Travel To Japan V10

skydrake
post Jul 17 2017, 12:08 PM

XiiX
992 posts

Any taxi recommendations for haneda to Itabashi? My ana air est arrival time is 10:30PM. been searching around no other option but taxi. it cost me around

+ 11,600.00 flat rate after 10pm
+ 500.00 minivan, i got 2 big luggage + 2 hand luggage, 2 adult 1 baby
+ 1,300.00 tol est
---------------
+ 13,400.00

any other cheaper option? anyone can provide?

skydrake
post Jul 17 2017, 01:25 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 17 2017, 12:46 PM)
Take the train/subway. Still got time.

Or you can take the Airport Bus to Shinjuku and take a train/taxi from there. Should be much cheaper

http://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/

its only ¥1230 to Shinjuku West Exit
thx for the tips, my situation with baby is a bit risky added autumn is cool at night. guess i need to stick back with taxi, anyone have cheaper taxi options?
skydrake
post Jul 17 2017, 01:53 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 17 2017, 12:46 PM)
Take the train/subway. Still got time.

Or you can take the Airport Bus to Shinjuku and take a train/taxi from there. Should be much cheaper

http://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/

its only ¥1230 to Shinjuku West Exit
bro, after looking the the bus drop point. I think u make a good point! I found that the bus stopping at ikebukuro which is really near to Itabashi! still have last saikyo ride around 12:30AM and just incase I miss it still the taxi fares only cost me not more than 3000yen. I need to plan a bit on your tips! great tips!

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 17 2017, 01:46 PM)
Your estimation is about right if you are talking about taxi.
You can search the web for fixed fare prices and I think there are no additional price for a Alphard.
thanks for the info! will look in again!

This post has been edited by skydrake: Jul 17 2017, 01:54 PM
skydrake
post Jul 18 2017, 12:08 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 17 2017, 02:36 PM)
Sry, I dont used any Data when I traveling. I still using old school way which is paper map.
Btw, I got own HP number at Japan, Those travel data package are not my kind of stuff to study it.
Tokyo midnight train also called "Drunker Train" or '' Hell Train'' 
People will vomit , pee , shit inside train.  I not kidding.  I see too much until used to it already. Most of people won't take 11:30 onward train.
some so drunk until take off all their clothes and lie on floor of train.
You got Baby, if your baby make any noise inside train during this hour, sure kena fxxx by those drunker up side down.

You have to calculate the risk
thx for the tips, my bus trip is midnight and not able to catch the last train so taxi is my last option.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 17 2017, 03:29 PM)
Glad I could help.
Once you come out of Arrival hall, look left and you will see the ticket counter with the blue displays. From there to the bus stop is a short walk. More description here - http://hnd-bus.com/airport/guide/ticket.html

Btw the site above seems to be for another bus company but directions are all the same. Who knows there could be a direct bus to itabashi itself, so just ask at the counter. They could well be selling tickets for many bus companies
need to dig deeper, so far only found route to ikebukuro which i nearest to Itabashi. after it will take taxi by using tokyo taxi app. thx for the option which work for me at least no need pay so high price for direct taxi.

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 17 2017, 05:39 PM)
Agree on this. Especially with a baby and there is a change of weather between Malaysia and Japan, its better to be safe than sorry. As its your first day of vacation, better to get your baby and family back to the hotel safely and well rested. Dont forget you also have two big luggage and you also need to carry it around. So better pay a bit more for a taxi.
will take note for this, thx

This post has been edited by skydrake: Jul 18 2017, 12:11 AM
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 11:23 AM

XiiX
992 posts

Hi all, I really bad at counting time, please enlight me with this flight time. When my air ticket say as below means?

Kuala lumpur [KLIA] to Tokyo [Haneda INT]
boarding time 14:15 = this means 2:15PM GMT+8 Kuala Lumpur time right?
arrival time 22:15 = this means 10:15PM UTC+9 Tokyo time? Meaning here KL is 9:15PM?

is that correct? thank you!
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 11:28 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jul 19 2017, 11:25 AM)
YESSSSSSSS.
ohh.. thank you for confirming! last time teacher teaching i at the back playing guli.. that's why I'm bad at counting biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 19 2017, 11:27 AM)
yeap tht is correct, make sure u are at KLIA by 12.15pm.  thumbup.gif
enjoy ur trip!
I will be there 11AM at the lounge rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skydrake: Jul 19 2017, 11:29 AM
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 11:43 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jul 19 2017, 11:37 AM)
This is not counting woh its about time-reading laugh.gif now you find school was important right?! Next time make sure your kids don't play guli hahahaha.
lucky I still know ABC a bit if not also don't know how to ask around inside here! hahahahhahah rclxms.gif

