kirakracus's Fitness Journal, lose weight, get fit & ripped

TSkirakracus
post Apr 14 2007, 10:18 PM

240 posts

Thanks for the reply, Joey-kun.

Anyway went to buy some fitness equipment and for some reason forgot to check out the chin/pull up bar. What was cool was that there was a family that came in while I was paying and the dad was asking questions about it (does it fit, does it hold x amount of weight etc.) and they bought it. It's RM 49.90 and comes in pink and black ..

Today only bought free weights - 5kgs x 2 and dumbell bars x2 - could not carry the rest. Not sure how to get the 10kgs home when I get them.

Earlier got a medicine ball - very light @ 1kg but thought it was a good buy at RM 30 (it's 50% off at Studio R). In the end, even though it's light it definitely made the lunges harder - i did the up and down the driveway for about 5 minutes (as warmup). Then also did drills (with a partner) for 10 minutes after cardio. Nice way to change things up.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 14 2007, 10:19 PM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 14 2007, 11:12 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 14 2007, 10:44 PM)
Stairs are always a killer. Actually kira, it doesnt matter how little ur exercises are. IMHO maintaining the momentum (doing it everyday) is more important.

Btw losing weight slowly is better than rapid weight loss. I lost 8% of my body weight in 2 months and I have ugly stretch marks everywhere. Bleh sad.gif
I have to get that through my thick skull! I keep thinking that it will only "count" if I push myself hard or do over 1 hour. All the workouts this week I feel like it hasn't counted or they're too pathetic etc. Must remember that doing something - even if it's 5 or 10 minutes .. is better off than doing nothing at all (of course the benefits or loss will be less .. but it's still something).

Sorry to hear about the stretch marks sad.gif I'm kinda worried about loose skin though .. but then maybe that's a long way off for me before I should worry about it i.e. when i do lose some weight smile.gif
TSkirakracus
post Apr 16 2007, 02:52 PM

240 posts

Decided not to get the pull/chin up bar for now. Still have to get some more free weights - weird how Kettler (at 1U and Giant KJ) seem to be devoid of most of the free weights. Not that I've bought from them but was there on Sunday so wanted to get 2 more 2.5s (for dumbells .. duh .. two pairs needed) and maybe 10s.

Will head to Ikano on the weekend - at least can get a trolley from Cold Storage (that's what they do when you buy bulky stuff from H. Norman). I would love the one with the "rubber" lining .. but they give off a very .. stinky smell especially in a small enclosed room - anyone know how to get rid of the smell?

Where does one get a free weights rack? Pricing?
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 08:59 AM

240 posts

Goals for week (Wed, 18 Apr - Tue, 24 Apr)[U]
WEEK FOUR START!!!
1. More cardio! 35 - 40 min max last week.
2. Continue with the strength routine
3. Clean up diet
4. Less Diet Coke/Pepsi Light (really 3x a week max) *ok
5. Wake up earlier (6:30)
6. 7-minute routine @ breaks or lunch *ok but not feasible to do sometimes since don't have time alone

Tuesday, 24 April 2007
Q - 7-min (+1) workout = 2 x 8 min
Strength [u]

Monday, 23 April 2007

Sunday, 22 April 2007
Dancing .. legs ache so a lot

Saturday, 21 April 2007
Some cardio (nothing noteworthy)

Friday, 20 April 2007

Thursday, 19 April 2007
Cardio 30 min + Strength [L]

Wednesday, 18 April 2007

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 25 2007, 08:37 AM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 09:31 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Apr 18 2007, 09:08 AM)
u got sweettooth or something hun?
can't keep away from tic tacs and soft drinks ??
Umm .. tic tacs that sweet? I thought it's like 1/2 cal "less than 2 calories" for one and not like I eat a whole box at once.

Diet Coke or Coke Light as it's called here = 0 cals. Instead of a regular Coke (or soda) that's over 300 - 500 calories .. think it's okay to have this a few times a week IMO.

Some info on Diet Coke/Coke Light from the official site btw since people have mentioned more than once about this ...

How many calories are in Diet Coke?
An eight-ounce serving or Diet Coke contains less than one calorie.

Does Diet Coke contain sugar?
Diet Coke contains 0.1 grams of sugar (carbohydrates), which is derived from the caramel color.

Also Diet Coke @ Wiki

Added on April 18, 2007, 9:36 am
QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 18 2007, 09:22 AM)
I'm not even worried about small items like diet soda and tictacs. Her diet is still high on refined carbs and processed food and ocassional binging.

Kira your diet still lacks protein eventho not as bad as before. Sugarless/Artificially sweetened coffee 2x a day is fine, btw. Coffee doesnt make you fat. In fact it makes you burn a lil bit more calories.
Okay will make more improvements this week. Still finding it hard to find things to eat at work - most of the time this week .. I barely eat anything substantial from 9am - 6 or 7pm as you've noticed.

