Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

fantagero
post Sep 19 2007, 08:19 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 19 2007, 09:29 AM)
I dunno about cheaper cos I've been to Palmerston North. But Christchurch isn't too expensive (it's no Auckland) so they difference is unlikely to be much. But go check the uni websites. Most have a section on cost of living with a breakdown to individual items. The key, really, is rent.

Comparing the reputation of the degrees, most people will pick Canterbury over Massey. The fact that Ernest Rutherford was from Canterbury should give it brownie points. biggrin.gif  On the actual degrees, I guess you need to look into the fields covered by both unis, one might do stuff (that interests you) the other doesn't. Also, it might pay to check with uni offers more opportunities for students to take part in actual research through summer studentships and the like.

ehmm.. how to check those two points said???

This post has been edited by fantagero: Sep 19 2007, 08:20 PM
wornbook
post Sep 19 2007, 10:40 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Sep 19 2007, 08:19 PM)
ehmm.. how to check those two points said???
1. Uni websites list the topics/courses/papers offerred right from the first year to postgrad level.
2. Contact the department.

Added on September 19, 2007, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(margosa @ Sep 19 2007, 05:49 PM)
Btw I notice that in UK physio course only needs 3 years instead of 4 year to complete. Anybody can provide me an answer?
What's the internet for if not to find out stuff? Check the uni websites

This post has been edited by wornbook: Sep 19 2007, 10:42 PM
d(@@)b
post Sep 22 2007, 06:13 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 17 2007, 06:47 PM)
Hey, sorry for late reply. Didn't notice your post until today.

Anyway, I asked two people about your questions. Person A's reply - the pre-clinical taught in IMU is pretty good as prep before coming. No need to study extra stuff, all you need is what you've already done.
Person B - Kiwis are generally the better students but many IMU people have made it through Auckland Uni so no worries. Just need to adjust to new culture and environment, if your English is good that shouldn't be too hard.

Btw, check your PMs.
thanks for your help. really appreciate it..

btw, i already contacted another senior there. anyway, thanks and i hope i can be like the many IMU fella who made it through despite my laziness.... i don't really care whos top whos not as long as i can pass, thats all ^ ^

i'll be leaving KK through brunei airlines to sydney on 30th december. cheap airflight (415 brunei dollar inclusive tax). go there and see fireworks on the 1st jan, then go backpacking in aus, then flew to auckland on the 22 jan. will catch you guys there haha...
lilredridinghood
post Sep 23 2007, 02:01 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 22 2007, 06:13 PM)

btw, i already contacted another senior there. anyway, thanks and i hope i can be like the many IMU fella who made it through despite my laziness.... i don't really care whos top whos not as long as i can pass, thats all ^ ^

i'll be leaving KK through brunei airlines to sydney on 30th december. cheap airflight (415 brunei dollar inclusive tax). go there and see fireworks on the 1st jan, then go backpacking in aus, then flew to auckland on the 22 jan. will catch you guys there haha...
how lucky, looks like you're leaving pretty early. Am considering of backpacking in Auckland too, but the reluctance of parting with my family during CNY made me cancel the plan. Oh yea, just asking, does the ISIC card provide extra 10 kgs to every airlines? Cause I heard one might face problem during the transit in Singapore. Am planning to take SQ to Auckland and then a local flight to Wellington.
d(@@)b
post Sep 23 2007, 02:27 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 23 2007, 02:01 AM)
how lucky, looks like you're leaving pretty early. Am considering of backpacking in Auckland too, but the reluctance of parting with my family during CNY made me cancel the plan. Oh yea, just asking, does the ISIC card provide extra 10 kgs to every airlines? Cause I heard one might face problem during the transit in Singapore. Am planning to take SQ to Auckland and then a local flight to Wellington.
not every airline. to be sure, contact the airline service or contact msltravel. their office is just in front of pwtc. if you have frens over at wellington, you can ship your stuff there. its cheaper but takes much longer. how much is the flight to wellington? i believe it should be quite cheap since you transit to spore and auckland....

