Changing Car Antenna

TSseesawseen2k
post Jul 31 2017, 04:46 PM, updated 9y ago

268 posts

Hi

My car antenna (as shown in the photo below) is broken.
Anyone know where i can buy a new one?
normally it cost how much ?
Thanks!

Zot
post Jul 31 2017, 04:54 PM

7,938 posts

What car is this? I think this is easy to change because it looks like it is screwed externally
TSseesawseen2k
post Jul 31 2017, 07:35 PM

268 posts

it's Nissan
similar to the one in this photo
it's retractable

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 31 2017, 04:54 PM)
What car is this? I think this is easy to change because it looks like it is screwed externally
Zot
post Jul 31 2017, 07:53 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(seesawseen2k @ Jul 31 2017, 07:35 PM)
it's Nissan
similar to the one in this photo
it's retractable

Retractable antenna can be found in ost accessories shops I'm sure you can find one that fit the hole but it is sold s one complete set
joefbi
post Aug 5 2017, 12:32 PM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

If u dont mind of modification, or must using a brackets, any aftermarket/accessories shop antenna can be used to replace. Mind the antenna slot are universal, accessories shop antenna comes with few different hole-base to match ur car, also they have a universal bracket to fix inside (OEM antenna bracket maybe can be use back or not), usually cannot be use back because of different antenna body-mounting (OEM antenna is mounted to the OEM bracket and this bracket was installed into inside car panel). Also mind the wiring will be not the same as OEM. u have to figure it out, which wires goes to which (accessories antenna got no socket or will not same as OEM socket wiring).
usually wiring are;
1. power 12v+
2. Ground
3. Acc 12v+
4. remote input.

the easiest way is, find 2nd hand, used or halfcut condition, OEM antenna to replace the broken antenna (the exact antenna model for replacement)..its just PnP.
TSseesawseen2k
post Aug 5 2017, 02:17 PM

268 posts

woh this is so details
i dont mind modification, just worry its seem troublesome.
It's an old car, just need an antenna to listen to radio, as simple as that haha
Thanks bro

QUOTE(joefbi @ Aug 5 2017, 12:32 PM)
If u dont mind of modification, or must using a brackets, any aftermarket/accessories shop antenna can be used to replace. Mind the antenna slot are universal, accessories shop antenna comes with few different hole-base to match ur car, also they have a universal bracket to fix inside (OEM antenna bracket maybe can be use back or not), usually cannot be use back because of different antenna body-mounting (OEM antenna is mounted to the OEM bracket and this bracket was installed into inside car panel). Also mind the wiring will be not the same as OEM. u have to figure it out, which wires goes to which (accessories antenna got no socket or will not same as OEM socket wiring).
usually wiring are;
1. power 12v+
2. Ground
3. Acc 12v+
4. remote input.

the easiest way is, find 2nd hand, used or halfcut condition, OEM antenna to replace the broken antenna (the exact antenna model for replacement)..its just PnP.
joefbi
post Aug 8 2017, 10:51 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

QUOTE(seesawseen2k @ Aug 5 2017, 02:17 PM)
woh this is so details
i dont mind modification, just worry its seem troublesome.
It's an old car, just need an antenna to listen to radio, as simple as that haha
Thanks bro
actually its not that hard as what u heard..
we are not doing rocket sience..haha
just go the the acc shop, ask them to install the antenna..easy meh
BaronVonchesto
post Sep 24 2017, 12:01 PM

102 posts

just go to a big car accessory shop. There are lots of different antennas. Ask them to try and fit one that looks good. Else you can probably get the original one online at ebay,

0.0140sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:49 AM