9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

wornbook
post Jan 26 2008, 06:26 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 26 2008, 12:15 AM)
owh.. so if bring perencah,, pack them in one beg.. then show to the pegawai there rite..
It doesn't strictly have to be in one bag, but it sure makes life a heck of a lot easier than anyone. As long as you declare EVERYTHING food-related, you'll be safe. The worse they'll do is chuck it (which they won't if it's on the approved list). But if you don't declare, even if it's an allowed product, they might fine you $200 on the spot. For serious offences it's $10,000.
wornbook
post Jan 29 2008, 05:45 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 29 2008, 12:19 AM)
u mean by bringing perencah or with my vocab...

sweat.gif hahhaha internet, forum + 3 months holiday, what u can expect.. tongue.gif notworthy.gif

btw, how's mobile usage there..
i mean. what's telco, how's the rate. i heard in canter, the line call free..

and which one cheaper there.. subscribing internet like "streamyx", or telco broadband like "maxis broadband".. the name just and example.. sweat.gif
That's already been answered previously in this thread. Go and search lah.
wornbook
post Jan 31 2008, 03:46 PM

370 posts

Haya,
Chinese lessons are fine... provided they speak English as well. Like if I live here in the future and have kids, I will send them for Chinese lessons. But speaking English won't be a problem for them...

Anyway, yes I agree. Chinese, Koreans etc should really go out and learn English if they want to live here. I think it's disgraceful that some people have lived here for 15+ years and can barely string a sentence of English together. One of these people is my friend's mother - and she's Malaysian.

But I am against Kiwis who swear at people and yell at them just because they're speaking their native tongue to each other. If I'm talking to another Chinese, I can damm well speak Chinese to them. I won't do it if there's a non-Chinese speaker in the group cos that is plain rude (another gripe) but I don't see why I have to accommodate total strangers on the road who happen to walk by and hear us talking.

Huix,
Yes, Auckland house prices are sky-high (though sliding a little these days). Welly's ok but the pay isn't necessarily higher. It's very very very windy, even a hot summer's day can be quite cold thanks to the wind. I've never been there in winter but I bet it's worse. Definitely colder than Auckland.

I personally found Welly to be a pretty drab, depressing city. That's just me, there're others who love it.

Try the South Island if you want cheap.

wornbook
post Feb 1 2008, 05:23 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Feb 1 2008, 02:14 PM)
Wornbook,
Thks for the info. wow! never think welly is that bad.... that explain why many people choose auckland indeed. Just my research told me that welly house is cheaper and the paid is slightly higher than auckland. (at least, in IT)
You're welcome. Don't get me wrong... It isn't that bad. Like I said, many people love it. I think a lot of people pick Auckland simply because it's the biggest city so there's a bigger job market and greater ethnic diversity (though there's no lack of Malaysian food in Wellington smile.gif).

Houses and rent are definitely cheaper in Wellington. As for the pay - since you've done the research, I'll take your word for it. I can't say I've done any comprehensive research, and my knowledge is limited to general observations of my field (law) and general fields.

I'll say - go wherever you can find a job. tongue.gif

Added on February 1, 2008, 5:28 pmAs for Chinese taking Chinese as a subject - it's a relatively common phenomenon. Who won't want a free A+? The unis are supposed to regulate against that. At least mine did - if you were educated in a Chinese language environment, you're barred from taking Chinese. But it's hard to enforce... too many loopholes. For example, Malaysians aren't typically considered to be Chinese educated (they don't check primary school records). Another tricky group is people from Hong Kong - they read and write but speak Cantonese instead of Mandarin. They can easily claim that their aim is to learn Mandarin. And then there's the Chinese who grew up here, speak Mandarin fluently but are barely literate.

The uni can't bar ALL people of Chinese ethnicity from taking the subject...

This post has been edited by wornbook: Feb 1 2008, 05:28 PM
wornbook
post Feb 2 2008, 03:53 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Feb 1 2008, 09:37 PM)
Oh well, wornbook, you almost made me regret choosing Vic, but anyhow....it's me decision by the way, hahahaha
Please don't regret just because of what I said. Be happy and have confidence in your own decision. Everyone is different after all. Have a great time in Vic.

QUOTE(huix @ Feb 1 2008, 06:52 PM)
I am not going to NZ as a student but PR visa, still need to find a job. mny agents advertised in seek.co.nz just inform me that let them know when i m in nz and they will help me to get a position, they don't usually give a damn with oversea applicants (of course, in very polite way hehehe)
As tip - when you send in your CV, just put 'NZ Permanent Resident' on it. Just so they don't get confused and put your application in the 'discard' pile cos it's too much of a bother.