i have relatives in australia and they are free at that particular time, hence my early departure. besides, they said the fireworks in sydney harbour is simply breathtaking.
lilredridinghood
post Sep 23 2007, 02:34 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 23 2007, 02:27 AM)
not every airline. to be sure, contact the airline service or contact msltravel. their office is just in front of pwtc. if you have frens over at wellington, you can ship your stuff there. its cheaper but takes much longer. how much is the flight to wellington? i believe it should be quite cheap since you transit to spore and auckland....

i have relatives in australia and they are free at that particular time, hence my early departure. besides, they said the fireworks in sydney harbour is simply breathtaking.
No friends in Wellington, but I do have a few mates in Auckland. Flight from Auckland to Wellington is about NZ$200, but from Malaysia to Auckland would cost about 2.5k per pax including tax, but i think not inclusive of fuel surcharge. Shipping stuffs? I'm not sure about how many things would I bring, but I'm pretty sure that there's no many, prolly somewhere around 25kg should be more than enough. I'm not going under MSL travel I think, should be STA as they do provide cheap flights too, or maybe I might just book online and get an ISIC card done. Have you done your medical checkup and all the necessary Visa procedures? Mind telling me those procedures?

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Sep 23 2007, 02:39 AM
d(@@)b
post Sep 23 2007, 11:06 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 23 2007, 02:34 AM)
No friends in Wellington, but I do have a few mates in Auckland. Flight from Auckland to Wellington is about NZ$200, but from Malaysia to Auckland would cost about 2.5k per pax including tax, but i think not inclusive of fuel surcharge. Shipping stuffs? I'm not sure about how many things would I bring, but I'm pretty sure that there's no many, prolly somewhere around 25kg should be more than enough. I'm not going under MSL travel I think, should be STA as they do provide cheap flights too, or maybe I might just book online and get an ISIC card done. Have you done your medical checkup and all the necessary Visa procedures? Mind telling me those procedures?
havent done medical check up yet. im flying in late december, so i'll go for check up around november. correct me if im wrong, the check up results will expire after 3 months, so there's no rush to it. the uni will provide the necessary information for medical check up. if not, please contact your respective uni.

not yet done the visa cause i haven't receive the offer letter from auckland uni. they say they need to renew the fees so the offer letter will come around october. yea, the fees increase every freakin year.... my friend did his in shah alam i think, he went to england already, he provided the offer letter to the immigration department and he received 50% discount. they finished his visa quite fast since the offer letter mentioned he need to depart quite soon... around one or two weeks..

you can get the ISIC card free if you personally pay a visit to msltravel office in front of pwtc. my friend get his free. no need to pay for the RM20. besides, if there is any error in your apply letter, your application will be considered void...

one word of advice, if you travel through plane, its always beneficial to join the airline service membership if its free. accumulate those mileage point and you can end up getting free rides next time... your ticket is quite expensive tho, costing ard RM3k to get you to wellington...
wornbook
post Sep 23 2007, 07:19 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 22 2007, 06:13 PM)

You're welcome. Glad to help a soon-to-be fellow NZ student. If you need anything else, just ask and I'll see what I can do.

Added on September 23, 2007, 7:25 pm
You can get cheaper tickets if you book early. But for those tickets, you can't change dates. Just make up your mind early and confirm all dates. You'll save quite a bit that way.
I take it you're flying AirNZ to Welly? If you don't mind shopping around, try flypacificblue.com. They might be cheaper.

Overweight baggage in NZ (domestic) is about $5 per kg. They'll normally give an allowance of up to 5kg so you're safe with 25kg.

This post has been edited by wornbook: Sep 23 2007, 07:25 PM
EmperorMeng
post Sep 24 2007, 12:15 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

