7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

lilredridinghood
post Nov 5 2008, 12:41 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Clarify that with Shen Wei ASAP, but the offer letter is nothing important, just ask about the courses that you need in order to complete the management major.

Judging by the courses that he proposed, I suppose that you are a twinning/transferring student, which institution are you from?

3 subjects per trimester is only recommended, you can choose to take 4 per semester, which is how I did it last time. However, it won't be easy for a newly transferred student to take 4 subjects per semester as there are heaps of assignments and your English level might hinder your results eventually.

For example, FCOM111 has 4 assignments and one final exam, the assignments take up 70% whereas the final exam has only 30% of it. I don't know if the format has been change or not, but I manage to pass everything before my finals and there was no requirement for me to pass my finals, thus I have more time to study.

If you really decide to take up management, I strongly suggest you to take MGMT317, a bit hard as it is fully assessment based, but it is a very good course that requires critical thinking, creativity, etc and most importantly, the lecturer Dai Gilbertson is one hell of a great lecturer.

As for the Visa, it took me 1 to 2 weeks to get my passport back, not too much hassle bro

lilredridinghood
post Nov 5 2008, 06:56 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Nov 5 2008, 09:04 PM)
if fail how?
number seven number one number eight number one Emperor Meng....try saying that in mandarin vmad.gif

LOL, you take care first wei

Added on November 5, 2008, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(aaron4d @ Nov 5 2008, 07:31 PM)
fensiang, u seriously need to improve ur english. but i guess going to wellington will improve it anyhow over time
Coming to Wellington can indeed help. But if only stick with Malaysians, how?

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Nov 5 2008, 06:57 PM
lilredridinghood
post Nov 5 2008, 09:06 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(fensiang @ Nov 6 2008, 12:07 AM)
yea. I need to improve my english. My english is broken english=.=''
i also not confident whether i go there can easily communicate with the people there and they my racist.
blush.gif
Racists are everywhere, even in Malaysia, it's just that you don't feel inferior when compare to them.

My friend, a PhD holder from Otago, said this to me, if you all don't want to lose a few layer of skins, how are you gonna improve your English? True enough? I say yes.

There are some c**ts who are real narcissists here and tend to look down on international students. It is extremely annoying when people say that they are surprised when they hear me speaking fluent English, but can't blame them at all, most Malaysians here can't even complete a proper sentence without making a single grammatical error. And the best thing is, they are content with their English.

Though I must warn you that some Kiwis still look down on you because you can't speak like them, the Americans or British, feck all of them. Why should I follow their slang or accent when our English is obviously must better than theirs? I can speak like them sometimes, though I stammer a lot because I felt intimidated, I still have lots of Kiwi friends here.

The best thing about New Zealand is that, you are away from your family, try to join them Kiwis for sporting activities, walk under the sun, go out drinking with them. One will be surprised at how independent they are compare to us Malaysians, we are pampered by our parents. Once you get along with some of them and join them for parties, you won't get too bored in this land, I promise you that. If you insist on only sticking to your own kind, then I guarantee that you'll have a miserable time in New Zealand as there aren't many activities in this country that you can do and there aren't many Malaysian students around here other than the scholarship students.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 5 2008, 09:33 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

not to offend but even if you can speak 5 languages, you aren't even proficient at English, which is the most important language in the world.

Some may beg to differ that Chinese is getting more important nowadays but isn't that our problem? The Caucasians are willing to learn whereas some of us prefer for them to learn our language.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 5 2008, 09:57 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

History is repeating? The Chinese used to complain that the west took their technology and improvise them, but why didn't they improve it in the first place? The same goes to their English language proficiency, I see Caucasians trying to learn Japanese and Chinese just to tap into their market, but why not the other way round?

Although I have heard of stories about some Chinese pointing out some grammar mistakes of the Kiwis when one of the person in charge of the China-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement was giving us some presentation regarding the China market. But it is common for one to exaggerate just to start a discussion topic, no?
lilredridinghood
post Nov 5 2008, 10:48 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

nah bro, I rented a van there, for dinner probably.

I went for the fireworks, nothing special, but played with crackers too tongue.gif
lilredridinghood
post Nov 6 2008, 09:52 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

either take MAS or SIA to Auckland (Can also go through Christchurch if you take SIA) then like psyeo said, take Air NZ, Qantas or Pacific Blue. Alternatively you can choose to transit through Sydney or Melbourne, but I'm not familiar with that route.

I don't know how much is the latest fare, but my mother bought it for 5000+ return through MAS to Auckland, that was a few months ago though. Apparently, it's cheaper now.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 6 2008, 02:00 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Nov 6 2008, 04:44 PM)
AKL-SIN roundtrip would set you back about NZ$1800 in the low season.

The best way to get to WLG is via MEL. Qantas and SIA fly from SIN to MEL (and SYD). From there, it is easy to get a flight to WLG. Another way as psyeo said is to fly from BWN to BNE, then take Pacific Blue (Virgin Blue's sister) down to WLG on the cheap.

If you really want cheap, fly Air Asia X to the Gold Coast, go back up to Brisbane, and catch the Pacific Blue flight to WLG.

In a nutshell:
KUL->MEL->WLG
KUL->OOL->by land to BNE->WLG
SIN->MEL->WLG
BWN->BNE->AKL on RBA, then to WLG on another airline.

