Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

sE_vIxEn
post Sep 28 2008, 09:02 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

hi there guys. i have been doing research about NZ and i'm gonna explode from information overload. rclxub.gif

so i would like a very simple and direct question from any of you guys who got the expertise or knowledge. which university is good for studies related to mass communication in NZ?

i'm currently looking into UNITEC and AUT, any other options that i can look into? smile.gif is it difficult to gain a position to study in the unis there? it's intimidating to read about their 'limited places', you see. i will be using my TARC diploma to attempt a credit transfer, which some counselors told me is a pretty good move, but i don't know as i choose to leave a little bit of doubt to myself when i'm talking to those counselor fellas.

and for UNITEC and AUT, are they well known in the industrial world?

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Sep 28 2008, 09:05 PM
sE_vIxEn
post Oct 2 2008, 12:38 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Oct 1 2008, 11:20 AM)
AUT is ok thumbup.gif

selamat hari raya aidilfitri
what about UNITEC? it is well known? internationally recognised? the website says so, but i dunno about the real world.

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 1 2008, 12:05 PM)
the limiting places only applies to a few courses, such as Architecture, Law and Medic, other than that I don't think there's such requirement
thanks for the tip. smile.gif

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Oct 2 2008, 06:44 AM)
ya... the entry requirement should somehow equate to the amount of students they accepting for 1st yr. so if u qualify the requirement, no reason why they would reject u. after all , international student bring $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ lol
problem is, i'm a credit transfer student, and when i went to JMECC that day they say that there hasn't been a case where a student transfer over to UNITEC / AUT via a diploma. so a bit worried, he he.
sE_vIxEn
post Oct 6 2008, 11:25 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 2 2008, 11:23 PM)
UNITEC isn't exactly a government sponsored university, thus more people would prefer to go to AUT instead.
may i know what difference does that make? as in, costs, recognition?

QUOTE(psyeo @ Oct 3 2008, 08:03 PM)
UNITEC ain't officially recognize as university yet smile.gif... go AUT...there is quite a few Malaysian who studied Mass Comm here afaik

Location wise, AUT is in the city, while UNITEC is located outside of the city, up west i think.....
can you give a rough description of the distance between these two institutes? are they really that far apart? unsure.gif

i know it isn't officially recognised as a university, but i am seeking a practical approach to studying communication, and not just by books and papers. so far AUT and UNITEC are the ones that interest me. smile.gif

UNITEC's so-called 'park-like' campus sounds appealing to me btw. tongue.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Oct 6 2008, 10:55 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

communication in public relations. smile.gif anyway i've figured out the distance, thanks for trying to help yeah. appreciate it. smile.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jan 19 2009, 11:29 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

i've sent over my credit transfer application to UNITEC because AUT demands a pretty exorbitant amount of money to have my credits processed. so i'll see how many years i get to exempt and see whether i wanna consider AUT later on. smile.gif

sE_vIxEn
post May 25 2009, 01:08 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

hi guys. i have sent in my application to UNITEC New Zealand. hope everything goes well. at first i wanted to send in to AUT as well, but they got some sort of surcharge to get my credits evaluated. shakehead.gif waiting for my final results now. anyone of you seen or heard about UNITEC campus? biggrin.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jun 11 2009, 12:18 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ May 27 2009, 07:36 PM)
http://www.unitec.ac.nz/

nice location no jam to get there
hi there! are you living nearby? please do tell me more! biggrin.gif the internet can only tell you so much... those Google Earth pics are so enticing man!

QUOTE(wornbook @ May 27 2009, 08:19 PM)
If you're willing to come all the way to NZ and pay high international student fees, what's $100 odd compared to that? (I'm assuming it's around the surcharge is around the $100 range since Auckland Uni charges about $70)

Don't let a mere surcharge restrict your university choice.

What do you plan to study anyway?

Added on May 27, 2009, 8:20 pm
That depends on where you're coming from.

Added on May 27, 2009, 8:25 pm
Nothing wrong with going in winter. Both winter and summer are peak tourist seasons in Queenstown.

What do you intend to do there? If you want to ski etc, it's the perfect time.
Many other activities are open during winter, but some do close.

IMO, Queenstown is at its most beautiful during winter. The snow-capped mountains surrounding the lake are wonderful to behold.

Unlike most parts of NZ, most shops in Queenstown remain open at night. Not 6pm closing there. Why close when there's tourist money to be made?

