Oil & Gas Careers V12 - Upstream & Downstream, Market still slump, slow, snail pace...

hfz
post Apr 3 2021, 07:51 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

Hi LYNers,

Seeking for advise from gurus and experienced folks in the O&G industry.

I'll be having my first round of an interview soon with Petrofac, and I am wondering if it is safe to jump in the O&G industry (provided I'll be offered later)? Am currently in financial services by the way.
hfz
post Apr 4 2021, 02:00 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Apr 4 2021, 09:42 AM)
Which Petrofac?

Petrofac-RNZ or Petrofac (PM304) Ltd?
It's the PM304
hfz
post Apr 5 2021, 09:24 AM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Apr 4 2021, 07:56 PM)
Petrofac PM304 hired an ex colleague of mine that was retrenched. This happened somewhere in 2021 or end 2020.
Seems to have limited ongoing projects.
Which means not a safe haven to jump over? By any chance they'll become a part of RNZ should they decide to close down the PM304?
hfz
post Apr 10 2021, 01:44 AM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Apr 5 2021, 10:00 AM)
Petrofac PM304 Ltd retrenchment is a norm, heck its a norm for Petrofac Group worldwide to give pink slip when business is not doing good.

Petrofac E&C at Sharjah UAE is the biggest income contributor for Petrofac Group.

Petrofac-RNZ is an engineering consultancy services, inclusive E&C division as well in Malaysia.

Petrofac PM304 Ltd is (IES division) is the Upstream business arm. They just recently sailaway the East Cendor WHP from Muhibbah fab yard, bound for HUC offshore Cendor field Terengganu. Petrofac PM304 Ltd are also plan to sell their Upstream assets in Malaysia particularly for West Desaru and Cendor field, but there is no willing buyer yet. During my stint there, the commercial peoples in plan to develop East Kemasik field, not sure if lepas MR1 to MR5 gates or not, cerita lama on 2015 or 2016.

Project are still there for Petrofac PM304 Ltd, just that, _______ (fill in the blank).

Permanent roles with Petrofac? Nadai. Yilek. Semua short stint, contract basis.

Thats how it is nowadays. No more permanent staff roles. Banyak contract basis jer.
Thank you so much for the detailed sharing, TS notworthy.gif Am unsure my role is a permanent or contract basis since it wasn't stated in the vacancy on Petrofac's website when I submitted my application.
Had my first round IV with them and the hiring manager mentioned of candidates being interviewed are for replacement for the predecessor in the vacant role. Waiting for updates if got through for second stage of the IV.

With that being said, how would you say about jumping over to the O&G industry and joining companies like Petrofac during this kind of time, and also is it less-risky or otherwise to stay in such a company for about 3-5 years?
hfz
post Apr 10 2021, 10:09 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Apr 10 2021, 09:44 PM)
Srry may I ask, what industry are you with now?
O&G is not stable and up and down every few years.
Salary still higher than other industries.
No worries. Am currently in banking / financial services.

0.1162sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:33 AM