I do want to cut down on artificial sweeteners .. have heard they're not good for you - even in Coke Light and coffee .. so trying to switch to the sugar-free Nescafe 2-in-1 for example. Coke Light just has to go completely .. or 1x a week instead of 3 - 4x. It is a better alternative than full soda (in calories, sugars etc) but .. sweeteners aren't great in the long run.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 18 2007, 09:48 AM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 10:39 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(King83,)
you are right... she seems to like cheese alot too.
I'm no guru on this but i think that's bad...
Cheese is fine IMO [60 cals per slice, Fat 4.5g (7% daily value), Sat. Fat 2.5 g (13% daily value). So 1/2 slice per sandwich isn't much. Plus the French eat cheese every single day and they don't have weight issues.

QUOTE(King83)
and she needs to know if she keeps feeding her body with sugar,
her body is gonna use that sugar for energy instead, leaving all the carbs + fats she takes to be converted to adipose fat.
Umm .. I thought I'm not taking much sugar in?
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 10:50 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Apr 18 2007, 10:41 AM)
then what's with the empty calories tic tacs, diet coke?
why are you eating that junk? It's a bad habit, drop it.
Thank you for the advice .. I will try that .. hence the goal of cutting back on Diet Coke and Tic Tacs. Though really I find it silly how you are focused on the bloody Tic Tacs. Having a mint to freshen my breath after breakfast @ 2 cals a pop, where I take 3 max = 6 cals .. is just nonsense.

With the diet .. I'm under the concept that it's just input vs. output. If I want to lose .. 1lbs per week, I need to cut 300 calories per day. If I want to lose more .. I burn it off with daily workouts. So the diet should be between 1,400 to 1,700 calories and with workouts it provides a safe weight loss of about 1 - 2 lbs per week.
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 11:07 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 18 2007, 11:03 AM)
It's artificially sweetened with aspartame (Equal/PalSweet). So no significant cals, just bitter-sweet aftertaste.

In my book, oreos are crappier than diet coke tongue.gif
Totally frustrated with the whole Diet Coke talk ... bah rclxub.gif

Exactly, SydG .. thanks. It's like a lesser of two evils. An alternative to sodas or even fruit juice at times.

It is an "empty calorie" item but it does not make me pig out after ... I don't get the whole empty calories concept really ... since they're saying if you take these things it'll make you hungry later? Dunno. So confused with what to eat or not eat at the moment.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 18 2007, 11:10 AM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 11:19 AM

240 posts

Thanks SydG, that totally made sense.

You're just the super sensei of these forums for us girls smile.gif

TSkirakracus
post Apr 18 2007, 12:10 PM

240 posts

Updated the first post with measurements from last week - did not take them when I started.

Was thinking of posting my before pictures - much more flattering ones and I'm actually in a bikini and didn't look gross. Was actually 3 lbs heavier then .. which is ironic .. but think that pictures are just nonsense to be shown here.

Trying to look for a gym near my place .. but so far no dice. I have to wait until we move again - which isn't in the near future although the house is on the market.

King83 - that wasn't flaming you lar .. just discussing different opinions smile.gif Thank you for your input ...

Added on April 18, 2007, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(elise_MOL @ Apr 18 2007, 12:07 PM)
I think its good that you have your foot firmly planted. While i do think its important to focus on eating healthy food, it is also important to have a diet which suits your lifestyle. The harder the diet is, the more likely u are to fall of it. As long a output is more than input, you should be able to lose weight, that is your main objective.

Just my 2 cents
Thanks elise blush.gif I'm still learning though but just applying the old-fashioned concepts I've learnt.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 18 2007, 12:19 PM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 19 2007, 09:41 AM

240 posts

Tried Pepsi Max once but it left a funny aftertaste. Pepsi Light vs. Coke Light .. sometimes i can't stand one of them and switch, sometimes i go off them completely. The aftertaste effect is strange.

I can't drink regular sodas too. A&W Rootbeer seems super sweet but think that rootbeer seems to be better in cals, or sugars .. in comparison to other sodas. Not sure if this is correct or not .. since it may be they're comparing it to "old style" rootbeer and not this one. I haven't had a Rootbeer float in ages .. wonder how many cals one of those will be!!!!

Oh yeah .. and Pringles are bad! Plus they're completely different from the ones few years back - the crisps have shrunk, and now it just seems they're peppered with the flavoring .. which is so icky.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 19 2007, 09:42 AM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 19 2007, 11:13 AM

240 posts

So just did the 7-minute workout (after mod = 8min?) - could only do it 1x and not continuously (supposed to do so until you surpass 30 minutes) .. but think it'll all add up .. in some manner at the end of the day. I'm not going to sacrifice my after-work workouts for this though .. so don't worry.