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 19 2017, 11:38 AM)
nowadays smartphone makes everything easier d, cucuk tht country simcard can get their timezone set automatically d
yup, coz i drafting and planing my itinerary for oct tokyo trip so mah confirm confirm a bit with those information if not later plan wrongly jialat lo.. biggrin.gif
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 11:54 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 19 2017, 11:46 AM)
october, remember to go nikko for the awesome autumn leaves view
oct is just the beginning of autumn, i don't think i can see much red leaves. I choose mid to end oct because of the weather not too cool but rain lesser and also I got a year old daughter scare too cold for her. only stay in tokyo and going for day trip as furthest as eg, hakone, fujikawa, kanagawea, yokosuka n kamakura just for sight seeing by bus or rent car. the rest will be within tokyo eg, disney and the rest everyone had mentioned before. not a hardcore distance travel, it will be very free n easy all thru train and bus.

and, nikko is very far and cold blink.gif

This post has been edited by skydrake: Jul 19 2017, 11:56 AM
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 12:03 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 19 2017, 11:57 AM)
mid to end definitely can c the nice view in nikko d, here check out the event in nikko http://nikko-travel.jp/english/event/
its the only time where it's worth staying one night in nikko, else day trip is sufficient
not tht far, same as going to hakone only and its definitely worth it during fall season
worth checking when recommended rclxms.gif
lt see if i able to fit in my plan
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 05:49 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 19 2017, 12:06 PM)
try fit a one day trip, go early morning to avoid large crowds and get the one day pass there for bus. i suggest buying bento or smtg and eat on train coz the foods in nikko r expensive n not so nice
great tips, noted. u looks so familiar with japan.. u staying in tokyo or always go japan?
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 06:44 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 19 2017, 06:42 PM)
Nikko got nice food. But you dunno only. LV haven’t reach yet to unlock.

Bento was accetable. But real pro lv traveler wont buy bento while going Nikko. Pro lv ppl will go Utsunomiya first for breakfast or lunch. Utsunomiya Gyoza was most famous in Japan.

I believe not more than 5 ppl in this forum know about this place.
woah! New quest spotted! checking requirements and calculate success ratio.
skydrake
post Jul 19 2017, 08:51 PM

XiiX
992 posts

Need recommendation for WIFI rental, my requirement is as below

- Tokyo Area
- Outskirt of Tokyo within max.150KM away
- Unlimited Data use for FB Live, video + photo posting and Google Map the most.
- long battery life 9 hours? *Will bring power bank if not enough*

Looking for those RM15/day or below that fits my usage and I saw this https://www.travelrecommends.com/ is it ok for my usage?

*Bonus, I still have 1 more WIFI provided by ABNB host but I don't hope so much on it because free item might not unlimted, since is free I use together with the one I rented lo.*
skydrake
post Jul 20 2017, 12:15 AM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Jul 19 2017, 10:41 PM)
Quick search shows only Travel Recommends and H.I.S Malaysia offer RM15/day with unlimited data... for now. All these companies use more or less the same network providers.
Last time I took Wiyo when they offered RM14/day.
I see, is it fast, unlimited data and battery lasting?

btw, I have another question for subway changing line as below picture. It mention "Continue on the same vehicle", does it means I just don't bother and stay inside the train until I reach Sangen-jaya Station?

skydrake
post Jul 20 2017, 03:33 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Jul 20 2017, 01:19 AM)
Yep, that is correct. Stay on the train. From Shibuya station, the railway is operated by a private company outside of tokyo metro. So your 3 days metro pass won't work here.
Suica is good tho.
[attachmentid=8977105]
The device will prolly last around 5hours of use. I highly recommend a couple of powerbanks in when you go around. For both phone and pocket wifi.
Both options shows unlimited data so you should be fine. Coverage-wise.. I can't confirm for you since I only went to Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Nara and Kobe.
However for those areas at least, I found zero issue with the coverage. Speed is satisfactory as well. Fast enough that I didnt get any buffer from youtube vids.
oh! the 3 day pass doesn't work in this route because the last train was operate by private company. i see, means from start to end i only able to use suica/passmo? then the 3 day pass is wasted in this whole route? any possible alternate which can utilize 3 day pass together with suica/passmo so the cost will reduce thru the 3 day pass? no? yes?

thanks for the wifi info, very informative! noted.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jul 20 2017, 08:52 AM)
travelrecommends (TR) offers unlimited data at high speed

pocket wifi offered by airbnb is unlimited as well...but speed wise is slower than TR

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jul 20 2017, 10:12 AM)
use it, seem ok with me. unless u went to really isolated/mountain area. only place give slight problem on Kibuneyama & KuramaDera (Kuramayama)
just make sure the train u board is the train listed. check the notice n the train b4 u enter.

