> Why government job so attractive?

TSjfleong
post Jul 4 2017, 08:17 PM, updated 9y ago

338 posts

My nephew told me during their career fair in his uni the speaker asked who wants to work in gov, many raise hands, who wants to work in private sector , a few only
Why? I see it as a failure that such a huge ratio of students want to work with gov
Spend so much money for them to innovate etc , end up preferring gov admin jobs

Edit : I confused niece and nephew, thanks for pointing that out

This post has been edited by jfleong: Jul 5 2017, 03:04 PM
TSjfleong
post Jul 4 2017, 08:26 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(BS8110 @ Jul 4 2017, 08:21 PM)
- stability. Government can't bankrupt literally.
- benefit (low interest loan etc) & pencen
- career advancement & salary increment based on years of service
- hard to get fired
Stability : absolutely, that one I understand
Benefit : no need pay KWSP also got lifetime pencen, plus your children also get some money if you die before they turn 18 , I think this is unsustainable. But is really attractive benefit
The last 2 parts is what gets me angry. It seems like in their sector experience is everything,job performance not as important. Since you automatically get promoted after working X years, here is no incentive to work hard or be productive.
You never hear anyone kena fired unless it's something really bad. Come on time punch your card then can go minimum kopi all morning long and no problem won't kena fire

0.0143sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:42 PM