Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

wornbook
post Sep 18 2007, 08:12 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(margosa @ Sep 18 2007, 01:09 AM)
For your information,in NZ the other uni offering such course is Uni of Otago where there is no guarantee of getting into physio in the second year depending on the first year result on a health science course.However in AUT I am secure of a place and the degree is recognised even in Australia by the Australian Professional Association.Btw any better recommendation or advise.
I know. But it isnt that from what I've seen. Recognition doesn't automatically mean it's a great course. Aus recognises about every NZ course anyway and vice versa. Though I see why a guaranteed place is assuring for an international student.

Any what do you mean by "better" recommendation or advice?
wornbook
post Sep 19 2007, 09:29 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Sep 19 2007, 12:38 AM)
any comment about canterbury and massey...
especially about degree in physics..

i heard massey a bit cheaper for the lifestyle
I dunno about cheaper cos I've been to Palmerston North. But Christchurch isn't too expensive (it's no Auckland) so they difference is unlikely to be much. But go check the uni websites. Most have a section on cost of living with a breakdown to individual items. The key, really, is rent.

Comparing the reputation of the degrees, most people will pick Canterbury over Massey. The fact that Ernest Rutherford was from Canterbury should give it brownie points. biggrin.gif On the actual degrees, I guess you need to look into the fields covered by both unis, one might do stuff (that interests you) the other doesn't. Also, it might pay to check with uni offers more opportunities for students to take part in actual research through summer studentships and the like.

Added on September 19, 2007, 9:53 am
QUOTE(margosa @ Sep 18 2007, 10:01 AM)
Thank for your response. What I meant is do you have any recommendation or advise for me the alternative to look to further my physio study.Btw can you elobrate futher on AUT such as the marketability of their graduates and the quality of of lecturers.
Have you thought of asking AUT whether they'll accept transfers directly into their 2nd year physio from first year health science in another university? Cos if they do, it'll be great. Then you'll be able to enrol in FYHS somewhere else, try to get in (physio is comparatively easier than the other courses, barring med lab sci). If you do, great - you'll get a degree from a slightly better university. If you don't, you can always go back to AUT without losing out. Kiwi unis are pretty flexible with trasfers, provided your grades aren't too bad. It's worth a shot anyway...

If not, I completely understandopting for AUT. It's a lot of money to risk if you don't feel confident.
BTW, why not Australia?

On AUT itself, it's not that it's a bad uni just that it's quite new. It was a polytech before obtaining uni status - there was some controversy surrounding it at the time, and some people still don't think it should be a uni. What is clear is that their entry requirements tend to be lower and they many less "academic" degrees.

NZ is a small country and with a fewer number of unis around, there's little academic snobbery in the job market. I can't speak specifically for physio, but from what I've seen, as long as you've got decent grades (with extra-curriculars and work experience) you shouldn't be at any real disadantage in the job market coming from AUT. Of course you'll might find it a bit tougher as an international student but that factor would be present whichever uni you go to. However, that's just in NZ. You mentioned Oz... well it's a bigger country over there and plenty of unis of varying qualities. From what people tell me, the uni you come from matters in Oz. If that's true, a degree from Otago might give you the edge. Then again, there's nothing to stop you from working in NZ first and building up experience before going over. Uni names and grades only really matter to fresh grads anyway.

But don't take my word for it. This is just my opinion based on what knowledge I have. Talk to others and get their views. Especially on the Oz side of things.

Added on September 19, 2007, 10:04 am
QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 18 2007, 05:47 PM)
a "guaranteed" place is EXTREMELY reassuring for an international student...........

the system in au and otage is all eligible students (including full fees paying international students) goes into 1st year "health science" and then depending on your 1st year results, will then get chosen for the respective health science courses, eg medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, physiotherapy, nursing etc.........

imagine paying fees for 1 year, spend 1 year of you life, and at the end find you CANNOT continue in the course of your choice............

if you don't want to take a chance in otago, aut is okay.........in fact, for technical fields, technical universities like aut are more practical and hands on than the main universities, which are more theoritical................
Physio isn't really that tough to get into... the cutoff marks are much lower compared to med and dent. Pharmacy's average is a little higher too. Makes sense considering physio is lots of people's 4th choice. Provided the students works hard (I mean really working not working with the mouth like many I've seen), it's completely achievable.

But then, I completely understand why an international student won't want to take the risk. Too much at stake.

I used to think Auckland does physio but when I checked the NZ govt website yesterday, it wasn't on the list. Only AUT and Otago. Anyway, Auckland's pharmacy is direct entry and I believe it's nursing is too. Medicine used to be direct entry, but not anymore.