QUOTE(huix @ Feb 1 2008, 10:14 PM)
Just my opinion that the university shouldn't restrict student choices unless the class required pre-requisi classes. Why stop them if they want to take some classes and have confidence to get A1. Elective is to learn some extra skills for their future expenditure. If they choose to learn something that they know already becoz of the A1, let them be. It is their choices. However, I would rather choose spanish becoz I believe that would benefit me more since I already knew mandarin.
Well, it's not fair to other students who have to work for whatever grades they get. Remember that these free A+s affect the final grade average/GPA. Also, sometimes averages also count for admission to limited entry courses or honours programmes. So it basically amounts to cheating.

Added on February 2, 2008, 3:56 pm
QUOTE(Greenbellz @ Feb 2 2008, 05:47 AM)
Hie,
am at NZ as a PR as well.. wink.gif if your a student go student job search (SJS),seek and the others are more towards people who are looking for long term and graduated. Pay is higher on sjs,and much more practical rather then the std rate. one thin with jib on sjs is that they don't need experience one,although exceptional for one or two that needs la..but othet then that no need experience,cause we are all students! Jobs at sjs normally dnt need interview,but they just wanna see u la.. jobs are easy to get but depending on with city ur in! Auckland pays more but not sure if Dunedin does.
He's not coming as a student so why would he bother with the lowly paid and low skilled jobs on SJS?

Btw Huix, have you thought of trying recruitment agencies?

This post has been edited by wornbook: Feb 2 2008, 03:56 PM
wornbook
post Feb 3 2008, 06:51 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Feb 2 2008, 09:17 PM)
That's usually when they're speaking their native tongue way too loudly. When foreigners speak too loudly, it's very irritating. Applies to any country.  smile.gif
Not necessarily. Even if they are, it does not justify swearing at them (after all, speaking English way too loudly is just as annoying). Some people are just bigots.

QUOTE(huix @ Feb 3 2008, 09:56 AM)
Hi wornbook,

I have been in software industry 10 years+ and currently a IT manager in both application and infrastructure now. I am currently discussing with an international bank as a technical lead job. (since i strongly believe i can get a job easier as technical lead in NZ) If I get this job, I mostly will stay for another 2-3 years in KL since I still have 3.5 years period  to start actually staying in NZ. (of course, i gotta fly to NZ by the end of this year to renew the visa though, lucky airasia X + airNZ make it cheaper for my 4 pax flight hehe)

I won't mind if I am working as recruitment agencies there tho.
I really meant contacting recruitment agencies so they can help you find a job. But no matter.

All the best with securing that job. From what I understand, transferring from one country to another within the same company is much better than starting afresh. At least you'll generally be at the same level if not a higher one. Many people who start afresh have had to downgrade. At least, that has been the experience of people I know.
wornbook
post Feb 28 2008, 07:56 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Feb 27 2008, 07:28 PM)
UOC, canterbury uni..
Christchurch.

sejuk gile woo...

the omputih so rilek mehh,, wear short pants, especially the girls..
how come they can tahan.. haha
They're used to it. By the end of the year you will be too.
wornbook
post Feb 29 2008, 12:58 PM

370 posts

Funny to hear you guys talk about the cold. It's blazing hot over here in Auckland.
wornbook
post Mar 1 2008, 05:44 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 1 2008, 04:35 AM)
weck. shush shush tempat panas.. hehhee just kidding..

lucky la panas there.. damn lazy to mandi.... sweat.gif

[attachmentid=407901]
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
If it makes you feel better, it's raining today. Not cold though.

But I suspect that's relative. I did spend 4 years in Dunedin after all.
wornbook
post Mar 3 2008, 03:11 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Mar 3 2008, 01:59 PM)
Where was the heat when I wanted it in Auckland, and the cold wind when I was in Christchurch?

On another note, who here is using ihug? I just need to know a few things.

Other than Xtra, is anyone here on another ISP?
I used ihug about 3 years ago. Not sure if I can help.

Btw, ihug is being absorbed into Vodafone this year.
wornbook
post Mar 4 2008, 05:22 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Mar 4 2008, 12:33 PM)
Vodafone has bought over ihug, ever since the old parent company of iinet let go of ihug.

The reason I'm asking is that ihug has a $50/month fair use plan. When you do the maths, that gives you 20GB of data a month, as long as you don't use more than 2GB a day. Even if you don't bundle, $60/month isnt that bad for 2GB of data  a day.

Anyone tried it? I can still remember Xtra's disastrous "unlimited" plan.
Yeah I know about Vodafone. The ihug label/brand is going to disappear this year. Vodafone will take over.

I didn't quite like my experience with ihug. Found the speed very slow and it got 'clogged up' quite often. The idea sounds good though.

