Coffee Roaster, All about the art of roasting coffee
kk131
Jun 30 2017, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jun 29 2017, 10:54 PM) This is a glorified popcorn popper at a fancy price.
ymeng85
Jun 30 2017, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(kk131 @ Jun 30 2017, 01:06 PM) This is a glorified popcorn popper at a fancy price. I like how you put it haha Someday when I get back some time, I'm going to redo my popcorn popper roaster and add some software to it with PIDs
lowkl
Jun 30 2017, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Jun 30 2017, 02:59 PM) I like how you put it haha Someday when I get back some time, I'm going to redo my popcorn popper roaster and add some software to it with PIDs  Please do, then share your comparisons between drum and fluid bed roasting methods. There's a lot of talk about the pros and cons between these but I haven't read of a side-by-side roast-off, using beans from the same batch, roasted to the same degree, then blind cupped. I'm also itching to rig up my heat gun as the heat source for the Kaldi. That should address my current issues of insufficient heat and introduce high forced airflow. Would this make the rig a drum roaster or a fluid bed? Heh heh......
patryn33
Jul 1 2017, 04:13 AM
QUOTE(kk131 @ Jun 30 2017, 01:06 PM) This is a glorified popcorn popper at a fancy price. You used it before? Can share detail review to your statement? I just didn't like the price and the quantity it can handle. This post has been edited by patryn33: Jul 1 2017, 04:19 AM
patryn33
Jul 1 2017, 08:53 PM
tribalsun
Jul 2 2017, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(mdyyliew @ Jun 30 2017, 08:33 AM) Wow. You took the plunge and went for the machine! Did you buy the pre-order version or the new version? Did you order through their website and they sent directly to your house? Was there any additional tax? What do you mean when you said it is hard to master a good roast? Does it have a very steep learning curve? I am considering to buy one but undecided whether it is worth the investment. I bought the new version when the chaff filter changed to a better one. Ordered directly luckily was only charged gst. My friend got taxed 30% eventhough his was a smaller roaster. They deemed it as a commercial machine. We need to learn alot of bean density and elevation and how to master a consistent colour roasting without scorching the beans and having a great aroma etc etc. After every roast we need to clean everytime. So some people may not like it cause it is such a hassle. Haha..
TSmdyyliew
Jul 3 2017, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(tribalsun @ Jul 2 2017, 05:45 PM) I bought the new version when the chaff filter changed to a better one. Ordered directly luckily was only charged gst. My friend got taxed 30% eventhough his was a smaller roaster. They deemed it as a commercial machine. We need to learn alot of bean density and elevation and how to master a consistent colour roasting without scorching the beans and having a great aroma etc etc. After every roast we need to clean everytime. So some people may not like it cause it is such a hassle. Haha.. Good to know you did not get an additional 30% tax on your R1. That would've hurt. Which roaster did your friend purchase? Good to know which one the Customs would consider a commercial machine. R1 does sound like a lot of work. Do you need to open up to clean the R1 each time? That's one of the reason I am considering the Sonofresco fluid bed roaster. Seems simple enough with one moving part only which is the fan. Cleaning should be a breeze too as the coffee container can be removed and cleaned separately. Only issue is the consistency as the variables are harder to measure (airflow vs drum rotation) Not many articles on fluid bed roasters. Any body with experience on commercial fluid bed roasters?
TSmdyyliew
Jul 3 2017, 05:01 PM
ymeng85 sifu. Saw in the coffee lover thread that you took the path from coffee lover to roaster to opening your own cafe. Very inspired! Wanna know how you improve your roasting skills? Through self learning or got take up SCA course as well?