On the techinical universities point: Physio is one of those fields with strong academic and vocational components. So it's taught with plenty of hands-on experience, just like medicine, dentistry etc. In Otago, students begin to see patients in the 2nd year (1st professional year). I dunno about AUT but it should be similar, maybe earlier. So comparing the two, they're more or less equal in the vocational aspect while Otago is arguably superior from the academic side of things.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Sep 19 2007, 10:04 AM
wornbook
post Sep 19 2007, 10:40 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Sep 19 2007, 08:19 PM)
ehmm.. how to check those two points said???
1. Uni websites list the topics/courses/papers offerred right from the first year to postgrad level.
2. Contact the department.

Added on September 19, 2007, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(margosa @ Sep 19 2007, 05:49 PM)
Btw I notice that in UK physio course only needs 3 years instead of 4 year to complete. Anybody can provide me an answer?
What's the internet for if not to find out stuff? Check the uni websites

This post has been edited by wornbook: Sep 19 2007, 10:42 PM
wornbook
post Sep 23 2007, 07:19 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 22 2007, 06:13 PM)
thanks for your help. really appreciate it..

btw, i already contacted another senior there. anyway, thanks and i hope i can be like the many IMU fella who made it through despite my laziness.... i don't really care whos top whos not as long as i can pass, thats all ^ ^

i'll be leaving KK through brunei airlines to sydney on 30th december. cheap airflight (415 brunei dollar inclusive tax). go there and see fireworks on the 1st jan, then go backpacking in aus, then flew to auckland on the 22 jan. will catch you guys there haha...
You're welcome. Glad to help a soon-to-be fellow NZ student. If you need anything else, just ask and I'll see what I can do.

Added on September 23, 2007, 7:25 pm
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 23 2007, 02:34 AM)
No friends in Wellington, but I do have a few mates in Auckland. Flight from Auckland to Wellington is about NZ$200, but from Malaysia to Auckland would cost about 2.5k per pax including tax, but i think not inclusive of fuel surcharge. Shipping stuffs? I'm not sure about how many things would I bring, but I'm pretty sure that there's no many, prolly somewhere around 25kg should be more than enough. I'm not going under MSL travel I think, should be STA as they do provide cheap flights too, or maybe I might just book online and get an ISIC card done. Have you done your medical checkup and all the necessary Visa procedures? Mind telling me those procedures?
You can get cheaper tickets if you book early. But for those tickets, you can't change dates. Just make up your mind early and confirm all dates. You'll save quite a bit that way.
I take it you're flying AirNZ to Welly? If you don't mind shopping around, try flypacificblue.com. They might be cheaper.

Overweight baggage in NZ (domestic) is about $5 per kg. They'll normally give an allowance of up to 5kg so you're safe with 25kg.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Sep 23 2007, 07:25 PM
wornbook
post Sep 25 2007, 07:20 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 24 2007, 12:15 PM)
student can get +10kg. but must apply
I was thinking about the Akl-Welly sector. AirNZ is notorious for being fussy about baggage limits on their domestic sectors. Giving them the "I'm a student" line doesn't really help since every other passenger is a student at hat time of the year.
wornbook
post Sep 26 2007, 08:18 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 25 2007, 10:48 PM)
typical NZ policy.
sikit sikit also nak bising.
but if say u apply for something, and u fulfill all the requirements, dont like also you qualify. thats the good part of the system.

P/s: i'm astonished by my poor english above thumbup.gif
Well the advantage is that you always know where you stand. Fewer grey areas, less room for hanky-panky, and much less unpredictability. In short, a more efficient system.
wornbook
post Sep 26 2007, 09:02 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 26 2007, 08:22 AM)
how much on average would it cost to stay outside? im planning to move out of Grafton after one year... beh tahan... too expensive
Check this out for some estimates. http://www.auckland.ac.nz/uoa/for/prospect...livingcosts.cfm
wornbook
post Sep 26 2007, 08:11 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(S-Ann @ Sep 26 2007, 07:04 PM)
Hi everyone!I am new here.Don't really have the time to go through the whole thread on Studying In New Zealand yet.Anyway, I would just like to ask if anyone here knows how is it like life in University of Auckland and University of Wellington?I mean as in the environment, living expenses, facilities, and etc.Is there any big difference between those two universities?Hope you guys can help me out.Thank you very much!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Why don't you read through the thread first, and then if there's anything that hasn't been covered, ask and one of us will try to answer. The thread isn't that long and you can skip though most parts anyway. I don't see why we should repeat ourselves (using our valuable time) just because you can't spare the time to read what's already been said.
wornbook
post Sep 27 2007, 06:10 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 26 2007, 11:28 PM)
ya i saw the website too. but i juz wanna be more specific, they give a range of 120 - 200 NZ. i just wanna ask if i can truly save a lot staying outside than in residence hall. emperormeng how much do you pay for yours?
Most people I know pay around 170-180. If you get unfurnished and buy your own furniture, it can go as low as 130-140. This is city centre prices, mind you. I think EmperorMeng stays in the suburbs.