I modified it a little since I'd rather not be on the floor most of the time - have to modify the plank and side plank to something else ..

Bodyweight squat (20 reps)
Wall Pushups (20 reps)
Reverse Lunges (10 reps per leg) w/ kick/knee-up at end
Plank (30 second hold)
Close-grip Pushup (15-20 reps)
Reverse Lunges (10 reps per leg) w/ kick/knee-up at end
Mountain Climber (30 seconds or 20 reps) * can't do it in office clothes .. doh.gif
Side Plank (20 second hold per side) ** to mod, just to work obliques?
Plyo plie squats (10 reps)
Plyo std squats (10 reps)

@ 12:01 pm - done 2x (though not in succession)

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 19 2007, 12:04 PM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 19 2007, 01:57 PM

240 posts

Nothing big lah blush.gif Just wish that I had the time to do a full (7+1) x 3 together. It's still quite cool to do .. a quick pick-me-up - even better than coffee!

I posted the info in my weekly tracking thread but you can find out about it here - http://www.skwigg.com/id92.html

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 19 2007, 01:58 PM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 20 2007, 09:07 AM

240 posts

I sort of have my own room (but it is without a door) .. and my boss is out most of the time. When I can I'll just do the workout - but I so don't want anyone to walk in on me when I do it .. it'll be difficult to explain why I'm all over the floor! Hence wanting more moves that are off the floor ..

My diet is so sabotaging my weight loss. I know everyone has been telling me this but maybe now I'm going to start to really work at it - instead of just eating what's available .. have to make an effort to eat/make things specifically for the diet/myself. Slowly improving but then I'm still making bad choices with food .. and compared to Shadowjass or SydG's diet .. mine is embarrassing to put up.

Don't you guys find it hard to say "No" to your mom/wife/grandma when she makes you food .. making sure to have it ready for you after work? I feel like I'm being such a bad daughter if I say I don't want to taste even a little of it. And this is with me SMS-ing her and my sis to say that they prepare nothing for me or I'll make my own food. This is one of the major obstacles because they think I eat next to nothing and are worried about me - mom, dad, sis - my dad after 2 days of not seeing me @ dinner or eating after work .. starts to ask questions ("Do you have an ED?" or "As long as you exercise it's okay to eat" - health is important, not weight .. to him).

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 20 2007, 09:10 AM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 24 2007, 09:10 AM

240 posts

My workouts and diet still suck. Feeling a little down/out these few days (sick) so .. i have not had a solid workout since last Thursday! My diet is all over the place .. every single day there's bad food .. and I have yet to incorporate good food into it - like oats (I have bought a few different kinds already).

The major problem is that mom is still .. cooking. She always goes "It's not much. Plus it's low-fat so you can eat regular meals". I came to work this morning and threw away 2/3rd of the portion she gave me .. and ended up with only 1/4 - 1/2 cup [but i feel really bad about it .. it's okay for the sake of losing weight]. If I lived on my own it would be so easy .. where I just grab a slice of bread and be set for the day. I don't actually need these extra calories (for energy) ..

The strange thing is that without workouts and eating erratically (IMO really badly) these past few days .. the weight is steadily declining. I so don't get it. This week will start with a full-body strength routine instead of a lower + upper split .. i just don't feel it when I do it like that [feel like it's not enough for the day].

Btw .. anyone can recommend a good whey/protein shake? I headed to GNC the other day and was just so confused with what to get. And please .. no strawberry or even vanilla .. just chocolate or plain smile.gif Thanks.
TSkirakracus
post Apr 24 2007, 09:22 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Apr 24 2007, 09:14 AM)
how's ur progress? Lost any weight yet?
Yup .. but progress from the high of last 2 weeks where was pushing high 167 and 168!!! Now just a smidgen below 166 i.e. 165.8 .. so into 75kg for real now. From the start @ 19 Mar .. down from 172+ .. so about 6 lbs total so far?

I'm guessing that since I went on a crash diet and lost like 5 lbs in that first week, when I started the workouts it was just .. i don't know .. filling up the space or building up muscle .. so gain 1 - 2 lbs. from that .. before finally going downwards now.

QUOTE(King83 @ Apr 24 2007, 09:14 AM)
anyway, most of us here are taking ON whey.
don't buy from GNC, it's like RM280 per tub (RM220 with that membership crap).

get from egoeagle at RM165 here
Thanks. I was shocked by the prices ... to be honest .. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 24 2007, 04:14 PM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 24 2007, 04:15 PM

240 posts

How accurate are the (online) BF calculators - using measurements of your body? Like here @ Women's Health

With my stats [please don't poke fun at the measurements, tq. i know i am not tiny]
- weight: 166
- hips: 42"
- waist: 33"
- forearm: 10"
- wrist: 6"

I end up at 27.04%, where 25 - 33 is "acceptance" - what kind of word is "acceptance" btw .. seems strange.

