LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

ftan
post Dec 26 2017, 04:29 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Yellow lemon @ Dec 26 2017, 04:18 PM)
just realize CRV missing with below features which i thought it should have  doh.gif
1) memory seat
2) GPS map
3) Blind point indicator at least for right hand side
4) sunshade mirror, no light (not so important, but why not~)
I’d love to have the memory seat feature and possibly, the item #3. As for gps, prefer to use from my phone.
ftan
post Dec 27 2017, 01:27 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Dec 26 2017, 08:22 PM)
dont opt for cheap mats, those have strong rubber smell
subjective

need see quality haha
those pedal lock , already available in market
Yes, strong rubber smell but I’ve used them before for my previous cars. Anyway, I hanged them out first. If really cannot stand it, I’ll consider other alternatives.

QUOTE(desmond0806 @ Dec 26 2017, 06:41 PM)
Guys really really need your help to decide whether 2.0 or 1.5.
I live in a small town so no highway and my parents normally drive up to 60-80km/h only and they don't floor the accelerator at all.
My ques is:
1. during normal(and not floor the accelerator pedal) acceleration, does the 2.0NA sound louder than the 1.5T? SA told me that as long as u don't floor the pedal, the 1.5T and 2.0 power output to accelerate the car is very similar, only when u floor the pedal and go above 2k rpm then u feel the speed from 1.5T
2. During linear acceleration, probably until 70km/s, is the 2.0 noisy or roughly same loudness as the 1.5?
3. 2.0NA CRV 2017 users, what's ur FC ah?
I can’t answer your questions yet. But I can share a bit on the things I considered before making my decision.

If you driving around town at low speed, imo it doesn’t matter which spec. Both should be adequate / good. So, the next consideration would be budget, maintenance, road tax and fc. If you can afford, go for the tcp. I think it is suitable for elderly drivers (assuming your parents are elderly). Safer for them too. If you like latest high tech stuff, then go for the 1.5 turbo.

In my case, I didn’t want to go for the additional tc engine servicing due to Honda sc being crowded. Prefer to stick with twice a year servicing of a known engine. I dislike paying the $4xx road tax but the 2.0 is 13k cheaper than the 1.5tc. I didn’t want to spend a lot on a car as long as I get the safety features (6 air bags, vsa, etc) which are high priority to me. Power and fc are not so high on my list. At the end of the day, decided to get the 2.0.

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Dec 26 2017, 11:22 AM)
Anyone know which showroom in KV that has got the CRV 2.0 test drive car? Already test driven the 1.5T, there is something with that car which I find annoying. So want to check out the performance of the 2.0.
I think I read in earlier posts (can’t find it now) that the puchong outlet has the 2.0 for test drive. Another forumer Henry T also managed to test drive and bought the 2.0 spec.
ftan
post Dec 27 2017, 10:14 AM

2,532 posts

Good Morning, All. biggrin.gif

I’m at Genting now. In the early part of the journey, the engine was quiet and smooth on normal city roads. No rattling or vibration sound on the dashboard. The cabin was generally quiet. But on certain highway roads, the tyre was obviously noisy.

As I branched off towards Genting (near to the Sempah area), I can feel the engine struggle and is quite noisy at times. I drove around 50-70 kmh. Basically, the car struggled when going uphill but it got better on “flat” surface. I didn’t have to floor the accelator much though.

For me, the power is ok. I’m quite pleased with this car. It drives like a sedan. But I do feel it’s somewhat a fat car and parking is an issue for me.

QUOTE(Eyuna3 @ Dec 27 2017, 09:35 AM)
I got the quotation from Ceramic Pro for 2339 with Free headlamp and handdoor PPF

Straight pay for deposit and book for January slot smile.gif
I enquired about ceramic pro also. Around the same price range too. Cheaper if book two months ahead. I’m still thinking about it. May I know how much you paid for deposit?

This post has been edited by ftan: Dec 27 2017, 10:28 AM
ftan
post Dec 27 2017, 06:08 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Dec 27 2017, 05:10 PM)
Thanks for sharing.. From your previous posts, I'm assuming yours is the 2.0 variant right? Drove with ECO mode on/off?
Yes, it’s the 2.0 variant. Eco mode was on. The ride was smooth but I do feel like I can’t overtake other cars. It’s partly because I’m not familiar with the roads and I was driving rather cautiously. I will observe more once I use my regular route to/from work. Looking forward to try on the elite highway.
ftan
post Dec 27 2017, 09:20 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Eyuna3 @ Dec 27 2017, 07:22 PM)
I pay 300 for the deposit. How about you?
I haven’t booked any slot yet. Still thinking if wanna spend so much. They are fully booked for this week. Jan is busy month for me after the holiday and all. Feb is much better.

