333 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V6, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners

niceguypenang
post May 2 2018, 07:48 AM

193 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by niceguypenang: May 2 2018, 07:51 AM
niceguypenang
post May 2 2018, 07:51 AM

193 posts

I am new to Toyota and would like to ask for owner advice.

Is the new 2017/2018 entry level Toyota Vios batch having much issue?
What are the common issue encounter?

I am thinking of switching to Toyota Vios from my Nissan Almera.
danieltan
post May 2 2018, 09:25 AM

Abuthen
750 posts

QUOTE(niaosuan @ May 2 2018, 01:57 AM)
Same specs had installed <a href='https://<link removed>/2018/01/04/toyota-vios-updated-for-2018-new-bodykit-more-kit/' target='_blank'>aerokit 2018</a>
:droll: mind to see what ur car look like. Sure look great with 2018 year bodykit compare last 2017 trd version
ameyhazuan
post May 2 2018, 12:24 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 2 2018, 07:51 AM)

I am new to Toyota and would like to ask for owner advice.

Is the new 2017/2018 entry level Toyota Vios batch having much issue?
What are the common issue encounter?

I am thinking of switching to Toyota Vios from my Nissan Almera.
Is there any issue you heard off? As far as i know, nothing major for Vios except poor assembly qc. If you are lucky (unlucky actually), you will get rattling dashboard sound. With a bonus, you will get here and there sound as well. But all those are easily fixed. Before this, i have the tendency of ramming my car to a lamp post or push it to the drain because i got fed up with the service center. Not until i learnt how to overcome the problem i had.

My personal comparison between vios and almera is that almera has a dull interior and exterior. The car has less functions and far less economical than vios and city. Almera still use 4 speed AT where else others have moved to cvt to save petrol. Sitting inside Almera feel like you are going backwards in time. Nothing fancy or futuristic.

One good thing about almera that i like, it is more cheaper than vios and city.

To me, you are making the right decision to switch. By the way, if you are looking for more features and safety, go for city. Ignore those who keep saying city no rear disc brake. In reality, disc or drum brake has a tiny impact on the braking distance for this car segment.

Since you are used to AT trans, cvt trans may shock you. It behave differently and you need to understand how it works. Do a test drive. One thing you need to know about cvt trans, it is not responsive as AT trans. Cvt has tendency to keep the engine at low rpm by matching the gear ratio.

This post has been edited by ameyhazuan: May 2 2018, 12:34 PM
niceguypenang
post May 2 2018, 03:22 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 2 2018, 12:24 PM)
Is there any issue you heard off? As far as i know, nothing major for Vios except poor assembly qc. If you are lucky (unlucky actually), you will get rattling dashboard sound. With a bonus, you will get here and there sound as well. But all those are easily fixed. Before this, i have the tendency of ramming my car to a lamp post or push it to the drain because i got fed up with the service center. Not until i learnt how to overcome the problem i had.

My personal comparison between vios and almera is that almera has a dull interior and exterior. The car has less functions and far less economical than vios and city. Almera still use 4 speed AT where else others have moved to cvt to save petrol. Sitting inside Almera feel like you are going backwards in time. Nothing fancy or futuristic.

One good thing about almera that i like, it is more cheaper than vios and city.

To me, you are making the right decision to switch. By the way, if you are looking for more features and safety, go for city. Ignore those who keep saying city no rear disc brake. In reality, disc or drum brake has a tiny impact on the braking distance for this car segment.

Since you are used to AT trans, cvt trans may shock you. It behave differently and you need to understand how it works. Do a test drive. One thing you need to know about cvt trans, it is not responsive as AT trans. Cvt has tendency to keep the engine at low rpm by matching the gear ratio.
I just need a basic spec car, that more reliable, good fuel FC, decent feature will do for day to day driving to school, office.
Ya, I heard about CVT is better than AT.

I came from MT, so MT was so good that those days. Due to increase traffic in the city center where I stay, MT will be harder to drive nowadays.
Else I will choose MT.
danieltan
post May 2 2018, 04:58 PM

Abuthen
750 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 2 2018, 03:22 PM)
I just need a basic spec car, that more reliable, good fuel FC, decent feature will do for day to day driving to school, office.