22 - 24 = "in shape"
14 - 20 = "athlete"
10 - 12 = "minimum"
34+ = "obese"

The small wrists do scr*w me over since .. it means i'm meant to have a small frame. There's a skinny woman under all this fat!

So .. for those who do know their bf from the scale, do a comparison test .. and let me know!! Especially the girls ..
TSkirakracus
post Apr 25 2007, 08:46 AM

240 posts

Wednesday, 25 April 2007
Week 5 - Day 27

** tracking removed**

Note
- By all rights I should be 4 - 8 lbs lighter after 4 weeks. I am not doing it (diet, workouts) right. Workouts are definitely not enough, have always worked out 3x a week .. so to lose weight that means I need to do much much more - duration, frequency. Diet .. you've all given me advice but have found it so hard to adhere to .. so I have only myself to blame.
- Technically I am 6 lbs. lighter from the start but from 4 weeks there is about 2 lbs change (or no change?) .. from that first week of the crash diet.
- Going by clothing fit/size .. there is improvement but this is subjective so I prefer to rely on the scale (numbers).

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 28 2007, 05:12 PM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 28 2007, 05:22 PM

240 posts

Just re-did my measurements this evening [yes should have done in the morning but was busy then .. anyway the results are actually pretty cool anyways]

Weight Loss
* since 19 Mar 2007, 41 days, almost 6 weeks
Weight: 165.2 lbs [6 - 7 lbs loss]

Measurements
* since 11 April - 17 days
Waist: 32.5 [0.5" loss]
Natural Waist: 32" [dnm]
Thighs: 22" (mid thigh) or 24" (top) [2"/0.5" loss]
Calves: 15" [-]
Chest: 40" [2" loss]
Forearms: 9.5" [-]
Wrist: 6" [-]
Arms: 12" [0.6" loss]
Hips: 40.3" [1.7" loss]

Natural Waist = narrowest part of your torso i.e. in your silhouette, bend over a little to the side measure @ the notch
Waist = at belly button

For myself, think it's average to good progress. At the very least I know I was not just *thinking* that I was feeling better in my clothing! The clothing DID fit better.

Sort of slacked off at tracking diet/workouts here blush.gif and to be completely honest the past week was not consistent with workouts.

Will still focus more on working out 100% rather than diet - because i really do not eat much and at this point .. focus on cutting calories [1,200 - 1,500 cals] rather than what I eat. I know that for my body it's totally the workouts that count [ex-athlete's bane].

Plus right now I really gotta start working on those abs every single day. Losing from my hips and chest .. and having that fat waist throws my proportions out of whack.

Goals for next 2 weeks
1. Abs every day
2. DVD workouts [non-strength, but interval/circuits - 30 to 40 min] x 4
3. DVD Jari Love [like Body Pump? = 60 - 70 min] x 1
4. Strength routine [full body] x 2
5. Cardio (neighbourhood run/jog) when possible [been raining every day after work!!! grrrrr!!!]

Example
Mon - Full-body (S) + Abs
Tue - Cardio + Abs
Wed - Full-body (S) + Abs
Thu - Cardio + Abs
Fri - rest [Cardio/Abs or dance/yoga]
Sat - Jari Love (S/C)
Sun - Cardio + Abs

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 28 2007, 05:45 PM
TSkirakracus
post Apr 29 2007, 12:08 AM

240 posts

Full-body workout
** may need modifications, so input welcome .. tried it out this evening.

Barbell [reps - 2 x 8-12]
1. Squats (not full squats, parallel + hold for a beat)
2. Military Press
3. Stiff-legged Deadlifts
4. Pendlays
5. Calf Raise

Dumbells
1. Bicep curls [concentrated] - 2 x 10-12
2. One-arm bent over dumbell rows [6,6,4,4 -- 4,4,2,2 -- switch= direction palm facing] 2 sets
3. Tricep curls (behind head) - 2 x 10-12
4. Dumbell Bench Press
5. Dumbell Flys

Abs [2 x 15]
1. Medicine ball Sit-up (full? hands point/reach to corner of ceiling)
2. Medicine ball Crunches
3. Rope climbing (legs up straight, alternate sides) 2 x 12
4. Medicine ball "pass" (technical name? Legs str8, ball between knees, bring knees to chest, take ball with hands and pull over head, then bring back and place between knees before straightening again) - 2 x 10
5. Planks/divebombers/jacknives/what-not to mix it up

Dynamic Warmup
50 front kicks
50 side-to-side kicks
20 roundhouse kicks
50 deep knee-up kicks
** repeat 2x
[Note - kicks reach chest-shoulder high, hands always in "guard" position, kickboxing inspired. These are very very good for your legs and gets your heart rate up quick]

---------------------
Missing anything? TQ

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Apr 30 2007, 11:34 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:42 PM