Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

bobds78
post Jan 21 2018, 06:37 PM

1,777 posts

Calling All Sifu, my main PC which is connected via Lan cable to my RG Innatech RG4332, has no internet suddenly and no matter what I do to revive the line I am still without internet, and checking on the Local Area Connection Status there are no Internet over both IPV4 and IPV6.

After doing some research I manage to gain some internet by changing the DNS server to google DNS which is the 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 servers, but very limited access as only some sites can be reached and lowyat.net is one of the few allowed. And the status says I have IPV6 Internet but the IPV4 still no Internet.

Can anybody let me know what should I do?

Thanks in advance.
bobds78
post Jan 21 2018, 07:15 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 21 2018, 06:57 PM)
What did you do to try to revive the line?
Power Off and On the TM units, resetting the adapter, the usual thing

This is what my status looks like:

Only IPV6 connectivity sweat.gif

This post has been edited by bobds78: Jan 21 2018, 07:17 PM
bobds78
post Jan 21 2018, 08:04 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 21 2018, 07:39 PM)
Does your PC have an IPv4 address? You can see this in Details.
Yes it does
bobds78
post Jan 22 2018, 02:47 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 21 2018, 11:02 PM)
Is that assigned from the router? ie: DHCP or manually assigned or automatically assigned? Run "ipconfig /all" and " route print" and paste the results here.

Can you ping your router?

On the router does pppoe get an IP from TM? Does the IP begin with 172?
I will reply here with the results once I get home tonight thx.

BTW, you said [On the router does pppoe get an IP from TM? Does the IP begin with 172?], what do you mean by this? How do I go about checking this?

Thx in advance.
bobds78
post Jan 22 2018, 06:23 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 21 2018, 11:02 PM)
Is that assigned from the router? ie: DHCP or manually assigned or automatically assigned? Run "ipconfig /all" and " route print" and paste the results here.

Can you ping your router?

On the router does pppoe get an IP from TM? Does the IP begin with 172?
Hi here's the route print:

BTW, what do you mean by this [On the router does pppoe get an IP from TM? Does the IP begin with 172?]
bobds78
post Jan 23 2018, 09:29 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 22 2018, 06:45 PM)
You type "route print" wrongly but doesn't matter. "ipconfig /all" shows that your PC is not getting an IPv4 address from your router. The 169.x.x.x address for your PC is automatically assigned when it can't find a DHCP server.

Your router and internet seems to be working since your PC is getting an IPv6 address from, presumably, your router.

- What router are you using?
- How about other devices, are they OK?
- Can you logon to your router and check that the DHCP server is not disabled? Since your IPv4 is not working, in order to connect to the router, you'll have to manually assign an IPv4 address to your PC. It needs to be in the same subnet as your router. So depending on the router, this can be 192.168.1.x or 192.168.0.x. x = random number < 254 but not 1. In fact, once you do this, you should also be able to access the internet if the router is working.

Just saw that you have an RG4332 router. Try setting 192.168.0.33 (subnet mask: 255.255.255.0, gateway: 192.168.0.1) on your PC. After that see if you can access the router at 192.168.0.1. Also try a website. This is all assuming that you have not changed the IP addresses of the router from their defaults.
Ok I will try that when i get home and report back here thx!

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 22 2018, 06:50 PM)
Disable IPv6. It will be more stable if you do that.
I thought IPV6 has more address locations than IPV4? Is that gonna help?
bobds78
post Jan 23 2018, 11:42 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 23 2018, 10:38 AM)
unifi ipv6 performance is inconsistent, that's why rather off it, plus a slightly lighter load on router for lesser task to run
Okay will try that too, thx for the input bro.
bobds78
post Jan 23 2018, 01:00 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 22 2018, 06:45 PM)
You type "route print" wrongly but doesn't matter. "ipconfig /all" shows that your PC is not getting an IPv4 address from your router. The 169.x.x.x address for your PC is automatically assigned when it can't find a DHCP server.

Your router and internet seems to be working since your PC is getting an IPv6 address from, presumably, your router.

- What router are you using?
- How about other devices, are they OK?
- Can you logon to your router and check that the DHCP server is not disabled? Since your IPv4 is not working, in order to connect to the router, you'll have to manually assign an IPv4 address to your PC. It needs to be in the same subnet as your router. So depending on the router, this can be 192.168.1.x or 192.168.0.x. x = random number < 254 but not 1. In fact, once you do this, you should also be able to access the internet if the router is working.

Just saw that you have an RG4332 router. Try setting 192.168.0.33 (subnet mask: 255.255.255.0, gateway: 192.168.0.1) on your PC. After that see if you can access the router at 192.168.0.1. Also try a website. This is all assuming that you have not changed the IP addresses of the router from their defaults.
SUCCESS!! Thank you very much!!
bobds78
post Jan 23 2018, 06:18 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 23 2018, 04:08 PM)
OK, great. It's working because you set a manual ip for your PC but the bigger problem of why the PC is not automatically getting an IP address from the your router via DHCP remains unsolved. How about other laptops or phones? Are they OK?

First thing you can do is connect to the router at 192.168.0.1 and check if the DHCP server is disabled.
Yes soonest I set them with the static IP all have access now.

0.2463sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:01 PM