Oil & Gas Careers V12 - Upstream & Downstream, Market still slump, slow, snail pace...

McF7y
post Jul 14 2017, 08:33 AM

233 posts

Wow, I'm not sure what to say about OGA this year. Quite shocked at the turn-out in terms of visitors and exhibitors.

I think the big names were PBJV, Sapura Energy, McDermott and Technip.

The rest were the 'nuts & bolts' of the industry like equipment suppliers, instrumentation, pumps, valves etc.

I spent almost the whole of yesterday there and despite the low turn-out, I think it was still a somewhat good exhibition. Met some smaller vessel owners which might be good for my ship-broking side.
McF7y
post Jul 17 2017, 08:26 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 17 2017, 07:25 AM)
Some of these guys are only the big timers at conferences/exhibitions.
Otherwise no project haha
To be honest, I'm not sure what is the latest with McDermott and Barakah.

I work for a Shipping Agency and I have approached Barakah many times but they keep saying that whatever they are doing currently is mainly an extension of last year's contracts therefore no opportunity for us to offer our agency/offshore support services because they already have vendors in place. We have also participated in some SWEC bids with Barakah but their payments terms were not acceptable to our upper management.

Sapura, they pretty much swept the floor with the Pan-Malaysia awards didn't they? I hear they got awarded several packages. But apart from that, I think because of their new name, they had to showcase their new identity and brand.

Technip, I guess Malikai was the biggest last year and now Bardegg and Samarang at the tail-end which is quite decent for an industry facing a major slump.

I heard that HESS is exiting Malaysia? Anyone know about this? Apparently they're selling off FSO Bergading and have initiated a 3-5 year plan to eventually exit Malaysia.
McF7y
post Jul 17 2017, 08:56 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 17 2017, 08:32 AM)
T&^%Snip has almost no contracts right now. Samarang, malikai etc all little work. What they need is a full fledged EPCIC contract (new one) which they don't have.
PBJV nothing much going on.
Oh man, Technip no contracts..that's not a good sign.
McF7y
post Jul 17 2017, 02:31 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jul 17 2017, 11:49 AM)
maybe who knows. they still got very very good gas producing fields which is being developed now and one if the blocks they have has a large and lets say very very good oil deposit in it (tho their contract is only for gas)

but who knows they might sell to someone else and pack up shop. those gas fields has some way to go before being fully exhausted.
I see. That's what is confusing me a bit.

I keep hearing from drillers especially that drilling-wise, activities are supposed to pick up after mid-year.

But at the same time operators are exiting? Also a lot of decomm work happening in Asia but Malaysia hasn't really picked up yet. Apparently Thailand is leading Asia in decomm work.

McF7y
post Jul 17 2017, 02:33 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(noiseemunkee @ Jul 17 2017, 01:11 PM)
baru siap wanna sell d the bergading fso? heard phase 2 is already at fel3.
That's what I thought too. She's yet to sail though, there's been another delay, multiple reasons.
McF7y
post Jul 18 2017, 08:30 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(sangarjuna @ Jul 17 2017, 03:08 PM)
Met them last week, very touch time now i think, small piece of cake to be shared. They are fighting for the RAPID MOGAS EURO5, Malaysia Refinery Diesel Euro5. Heard 7 EPCs bidding for the MRDE5. Anyone hear about HIJAU2 project by HRC?
What's HIJAU2? Are these mainly refinery/plant projects?
McF7y
post Jul 18 2017, 08:32 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 18 2017, 07:40 AM)
All this onshore jobs.]
What about their offshore team?
SBM is doing better now;
Any idea about FPSO Liza?

We are working towards participating in their RFQs but their vendor registration process is quite lengthy.
McF7y
post Jul 18 2017, 12:29 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Lubis @ Jul 18 2017, 11:49 AM)
i think it is EURO IV project at HRC, EPCM by amec foster wheeler.
Thank you for the info.

I am not too well-versed with the onshore and refinery projects but HRC is Hengyuan Refininng Company at PD?
McF7y
post Jul 19 2017, 09:49 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 19 2017, 07:35 AM)
I don't work there smile.gif
LOL, well noted.
McF7y
post Jul 24 2017, 01:07 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Jul 24 2017, 12:50 PM)
O&G.....its a sunset industry oledi.
Can't be that bad can it?

I'm sure it will pick up, not anytime soon but gradually for sure, no?

For the oil price to get back to its height during its hey days are unlikely anytime soon but if we get to $60-80 per barrel in the next couple of years, it should still keep the industry afloat right?

