post Sep 16 2007, 09:21 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

wat cellphone package u guys using
EmperorMeng
post Sep 24 2007, 12:15 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 23 2007, 02:34 AM)
No friends in Wellington, but I do have a few mates in Auckland. Flight from Auckland to Wellington is about NZ$200, but from Malaysia to Auckland would cost about 2.5k per pax including tax, but i think not inclusive of fuel surcharge. Shipping stuffs? I'm not sure about how many things would I bring, but I'm pretty sure that there's no many, prolly somewhere around 25kg should be more than enough. I'm not going under MSL travel I think, should be STA as they do provide cheap flights too, or maybe I might just book online and get an ISIC card done. Have you done your medical checkup and all the necessary Visa procedures? Mind telling me those procedures?
student can get +10kg. but must apply
EmperorMeng
post Sep 25 2007, 10:48 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 24 2007, 01:59 PM)
I think it depends on which airline are you taking. I know MAS do offer this though for students.
QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 25 2007, 07:20 AM)
I was thinking about the Akl-Welly sector. AirNZ is notorious for being fussy about baggage limits on their domestic sectors. Giving them the "I'm a student" line doesn't really help since every other passenger is a student at hat time of the year.
was MAS.
QUOTE(haya @ Sep 25 2007, 09:47 AM)
I have to agree. They are very strict with your hand luggage. Even before the LAGS rulings, they didn't like me bringing some drinks onboard (L&P, the best thing since sliced bread). They do weigh your hand luggage at the airport, and even if I was overweight by 200g (YES! GRAMS!) they told me to chuck something out.
typical NZ policy.
sikit sikit also nak bising.
but if say u apply for something, and u fulfill all the requirements, dont like also you qualify. thats the good part of the system.

P/s: i'm astonished by my poor english above thumbup.gif
EmperorMeng
post Sep 27 2007, 08:27 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 26 2007, 11:28 PM)
ya i saw the website too. but i juz wanna be more specific, they give a range of 120 - 200 NZ. i just wanna ask if i can truly save a lot staying outside than in residence hall. emperormeng how much do you pay for yours?
im opposite o'roke hall.
165 per week, power/water included.
+ use unlimited uni internet.

5 rooms apartment .

This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Sep 27 2007, 08:29 AM
EmperorMeng
post Sep 27 2007, 09:03 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 27 2007, 10:41 AM)
That's cheap. Is that Quest on Mount St?
33 mount st, beside quest.
QUOTE(haya @ Sep 27 2007, 01:53 PM)
Just wondering, how are heating charges like nowadays?
from computer heat brows.gif
QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 27 2007, 08:35 PM)
When petrol prices go up, everything else goes up. Sigh.
What do you mean by heating pans?

Ya, Auckland traffic at rush hour can get pretty bad. I try to avoid the motorway into the city in the mornings (8-9am), and from around 3.30-5.50.
Public transport in Auckland is bad by developed-country standards. Don't expect anything like the London tube or Sydney tram system here. Buses are very expensive and not always reliable. Same goes for the train, and the stations are placed at even more inconvenient places than the LRT in KL. I have no experience with the ferries.
But it should really bother you since you're staying so close to the hospital.
just to add.
the only transport i feel practical here is walking and motorbike/any cheap petrol based bike .
bicycles and skates are jz too energy consuming considering the hilly ground.
EmperorMeng
post Sep 29 2007, 09:49 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

rempit is the best transport already...
but cold la sweat.gif
EmperorMeng
post Sep 30 2007, 09:49 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 29 2007, 05:57 PM)
emperor, i can't help but to ask you whether were you from SFI? Since your details state that you are from Melaka Raya

How much did you first pay for your tuition fees before going? Did you pay for the whole year or just a term? Is it okay if I pay for a trimester 1st instead of the whole year?
the SFI crest is in my siggy.

i take NZ gov loan for education purposes. and payment was done per yer in my case.
QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 29 2007, 06:05 PM)
I heard that in NZ, if you work at some farms like Strawberry farms and etc, you can earn alot of money. Is this true?
nope, as for plucking fruits its seasonal, most probably during summer holidays.
with a minimum wage and tax, if you bring back the money, it would be much.
but if it is to be used here, no.
plus summer holidays are times you have to use for your industrial training / practical experience
QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 29 2007, 11:27 PM)
that's quite true. but eventually, you'll get used to heating pans. besides, the heating pans don't produce carbon right? so your frying pans will appreciate it cos it wont turn black and dirty?... not to mention other benefits ----> safer especially in a student residence... students can get pretty stupid sometimes.... of course i prefer gas, but both will do for me. it's not that much of a burden anyway...
does auckland uni provides holiday for every season like other unis? how long will it be? is it sufficient to work part time during the holidays?
since auckland has a chinatown, i guess finding part time wouldn't be that difficult, will it?
during holidays, ur supposed to be doing ur industrial training / practical experience.
EmperorMeng
post Sep 30 2007, 01:50 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 30 2007, 10:41 AM)
EmperorMeng,
Not everyone is doing engineering. For some people, holidays are for holidays. Btw, did you manage to get a job in NZ or are you going back for industrial training?
hm.. doh.gif
im going back during summer.
no point staying here considering the cost of living.
i'll start practical work next summer holidays.
i will choose then, where to do it.
EmperorMeng
post Oct 1 2007, 04:45 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 30 2007, 06:09 PM)
If you do industrial training here, the pay will easily cover for rent/other expenses. Average pay is $15 per hour from what I hear, and as a full time job, it comes to quite a substantial amount. Compare that with the measly few hundred RM you'll get for industrial training in M'sia. And if you get a good firm, chances are they'll employ you after graduation. It can get pretty competitive though... But I'm assuming you're a PR since you take NZ govt loan. That will make things easier.
thanks for the tip. thumbup.gif
EmperorMeng
post Oct 18 2007, 07:06 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Oct 18 2007, 09:23 AM)
Anyway, I'll echo what you said. To those out there with 'em (I think it's only Emperor Meng), good luck with your exams!  smile.gif
QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Oct 18 2007, 05:29 PM)
Good luck to all having exams !!!!!!!! smile.gif
thanks very much notworthy.gif
now.. all i need to do is find my timetable doh.gif
guess i'll check online 2mr after football.
im feeling so lazy biggrin.gif
EmperorMeng
post Dec 1 2007, 04:29 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 24 2007, 08:01 AM)
*sigh* Welcome to Malaysia.