This post has been edited by skydrake: Jul 20 2017, 03:34 PM
skydrake
post Jul 22 2017, 10:49 AM

XiiX
992 posts

Hi again all sifu, I still blur for the above route. Please enlighten me with above picture. I have tickets as below

1. tokyo metro 72 hours pass
2. Suica Card

When I reach at the Shibuya Station, it ask me stay on board but if I was using tokyo meto day pass, how to I exit outside tokyo metro station?

Do i need to leave train at Shibuya station with tokyo metro pass n reenter with suica card?

Or can I exit at destination station by going to ticket machine to pay balance? if yes, any site that enables this instruction? I found those is using ticket to pay balance but not tokyo metro pass.

Please help!
skydrake
post Jul 22 2017, 01:25 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 22 2017, 11:32 AM)
boy, pls download Tokyo Subway Route Map
Tokyo Subway Map

ur case, since u r remaining in the train, tat mean u r traveling on the same line...
tokyo pass user no need pay
I had tokyo subway map in soft n hardcopy and I have offline apps too.

u saying remaining same train as I boarded Tokyo Metro from beginning means if this train runs on different company track does not matter as the fares still consider paid in tokyo metro? this is the part I confuse and asking for clarification. Had u tried tokyo metro day pass for this situation? thanks

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jul 22 2017, 12:02 PM)
unable to clarify but heard passes arent able to exit there.
in case of those same train change provider, i used Suica in my journey. (from wat i experience, Shinjuku to Odaiba on same train, or Shinjuku to Yokohama on same train)
rather than exit n reenter with suica, i avoid hassle.
i dun think metro pass cover it, as it only covered Tokyo Metro n Toei Subway
that's my exact question, coz the train runs on other company tracks. if i use suica card from beginning means it will defeat my purpose of purchasing the tokyo metro day pass.

oh, exit ay shibuya and enter with suica to sangenjaya station u mean? seems likely works this way i guess. if not need exit stay on same train i wonder how those 2 tickets works

let see who use tokyo metro day pass for this situation before. thx for sharing

This post has been edited by skydrake: Jul 22 2017, 01:52 PM
skydrake
post Jul 24 2017, 02:07 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 24 2017, 12:32 PM)
I'm not sure about Tokyo, but when we take Haruka (JR magnetic paper ticket) from KIX to Kyoto, then we change straight into local Metro to destination. When reach final destination, there is this "Fare Adjust" machine to top up for the metro price. A human CS will guide through voice in Japanese, may need prepare some small change/coins. If no such machine, then goto counter.

You need to put in the original entrance ticket to top up, in our case, the JR ticket. Not the suica/pasmo/icoca.

Save the hassle to go out and come in again during halfway train ride.
this is helpful! I'm very sure it works the same as in Tokyo too! I will try your way and will confirm it on coming October! rclxms.gif
skydrake
post Jul 24 2017, 02:18 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 24 2017, 02:15 PM)
if u dunno how to use the machine, just walk into the office near the gate and hand over ur card/ticket to the staff there n they will figure it out if u cant speak jap
this is what I have in mind too. explore explore the unknown! biggrin.gif
skydrake
post Jul 26 2017, 07:16 PM

XiiX
992 posts

Anyone have recommendations for wagyu/kobe or whatever it calls in Tokyo. Not looking for superb luxury price as I can't afford it. For a first timer, anyone can recommend?

*wife said, wants to taste it even it melts fast! I said, my wallet melts faster. LOL! But duwan those eat all u can menu, preferably mid class entry level. *
skydrake
post Jul 27 2017, 05:00 PM

XiiX
992 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 26 2017, 09:28 PM)
wagyu i posted on 2nd post d, its in shibuya. u can choose sukiyaki style or shabu shabu and the person will prepare everything for u. for premium set is 9k yen per person and normal is 6k yen
ok thx, i go search your post.

0.1055sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:36 PM