Would it be a good idea to exit the industry before one gets too indoctrinated?
McF7y
post Nov 8 2017, 09:24 AM

233 posts

Hello all,

Just curious, anyone know if International Petroleum Corporation (IPC) which is a spin-off company from Lundin, has an office in KL/Malaysia?

This is more information on the fields they operate: https://www.international-petroleum.com/operations/malaysia/

Malaysia licences
Licence Licence Type IPC Interest Operator Partner
Bertam Production 75% IPC Petronas Carigali 25%
Offshore Peninsular Malaysia
(Mengkuang, Tembakau) Gas Holding Areas 75% IPC Petronas Carigali 25%
Offshore Sabah
(Cempulut, Tarap, Titik Terang, Berangan) Gas Holding Areas 55% IPC Petronas Carigali 25%,
Dyas Sabah BV 20%
McF7y
post Nov 8 2017, 01:20 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Nov 8 2017, 01:13 PM)
IPC used to have PSC in late 90s. They sold the PSC to Lundin and left Msia. I’m surprised to learn they are back in Malaysia.
Yea, been a bit of an odd few years lately. Some field operators have left, others came back...some in midst of selling off assets etc.
McF7y
post Nov 8 2017, 03:49 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Nov 8 2017, 01:35 PM)
I personally known one contact in Dyas BV at Netherland, that fella is ex-SSB now migrating to Amsterdam and working with Dyas.
SSB? I'm not sure I know the abbreviation, my apologies.

Interesting to note that not much information available on IPC contacts here in KL.

Might have to go straight to Lundin KL.
McF7y
post Nov 22 2017, 08:32 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Nov 20 2017, 06:14 PM)
Most new wellhead platforms in SK waters EPC Contracts are “lined up” to be awarded to the Sarawak fabricators.

One Penaga wellhead is going to one of them.

Another 2 wellheads (Sapura E) & 1 Shell wellhead both in SK waters are most likely going to the same Kuching fabricator. Other fabricators can only gigit jari, AGAIN!
Just out of curiosity, would this be Brooke Dockyard?
McF7y
post Nov 22 2017, 10:52 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Nov 22 2017, 10:20 AM)
No, it's pesky neighbour.  whistling.gif

BD yard full already, they've gotten 3 EPC wellheads already.
Hahaha, pesky neighbour? Oceanmight or KKB then?

I'm not too familiar with Sarawak fabricators to be honest, but we have participated in a few bids with BD lately, mainly for Anjung and Bokor.
McF7y
post Nov 23 2017, 08:10 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Nov 22 2017, 09:26 PM)
Oceanmight tu adik KKB ler...... “sama bapak lain emak”.

Dengar OMSB pernah kena kencing dgn BD. So the company berdendam nak “kuburkan” BD. But one of BD’s directors ada bau-bau durian dgn CM Sarawak. Ironic eh?
Ohh okok, thank you for the input. Did not know they were related and the whole thing with BD.
McF7y
post Dec 29 2017, 08:50 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Dec 28 2017, 04:10 PM)
i heard pbjv closing down 2018. serious kaaa
Whaaaat?

I heard from one of their representatives that they are downsizing but as for closing down...so far I have not heard this.

McF7y
post Mar 21 2018, 08:25 AM

233 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone going to OTC this week?

Also, wanted to ask the community here - anyone have experience working in Sapura since the latest rebranding, i.e. Sapura Energy. And what are your thoughts on working with them moving forward?

I don't know if it's true but I heard that despite Sapura winning jobs lately, they are also in debt amounting to the Billions?!

Pleased to hear from all in the community.

This post has been edited by McF7y: Mar 21 2018, 08:26 AM
McF7y
post Sep 26 2018, 08:30 AM

233 posts

Anyone attending MOGSEC this week?
McF7y
post Oct 19 2018, 08:19 AM

233 posts

Hi guys,

I am planning a trip to East Malaysia at the end of October and looking to meet a few existing/potential clients.

Just as a bit of a background, I am from an Integrated Logistics Services company; we do Project Logistics and Offshore Support Services as agents.

So far, I've firmed up meetings with Ocean Might and Brooke Dockyard in Kuching. While in Labuan, I've firmed up meetings with Icon Offshore and Executive Offshore.

I'm waiting on Time Marine and Destini Oil to get back to me.

I am looking mainly to meet offshore vessel owners, EPCIC companies and fabricators. Field operators would be good too but I doubt we can work with them directly.

Should I include Miri/Brunei in the trip too?

Any and all advice is much appreciated.

This post has been edited by McF7y: Oct 19 2018, 08:45 AM

0.0244sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:41 PM