LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

Jingle91
post Sep 20 2023, 10:15 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Sep 19 2023, 06:43 PM)
can I ask why is the mileage interval of your Service A and Service B so far?

was it very different from the usual 5k / 3m ot 10k, /6m interval

does the SA try to get customer to add on additional things?
this was the first features that i turned off. a bit annoying when i forgot something after getting into the house and the car auto locks and have to unlock again
For Honda turbo, the service interval is always less than 10k, it very depend on how you drive, the more you let your car stay idle with engine keep running, or when you always drive with high rpm, then the service interval will be shorter.

Let say when you drive only 6k km and the indicator pop up on screen ask you to service, that will be the service interval you have to follow. Because your engine detected the oil condition is due to change in order to protect the turbo. So you can choose either to change engine oil only and then come back again at 10k to change other minor items or do it one short. I usually change all together, so in a way, you will spend more time and money on service compare to non turbo engine.

Now I have been driving my new crv for abt 3.5k km after one mth, think have to go for service when it hit 7k km.
Jingle91
post Sep 20 2023, 10:24 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Sep 17 2023, 06:01 PM)
Yes the CRV G6 is going to be rm 180k onwards cause even the base model will get Honda Sensing hence the 1.5 VTEC Turbo not the 2.0L NA found in G5.
If 180k plus insurance (if no ncd) will be abt 185 or 186k, quite pricey.

But my agent said 180 is just indicative price given by honda internally, last time civic, civic ehev all actual price turn out to be much higher than the indicative price. So he personally think it might start from 190k onwards from based variant.

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Sep 20 2023, 10:40 AM
Jingle91
post Sep 20 2023, 05:59 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Sep 20 2023, 04:33 PM)
now i get better picture

if we don't want to change the things during the engine oil change, then we still have to stick to the xk/ym for things like brake pads etc

is the interval bases on 5k/3m or 10k/6m
Yes, so if you go sc to change engine oil before hitting 10k, SC will let you know which items can be skipped but need to come back again when hit 10k mileage.

But brake pad is wear and tear so there is no service interval to follow. Each time they will do checking and greasing, and let you know when it need to be changed
Jingle91
post Sep 21 2023, 01:46 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Sep 21 2023, 10:42 AM)
oh so not only we had to follow the 10k interval service schedule, but if the indicator pop out, we had to go service too? then will kena extra labour fees and hassle for extra time for service lo.. adui....
For my other honda car with turbo, I usually make it as full service same as 10k/6m despite my mileage is only 7k/8k but have to change engine oil as per the monitor. I don't split it into two times. So is like every 7k or 8k (usually hit that mileage within 3 mth) go to do service instead of 10k/6m. My worst is 4.7k km need to service due to keep run at high rpm, lol. Since that time onwards I seldom push the engine, only push once in a while.

My friend who own Ketam turbo insist to service follow 10k /6m interval, but he seldom drive his car and never push the engine, so far after 6 years no issue yet. SC didn't stop him from doing that. But I think if his engine got problem within warranty, he won't be able to claim.

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Sep 21 2023, 01:48 PM
Jingle91
post Sep 21 2023, 01:53 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Sep 21 2023, 01:27 PM)
hopefully say if you need to do the oil change at say 8k, ask the SC to chop as 10k service interval

but if need to change oil at 5k, maybe SC won't agree

Need more existing owner to share their experience

This tread more uncle so feedbacks is slower compared to Civic or HRV tread
I only did once for 4.7k km, SC just proposed to follow the list for 10k service and I agreed on that. Then just go do next service follow the car monitor for engine. No more following the usual 10k/6m interval (and my car always hit that mileage within 3 mths). But ever since that service, I control my foot and extend the mileage to 7/8k only need to do service.

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Sep 21 2023, 01:54 PM
Jingle91
post Sep 21 2023, 03:36 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Sep 21 2023, 03:33 PM)
you mean even the indicator pop out at 8k, wait until 10k only service together? or 8k indicator pop out, then go service all together with the 10k interval, although haven reach yet? (basically priortize the turbo oil indicator)
Mine case is second option, when indicator show need to change oil at 8k km, will do service for 10k interval together
Jingle91
post Sep 21 2023, 03:54 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Sep 21 2023, 03:49 PM)
then in long run your mileage will not tally with the schedule maintenance edi lo? your mileage 80k but doing 100k maintenance liao lol
Yes. No time to go service center so frequently, lol. Every time need at almost 2 hours, some more need to book very early. So just do it one off for ease of mind.