Why are you interested?

wornbook
post Mar 5 2008, 08:43 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Mar 4 2008, 11:00 PM)
i heard the houses there are not insulated, is it true? how much to buy 1 and then insulate it?
Like Haya said, most houses are not insulated especially the older ones. The newer 'insulated' ones aren't much better - just some insulation around the outer walls (fat lot of good that does considering the number of windows they have) and roof. Most windows aren't double-glazed as well so lots of heat escapes that way.

How much would it cost to insulate? A LOT, cos it entails ripping out walls and roofs. This is in a country where even changing a tap is expensive.

Btw, central heating is very uncommon in NZ. They're pretty backward in the heating and stay-warm department. Lots of people from colder climates in Europe/North America have complained that they've never felt so cold indoors in their lives.

Another thing to watch out for is damp. Very common and troublesome in winter, especially in the older houses. A dehumidifier generally takes care of that problem. Or you could always get a heat-pump (expensive) which effectively heats up the place and keeps it dry.

QUOTE(haya)
There are also different types of insulation, such as heat insulation, sound insulation (coz their houses are made out of cardboard) etc.

There's Pink Batts which does both the heat and sound insulation job. Their tagline is "warm, dry, quiet".
wornbook
post Mar 11 2008, 05:56 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 10 2008, 11:26 AM)
man.. my face hurts...
maybe becoz the dry weather here..

1st week arrive here, my lips cracked, bleeding somemore.. now, ok
2nd week, my hands dry. now my face.. how eyh???

i've stopped using facial i brought from malaysia.. "nivea that prevents oil sweat.gif" i know i hope its gonna make difference..

must i use moisturizer or something ??? like baby johson ??? sweat.gif
Yes, moisturizer and lip balm are essential. Change your facial wash. Use something that does not dry the skin.
wornbook
post Mar 17 2008, 07:08 AM

370 posts

[quote=huix,Mar 12 2008, 11:35 PM]
There's Pink Batts which does both the heat and sound insulation job. Their tagline is "warm, dry, quiet".

[/quote]
Duh! Seems like NZ taxes. houses and insulation cost are crazy inbalance.... tongue.gif Even earn 6000 per month... 1500 go to income tax.... 10% housing loan... 300k - 400k per house.....living expenses.... that explain why not much ppl has $$$ to insulate the house lol May be it is time to learn some housework how to insulate heat b4 going there.

[/quote]
At least you see the benefits of your tax here. It doesn't go to fill the pockets of Kiwi-putras.
wornbook
post Mar 18 2008, 06:19 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 01:43 AM)
oh my gosh..
this is really unbelievable..i just found out this forum and i've read through every pages and you guys gave lots of information about NZ..  rclxms.gif

well, hi to everyone!! haha! im new here and im going to NZ this April..
which about 3 to 4 weeks away.. i am an SPM leaver.
anyway,i was curious about something..i've got a scholarship (partial scholar) from International Pacific College (IPC),Palmerston North. (im not good as yours which in unis and evrythg)  rolleyes.gif

so,this interview was being organize by Selset New Zealand Centre,at Subang Jaya. i've read on which page i dont remmber..but someone had mentioned about selset..i was thinking whether this agent (selset) is legal or not..because,last two days my teacher told me to seek the scholarship that i've been offered and the agent as well.y'know,nowadays..lots of thing happen..so i have to take precaution..like,being a spy..haha!  icon_idea.gif
If you're worried, how about contacting IPC directly. Surely they'll be able to tell you whether your have a guaranteed place on scholarship. If the College says yes, you're all set.
wornbook
post Mar 18 2008, 12:44 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 12:04 PM)
perencah aa?? i should think about it wisely..haha!
but is all the stuff there are expensive?
how about the clothes? is the price reasonable?
what do you suggest me to bring this April..? is it enough if i just bring 2 coat/sweater like really for this kind of weather..and others i just buy there..
Not so much halal food outside. Mainly some turkish/middle eastern stuff. Most Malaysian food is not halal cos the places are owned/run by Chinese and Indians. There are a few halal ones but there's limited choice. I'm speaking for Auckland here, not sure how things are like in Palmy.

Perencah - if you intend to do cooking, bring some along. While NZ customs laws are strict, most of perencah will get through. I've said it before, as a rule of thumb, if you avoid bringing in meat, dairy products, fresh fruits and vegetables, you'll be fine.