ymeng85
Jul 4 2017, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(mdyyliew @ Jul 3 2017, 05:01 PM) ymeng85 sifu. Saw in the coffee lover thread that you took the path from coffee lover to roaster to opening your own cafe. Very inspired! Wanna know how you improve your roasting skills? Through self learning or got take up SCA course as well? Too tough to go for SCA course. Not only is it far but also expensive haha. I started this thing off as a hobby so was very careful about how much I'm spending on it Alot of it is self learning, stalking forums and read. Also, be prepared to drink lots of bad coffee. Make sure you bring up your brewing skills along the way as well And, really helps if you have awesome googling skills too. I find that it's more useful to search "how to highlight florals" than "how to roast better coffee" Best place for knowledge source for me - lookup Mill City roasters on youtube. Plenty of knowledge videos. Helps that I'm using the same roaster haha
tribalsun
Jul 5 2017, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(mdyyliew @ Jul 3 2017, 04:54 PM) Good to know you did not get an additional 30% tax on your R1. That would've hurt. Which roaster did your friend purchase? Good to know which one the Customs would consider a commercial machine. R1 does sound like a lot of work. Do you need to open up to clean the R1 each time? That's one of the reason I am considering the Sonofresco fluid bed roaster. Seems simple enough with one moving part only which is the fan. Cleaning should be a breeze too as the coffee container can be removed and cleaned separately. Only issue is the consistency as the variables are harder to measure (airflow vs drum rotation) Not many articles on fluid bed roasters. Any body with experience on commercial fluid bed roasters? After every roast have to clean the chaff filter and also the cooling tray. I have seen our group pictures as some of the owners never clean it before and it leak some black liquid due to the chaff burnt. Haha. I bought it before raya so i think they want to cuti fast fast. So lucky me i guess. So far i have been practicing on the ethiopian shakisso and manage to have some slight strawberry notes with tea like body which is really good as my customers tend to go to this kind of flavours.
squallx840
Jul 7 2017, 12:27 AM
Just curious, for home brewer, what makes you guys start roasting your own coffee beans?
For me, I was watching a documentary about Ethiopian coffee, and I saw the people there just roasted their coffee on a pan, outdoor, then I decided to try it out myself.
lowkl
Jul 7 2017, 12:37 AM

QUOTE(squallx840 @ Jul 7 2017, 12:27 AM) Just curious, for home brewer, what makes you guys start roasting your own coffee beans? For me, I was watching a documentary about Ethiopian coffee, and I saw the people there just roasted their coffee on a pan, outdoor, then I decided to try it out myself. For me: - the guarantee of freshly roasted coffee, available with short notice - the cost effectiveness & flexibility, especially when compared to a coffee subscription - the "meditation" that comes from the total & absolute concentration during the few minutes of a roast - the geekyness of it all! Tons of technicalities, yet still has that artisan component.
squallx840
Jul 11 2017, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(lowkl @ Jul 7 2017, 12:37 AM) For me: - the guarantee of freshly roasted coffee, available with short notice - the cost effectiveness & flexibility, especially when compared to a coffee subscription - the "meditation" that comes from the total & absolute concentration during the few minutes of a roast - the geekyness of it all! Tons of technicalities, yet still has that artisan component. Agreed with your points. I too roasted my own beans because it is more convenience.(although the quality is nowhere near compared to a proper coffee roaster)
ymeng85
Aug 15 2017, 02:09 PM
Anybody been roasting anything interesting recently?
squallx840
Aug 21 2017, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 15 2017, 02:09 PM) Anybody been roasting anything interesting recently?  I had roasted the El Savador Supersonic beans from Cloud Catcher. Turned out quite well despite my severely lacking roasting skills.(and equipment). The beans have a "sweet" smell unlike other green beans which normally has a "grassy" smell. Is it because of the bean's varietal or the way it is processed?
ymeng85
Aug 22 2017, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(squallx840 @ Aug 21 2017, 03:26 PM) I had roasted the El Savador Supersonic beans from Cloud Catcher. Turned out quite well despite my severely lacking roasting skills.(and equipment). The beans have a "sweet" smell unlike other green beans which normally has a "grassy" smell. Is it because of the bean's varietal or the way it is processed? ah, yes the Supersonic is a Natural and thus comes with heavier fermentation You get aromas close to whisky or cempedak which can be sweetish
squallx840
Aug 23 2017, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 22 2017, 10:00 AM) ah, yes the Supersonic is a Natural and thus comes with heavier fermentation You get aromas close to whisky or cempedak which can be sweetish ah, so the fermentation comes from the cherry itself which being left to dry. I remembered trying a liberica beans which has overwhelming jack fruit notes few years ago, I guess that is probably using natural processing as well. Too much nangka flavor, that I could not bring myself to like it. lol.
ymeng85
Aug 23 2017, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(squallx840 @ Aug 23 2017, 01:30 PM) ah, so the fermentation comes from the cherry itself which being left to dry. I remembered trying a liberica beans which has overwhelming jack fruit notes few years ago, I guess that is probably using natural processing as well. Too much nangka flavor, that I could not bring myself to like it. lol. Yup, that flavor can be a love/hate thing. I'm on the side that loves it haha
PeterSi
Aug 30 2017, 02:01 AM

I love coffee, especially the aroma, but I only drink it in the morning, because if I drink it even at lunchtime, then I won't fall asleep at night. But I still love this beverage.