I came from MT, so MT was so good that those days. Due to increase traffic in the city center where I stay, MT will be harder to drive nowadays.
Else I will choose MT.
In the beginning I also same as you. wanted to choose MT rather AUTO transmission. The sales guy telling me that waiting list might been drag whereby wait for 2 to 3 months to get a MT car.
For long waiting list, end up I choose Auto transmission.

ameyhazuan
post May 2 2018, 10:02 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 2 2018, 03:22 PM)

Else I will choose MT.
Lol, i came from mt as well. Still keep one mt car in hand. Altenating between the two. When need to feel the rush, i take the mt out. Else, since already aged, at/cvt is more practical. Good to have, vios came with 7 speed manual mode. Although not realistic as mt, still can fulfill one's desire.

I use manual mode for engine braking most of the time.

Vios got mt but you won't get some premium features.

This post has been edited by ameyhazuan: May 2 2018, 10:05 PM
nicky5879
post May 3 2018, 11:47 AM

Hi All Sifu,

My car RM70 only can driver 400KM / RM2.20LTR. Mostly i driver at city.
This is normal RM70 for 400KM? Have who facing this before?

TShightechgadgets8
post May 3 2018, 11:58 AM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

QUOTE(nicky5879 @ May 3 2018, 11:47 AM)
Hi All Sifu,

same as mine, im quite heavy foot, sometimes i cruise at 120. and sometimes i do 140-160

best i have achieved was b4 my first service, kl-penang-kl, 1 tank approx rm70 / 600km
ameyhazuan
post May 3 2018, 01:39 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(nicky5879 @ May 3 2018, 11:47 AM)
Hi All Sifu,

yours equivalent to 12.58km/l. quite good for city driving. the best i got 16.64km/l. the worse i got 10.82km/l. the best because i drive mostly on highway. the worse because i drive like a maniac. if leisure drive around city can get average 13+km/l.
ameyhazuan
post May 3 2018, 01:48 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ May 3 2018, 11:58 AM)
same as mine, im quite heavy foot, sometimes i cruise at 120. and sometimes i do 140-160

best i have achieved was b4 my first service, kl-penang-kl, 1 tank approx rm70 / 600km
may be next time i should try 100% highway.

one thing i learnt, speeding does not necessarily use more fuel in cvt. in fact, drive slow might use up more fuel. driving slow will use more petrol because of drag by the burden and the weight of the car. driving fast will save because of the help of inertia force. one thing in mind, do not make sudden acceleration, this in fact will burn more fuel.
niceguypenang
post May 4 2018, 11:52 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 3 2018, 01:39 PM)
yours equivalent to 12.58km/l. quite good for city driving. the best i got 16.64km/l. the worse i got 10.82km/l. the best because i drive mostly on highway. the worse because i drive like a maniac. if leisure drive around city can get average 13+km/l.
Mine Almera driving in Penang Island city most time 95% range about 8.7 - 9.2l/100km, how does this compare to Toyota FC ?

TShightechgadgets8
post May 4 2018, 12:10 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 4 2018, 11:52 AM)
Mine Almera driving in Penang Island city most time 95% range about 8.7 - 9.2l/100km, how does this compare to Toyota FC ?
vios 2017 averages at 12km/litre in the city

This post has been edited by hightechgadgets8: May 4 2018, 12:33 PM
niceguypenang
post May 4 2018, 12:31 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ May 4 2018, 12:10 PM)
vios 2017 averages at 12l/100km in the city
That's weird, cannot be higher than Almera right?
Are you taking about 12km/l meaning 12km per litre?
If yes, that will around 8.33l/100km
TShightechgadgets8
post May 4 2018, 12:33 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 4 2018, 12:31 PM)
That's weird, cannot be higher than Almera right?
Are you taking about 12km/l meaning 12km per litre?
If yes, that will around 8.33l/100km
my bad edited
ameyhazuan
post May 4 2018, 12:47 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 4 2018, 11:52 AM)
Your almera average 13.3km/l. Heavy foot driver for vios will get 12km/l. Light foot will get 13-14km/l in city drive. Those who came from mt trans will press slowy on auto/cvt trans.

