Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

eehong
post Sep 4 2017, 02:06 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Aug 31 2017, 10:56 PM)
This is latest FTTH modem provided from TM.

I don't know the spec.

Just want to confirm is this better than Alcatel Lucent modem?

If yes I'll make my alcatel modem spoilt and claim latest modem from TM.
I'm using this modem, got it when first installed unifi in 03/2016. it's a modem by FIBERHOME (nvr heard of it though).
anyone using this modem apart from me?

eehong
post Sep 4 2017, 09:37 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Sep 4 2017, 03:18 PM)
Can you capture the modem label at bottom of the modem?
rear

front

This post has been edited by eehong: Sep 4 2017, 09:39 PM
eehong
post Sep 4 2017, 10:39 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Sep 4 2017, 10:35 PM)
Thank you! That's the one I mentioned before. Do u know the LAN port is gigabit port or fast Ethernet?
not sure about the LAN whether is fast or Gigabit, since my unifi is only 50M sweat.gif

anyone here using this modem as well?
eehong
post Sep 18 2017, 08:22 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Sep 17 2017, 04:49 PM)
Guys wta i am from streamyx will be upgrading to Unifi, will they be giving me a new modem or they will be using the same streamyx modem?

I am hoping it will be a new modem bcs this streamyx modem always need to restart it after awhile...
OMG Unifi also have this issue?? I have this same problem as you but i am on 4mbps streamyx. I am now upgrading to unifi 30mbps thought won't have this kind of problems anymore...
been on UNIFI since 03/2016. so far so good, no service disruption encountered, but need to restart both modem & router at times..
apart from the pricing RM179, so far am satisfied nod.gif
eehong
post Oct 26 2017, 11:13 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Oct 26 2017, 08:56 PM)
no more ftb & fws, the fiber cable will be pull from the grey box straight into your house and into your huawei btu port. no more cut here and there to reduce troublesome troubleshooting in the future. you can talk to the installer about where to pull the fiber cable.
IMO, it's better to have fiber switching point, rather than pull straight from "green terminal hub" or "tiang hub". becos if we accidentally break the fiber cable that leads to modem, at least can be replaced easily, if not have to call TM come replace...imagine the fiber cable run from tiang/hub to modem. damn long & troublesome cry.gif
eehong
post Oct 26 2017, 11:18 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(afif92 @ Oct 26 2017, 11:16 AM)
Try cari Wifi Extender brand Tplink..Saya tak pernah try tapi tgok orang lain pakai mcm ok..
am using combo of ASUS AC1200G+ & TPLINK WA850RE. am satisfied with the speed & coverage so far, reasonable price as well rclxms.gif
eehong
post Nov 3 2017, 03:28 PM

218 posts

for the Streamyx BB package, i still dont get why TM rolls-out this kind of package:
1. 2Mb-RM83
2. 4Mb-RM88
3. 8Mb-RM89
I think it's a no-brainer to sign up for the 8Mb package, since price diff for these 3 packages is only RM6....
really weird for TM to make such move hmm.gif hmm.gif

eehong
post Nov 3 2017, 03:31 PM

218 posts

can we already sign-up for the Streamyx Bonanza package now? becos TM website still no sign of these packages, either for streamyx or unifi.

This post has been edited by eehong: Nov 3 2017, 03:32 PM
eehong
post Nov 3 2017, 03:38 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(chingyee79 @ Nov 3 2017, 03:32 PM)
becox not everywhere got 8mb。some place only support 2,4mb。。
QUOTE(DeZeque @ Nov 3 2017, 03:34 PM)
but not area can get 4mbps and 8mbps
and our PM still talking about how M'sia is a advanced country blush.gif
TM cant even standardized minimum broadband speed across whole peninsular, cant even deliver the min. bandwidth needed, but wanna charge exorbitant price bangwall.gif
IMO, at least standardized min broadband speed to 10Mb la...we're not asking like our neighbour country, which their fiber can go up to 1Gbps..
eehong
post Nov 3 2017, 05:20 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(horras @ Nov 3 2017, 04:48 PM)
Ya... can.. i just grab it yesterday at tm point cyberjaya...
what if i'm still under 2yrs streamyx contract? *(signed up this year)
can choose the RM89 8Mb bonanza package? any idea?

This post has been edited by eehong: Nov 3 2017, 05:21 PM
eehong
post Nov 23 2017, 08:07 AM

218 posts

called 100 yday afternoon and told CS i got the SMS for RM10 upgrade (even though I nvr get it at all)
upon checking their system, he said that I'm eligible for the RM10 upgrade and ask me when did I received the SMS, I just simply said last week icon_idea.gif

the package is as such:
(+)Internet: RM299
(-)Discount: RM200
(+)JumboPack: RM60
(+)HyppTV: RM30
=RM189+6%

contract is 24 months, but I didn't ask nor did he mentioned anything about modem & router warranty extension. Is it extended for another 1 year?

