7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

lilredridinghood
post Sep 27 2007, 01:30 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Oh wow, I guess Wellington is still slightly cheaper than Auckland, the hall that I'm going will be around 160 per week excluding electricity and water bill, heater will be covered, non catered, 2-3 room apartment with internet and a few more facilities. Not exactly the cheapest, but the nearest to business faculty campus. As for some other hall, one of the most notable one cost about 270 catered, but that's too far for me and moreover, I'm not one of those who are looking for catered halls.

Based on what I've read, if one were to rent a room(private flatting) here in Wellington, it would cost up to about 250 max per week.
lilredridinghood
post Sep 29 2007, 05:57 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

emperor, i can't help but to ask you whether were you from SFI? Since your details state that you are from Melaka Raya

How much did you first pay for your tuition fees before going? Did you pay for the whole year or just a term? Is it okay if I pay for a trimester 1st instead of the whole year?
lilredridinghood
post Oct 17 2007, 01:07 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

my friends are having their finals in 3 weeks time, Aussie fellas...not too sure about NZ though
lilredridinghood
post Nov 13 2007, 01:08 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

There are 3 different campuses for Massey, not sure whether where the business faculty is located. The main campus is located at Palmerston North, whereas the other 2 are in Wellington and Auckland. Not too familiar about Waikato though.

But why limit your choice of universities in NZ? Why not consider UOA or Otago even?
lilredridinghood
post Nov 14 2007, 10:27 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

wornbook, probably all of us should meet up someday at NZ, maybe Auckland. Will be leaving early February next year, the fooking air fares are increasing like mad, or have they increased?
lilredridinghood
post Nov 20 2007, 09:18 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Nov 19 2007, 09:18 AM)
Sorry, missed this earlier...Ya, we would meet up sometime.

You're going to Wellington right? Are you talking about AirNZ airfares? Try www.flypacificblue.co.nz. It's a new airline, only started operation this month (owned by Richard Branson's Virgin). Cos it's just started, not too many ppl seem them as a potential carrier yet so their prices increase more slowly. I entered a random mid-Feb date and found flights for $69.
Saw the fly pacific blue earlier, but I've booked my ticket months ago through my father's mate, who informed us about the increment of flight tickets and we had to buy it before it increases, and wow they do increase a lot. Bought mine for about 2.8k one way straight to Wellington and SIA from Malaysia to Auckland, the AirNZ is kinda expensive eh? And they do not accept more than 20kgs, even with an ISIC card.

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Nov 19 2007, 02:28 PM)
hey i juz got my offer letter. how long does it take to apply for student visa? im leaving this 28th of december. can i make it? i heard the letter of good conduct can take quite a while...

i am going to sydney first then auckland on the 23rd of January next year. if my student visa not done yet, can the visa be sent via postage or through internet?
Student Visa takes about 2 weeks or less, I've done my medical checkup as well as my financial undertaking form, now I'm left with me school fees before I can process with the visa application. You should be able to get your letter of good conduct in NZ as what my friend has done last year, when you renew your student visa. I do not think that the visa can be sent via internet.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 21 2007, 08:49 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Nov 20 2007, 10:36 PM)
thanks for the reply. i only worried about the letter of good conducts. now the certificate of good conduct is done through putrajaya, not bukit aman. i've applied for it since late august but till now haven't receive the certificate. i called and they said they've sent it. i wonder if they sent through registered mail or normal mail.... my option now is to call up my friend/ relatives to pick up another cert with RM 20 charge.... and yea, my envelope was self addressed... and the address was confirmed correct... i triple checked all the documents..

@lilredridinghood

i've checked through the nz immigration. to apply for the student visa, the letter of good conduct is compulsory. probably your friend stayed in NZ for quite some while, thats why he is able to get a good conduct letter through NZ.

this is the website...
http://www.immigration.govt.nz/

@wornbook

well, i would prefer entering NZ with my student visa. i don't want to procrastinate and sort things out later sad.gif

hehe, btw i am arriving Auckland on 28th January. can't wait to fly there >.< together with my offer letter, they mentioned we need to fax to them the detail of our flight. do they seriously provide transport for the first timer??? that would be sweet ...
IRRC, the letter of good conduct is only required if you are going to stay there for more than 24 months like what you will be doing. Perhaps what my friend did was a little bit different, he was only offered for 2 years initially but then decided to go for another year to complete his post graduate diploma.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 26 2007, 11:08 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

edited.....

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Nov 29 2007, 01:30 AM
lilredridinghood
post Nov 28 2007, 06:14 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

WTF! I need an outward air ticket to ensure my visa application goes smoothly

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Nov 28 2007, 06:15 PM
lilredridinghood
post Nov 29 2007, 05:20 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

the problem is I've got myself a one way tic....darn!
lilredridinghood
post Dec 4 2007, 04:38 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Dec 4 2007, 10:29 AM)
hey guys, one question here. the auckland uni will send ppl to come fetch the newbies once they arrived at the airport right? is it free????
I don't know about UOA, but VUW offers for free.
lilredridinghood
post Dec 21 2007, 06:14 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Hurray! My Visa has been approved.
lilredridinghood
post Dec 24 2007, 02:23 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

hahahaha, so when does your visa expires?
lilredridinghood
post Dec 24 2007, 10:09 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

same then, merry christmas everyone
lilredridinghood
post Jan 8 2008, 12:04 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

air nz is damn irritating, after browsing through the site, I noticed that my laptop backpack might be too big to be considered as a personal item, are there any possibilities to bring it in? Even if I pay a small sum of fine?

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Jan 8 2008, 12:45 PM
lilredridinghood
post Jan 8 2008, 05:01 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

It isn't that big, but apparently, Air New Zealand is very particular when it comes to baggage from what I've heard. Big laptop bags are considered as one piece of hand carry luggage from their site.
lilredridinghood
post Jan 8 2008, 11:38 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jan 8 2008, 05:47 PM)
Yep, laptop bags count as one piece. How big is your backpack? I've never had a problem with passing mine off as a personal item - it's a average (medium)-sized Reebok bag. As long as it's not stuffed really full, it should be fine.

Btw, if a piece of cabin luggage is over-sized/over-weight they simply won't let it onto the plane. It's for safety reasons, so a mere fine won't solve the problem.
then i guess it should be fine, I guess I should be able to argue my way in, wanted to get a backpack for my partner's lappie, but i guess staying sling is much better as it is much slimmer than a backpack

Thanks by the way.
lilredridinghood
post Jan 18 2008, 01:41 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 18 2008, 03:37 AM)
ya online.. even in malaysia so many ffk cases... uhuhh
i'm thinking to rip my desktop part one by one.. then just leave the casing here..

so.. when arrive there, just buy casing and monitor.. hahhaa
but maybe for my 2nd trip laa..

1st time flight, sure gonna bring a lot of stater things.. sweat.gif
where are you heading to by the way
lilredridinghood
post Jan 18 2008, 10:42 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

vic in wellington....
lilredridinghood
post Jan 20 2008, 02:20 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Jan 20 2008, 06:54 AM)
telegraphic transfer?
ASB stands for? Amanah Saham Bumiputra? Is that a saver account? i bet it sure come with conditions preventing you drawing money and transactions.

Added on January 20, 2008, 7:03 amsorry, just checked the ASB bank site. really good deal. its called fastsaver account. please do correct me if im wrong.

http://www.asbbank.co.nz/story6924.asp?

tonnes better than ANZ progress saver account
dude, where are you now?

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:16 PM