Well, you're going yo love New Zealand air! Its the only thing I can't complain about. Kia ora!
exactly.
when i just landed msia, i ask my mom if there is haze.
straight kena shoot. "what haze?" doh.gif

EmperorMeng
post Feb 17 2008, 01:02 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(Adri@n @ Feb 5 2008, 06:00 PM)
izit cost a lot to study in NZ?...izit many of u get scholarship to study there or parents afford?
take loan .
lulz

Added on February 17, 2008, 1:03 am
QUOTE(fantagero @ Feb 14 2008, 11:58 PM)
da7n.. my luggage just half filled..
kinnda blur what to bring.. sweat.gif
not packing until last day. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Feb 17 2008, 01:03 AM
EmperorMeng
post Feb 27 2008, 02:21 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 18 2008, 08:37 AM)
Just out of curiosity, loan from where, EmperorMeng?
NZ gov. for PR & citizenz
cheers

This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Feb 27 2008, 02:21 AM
EmperorMeng
post Mar 2 2008, 05:31 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 27 2008, 01:02 PM)
Completely different circumstances to what most of us Malaysian International students face.
cheers
QUOTE(haya @ Feb 29 2008, 06:50 AM)
Its not so much the temp but more of the wind chill factor.
QUOTE(wornbook @ Feb 29 2008, 12:58 PM)
Funny to hear you guys talk about the cold. It's blazing hot over here in Auckland.
seconded and seconded
EmperorMeng
post Mar 16 2008, 08:02 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Mar 12 2008, 11:35 PM)
There's Pink Batts which does both the heat and sound insulation job. Their tagline is "warm, dry, quiet".
Duh! Seems like NZ taxes. houses and insulation cost are crazy inbalance.... tongue.gif Even earn 6000 per month... 1500 go to income tax.... 10% housing loan... 300k - 400k per house.....living expenses.... that explain why not much ppl has $$$ to insulate the house lol May be it is time to learn some housework how to insulate heat b4 going there.
wutdo...? they like to tax so much.
so , make use of watever public service, thats all i can say.

Added on March 16, 2008, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 12 2008, 01:07 PM)
Something I find very effective and cheap for lips is Vaseline Petroleum Jelly. Maybe a little messy.

For skin, use soap that has 50% moisturizer. Name of that particular brand escapes me at the moment, but its everywhere in supermarkets.
i use st.ives

This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Mar 17 2008, 02:25 PM
EmperorMeng
post Mar 18 2008, 07:50 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

i hate NZ maggi cry.gif
no MSG .. so sad. kari flavour so sux.
EmperorMeng
post Mar 19 2008, 03:37 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 19 2008, 02:14 PM)
idk what's that call.. huuh sorry if wrong.. sweat.gif
its called fashion disaster.
please wear ur baju kurung with pride, its authentic beauty.

BTW, any places 2 buy guitar in city centre? new/second hand as long as makes sound.
EmperorMeng
post Mar 19 2008, 08:48 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

dont worry huix. house price are dropping !
EmperorMeng
post Mar 21 2008, 08:04 AM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(guest18 @ Mar 20 2008, 01:25 PM)
how you all apply to university in new zealand ?
IM planning to ask otago to send me the registration form and then I mail it back to them
shall legendary guest 18 plz come notworthy.gif
dont forget ur wife brows.gif
EmperorMeng
post Mar 21 2008, 11:03 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 21 2008, 05:01 PM)
Islam is a almost non-existent in NZ. I Kiwi could live his life without knowing a single Muslim.

Christianity and other religions are not insignificant in Malaysia. You'd be hard pressed to have never met/gone to school with a Christian or other non-Muslim in your life (and if you did, it's a total failure of our system to segregate our students like that). It's a common courtesy to know at least some of the most basic facts of your friends/classmates/neighbour's religion.

This is what happens when the authorities in a country treat other religions like anathema.
Word .

Added on March 21, 2008, 11:11 pm
QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 21 2008, 11:00 PM)
wow! you guys are really something..
this one i can say that,im not really into world issue..
but after this i'll make sure i'll up to date in every issues..huhu!
since im going to live in other country..
i also have to know what happened with this world, ain't it?
then i can join you guys discussing about this RWI..
but,kinda a tense huh..  sweat.gif
i've got lots more to learn..  
icon_rolleyes.gif
learning is a personal choice.
what u do with ur knowledge is another story

This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Mar 21 2008, 11:13 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:36 AM