I'm currently using FIBERHOME modem as given by TM last year, anyone knows whether this modem support Fast or Gigabit Ethernet?

CS told me technician will call and appt with me to check my modem for compatibility. and it takes 7 working days for this plan to be activated.

now all I can do is...WAIT for the incoming 100Mbps thumbsup.gif
eehong
post Nov 23 2017, 02:11 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 23 2017, 10:46 AM)
got include free calls for your case?
yes, free calls STD20 (600mins) included. but I have no use for it
eehong
post Nov 23 2017, 02:11 PM

218 posts

I'm currently using FIBERHOME modem as given by TM last year, anyone knows whether this modem support Fast or Gigabit Ethernet?
eehong
post Dec 5 2017, 01:44 PM

218 posts

my installation was supposed to be yday, but no one called to confirm. installer only called when he was coming & i told him i was already out of the house. I asked him whether do I get any new modem & router, and he said no hmm.gif
because my contract is extended for another 2yrs, so I should get a new modem & router, right?

after speedtest, DL is around 100Mbps, but UL still stucked at 20Mbps. Do I need to call TM and ask them to update in their system of my new package (100DL/50UL)?

my package is:
30Mbps->50Mbps(TYC2017)->100Mbps(+RM10 upgrade)
eehong
post Dec 5 2017, 01:55 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Dec 5 2017, 01:51 PM)
Yes it supports gigabit. No new equipments if the current ones you have can support 100mbps plan.

So what was the installer supposed to do when he comes to your place? Just to test out the speed?
i thought for contract renewal, we'll get new modem & router??

the installer said he just wanna come check & test the equipment see whether can support or not, and he don't know whether TM's system have already amend my new speed.
the weird thing is, I can get around 100Mbps on DL, but only 20Mbps on UL hmm.gif

need to call TM?
eehong
post Dec 5 2017, 09:31 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Dec 5 2017, 01:58 PM)
Contract renewal extends the warranty of your equipments for 1 year, BTU is lifetime. So if all the equipments you have now can support it then it won’t be replaced.

Your installer should report it since he is in charge of testing it.
installer didnt come to my place, only through phone. since my modem is capable of Gigabit, I supposed TM just need to activate on their side? weirdest thing is, i can get 100Mbps DL, but only 20Mbps UL shakehead.gif
eehong
post Dec 5 2017, 09:34 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 5 2017, 02:35 PM)
This BTU is gigabit so generally TM won't change it. What about your router? Which one do you have? If it's an old model, they'll give you a new one. If all are current equipment then just the warranty will be extended.
I'm using my own router now (ASUS RT-1200G+), the one & only router I got during installation on 03/2016 was the silverbox maritime router, the one w/o dual-band. they should give me a new one like the TPLINK C1200 right?
eehong
post Jan 24 2018, 10:22 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jan 24 2018, 10:20 PM)
anyone facing damn slow connection ? Petaling Jaya area
ya, am in Bdr Utama, PJ area....snailllllllllll speed vmad.gif
eehong
post Feb 13 2018, 08:21 AM

218 posts

am using 100Mbps (RM189 RYE package), setup as follow:

ASUS AC1200G+ as my router on groundfloor
TPLINK WA850RE as range extender on 1st floor
desktop PC on 2nd floor connected to the range extender via TPLINK WN821N wifi receiver

3 users in my home, normal web browsing, no heavy youtuber & i'm the sole person who torrents via BitComet at times & game via PS4 which is connected via LAN on groundfloor

my issue is whenever i'm torrenting & gaming, internet speed will slow down greatly, to the point that google mainpage take seconds to load, youtube mainpage take more than 10 seconds to load, and slow browsing speed to other sites as well. this issue is even more obvious when i'm torrenting.
and i've tried torrenting with only 1 file running, not multiple torrent files. and the D/L speed is only around 1000-2000kb/s, not lighting fast speed.

pls any sifu can enlighten me what's going wrong here notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
eehong
post Feb 13 2018, 01:59 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 13 2018, 10:11 AM)
3 flrs... Extender... U already lost half the speed.. wifi lose more.

Try testing everything with Ethernet. If good, u hv the perennial issue "I hv bad Wi-Fi in my big house with unifi... What do i do?".
ya, understands that more than 50% of the speed will be lost when using extender. but the issue is even when I'm only torrenting with 1 file, the speed is too low for others to even browse/youtube. and when i'm online using PS4, the speed will be slow as well, although i'm not playing multiplayer, just sign into PSN/PS4 connected to internet.
that's where i don't get it?! why would the speed be so slow even though only 3 ppl using, and that's w/o heavy torrenting/no heavy youtuber/no heavy website browsing/no multiplayer gaming cry.gif cry.gif

can't try the torrenting via LAN cable as my PC is on 2nd floor..router on groundfloor

0.0474sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:55 AM