to Google and type "An update on Luno’s Savings Wallet" and you should be able to find it

Additionally, the Savings Wallet has never been operating in MY.
And FTXUS is not impacted by FTX until the last minute.

Blockfi is perfectly fine until the last minute.

Centralised Finance incl Luno is opaque and will be fine until they suddenly halt withdrawals.

Not your keys, not your coins. Do your trade on these centralised exchanges and withdraw everything as soon as you are done.

Our cryptos are pure liabilities for Luno anyway, if they are do everything right by the book.
honsiong
post Jan 7 2023, 12:07 PM

3,182 posts

US Prosecutors are going after Luno's parent co DCG Bloomberg
honsiong
post Jan 15 2023, 01:19 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(babyjian @ Jan 12 2023, 11:16 PM)
Just some beginner question, I did notice Luno mention dynamic fees when transfer the ETH. Do the dynamic fees purely gas fees or Luno top up, on top of the existing gas fees charged
I noticed from my last withdrawals, Luno does take a cut approx 50%, it doesnt refund us the gas unused.
honsiong
post Jan 29 2023, 10:53 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(juan22 @ Jan 29 2023, 04:01 AM)
Very good to hear! That means ringgit is safe, right? What about crypto? What happens to crypto funds if Luno goes bankrupt?

Seems Luno laying off 35% of employees. how bad is it for Luno Malaysia?
Ross just left Luno. Not gonna expect replies from him.
honsiong
post Apr 11 2023, 10:57 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(dreamers1016 @ Apr 6 2023, 08:35 PM)
hi, would like to ask would it be possible to send my ETH from Luno to my own metamask ?
Yes.

0.1120sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:26 AM