The one real downside is that it's an expensive place. Even bread is expensive!
i am coming to NZ to study mass communication. public relations to be exact. i think it's UNITEC and AUT's expertise, right? anyway, it wasn't a forced decision based on how much surchage i needed to pay. i chose UNITEC because it sounds promising, what with the different education approach and more practical based education. however i'd love to hear feedback from someone who experienced it firsthand, if you please? biggrin.gif

sE_vIxEn
post Jun 11 2009, 11:13 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jun 11 2009, 06:50 PM)
Ah right then. The earlier comment about the surcharge was misleading.

I can't advise you on mass comm, since I know nothing about it. I also have not studied at either institution.

Some people are picky over rankings and whether they attend a polytech (Unitech) vs a university (AUT) - you just need to read the countless questions about "which is the best uni for...".
If you don't mind, I'll say go to which ever institution provides a course that suits you best. You seem to have done your research, so good on you. At the end of the day, you are the one who will be studying so make sure the course you pick suits you. smile.gif

Unitec is in west Auckland. I believe its buildings/grounds are a former hospital. Definitely has a nicer campus than AUT, which is right smack in the middle of the city.

Sorry I'm not of much help.
when you say some people, are you referring to the local NZers themselves, or are you talking about Malaysians? i know Malaysians definitely have something against anything lower than a 'uni', what with the superiority mindset bred into our brains since young (ie. Taylors offer better than cheap colleges like TARC etc), but i tend to think that NZers shouldn't have anything against polytechnic graduates, or do they? i've read several articles by their national publication, they say that UNITEC has a unique standing on it's own in the hearts of the Kiwis. i can't be sure how to translate that, being an outsider who has yet to experience nuts. unsure.gif

thanks for voicing out my exact concern, as per bolded above. actually i believe all institutions are capable of producing good students. which is why i am not fussed over the whole 'who is the best' title. (wouldn't mind if someone knows and wants to share though! tongue.gif)

it's really the whole 'poly' and 'uni' thing that bothers me. but i consistently reminded myself that UNITEC is offering me a degree from a valid tertiary institution, and that's what matters most.

and you're right, it was an abandoned hospital and i know AUT is based on several high rises. the views of UNITEC Google Earth has to offer took my breath away.

i'm extremely grateful that someone who has already experienced NZ himself willing to share with me his views (constructive ones, that is). thanks so much wornbook. biggrin.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jun 15 2009, 05:38 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Jun 12 2009, 09:04 AM)
obviously taylors are better than tarc. teachers, facilities, students. the price is there for a reason.
i have a lecturer whose wife is teaching in Taylors and they did some comparisons. turns out Taylors have spanking new and clean facilities whilst TARC ones are worn out and old. which i don't really mind. most of my mates work on their own laptops and i think what TARC offered is decent enough. except for the horrendous toilets! tongue.gif

QUOTE(booooster @ Jun 13 2009, 10:50 AM)
hey sorry about the late reply twas during the time of my b'day

yes I'm about 20mins drive away from both places as I'm quite Central, I went to Auckland Uni but had some friends tat went to AUT and UniTec
I asked them and here's wat they say

as mentioned yes UniTec is different from AUT, their teaching styles are different

at AUT, they focus more on the lectures and just the nitty gritty stuff not much actually learning how to interact,

both are different but if u can afford to live near to the city, my friend suggests AUT as the lecturers and notes they give there are better

hope this helps
happy belated birthday dude! thanks for having the heart to reply! biggrin.gif

did you just mention you have friends studying in UNITEC? omg i would love their contacts and chat up a little on the place. is that possible? NZ is very unlike Australia, where you can get firsthand experience from any Tom d*** Harry. 8/10 of people consider Australia without even thinking! i wonder why... it really feels like the entire Malaysian population is crazy about Australia. laugh.gif in fact, i was one myself, before my friend told me about the place, and i finally gave some serious thought about it.

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jun 14 2009, 09:05 AM)
Both Malaysians and Kiwis - there're elitists everywhere. Though I do think Kiwis are generally more egalitarian and less elitist. It's partly a reaction against the British class system (most of the early migrants came from the UK). It is also partly cos in a small country, competition is less stiff, so there's less need to grab every advantage possible (compare it to China for example, where there is a hug difference between Tsinghua Uni and some unknown forestry college from Yunnan).

I can also understand the Malaysian mentality, because if people pay huge international student fees, it's natural they want the best outcome. If there's a better option, why not go for it?