How much you can save depends on what you eat, your power usage etc. If you cook, you can save a lot.
wornbook
post Sep 27 2007, 10:41 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 27 2007, 08:27 AM)
im opposite o'roke hall.
165 per week, power/water included.
+ use unlimited uni internet.

5 rooms apartment .
That's cheap. Is that Quest on Mount St?
wornbook
post Sep 27 2007, 07:22 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Sep 27 2007, 01:53 PM)
Just wondering, how are heating charges like nowadays?
Free. Just put a few jumpers on. thumbup.gif

On a more serious note, power, water, petrol (and about everything else) is going up thanks to the govt's green policy and carbon tax. Ouch.
wornbook
post Sep 27 2007, 08:35 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 27 2007, 08:23 PM)
that applies for people who have cars. thank god they're using heating pans. btw, i read somewhere that auckland traffic jam is kinda bad and the transportation facility aint that good. is that true?
When petrol prices go up, everything else goes up. Sigh.
What do you mean by heating pans?

Ya, Auckland traffic at rush hour can get pretty bad. I try to avoid the motorway into the city in the mornings (8-9am), and from around 3.30-5.50.
Public transport in Auckland is bad by developed-country standards. Don't expect anything like the London tube or Sydney tram system here. Buses are very expensive and not always reliable. Same goes for the train, and the stations are placed at even more inconvenient places than the LRT in KL. I have no experience with the ferries.
But it should really bother you since you're staying so close to the hospital.
wornbook
post Sep 28 2007, 11:06 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Sep 28 2007, 10:00 AM)
Yeah. It can be bad. But the stupid thing is that its only for about an hour or so. Drive in/out of the city at 6.30pm and all is fine. Part of the reason is that Auckland is at an itsmus.

IMO through, price aside, buses in Auckland are still better than KL. Trains are terrible (don't bother. Seriously) but ferries are convinent if you live at the east side. From Bucklands beach to the city is only about 20 mins (1 hr plus on a bus). Not as frequent as I'd like, but still okay.

Bikes are useless in this place. Pratically every part of Auckland is mount everest. Don't get me started with Emily Pl and Eden Cresent leading to Symonds St. How they built the road in the first place is beyond me. Still, Dunedin has Baldwin St, so..................................................

Maybe I should have gone to CHC.
But the ferries are very pricey. It's about $1 more per trip. Ok once in a while but on a daily basis?

Ah, but Baldwin St isn't in/near the city centre. It's so out of the way that only tourists and residents (beats me why anyone would live there) go there. But the rest of Dunedin is hilly enough.

Added on September 28, 2007, 11:10 am
QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 28 2007, 09:00 AM)
heating pans dont use cooking gases ------> environmental friendly  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Heating pans are less efficient though. With gas, you turn it off when you finish so no wastage. Heating pans continue to give out heat long after you turn them off, plus there's the time needed to heat them up in the first place. Plus it's not that environmentally friendly. While most of NZ's electricity comes from hydroelectric dams, some of it (especially in winter when usage is high and water freezes over) comes from burning coal etc. It's a myth than electricity is always clean and green.

Gas is cheaper than electricity. And it's harder to control heat on the heating pans for cooking.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Sep 28 2007, 11:11 AM
wornbook
post Sep 29 2007, 07:34 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Sep 28 2007, 07:07 PM)
I personally feel the time saved (up to 40 mins compared to the bus) is worth the extra $1. But thats IMO.
You're discounting the time needed to get to the wharf. For some, even in the Eastern suburbs, it takes quite a while to get the wharf if you don't have a car (and it costs more $$$ as well).
wornbook
post Sep 29 2007, 08:40 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 29 2007, 06:05 PM)
I heard that in NZ, if you work at some farms like Strawberry farms and etc, you can earn alot of money. Is this true?
Depends on your definition of a lot. By Malaysian standards it's a lot, by NZ standards, not so much. Fruit-pickers are paid between minimum wage (now $10+ I think) to $15 (if you're lucky) per hour. It's a seasonal job so you can't depend on it for long-term income. Tax is 19.8% on every dollar earned... you do the maths.
wornbook
post Sep 30 2007, 10:41 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 29 2007, 11:27 PM)
that's quite true. but eventually, you'll get used to heating pans. besides, the heating pans don't produce carbon right? so your frying pans will appreciate it cos it wont turn black and dirty?... not to mention other benefits ----> safer especially in a student residence... students can get pretty stupid sometimes.... of course i prefer gas, but both will do for me. it's not that much of a burden anyway...
Yup, safer for students. Though some students have been known to set kitchens on fire with electric stoves as well. Bottom line is, always be careful in the kitchen. tongue.gif

does auckland uni provides holiday for every season like other unis? how long will it be? is it sufficient to work part time during the holidays?
since auckland has a chinatown, i guess finding part time wouldn't be that difficult, will it?