Lady driver (pardon me - based on my observation), usually will press hard on accelerator when on auto/cvt.

Cvt benefits on crusing but not on stop-go. That is why, recently, toyota came out with new type of cvt. Cvt with direct shift - to tackle stop-go lack of power and for better fc.

****Edit - wrong fc calculation suppose to be 11.17km/l not 13.3km/l

This post has been edited by ameyhazuan: May 4 2018, 02:30 PM
niceguypenang
post May 4 2018, 02:16 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 4 2018, 12:47 PM)
Your almera average 13.3km/l. Heavy foot driver for vios will get 12km/l. Light foot will get 13-14km/l in city drive. Those who came from mt trans will press slowy on auto/cvt trans.

Lady driver (pardon me - based on my observation), usually will press hard on accelerator when on auto/cvt.

Cvt benefits on crusing but not on stop-go. That is why, recently, toyota came out with new type of cvt. Cvt with direct shift - to tackle stop-go lack of power and for better fc.
Oh.. Cvt with direct shif, this is new to me.

Based on my calculation average of 9.2l per 100km, that will be 10.86km/l only. The lowest if 8.7l/100km, that will give 11.94km/l.

How do you get 13.3km/l ??

ameyhazuan
post May 4 2018, 02:28 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 4 2018, 02:16 PM)
Oh.. Cvt with direct shif, this is new to me.

Based on my calculation average of 9.2l per 100km, that will be 10.86km/l only. The lowest if 8.7l/100km, that will give 11.94km/l.

How do you get 13.3km/l ??
Take your low with your high to make an average. My bad, wrong calculation. Supposed to be 11.17km/l on average.

If you are concern about fc on city drive, you should consider driving hybrid. Superior fc in city but remain the same on highway if compare with cvt alone.
niceguypenang
post May 4 2018, 03:10 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(ameyhazuan @ May 4 2018, 02:28 PM)
Take your low with your high to make an average. My bad, wrong calculation. Supposed to be 11.17km/l on average.

If you are concern about fc on city drive, you should consider driving hybrid. Superior fc in city but remain the same on highway if compare with cvt alone.
Thanks for feedback.

If my calculation is not wrong, averagely Toyota Vios will have better FC of 1km/l (based on average of 12.2km/l) or more mileage compare to Almera in the city driving.

If you refill 25 liter of petrol ~ 25 x 1.1km/l per tank, this will give Toyota Vios extra 27.5km mileage on same price of RON95 or RON97,

If one month if you refill 4 times, that 27.5 x 4 = 110km more milage. That's a lot of extra distance to cover, right ?

Which means Toyota Vios alone already have some much saving compare to Almera.

ameyhazuan
post May 4 2018, 03:29 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ May 4 2018, 03:10 PM)
Thanks for feedback.

If my calculation is not wrong, averagely Toyota Vios will have better FC of 1km/l (based on average of 12.2km/l) or more mileage compare to Almera in the city driving.

If you refill 25 liter of petrol ~ 25 x 1.1km/l per tank, this will give Toyota Vios extra 27.5km mileage on same price of RON95 or RON97,

If one month if you refill 4 times, that 27.5 x 4 = 110km more milage. That's a lot of extra distance to cover, right ?

Which means Toyota Vios alone already have some much saving compare to Almera.
Don't have to be so technical. Will give you a headache. These are all very subjective. All depends on how you drive. Heavy foot vios and light foot almera might also have the same fc result.

On paper, honda city and toyota vios will have better fc than nissan almera. Toyota with its reliability and honda with its features. Nissan? Err.. with its nismo? I guess....

Ps. Regardless of any driver would say ron97 is better than ron95, just go with the minimum recommendation by the engine maker. If they say the engine can take ron92, that is what you should do if possible. You don't need octane booster or whatever total bs fuel saver item. Your engine already tuned to the max efficiency.

This post has been edited by ameyhazuan: May 4 2018, 03:38 PM

333 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:03 AM