When I think about it, for a capital airport, WLG has very little destinations.
lack of space and the weather doesn't help too, even though there are plans to build a new Wellington airport, the weather might hinder the flight schedule, not exactly the best place to have a big international airport in my opinion
lilredridinghood
post Nov 6 2008, 03:03 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

return ticket SGD1500? darn that's freaking cheap, but to be fair, Qantas has to re-establish their company's reputation since the few cases that happened a few months ago.

Why write it with Chinese?
lilredridinghood
post Nov 6 2008, 09:47 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

I'm sure some of them Otago students here will beg to differ your statement here m8, lol
lilredridinghood
post Nov 8 2008, 08:20 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Aaron, you coming to New Zealand?

By the way, to those who are planning to go to an English speaking nation or a nation not dominated by Asians, I have something to share here.

It'll be very long if I decide to tell out the whole story so I'll cut it short instead

I have a friend from JB, Malaysia, who came all the way here to Vic University to experience a year of overseas education. From my understanding, he was a Chinese educated student and his English level is never among the best. After a few weeks in New Zealand, he found that Kiwis are extremely unfriendly, unhelpful, lazy and racist whereas I haven't had that much negative opinions regarding them Kiwis. Yes they can be like what he said at times, but come on, aren't there any in Malaysia?

When I told him about me found a place through trademe, he told me that those houses are usually advertised by the Kiwis and are extremely dirty. Yeap, they can be dirty and laid back when it comes to the cleanliness of the place, but again, I found quite a few clean and tidy places, as if that there is no existence of untidy Malaysians. Ask him where does he usually look for place? A Chinese daily published in Wellington. Erm, racist?

He applied late for accommodation and was not aware of the dateline to send in the application. Yet, he had the nerve to complain about the inefficiency of the International Office, I asked him when did he send in his application he said December and the dateline was the 1st of October. Ignorant? Perhaps, but who was responsible? The application form stated the dateline clearly. If not how was I suppose to get a place here? Here's the best part, out of the 3 International Office guys, 1 of them is a Malaysian Chinese, my partner and I both find him extremely sarcastic at times and though is helpful, we had easier times going through the other two Kiwis, but this friend of mine insisted that the Malaysian Chinese is the only one who is helpful and friendly. Talking about racist huh?

He doesn't read English newspapers, only reads Chinese newspapers. Doesn't ask people out and complains when people left him out. In clubs, he expects Caucasians to be more open minded and dance with him but did not, he even said that strangers in Singapore and KL are much more open minded and were willing to ask him to dance. How true is that? He writes in Chinese. Everything is about Chinese or Asians.

My friends, if you really can't live without your own kind, do not ever go to a country that speaks a language that you have no interest in. If you can't live without Mandarin, learn English or else, don't go out, you'll be miserable.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 9 2008, 11:08 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Oi abang meng, bila u balik Malacca?
lilredridinghood
post Nov 9 2008, 08:01 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Nov 9 2008, 10:17 PM)
yeap im cmin. coming to ur place lah, vic uni! february intake...
I graduating, but again, I'm staying for a while more, what course will you be doing?

Added on November 9, 2008, 8:09 pm
QUOTE(fantagero @ Nov 9 2008, 11:05 PM)
going back for training ey??
that's cool..
study at vic, u can have possibility to get great butt-shape.. if u live in city, walk to the uni, or can i say climbing to the uni.
ur betis gonna be muscular (is that correct?? muscular)..

last time visited vic.. my  friends are flatting down hill.. the flat near the church.. in front of d-vice shop..
man.. i was gasping for air when reach there.. lol..
respect vic people..  notworthy.gif
Education house eh? Hahaha, that is nothing bro, try staying somewhere further. The stairs may be steep but it will only take a while. I need 20 minutes uphill walk to the main campus

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Nov 9 2008, 08:09 PM
lilredridinghood
post Nov 9 2008, 08:38 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

burgermaut, after June or July, I'd be a corporate slave d la, then I will get burger maut everyday but no more laid back, hippie days.

lilredridinghood
post Nov 10 2008, 08:46 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

huh? The US is not a Commonwealth country but yet Malaysians can go there? What are you trying to imply?

???
lilredridinghood
post Nov 10 2008, 08:47 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Nov 10 2008, 10:29 PM)
BCA majoring in Marketing, Management and if possible International Business as well.
Wud u suggest looking for private accomodation or going for uni accomodation?
It depends, if you are looking to get more Kiwi friends, it would be better if you can get a hall. But the application dateline was at the 1st of October, so sorry mate.

But don't get disheartened, there are usually lots of places in trademe where you can get rooms instead of the whole flat and usually you'll find a place where there are Kiwis or some other international students, it's not that hard to get a single room, as there are heaps in the city.

Will you come here as a first year student or are you a twinning student?
lilredridinghood
post Nov 10 2008, 09:36 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

diuniasing
lilredridinghood
post Nov 11 2008, 07:58 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Try to get a place near to the Pipitea campus, such as Lambton Quay or Thordon or The Terrace, but if you don't mind walking, one can always get cheaper flats at places like Te Aro, that would however take you 20-30 minutes to reach the campus.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 11 2008, 10:22 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

it can be as cheap as 1k NZD here as well, look up at trademe
lilredridinghood
post Nov 12 2008, 08:22 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

wtf!!!!!!!!!

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top