This post has been edited by ftan: Dec 27 2017, 09:42 PM
ftan
post Dec 28 2017, 10:48 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Dec 28 2017, 03:00 AM)
Hi guys, hows the CRV build quality and known issues so far? I did look through this thread of known issues. Are they slowly getting ironed out? Interested on a 1.5 TCP for my parents to purchase they are 60 y/o. Any good SA based in KL/Shah Alam?
So far the car seems solid. I’m still observing since my car is less than a week old.

I noticed a few micro scratches on the plastic tray in the compartment next to the driver side. It could be from the keys I happen to put there. I should put something like a cloth to cover its base.
ftan
post Dec 28 2017, 05:57 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Dec 28 2017, 10:51 AM)
There is one deep crescent shape scratch and many minor scratches on the plastic screen of my speedometer. Lousy QC.  dry.gif
So fast got scratch on the speedometer screen. sad.gif

I’ve put a small cloth on the plastic tray first to prevent further scratches. I’m looking for some flannel or material which will fit. On the positive note, I’m happy with the storage space there where I can put keys, HP, handbag, tags, etc.

QUOTE(Eyuna3 @ Dec 28 2017, 03:07 PM)
no worries about comfort of seat. definitely better than camry and a250 base on my experience.
I found the driver seat is quite comfortable. Supports my back well enough.

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Dec 28 2017, 04:07 PM)
Yes comfort and ease of getting in and out of the car is a serious consideration for me relating to my parents. They do not travel very long distances but I need current owners help to ease a decision.
Reason I was thinking about the TCP is that the power boot option is very necessary as well as Honda sensing.
Also my budget maxes out at 180k hence i don't have more options for them. Will look into the x trail also but the CRV is on the top of my list.

CX5 was a good option and both the 2.0 and 2.5 had shitty brakes. No pun intended. Maybe it was just me.
For elderly drivers, then the Honda sensing would my top criteria. I knew two separate accidents by senior citizens (yeah, I know them) this year which could have been avoided. Luckily, no one got hurt.

Did your parents find getting in and out of the crv ok? I thought it was quite high for my mom. I considered installing the running board but the Honda package is expensive and doing outside will void warranty. I shelved the idea for now.

ftan
post Dec 28 2017, 08:34 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Dec 28 2017, 06:16 PM)
The scratches are already there when I received the car.

I will make a complaint but I wouldn't want them to replace it at the risk of them breaking something in the process.
Oic. Yeah, there is always a risk other things can be spoilt.

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Dec 28 2017, 07:38 PM)
Same here, mom has issues with height but the test drive car has the running board installed hence it was not a hassle. And does it render useless during rainy days? But parents seem to prefer a higher car then a lower sedan as getting out seems easier. According to Honda website the running board alone is priced at RM 2620
Too much to think about when concerning parents. Even the simplest things become a necessity.
Agree. Higher car is much easier for old ppl to get out by just sliding out. I guess you can consider getting the running board for them to alight into the the car. It’s still within your budget. smile.gif

ftan
post Dec 29 2017, 07:42 AM

2,532 posts

Good morning, all. smile.gif

QUOTE(Yellow lemon @ Dec 28 2017, 12:22 PM)
CRV build quality is good, so far driven almost 1000km. no issue.
if you consider buying a car for 60/yo, you can also consider Xtrail, i find X trail seat is more comfortable.
Xtrail looks is quite nice. But I removed from my list due to two airbags only and the price about the same as crv.

QUOTE(Yellow lemon @ Dec 28 2017, 04:01 PM)
Another sharing, HRV is not bad for old people as the height to walk in the car is very comfortable for old people.
quite a roomy car too.
only the back seat is a bit bumby, if only 2 of them, i think you can put this in list too.
Agree on the hrv height. My col who bought the hrv also complained it is quite bumpy. Discarded the hrv from my list just because I liked the crv better. laugh.gif

Nevertheless, I’d be keen to know what’s the hrv facelift features for 2018.
ftan
post Dec 29 2017, 01:26 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Honto @ Dec 29 2017, 08:34 AM)
For the hrv if u replace softer tire like Michelin can make it less bumpy. Heard that facelift hrv come with sensing package.
If it comes with the Honda sensing package and the price is ok, I will consider as a second car. biggrin.gif
ftan
post Dec 30 2017, 02:54 PM

2,532 posts

I got the dvr installed from Sh@rty. It was fairly quick installation from him. Thanks, ya. smile.gif
The suction holder occasionally is making a bit of squeaky noise but I will try to adjust later.