student can get +10kg. but must apply
lilredridinghood
post Sep 24 2007, 01:59 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 24 2007, 12:15 PM)
I think it depends on which airline are you taking. I know MAS do offer this though for students.
wornbook
post Sep 25 2007, 07:20 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 24 2007, 12:15 PM)
I was thinking about the Akl-Welly sector. AirNZ is notorious for being fussy about baggage limits on their domestic sectors. Giving them the "I'm a student" line doesn't really help since every other passenger is a student at hat time of the year.
haya
post Sep 25 2007, 09:47 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 25 2007, 07:20 AM)
I was thinking about the Akl-Welly sector. AirNZ is notorious for being fussy about baggage limits on their domestic sectors. Giving them the "I'm a student" line doesn't really help since every other passenger is a student at hat time of the year.
I have to agree. They are very strict with your hand luggage. Even before the LAGS rulings, they didn't like me bringing some drinks onboard (L&P, the best thing since sliced bread). They do weigh your hand luggage at the airport, and even if I was overweight by 200g (YES! GRAMS!) they told me to chuck something out.
EmperorMeng
post Sep 25 2007, 10:48 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 24 2007, 01:59 PM)
I think it depends on which airline are you taking. I know MAS do offer this though for students.
QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 25 2007, 07:20 AM)
was MAS.
QUOTE(haya @ Sep 25 2007, 09:47 AM)
I have to agree. They are very strict with your hand luggage. Even before the LAGS rulings, they didn't like me bringing some drinks onboard (L&P, the best thing since sliced bread). They do weigh your hand luggage at the airport, and even if I was overweight by 200g (YES! GRAMS!) they told me to chuck something out.
typical NZ policy.
sikit sikit also nak bising.
but if say u apply for something, and u fulfill all the requirements, dont like also you qualify. thats the good part of the system.

P/s: i'm astonished by my poor english above thumbup.gif
wornbook
post Sep 26 2007, 08:18 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 25 2007, 10:48 PM)
typical NZ policy.
sikit sikit also nak bising.
but if say u apply for something, and u fulfill all the requirements, dont like also you qualify. thats the good part of the system.

P/s: i'm astonished by my poor english above thumbup.gif
Well the advantage is that you always know where you stand. Fewer grey areas, less room for hanky-panky, and much less unpredictability. In short, a more efficient system.
d(@@)b
post Sep 26 2007, 08:22 AM

724 posts

how much on average would it cost to stay outside? im planning to move out of Grafton after one year... beh tahan... too expensive
wornbook
post Sep 26 2007, 09:02 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 26 2007, 08:22 AM)
how much on average would it cost to stay outside? im planning to move out of Grafton after one year... beh tahan... too expensive
Check this out for some estimates. http://www.auckland.ac.nz/uoa/for/prospect...livingcosts.cfm
S-Ann
post Sep 26 2007, 07:04 PM

Hi everyone!I am new here.Don't really have the time to go through the whole thread on Studying In New Zealand yet.Anyway, I would just like to ask if anyone here knows how is it like life in University of Auckland and University of Wellington?I mean as in the environment, living expenses, facilities, and etc.Is there any big difference between those two universities?Hope you guys can help me out.Thank you very much! icon_rolleyes.gif
wornbook
post Sep 26 2007, 08:11 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(S-Ann @ Sep 26 2007, 07:04 PM)
Hi everyone!I am new here.Don't really have the time to go through the whole thread on Studying In New Zealand yet.Anyway, I would just like to ask if anyone here knows how is it like life in University of Auckland and University of Wellington?I mean as in the environment, living expenses, facilities, and etc.Is there any big difference between those two universities?Hope you guys can help me out.Thank you very much!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Why don't you read through the thread first, and then if there's anything that hasn't been covered, ask and one of us will try to answer. The thread isn't that long and you can skip though most parts anyway. I don't see why we should repeat ourselves (using our valuable time) just because you can't spare the time to read what's already been said.
d(@@)b
post Sep 26 2007, 11:28 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 26 2007, 09:02 AM)
ya i saw the website too. but i juz wanna be more specific, they give a range of 120 - 200 NZ. i just wanna ask if i can truly save a lot staying outside than in residence hall. emperormeng how much do you pay for yours?
wornbook
post Sep 27 2007, 06:10 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Sep 26 2007, 11:28 PM)
ya i saw the website too. but i juz wanna be more specific, they give a range of 120 - 200 NZ. i just wanna ask if i can truly save a lot staying outside than in residence hall. emperormeng how much do you pay for yours?
Most people I know pay around 170-180. If you get unfurnished and buy your own furniture, it can go as low as 130-140. This is city centre prices, mind you. I think EmperorMeng stays in the suburbs.

How much you can save depends on what you eat, your power usage etc. If you cook, you can save a lot.

72 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:04 AM