I think there is some merit in the poly vs uni thing, but it is course specific. For example, engineering - many polytech graduates do 'upgrade' Masters at Uni of Auckland after graduation. I find universities are generally better for the more academic, 'traditional' courses and polytech for the more vocational, hands on courses. I don't know much about mass comm, so I can't comment on it.

And of course, at the end of the day, the most important factor is the student. If you are motivated and inspired, you will do well. And if Unitec's style of teaching suits you better, it should help with the motivation aspect. That's why I think, if it suits you, go for it.

If job prospects are what's worrying you - don't. Kiwis don't care as much about the uni/degree/grades, but more about work and other experiences. I know a few polytech grads who are happily employed in various industries in NZ. If you want to secure a job in NZ upon graduation, make sure you gain work experience while studying/during the holidays. Preferably in a related field, but if not, anything will do. Even flipping burgers in McDonald's is valued in NZ.

Anyway, if you really want to be elitist, AUT isn't quite on the same level as Uni of Auckland. But then, we could then say why come to NZ? Go to Australia instead since Uni of Melbourne ranks higher. And so on, and so on... smile.gif Out of curiosity, what other institutions in NZ offer mass comm?

I seem to be rambling on... now sure if I even answered your question.
hey dude please do ramble on, i really do appreciate talking with you all. biggrin.gif

i agree about the less competition part. i heard Kiwis are very laid back, much unlike the rest of the world, fighting to be the first, competing relentlessly... it can get a bit tiresome to be honest. but it's funny, though. i have come across several hate sites for NZ where the locals themselves condemn the place. wtf? unsure.gif

i have already experienced the so-called academic approach that TARC offered. my school has been trying very hard to fight for 60% coursework - 40% exams scale, but unfortunately the old hags in TARC have too much dignity up in their noses to consider it since they think exams are always the most important. in the end, students like us work very hard for our assignments, and only left with little time to study up for exams that always seem impossible to score. it's easy to pass but never easy to excel as a mass communication student. you need to stand out - not provide the most 'accurate' answer in exams. and how do you prove you're outstanding in an exam where there is no definite answer and no room to show off your creativity?

so it's a little challenge for myself to try out a polytechnic after the things i've been through in an academic-focused learning environment.

i am also relieved to hear about the job prospects issue. frankly Malaysians have gone a bit too far with the elitist mindset that all the jobs we dy eem 'low class' are all now handled by immigrants, which are now causing problems to our country. our own people have too much dignity to do anything lower than what they have studied for. there was a brief whirlwind regarding the overwhelming amount of immigrants we have in the Malaysian news, isn't it?

i'd definitely try and expand my horizons in NZ, have plans to stay there... make full use of the 2 year visa they offer to students after they graduate... biggrin.gif

and to answer you, University of Auckland, Massey University, University of Canterbury, AUT, UNITEC, and some other lesser known polytechnics.

reason why i didn't consider the first 3 is because they do not offer Public Relations. and frankly, the course syllabus is so dead-on academic, i already can feel a wave of nausea sink in. they'll be forcing you to read 1000001 year-old scholarly articles by some old fart, which i don't think will help much in the creative industry.

again, dude, thanks so much for the advice! biggrin.gif

sE_vIxEn
post Jun 22 2009, 06:46 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jun 19 2009, 01:42 PM)
It's dudette. No Y chromosome. tongue.gif

Kiwis are a funny bunch. They can be fiercely patriotic and proud to be Kiwi but at the same time, they can be very negative about everything to do with NZ. They mock the British (Poms) and at the same time dream about going there on their OEs (overseas experience). They complain lots, though frankly, they're much better off than so many people. You see the newspapers often referring to Kiwis as a pessimistic lot.

The laidback thing is really good. On the other hand, it can get really annoying when you want something done and need some action. "She'll be right" - the typical Kiwi statement that reflects the attitude - can be infuriating sometimes. Other times, it's a reality check that there's no need to stress yourself out over minor matters. 

NZ has many faults, but it has many positives as well. Don't expect too much, but at the same time, have an open mind and enjoy the experience. Expanding horizons - that's the right attitude.  rclxms.gif

Is it a 2 year visa now? It used to be 1 year.

It really does sound like a vocational, non-academic course is right for you. I personally lean towards the more academic side of things, cos I find it interesting. But I can definitely see why many people are just not interested in "1000001 year-old scholarly articles by some old fart". LOL.

It's great to see you've done your research and know what you want. It might be a tad early to call, but based on your attitude, I think you'll be successful and have a great time in NZ. You don't know how rare you are - most people just ask "which uni is the best for this course?" or "which degree can earn more?". Sigh.

