LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

cfa28
post May 10 2024, 05:38 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(rd33 @ May 10 2024, 01:19 AM)
If you buy RS version better dont change anything on the tyre part. I heard RS has special noise resonator that improve the NVH.

Back to your question yes usually tyre has no warranty, but sport rim do have. So if you change tyre and use same sport rim should be fine. I am not sure on RS version tho since the tyre and sport rim is quite special than other variant.
thanks very much for your prompt advise below

much appreciated and keep it in mind when I intend to change my tyres

just curious, how many people actually change their tyres at Honda. are the prices much more expensive
cfa28
post May 20 2024, 09:00 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ May 20 2024, 04:20 PM)
Yeah,, I believe my average is below 100km/h
in G5 we can look see look see our average speed in speedometer,, but could not find it at G6 how to check
isn't it the same method,

select view petrol /mileage at the setting at the steering wheel

press the long bar at the meter console to alternate between viewing A / B / total travel

im using G5

cfa28
post Aug 10 2024, 09:35 AM

4,830 posts

Asking early buyers of the CRV G5, especially those bought in say 2018 to 2020, has anyone did walnut blasting to clean the carbon deposit.

Also, those whose mileages already excess of 100k km, how is the CVT.

Anyone overhaul the CVT before or experienced CVT problems
cfa28
post Nov 29 2024, 12:21 PM

4,830 posts

want to ask if any G5 owners having issues with Steering Rack.

i seem to be having sticky steering when making long corners or u turn

turning the steering from right to left, the steering seems to be sticky when making corrections to keep in the lane

cfa28
post Nov 29 2024, 04:15 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Nov 29 2024, 03:09 PM)
Yes this is the infamous steering rack issue, or at least the early symptoms. After 1–2 months you can expect the krik2 sound, the sticky feel is the warning sign. Luckily Honda Malaysia has issued a product recall so your next service you can get it fixed, but their replacement parts will only start arriving in December, not sure when most service centers will start having proper new parts.
thanks for your prompt reply. though the steering rack issues was only for Civic.

even CRV affected but searching some of the past posts.

hope more owners can give feedback especially those who manage to change during warranty and whether there is any improvement
cfa28
post Nov 30 2024, 07:25 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Nov 29 2024, 07:01 PM)
I’m a previous Civic ketam owner and replaced my steering rack in 2018 once, after that it’s been smooth sailing until earlier this year when I sold the car off for this CR-V RS. IMO every brand has their own issues, and what I’m grateful is Honda Malaysia (and global Honda) owning up to this and at least they’re attempting to help rectify the issue. Just let your SC know during your next service you’re experiencing symptoms and they’ll advise you on next steps.

Personally I’m also feeling the sticky steering on low speeds now, so I’ll bring this up during my next service in February. Hopefully they have the parts then to replace the faulty unit
oh you bought the G6 RS version which is the hybrid.

what is your FC for city and highway

how is the power delivery. you also changed tyres from the stock toyo to Michelin Primacy. how much did it cost and you say ride quality has improved.

do share.

my next service is due very soon.

will tell my SC on the sticky steering feeling
cfa28
post Aug 6 2025, 10:09 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Aug 4 2025, 01:34 PM)
Bro ,crv now rebates min 15k ,expect some SA give extra 2k+ sometimes
RM15K is a good rebate and will attract many fence sitters. that's how i bought the 5th Gen 2 years ago
cfa28
post Aug 18 2025, 11:09 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 18 2025, 10:48 AM)
Just left my car at SC to do the high-pressure fuel pump recall inspection... and was told there's a RM43 labor charge for the test/inspection, wtf? I asked the SA he said this is their (HM) SOP and they're just following. What the heck? A recall exercise that the customer has to pay for? Anyone kena the same or did I get BS'ed?
thought all recall is at no cost to the customer

you can pay first and ask for itemised billing and then post on HM FB page for clarification.

0.0261sec    1.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:19 PM