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Sep 21 2023, 03:54 PM
Jingle91
post Oct 11 2023, 09:43 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Oct 7 2023, 05:47 PM)
hi sifu, can i check with fellow owners, when you pump petrol until the pump stops, how does the fuel tank indicator on the right of your screen looks like

please see my screen, is it considered full cos i see is still some space remaining

already pump about 4x already and still looks the same as the attached picture

My wife car appear as full
Jingle91
post Oct 12 2023, 08:40 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Oct 11 2023, 09:52 PM)
thanks for sharing bro. do you stop at the first click when the pump stops
Welcome, I just set the trigger and then let it stop by itself. Actually first time my wife also curious, why the fuel metre appear over the F line after I pump petrol.
Jingle91
post Dec 14 2023, 01:55 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 7 2023, 02:49 PM)
Anyone opted for Honda's own dashcam? How's the picture quality and features?

And has anyone opted to have outside 3rd party dashcam installed? Does that void the warranty?

Very much like to hear your views
I am using honda cam for both front and rear, quality acceptable but can't compare to 70mai.

Best part is don't need to worry abt warranty, as I am also using their tinting for both cars.

Abt the warranty, better be conservative, because honda sensing camera is really sensitive. If you trust the workshop then can go ahead for third party installation, or unless the SC manager "promise" will help you cover it when you want to claim, las time can do like this but now very hard to do this. SC won't just void your warranty when they see you see you are using third party tinting and dash cam. But issue only arise when you want to claim for item like dashboard electronic components or honda sensing camera, then they will reject it by saying that the issue might be due to third party tinting or improper dash cam installation.

Jingle91
post Dec 16 2023, 11:27 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Dec 15 2023, 03:35 PM)
Any promo for the current CR-V? Still got stock? Any thoughts go for better deal for current model or new one?
Think 5th gen crv now no more stock already, the stock clearance started in mid of June.

Jingle91
post Dec 18 2023, 10:36 AM

682 posts

Saw from xiao Hong shu, kajang Branch got agent willing to give RM3k discount for new CRV.
Jingle91
post Dec 20 2023, 09:23 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Dec 19 2023, 03:15 PM)
Almost buy XV or Cross, already taken out the downpayment from fd then daughter say going to stay near her uni until graduation mid next year.

So no rush in buying anymore, keeping all option open.....again. As long as money still with me, can always opt for cheaper car, expensive car or no car..hahaha

I'm truly tempted by this release, the pricing are beyond my expectation. Thought the cheapest is going be a min. of 180K and above. Turned out cost cutting in Malaysia CKD managed to bring it down to "affordable" pricing for a CRV.

The spec of E variant generally fulfilled all my base expectation, want legroom got legroom, want comfort, got comfort, want boot space, got boot space, can truly sit 3 pax at back with comfort. All the necessary specs are there in E variant with only the the lacked 360 camera, a sore point along with BSM. No cool ambient cosmetic light ok coz need 12k to get that in. AWD has both its advantage (stable, better hilly ride) and disadvantage (more fc and maintenance cost) but with 12k increase at my base limit, can forgo.

Honda comes out with their logic of needing lanewatch....can see motorbike, more useful for Asean countries. But BSM can detect cars, both left and right side. which one more important, detect cars or motobike. Is lanewatch cheaper?

Still thinking whether to spend over 210k-220k for a car (including interest) worth it or not. Now got half a year again to see see again. Even if buy, will not buy first batch.
In the end, likely buy City ...hahaha..That one really no pressure in buying....save petrol some more.
If you plan to buy city for long term use, better buy now, wack the agent to match discount up to 15K. Can save the 2% sst some more. Contact multiple agent from different branches. Some willing to give max discount to close the deal due to year end, exclude "Johor"

If plan to spend 170k for crv e variant, I will compare it with Tiguan all space and cherry tiggo 8 also, then go for the one that I like. Last mth saw the Tiguan All space outside Jaya grocer, seen quite ok, now got year end discount, 180k can get already. Tiggo got all the safety features, including BSM
Jingle91
post Dec 20 2023, 02:20 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ Dec 20 2023, 01:40 PM)
don't forget to compare with Mazda CX 8 as well, price + another RM10k,, but worth it due to free maintenance
I would think cx8 is one level higher compare to crv. Cx 8 only high plus variant come with the full driving assistance features like honda sensing, and it cost RM197k. The mid range cost 177k doesn't has much safety features. Plus it use 2.5 litre engine.

Tiguan all space also selling at 210k, but now it got huge year end discount

Jingle91
post Dec 30 2023, 01:49 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 30 2023, 10:52 AM)
Moving off from standstill or traffic light, do you find it slow?