Clothes - there's very limited choice in NZ and it's definitely not cheap. I recommend that you bring clothes from Malaysia. The only things you should buy here are warm clothing. Since you're coming in April, just bring a couple of sweaters and a jacket and you should be fine. Btw those sports windbreakers etc don't count as jackets but they are useful if waterproof.
wornbook
post Mar 18 2008, 03:35 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 01:18 PM)
FOOD = yay! so i have to bring lots of mee maggie..haha!  rolleyes.gif
i'll discuss with my mother then about what to bring there..from what i know, there is a mini market nearby our residence..they have all the keropok and biscuits msia..like julies etc..i hope i can live with that..huu~

CLOTHES - new zealand is really windy huh? so how bout winter holiday? is thre lots of snow falling down (betul ke ayat ni??) i mean, we can make snow man and freezing like crazy..what is the temperature around Palmy during winter?
Don't need to bring stuff like biscuits lah. Plenty over here.

It doesn't normally snow in Palmy or anywhere in the North Island (apart from the mountains).

There's quite a few Malay students in NZ... mostly on MARA or JPA scholarships. There's also a few Malay migrant families around.

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 18 2008, 02:38 PM)
the info that i got, the perencah that are manufactured packed lepas the airport check..
last time my senior brought like 12kg of perencah from msia sweat.gif
Speaking from experience, it's not just perencah that you can bring in. If you know what you're doing, there's plenty of food that they customs will let through.
wornbook
post Mar 18 2008, 08:22 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 18 2008, 04:53 PM)
yeap.. true.. my friend also bring dadih.. dunno how lepas the check.. maybe too many people that day sweat.gif
What is dadih?
wornbook
post Mar 19 2008, 06:36 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 08:37 PM)

Added on March 18, 2008, 9:07 pm
dadih is like a yoghurt, like a jelly too..
it have lots of flavour..
choc,strawberry,corn..

how to make dadih?
easy..you just need a creamer, jelly powder, water...
and the taste is so creamy and fantastic,bombastic! wallah~
Ah right, if it's only made of creamer, jelly powder and water, it's not on the banned list and the customs will let it through. It wasn't a mistake or anything like that.

Like I said earlier, they allow lots of food into NZ. You just need to watch out for certain blacklisted stuff. The strict no-food through customs is a myth. I've brought all sorts of stuff in - fresh roti canai, satay kauh, Chinese New Year cookies, fresh pau (no meat), mooncake (no egg), fresh asam laksa noodles, and even fresh fish (but must be sea water) and fish ball.

Just declare everything and you'll be fine. Take my word for it.

Added on March 19, 2008, 6:43 am
QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 19 2008, 06:36 AM)
Ah right, if it's only made of creamer, jelly powder and water, it's not on the banned list and the customs will let it through. It wasn't a mistake or anything like that.

Like I said earlier, they allow lots of food into NZ. You just need to watch out for certain blacklisted stuff. The strict no-food through customs is a myth. I've brought all sorts of stuff in - fresh roti canai, satay kauh, Chinese New Year cookies, fresh pau (no meat), mooncake (no egg), fresh asam laksa noodles, and even fresh fish (but must be sea water) and fish ball.

Just declare everything and you'll be fine. Take my word for it.
hey, new zealand is famous with their american football rite?
ALL BLACK?? yay!
where and when will be the game start?
huhu..im a big fan of football.

RUGBY pleas, not American football. Kiwis think American football is a game for wimps since they have all that protective padding and helmets.

The Super 14 (professional league across 3 countries - NA, Aus, S. Africa) has already started. When that ends, there's the NPC which is a local provincial tournament.

Aside from that, there's also rugby league. It's a sport very similar to rugby but with some different rules. NZ's Vodafone Warriors play in Australia's NRL.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Mar 19 2008, 06:43 AM
wornbook
post Mar 20 2008, 11:26 AM

370 posts

Don't forget besides income taxes, there's the Goods and Services Tax (GST) which is 12.5% and land rates to city councils.

Public transport was expensive in Auckland and still is. But starting this year, tertiary students get 50% of the normal cost (but it's still inefficient and inconvenient). Not sure how it works in other cities.

Healthcare is still pricey here unless you fall into certain categories. It's too complicated to explain over here. But they have introduced further subsidies since I've been here. There's also the problem of long waiting lists but that can't be avoided.

A lot of the tax dollars are spent/wasted on education. I really don't see the point of putting students through university for cheap and giving them an allowance (only to certain income groups) when they really shouldn't be in university in the first place. It's too each to get a student loan here so there are people who take years and years to graduate - perpetual students.

Unemployment benefits are a good thing but as usual, they're abused. Then again, that's always going to be a problem.

But I like things like a clean (mostly) efficient civil service, good public libraries, clean public toilets, benefits and provisions for the disabled, a compensation scheme for people injured in accidents, street lights that work, well-maintained roads, schools with generally good facilities (sports fields, theatre, recording studios etc).

The system isn't perfect but I won't call it a 'waste'. Unlike in Malaysia where my parents paid tax for years and years but still had to finance our healthcare and higher education privately.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:04 AM