2 weeks mid-semester break each semester, one 3 week break between semesters. And of course, the long summer break (mid-Nov to late Feb). Med school might be different though, especially since you're in the clinical years.
It depends on how much is sufficient for you. An important thing to remember is to never count on supporting yourself entirely on part-time work over here. All sorts of contingencies might happen, and your No. 1 duty is to study... Not easy to work and study at the same time, you are doing med after all.

Auckland has a Chinatown? The way it looks sometimes, Auckland could be in Asia itself. Anyway, NZ isn't like some other countries - you should be able to find jobs easily without resorting to getting bullied by Chinatown restaurants. When you get here, just register for Student Job Search to look for jobs. www.sjs.co.nz.

EmperorMeng,
during holidays, ur supposed to be doing ur industrial training / practical experience.

Not everyone is doing engineering. For some people, holidays are for holidays. Btw, did you manage to get a job in NZ or are you going back for industrial training?
wornbook
post Sep 30 2007, 06:09 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 30 2007, 01:50 PM)
hm.. doh.gif
im going back during summer.
no point staying here considering the cost of living.
i'll start practical work next summer holidays.
i will choose then, where to do it.
If you do industrial training here, the pay will easily cover for rent/other expenses. Average pay is $15 per hour from what I hear, and as a full time job, it comes to quite a substantial amount. Compare that with the measly few hundred RM you'll get for industrial training in M'sia. And if you get a good firm, chances are they'll employ you after graduation. It can get pretty competitive though... But I'm assuming you're a PR since you take NZ govt loan. That will make things easier.
wornbook
post Oct 3 2007, 02:34 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Oct 3 2007, 01:49 PM)
Hi all, i am new to this thread. Anyway,

If i were to further my study in New Zealand doing MBA (i am IT graduate and working in IT sector) and have plan to pursue PhD sooner thereafter, do i get a chance to work there as soon as i completed my MBA (part time or full time, preferably in the academic world). And continue my PhD while working full/part time? If not, please advice me on any other choice for me to get a job after finished my MBA while doing my PhD.

Thanks in advance.
Whether you can work here after your MBA depends on whether you get a job. At the moment, all NZ graduates a granted a 6-month work visa on application. If you do get a job within six months, they'll grant you a permanent work visa. I believe the job has to be full-time and related in some way to your course (with an MBA that should be too difficult to comply with). Once you find a permanent job and work for about 2 years, you'll be able to apply for PR. Then you can work full-time/part-time/ not work while you study... what ever suits you.

If you don't go down the job/PR route but instead start your PhD immediately after your MBA, you'll be on an international student visa which only allows you to work up to 20 hours a week. Note that PhDs students are only charged local fees.
wornbook
post Oct 3 2007, 05:40 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Oct 3 2007, 05:11 PM)
Guys, wanna ask bout studying in Otago. Isit easy to get into medicine course there compare to other U in australia or in nz? Otago is certainly one choice of mine. hehe, do gimme some advice ^^ Thanks alot.
IMHO, slightly easier than Auckland cos there's no interview. 90% average in first year health science will pretty much guarantee you a place (unless your UMAT is atrocious), but not so in Auckland. The threshold is actually lower than that, but because of the international student quota (mostly taken up by govt scholars from Saudi and Malaysia), it can get tight.

No idea about Australia. A word of advice, if you manage to get into an Australian uni, just go. You don't want to risk wasting a year if you don't get into an NZ programme.
wornbook
post Oct 3 2007, 06:00 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 3 2007, 05:49 PM)
nz is not good for international students, as their system is an open health sciences 1st year, and selection to continue in 2nd year medicine based on the 1st year results..........so they may take in 1000 students, and only the top 200 goes on to medicine, the rest do other health related courses like dentistry, pharmacy, physio, nursing etc..............

so you take your chances........and i know people who failed to get into 2nd year medicine, and quited and returned to start again in imu............
More like 1500 students (the numbers increase each year) and 150 med school places - at least for Otago. Note that some of the 150 places go to graduate students. The numbers for international students are also different because of the quotas. Say they admit 30 international students into 2nd year each year. Of those 30, a large majority of places are taken up by pre-approved govt scholars based on agreement between their respective govts and the uni. That leaves a handful, and I mean a handful, for private fee-paying international students.

On IMU, neither Otago nor Auckland allow unsuccessful health science students to enter their clinical schools from IMU. You only get one shot at it, unless you try for graduate entry.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0394sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:50 AM