How much is the Continental Premium Contact C tires?

How's the town driving FC?
For fifth gen 1.5turbo, the acceleration from standstill is slow , unless you rev to above 2.5k rpm, it will move very fast after 1-2 seconds of turbo lag.

My FC is abt 10-10.5km/litre when drive on Jalan cheras -KL during peak hour with bumper to bumper jam, some time will go below 10 even accelerate with light foot.

If drive on highway smoothly, can get 13-14km/L with 110kmh and smooth acceleration with light foot.

To me this car is for smooth driving with spacious car boot and rear seats, body roll also quite noticeable, not for handling.

But not sure how is the new gen CRV
Jingle91
post Dec 30 2023, 06:41 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 30 2023, 02:48 PM)
Thanks for the clarification. Is yours the FWD or AWS version?

I presume, untill the turbo kicks in around 2000 rpm, the CRV behave like an seriously under-powered NA 1.5 engine with heavy body. I hardly saw car reviewers mentioning this and I guess none wanted to offend Honda.
Welcome. My wife bought 2wd, because AWD need higher FC. Plus the tyre size is 18/235, wear out faster if drive awd.

Yup, if drive below 2k rpm it does feel like NA and abit lack of power, especially when you are driving uphill. We always go back seremban by using lekas, there is one long up hill stretch before the toll, if maintain 2.5k rpm, only can hit 80kmh. I can only feel turbo kick in when rpm hit 2.5k.

But if you push to 3k-5k rpm, the power delivery is very good. Of course it cone with the noise also, lol
Jingle91
post Dec 30 2023, 06:56 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 30 2023, 05:18 PM)
What is the Oil Change Interval for the CRV 1.5T?
On paper is 10k km interval, but like my agent said, he never see any people can hit that much mileage before the service due indicator pop up.

So far we didn't push the car, always drive within speed limit. When first time change the engine oil, the mileage was abt 8900km, I did both service a and b together. Now the mileage is 14k km, monitor show remaining mileage is 4100.

If always speeding fast like my cousin, like 150-170kmh with fast acceleration, think mileage can only last below 6000km, usually 5800 have to change the oil, the worst he kena is 4400.

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Dec 30 2023, 07:03 PM
Jingle91
post Dec 31 2023, 10:30 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Dec 30 2023, 08:49 PM)
Thanks for the info.

Now let me get this right. If you drive it hard and fast, oil change light comes up faster? And if you drive it gently and like in town, the oil change light came up later?

And how serious is tis oil dilution problem I have been reading in our warm climiate?
Yes, and if you always let the car stay idle when engine is running, it will also shorten the service mileage. The indicator will pop up when it "think" the remaining mileage is 1500km to go, until it turn into zero, and then become negative if you due for service.

Do you mean the engine oil degrade and become watery? And cause the engine oil become more than the level it suppose to be? I did hear my cousin who work in honda say that only the first batch of ketam with 1.5t got this issue, but it is very very mild, not serious like in china or those country with winter climate, think that is why they come out with service A and B, force you to change engine oil based on built in indicator instead of 10 thousand service mileage. But to be honest, even for my 2 years old FE I also never check the engine oil level, only send it for service, I take it as good whenever they say everything is ok, so if let say the dilution really happen, I also wouldn't know, haha

If the dilution really happen, what will be the sign and what is the impact?

Jingle91
post Feb 8 2024, 08:06 AM

682 posts

To me, the only problem for the new crv awd is the rim really look ugly, lol

Shame on Honda by giving this kind of rim when charge with this price.

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Feb 8 2024, 08:07 AM
Jingle91
post Feb 8 2024, 09:33 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 8 2024, 08:48 AM)
LOL. Rims never bother me.

Did you try the AWD Vs 2WD? I am assuming the AWD has slower pickup
I only kek poh and try the AWD, but maybe because only tested for 15 minutes, I dont find big difference in terms of engine performance compared to my wife old 1.5t 2wd. The pick up to me is ok, maybe because the turbo start kick in at 1.7k rpm, which really reduce the turbo lagging problem in old gen 5.

To me, the nvh and body roll really improved a lot compared to 5th gen. When I try to do sharp corner above 90kmh, it gives me confidence to continue to 100kmh coming down from flyover. It won't be like gen 5 make me feel the car is turning slower than my steering with body roll that will force me to slow down. Maybe this is real strength of AWD. Dashboard also looks very nice, my wife also likes it's interior. But for driver seat, I still prefer the old 5th gen, feel like more solid, maybe because I m getting older, haha

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1068sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:37 AM