Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

sE_vIxEn
post Dec 2 2009, 02:22 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

just checked out 2 Degrees rates. fantastic pricing! i think i'll consider EmperorMeng's suggestion, go for 2 phones. one main line and the other to weep on when i miss my family. lol. rolleyes.gif

btw guys, where do you all purchase your textbook and study material? my edu counselor said it's best to buy second hand material direct from Unitec. dunno about the rest of you though.
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 3 2009, 11:18 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Dec 2 2009, 08:47 PM)
http://new-in-chch.blogspot.com/

this is a blog that created by group of malaysian to help if you are new to CH tongue.gif
good link! now i have an idea what to pack. i'm eyeing the Christmas sales now. hope to get a pair of good walking shoes.
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 9 2009, 04:30 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

huix, you said you live near Mount Albert? any cheap accommodation nearby? i think i'll lie low in Unitec for a semester or two then move out... provided the place is walking distance to campus.

Added on December 9, 2009, 7:44 pmdear wornbook and other female sistas, i'll be doing some shopping over the weekend. i've scoured the thread, some of you mentioned clothing not cheap at all there?

to me, angmoh countries are cheap because S - M are odd sizes. eg, Asians shopping in US / UK, they get all the odd stuff so it comes cheap. what about NZ? no such thing?

and i'm considering footwear as well... should i buy a pair of warm boots here or there... and summer can wear sandals hor?

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Dec 9 2009, 07:44 PM
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 11 2009, 12:39 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

great forum link! thanks so much huix. smile.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 21 2009, 10:32 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Dec 10 2009, 05:25 AM)
i'm male..
from my experience..
S-M size is the fastest size to disappear on the shelves as there's gonna be a lot of other asians looking for it too, especially during sales. furthermore, not all ang moh big in size.
Because whenever sale, as i'm not the quickest to be at the mall during sale time, only XXXXXL size left for me.. lol

and i dont buy during non-sale time as sometime, the price can ridiculously reduced during sale.  but i'm male la... dont care what to wear.
but my gf mentioned she was lucky last time, as she aimed this one pair of heels, the original price was like 90 ish, after sometimes, sale,, became 20ish. lol

bout the expensiveness,, i reckon you get a part time job so at least you can have extra money for shopping tongue.gif

no need to buy the warm boots there, buy in nz.. easier tongue.gif
noted! hehe~ haih Auckland also got so many competing for cheap stuff huh. sad.gif

QUOTE(wornbook @ Dec 12 2009, 04:21 PM)
Hehe, you're asking the wrong person when it comes to shopping. I'm a strictly t-shirt, jeans and sneakers/sandals person.  tongue.gif

The problem with clothing here is the lack of choice. It's either cheapy/poor quality or very expensive. And after you buy it, the chances of walking down the street and seeing someone else wearing the same thing is reasonably high. Especially Kathmandu jackets, pretty much a national uniform.

In my experience, size XS-M are no cheaper than L. There are plenty of Asians in Auckland, so I they aren't really odd sizes. Besides, the Kiwis, by and large aren't THAT big. Bigger yes, but there are plenty of smaller ones too.

For boots, I'll say buy here. More choice. Sandals are fine in summer.
lol! i'm in the midst of grabbing stuff from Malaysia right now, i really don't like bumping into someone with the same apparel as myself. it's a girl thing. doh.gif
i've checked out Kathmandu, it looks so blah. and bloody overpriced...

QUOTE(huix @ Dec 13 2009, 09:19 AM)
croc is much cheaper during salessssssssssssssssssssssssssss tongue.gif
no Crocs, no offense. tongue.gif unless they come out with something more fashionable. tongue.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Dec 23 2009, 12:27 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Dec 23 2009, 09:18 AM)
kathmandu overpriced? they are lifetime all sold with a lifetime warranty.
but then again, if ur stuffs dont get spoil, how ru gonna get an excuse to buy new clothes? its a girl thing doh.gif
HAHAHAHAHA. you know girls well. rclxms.gif

sE_vIxEn
post Dec 30 2009, 10:59 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Dec 29 2009, 08:24 PM)
boxing day sales pwn my bank figure... sad.gif hahaha but it was fun tongue.gif happy new year to you all.

Added on December 29, 2009, 8:26 pmbut i dun think NZ fashion may appeal to se_vixen... not much choice, if not blue, it is pink...or red/green/grey.... flowerish design? seldom see 1 hehe kathmandu ok la, the quality is quite fine. i bought a few winter clothing for my kids as they got more than 60% sales in summer
wow! Boxing Day sales. drool.gif

i'll really need to be there to see it for myself. so many descriptions, so acute yet abstract! hahaha~

i think i'm nearly all prepared.
i got my visa done, passport done, accommodation done, research done and a little bit of shopping.

what's left is applying for the MAS GRADS card to get the extra baggage allowance.
i went to KL Sentral today to get it done but bloody hell, the line was 100 people long! rclxub.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Jan 6 2010, 11:29 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

i'm departing on the 13th next month. bundle of nerves now...
sE_vIxEn
post Feb 1 2010, 10:01 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

omaigod... 2 more weeks! omaigod omaigod omaigod! omaigod. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Feb 1 2010, 10:01 AM
sE_vIxEn
post Feb 16 2010, 04:08 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

reporting in from New Zealand! glad to be here. i feel healthier already. flex.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Feb 20 2010, 08:04 AM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Feb 16 2010, 08:18 PM)
healthier? olol.
i feel sleepier and lazier everytime i land onto kiwi soil.
it's the jet lag yo. same here. cry.gif
sE_vIxEn
post Mar 19 2010, 07:44 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Mar 13 2010, 02:29 PM)
hi i still have more than half a till i grad but i was looking for options.. i am taking health informatics in MMU and i was wondering if i am able to further my studies in NZ in some healthcare course other than nursing/physiotherapy.. i am not a very good student cause i dun like to study, i am more hands-on. my cgpa currently is 3.22.
is there any scholarships available also?
hands-on? if you don't like the academical approach, you can try Unitec New Zealand, they are an Institute of Technology that offers qualifications from certificate all the way through masters. so far i'm liking it here. biggrin.gif

0.0413sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:45 AM