QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Jul 21 2017, 07:11 AM)
No instruction or manual?
The instruction/manual is extremely bare and doesn't say anything except connect it. It's meant for the US market after all.
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 21 2017, 07:49 AM)
haha...thank you for trying out the August doorbell.
anyway, getting a transformer is not difficult. The problem is where do you hide this transformer? behind the switch, the lobang is not big enough. Your wiring also may not be ready for it as it needs neutral and live wire
if you are willing to do some hacking then it is easy, just bury the transformer inside wall
get a 240VAC to 16-24VAC transformer. The two black wires (your 2nd and 3rd pic) is connected to the output from the transformer. The input part please take care not to electrocute yourself.
like this -
doorbell (pic1) ------ backplate with the two wires (pic 2&3) --------16-24VAC out Transformer 240VAC in ------->your wall wiring is for the switch. you somehow need neutral and live to be available so you can connect these to the transformer input
I really recommend a wireman to do this if you are not familiar with working with AC
btw did you kena any import tax for it? did you also consider the Ring doorbell?
Already planning to pay to do hacking for this if required to. Been asking wireman around and no one would do it as they are unfamiliar.
Yes, kena import tax on the whole thing. I bought the set with the August Smart Lock, Doorbell Cam and Smart Keypad. Did not consider the Ring. Reason for it is for airbnb digital lock - so I can remotely deal with digital keys, unlock remotely and a physical keypad in case digital is not my guest's cup of tea.
QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 21 2017, 08:53 AM)
it doesnt matter. the august doorbell is nothing but a switch that triggers your smartphone via wifi
there is no chime box
this thing is a pain in the ass, thats why i gave up the idea long ago. i aint paying 1k for a doorbell when nobody rings it
im staying in a condo, no visitors except for those on my floor can visit me anyway

I think that's right - the doorbell is just a switch. Again, my reason for using it is for Airbnb purposes - where it makes sense as my unit is in Cyberjaya and I'm located in KL. Remote unlock for guests, digital keys and keypad unlock all will make 24 hr check in useful.
QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jul 21 2017, 09:13 AM)
This shall be the common doorbell setup in Malaysia house
If the topic starter does have existing indoor chime/doorbell unit ready, next step is have to measure the wires connecting to the door bell switch using a multimeter.
If the voltage measured is AC, and falls within the voltage range specified in the August doorbell, then it is a good to go.
If it is not, then consider changing to another indoor chime/doorbell.
One thing shall be noted: those battery operated only chime/doorbell won't work on August doorbell.
Right now, I don't have an existing indoor chime unit. There are the wires:

but I've not bought a unit yet.
Are you saying that I can buy a unit that has a transformer built in and then the switch would be 16-24V as it is a loop with the wire there? Any idea what kind of chime unit has that in Malaysia?
Thanks all for your input!