I guess I was lucky though. My course (law) was really academic and exam-based (normally 80%) but at least the lecturers didn't stick to a strict marking criteria. Original ideas/discussions were valued and rewarded with top marks. Some people say the lack of the criteria results in subjective marking, but there was no feeling of injustice when results came out.
cool, same here. no 'Y'. blush.gif

i nearly broke down when i went through a forum that had all Kiwis themselves cursing their tiny island to bits. at that point i was nearly on the verge of canceling my plans till i was able to think with a level-head. just like this forum, which Malaysian would praise their own country? we're full of complaints ourselves, so i guess Kiwis and M'sians are equal on this matter. i shall rest my case and not judge NZ by that dreadful forum. *makes a mental note not to be overly creative with using Google*

thanks for the praise, but i think hold on to that first. i seriously dunno what i'm expecting there, not much back-up support or word-of-mouth from people's experiences of the place (which is very unlike Australia *pouts*) other than bright flashy websites illustrating how beautiful NZ is. like i haven't heard of that before! lol. guess what i can do now is just to take the plunge and have fun! so now that i've made my decision (just emailed over my final bit of results to the agent), i should really work down a list of 'to-dos' and get myself prepared. but you said don't expect too much... hmm.gif i certainly hope NZ wouldn't fall below my expected standard...

now! some info about you, where did you get your law degree from? biggrin.gif are you still in NZ or are you back here already? and i can really relate the the marking scheme thing... sometimes these things are just too subjective to be determined just by a 'score' given by a lecturer. and it's your luck! if you meet with an old windbag, be sure your originality will go to the drain... they tend to abide by strict codes and ethics.

i've did a bit of scouring this thread, seems that you mentioned the job prospect there sucks? and we should be prepared to do low-waged jobs like flipping burgers before hopping onto something more rewarding? i don't mind flipping burgers while studying but if i were to continue that 2 years after i graduate, that'd be dreadful. shocking.gif i have my sights on the beauty industry... NZ is no NYC nor London nor Italy, but i believe this sort of industry thrives on everywhere that has modern and fashion-conscious people. or any vain women in short. laugh.gif

sE_vIxEn
post Jun 22 2009, 10:52 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jun 22 2009, 07:46 PM)
sE_vIxEn, which forum did u went through??
some sorta expat exposed or something. didn't bother bookmarking something so dreadful. try googling 'New Zealand sucks'. blush.gif was trying to dig out some raw bad perspective about the place from real people hence the stupid keywords. blush.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jul 6 2009, 06:52 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jun 27 2009, 04:10 PM)
http://www.expatexposed.com/

It's my favourite entertainment reading these days. Some of those complains can be really silly. Btw, they're mainly immigrants to NZ from countries like US, Canada, England...

To be fair though, a lot of their complains are based on fact - the housing is poor, job opportunities limited, salaries low (compared to Aus, US etc, but high compared to Malaysia), politicians are stupid (but whose aren't?), and the people can be really provincial and racist. It can be quite boring too.

But for the positives - the air is clean, the people more considerate/polite, law and order is generally respected, traffic good (even the shocking Southern Motorway is way better than KL traffic), and the pace of life slower/less stressful. All this in comparison to Malaysia of course... can't speak for other countries. If you love scenery and the great outdoors, NZ is the place for you. If you like city living and a happening life, don't come here.

Fact is, it's not for everyone.

Personally for me, I don't intend to live here for life. Gain a few years work experience and I'll hopefully go off to see the world. Or maybe back to Bolehland.

Job opportunities are limited because the market is so small. As for low level jobs, it depends on the person... From what I see, people who do low level jobs while studying have a far better chance of a graduate job upon graduation. Unless you're doing an Arts degree. Generalizing of course. It's also heavily dependent on fields - engineers and doctors don't seem to have problems finding jobs. Commerce is another thing. Surprisingly, IT too, despite the govt's claim that there's a shortage of skilled IT people.

I won't lie to you - being a foreigner, it won't be easy for you to get a 'proper' job upon graduation. There's this fear you won't fit into the company culture or you can't speak English. Also, many jobs aren't advertised - people are recruited internally or thru word of mouth. That's why I advised you to do part time work to help build the CV. Employers will be less nervous once they find you have worked and can fit into the NZ work culture, whatever that is.