I drove further to other areas mostly on the highway. The engine is quiet and there is no dashboard or steering wheel vibration. There is still some tyre noise and the wind noise during cloudy/rainy time.

My speed is around 90-110kmh. Average fc is 11.7 km/l as shown on the display. Is that ok?

Another thing, I find I’m reluctant to change from D to N during traffic light stops. I always do that out of habit for other cars. Maybe coz the gear located in a higher position and I’m still not used to it.

ftan
post Jan 2 2018, 02:53 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Jan 2 2018, 09:37 AM)
Hello everyone

Just an update. Received my Obsidian Blue TC-P last week and have been enjoying it so far. Appreciate the updates on this thread and I'll post from time to time my observations on the CR-V.

I'm just annoyed that with all the technology, there's no way to have navigation on the CR-V and I have to resort to Waze/Google Maps on my phone.
Congrats. Yes, please update here. biggrin.gif
ftan
post Jan 5 2018, 08:11 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Jan 4 2018, 07:24 PM)
The fuel consumption of my 2.0L is 12.6 km per litre. 80% city driving and 20% highway.

Is this good or bad?  smile.gif
Mine is 12km per litre at the moment. Highway 70%. Car mileage still less than 1k.
ftan
post Jan 8 2018, 04:28 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jan 7 2018, 04:49 PM)
How are the seats for G5 owners here? Its quite firm indeed
I find the firm part (cushion like) behind my back is good. Supports my posture and it's quite comfortable.

Have you decided on your car choice? smile.gif

QUOTE(Henry T @ Jan 8 2018, 11:42 AM)
The number can go up or down drastically depending on the traffic condition.

My reading is now 13.8 km/litre. Accumulated mileage is about 2000 km. smile.gif
Mine still shows around 11.7 - 12 km/l.

Going to send for 1k service/checking and install lock nuts by end of this week.
ftan
post Jan 9 2018, 01:01 PM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jan 8 2018, 11:53 PM)
Just noticed the seats. Booked the crv 1.5TCP today. My mazda SA was not too happy tho. Still selling me the 2.2 diesel. In the end he did ask me to compare the CRV against the previous facelift crv. WTH right
Was a tad firm but i hope its fine for long distance. Too spoilt for choice thats why
Congrats. When will you get the car?

Hehe. Maybe he got nothing else to say since you already made up your mind.
ftan
post Jan 12 2018, 10:45 AM

2,532 posts

Went for the 1k milleage checking and lock nut installation. Done less than 1.5 hours including complimentary car wash. I paid around $240 for the lock nut after 15% discount.
ftan
post Mar 23 2018, 11:36 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Mar 23 2018, 09:13 AM)
I checked. There is no recall for my 2.0L. Maybe not yet.  smile.gif
Same.

Thanks for the link, voncrane.
ftan
post Apr 21 2018, 10:11 AM

2,532 posts

I’m getting 12.2 km/l for my 2.0 crv. It’s better than I expected.

I’m quite happy with this car. It’s easy enough to maneuver for a big car. So far no major complains.

There some vibrations on the driver’s window but happens off and on. I’ll get that check during car servicing. The gear nob thingy looks flimsy as posted in the forum here.

Some leaves got caught inside the front grill area. Can’t take it out as it is sealed below. I guess I will discuss with the sc on this. I’m kinda ocd about this stuff.
ftan
post May 19 2018, 08:01 PM

2,532 posts

It’s a good deal with 0% gst. In general, I heard quite a lot of ppl in the car showrooms to check on various cars.
ftan
post Dec 17 2018, 05:51 AM

2,532 posts

Hi everyone. Happy Holidays! smile.gif
I’ve havent been visiting this thread for a while now.

As an owner of crv 2.0 and a female driver, the car is good so far. I’m getting around 11km/l which is mostly 80% highway driving. I’m not really concerned about the petrol consumption as compared to my own safety on the highway. Too many speeding drivers around and they can be reckless sometimes.

I love the height of the car while I’m driving. It’s a bit too high to step into the car but when driving, it’s great. Can see what’s going on from far and can ride through those flooding areas (not high waters though). The one regret I have is that there are no front sensors. I originally thought I didn’t need it but it helps coz I can’t “see” when I’m parking into tight spots. I end up doing reverse parking most of the time and surprisingly, it’s not difficult to park a big car. the car is easy to maneuver.

As for the dashboard, no issues so far. There was some slight rattling noise on my right door area but they have fixed it. Other than that, no other complains.

Ok, that’s my two cents for today. biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0251sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:23 PM