I did my degree in Otago. Fun place with lots of crazy Kiwis. Took me quite a while to find a job too. Law is a tough field though, with an even stronger old boy network.
haha, you know which website i'm talking about huh. i think it's really time to just throw back and anticipate adventure. am never going to step into that website to mess up my mind again! as for the good and bad, well i guess you can't have everything, and you never know anything till you've really experienced it. it's a good head start though, after talking to you, at least i know what to expect and brace myself.

as of now, i'm waiting for final confirmation from UNITEC, then that'll decide whether i'm really going to NZ or not. do keep your fingers crossed for me! biggrin.gif

thanks for all the advice, it's really good to talk to someone experienced like you. notworthy.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Aug 20 2009, 01:44 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

yes me, early next year. i still need my IELTS to get my position in UNITEC confirmed. biggrin.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Oct 21 2009, 10:29 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

hi guys! can anyone recommend a good agent / website that sells KL > NZ flight tickets at a good rate? price surveyed ranges from 2k to 2.5k... gosh i hope AirAsia makes their NZ flight a reality soon...

sE_vIxEn
post Nov 13 2009, 03:09 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Nov 11 2009, 05:02 PM)
do transits. ur not 80 yrs old
QUOTE(fantagero @ Nov 12 2009, 06:59 AM)
true. transit if you got it right, way cheaper.
my friends bought total of $920 return CH - Msia.
true i'm not 80 rolleyes.gif but it's my first flight over and my family doesn't encourage me to take the transit.
not practical for first timers.
i'll take transits only when i've settled down over there.
gotten a pretty okay deal after signing up for the ISIC card btw. biggrin.gif

sE_vIxEn
post Nov 15 2009, 12:21 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Nov 13 2009, 04:28 PM)
my first flight back was from CH - Bangkok, then stop over Bangkok for 12hours b4 boarding on Air asia,
the same also for flight back.. tongue.gif

but if you dont feel like doing it, dont do it then, but have to spend a bit extra money.
ehmm isic ey, i never use them.. sounds useless (for me) sometimes the deal...
thanks, really much prefer settling down before going for transit.
planning to establish long-term relationship with NZ so i guess i'll be traveling frequently.
plus 13th is like the only ideal date (and the only available choice) to fly for me, right after reunion dinner with my whole family, which i hardly meet due to geographical differences.

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 14 2009, 10:54 AM)
Mots transits go through Melbourne if you're going to Wellington/CHC.

Another alternative is to go through Singapore. Emirates can offer some good deals at times if you're lucky.

And what's wrong with a transit, as long as it is a one-shot through flight? Might surprise you "westerners", but those from East Malaysia usually transit through Singapore/KL, and not so occasionally Brunei (yes, Royal Brunei flies to AKL also).
i've checked, transit flights are all full and i've considered going to Australia before landing on NZ.
but not practical for me lah the time, coz i really wanna cherish the time with full family that i don't get to see everyday.
transits are a sure way to go after we've settled down and don't need to bring SOS items (FOOD and crap) to barricade ourselves lol.

sE_vIxEn
post Nov 23 2009, 11:31 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Nov 16 2009, 09:02 AM)
sE_vIxEn did u mention which city and uni are u going?
just curious to know  smile.gif
i'm going to Unitec NZ, Auckland. smile.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Nov 29 2009, 06:39 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Nov 28 2009, 09:03 AM)
Don't be frustrated, keep on. You will succeed.

Added on November 28, 2009, 9:10 am

which unitec campus? I lived near 2 unitec campus. if need help, let me know. the old schools here should offer help to new comers for them to get easier to settle down smile.gif
the Mount Albert one. i hope it's a nice place~

Added on November 30, 2009, 1:36 pmafter reading through the thread, apparently Vodafone has somewhat become the exclusive choice for international students?

i just looked through the prices of their phones... typical monthly cost is NZD39.95 and you can get a lauyah phone for free. i doubt i'm gonna use that much monthly.

so is it really worth to get their phone plus the plan, or just get in Malaysia and use a prepaid card? i hope their prepaid system is identical to here lol.

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Nov 30 2009, 01:36 PM
sE_vIxEn
post Nov 30 2009, 04:00 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

the lowest rate i found was NZD40 for Vodafone plans, and you're tied down 24 months. maybe for the locals it's a bargain, but i guess i'll need to hunt down a phone now. my 5 year old W800i is dying. sad.gif

thanks!

sE_vIxEn
post Dec 1 2009, 05:02 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

noted, Emperor. thank you so much for your feedback! biggrin.gif

any particular reason why Vodafone 'monopolized' the international student market?

0.0457sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:52 AM