sweet_pez
post Aug 7 2017, 12:19 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 7 2017, 10:26 AM)
Aeon is not hig class. smile.gif Meant to say that you can find it in Aeon as I use to shop there often as its just opposite my apartment. High class like Mitsukoshi, Isetan, dont think you can find it.
I might have gotten in wrong.....not sure if its a goverment rule or the supermarket rule. In Aeon, if you shop at the supermarket you have to pay for the bag. However if you shop at their living dept, you dont need to pay. Use to do my daily grocery there, hence might got use to bringing my own bag. smile.gif
yeah i meant Aeon AND high class malls hahahaha. Certainly wouldn't lump Aeon in "high class malls" laugh.gif

I've only been to smaller Aeon marts/ supermarkets, not the departmental store version - so I have no idea. Just don't recall having to pay for any plastic bags in Japan.

sweet_pez
post Aug 10 2017, 06:14 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 10 2017, 11:22 AM)

Nowadays... some of the store start charging few yen for plastic edy.
Guess I'll find out next month hmm.gif
sweet_pez
post Aug 11 2017, 12:16 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 11 2017, 11:02 AM)
u going next month?
Yeahhhhh. It's partially work, so not very free-and-easy. It's a tour, and we're going up to Mito and Yamagata from Tokyo, then back using Shinkansen. Its an unexplored territory for me but from what I noticed and shared by the tour, Yamagata is really quiet and nothing much to do.

But its okay, its still Japan hahahahahaa and when else can you enjoy staying in 4 Star Hotel @ Japan? #cantaffordonmyown #notgonnacomplain biggrin.gif
sweet_pez
post Aug 11 2017, 05:37 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Aug 11 2017, 02:31 PM)
jeles me
Amitabha. I foresee problems in the trip as well but lets embrace what may come. As long as I don't start cursing in Japanese (as the group are local Malaysians) whistling.gif
sweet_pez
post Aug 14 2017, 09:58 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 11 2017, 07:34 PM)
Yamagata got alot thing to do. But you havent discover it yet.
Yes if I'm on Free & Easy hahaha. I know Zaou area is very attractive but there'll be no time for all that because the tour arrived Yamagata in the evening, then check-in and dinner.

Next day morning, abit of time after breakfast to tour around Kajo Park & Central and then early lunch, factory visit. Factory visit ends approximately 4pm. A short visit to Nanukamachi and Gotenzeki Street, then dinner and back to Hotel.

The following day its breakfast, check-out and then take the shinkansen back to Tokyo. So based on this timing its a bit difficult to explore far; only able to roam around nearby area.

So that's the cons of it. Not expecting much as it's a work trip anyway unsure.gif

Since we're staying in Metropolitan Hotel in Yamagata, in my free time will use it to explore the street and nearby shops that are within walking distance. So anyway just sharing the Yamagata itinerary here for your input (if any):

3rd. DAY
TSUKUBAHITACHIOTAYAMAGATA
Meals: Breakfast / Lunch / Dinner
Morning:-
Breakfast at hotel.
After breakfast and check out hotel, visit to Kairakuen Market Garden. It is a Japanese garden located in Mito, Ibaraki, Japan. It is considered one of the Three Great Gardens of Japan.
Proceed to Hitachiota.

Afternoon:-
Japanese Set Lunch.
Visit to Ryujin Great Suspension Bridge. It is one of the biggest suspension bridge in Japan. Continue our journey to Yamagata.

Evening:-
Japanese Set Dinner.
After dinner, check in hotel.
Note: Tonight prepare sending big luggage to Haneda Airport by luggage truck services.

4th. DAY
YAMAGATA FACTORY VISIT
Breakfast at hotel.
After breakfast, proceed to visit Kajo Park and Kajo Central
(free observation deck).

Afternoon:-
Japanese Set Lunch.
Proceed for Factory Visit. (Appointment by own arrangement).

After factory visit, continue to visit Nanukamachi and Gotenzeki Street.

Evening:-
Japanese Set Dinner.
After dinner, proceed back to hotel.

5th. DAY
YAMAGATA TOKYO 
Meals: Breakfast / Lunch / Dinner / On Board
Breakfast at hotel.
After breakfast and check out hotel, walk to Yamagata Station
for Bullet Train to Tokyo Station. (Approximate 2.40 hrs)

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 14 2017, 09:59 AM
sweet_pez
post Aug 14 2017, 10:33 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(undertypo @ Aug 13 2017, 04:55 PM)
Hi guys, I has been travelling Tokyo few times for business travel. But this is first time bringing my family and friends together for a vacation trip.

For Tokyo, pretty much I will JR pass daily ticket for all those area that popular.
Eg : Asakusa, Euno market, Shibuya, Shinjuku, Ikebukoro, Meiji Shrine, SkyTree, Tokyo Tower, Disneyland, DisneySea and etc. Anything else can recommend?
For Tsukiji market, what is the best time to visit? 8am?

I am planning to bring them to Hakone and Nikko since we are going end of November.

Is it worth to stay one night at Hakone during this period (autumn)?

Nikko, I guess day trip is good enough right?

Anything else I need to take note?
As most of them mentioned, don't use a JR Pass. Just get the SUICA/ PASMO IC cards for convenience of travelling from one place to another. The card can also be used like a Touch N Go. You can buy food from konbini such as Family Mart, 7-11 etc and pay with your SUICA/ PASMO.

Basically SUICA is issued by JR and PASMO is by Tokyo Metro, both can access each other's line and almost all the major rail stations/ network in Tokyo. You can get any of the card at the station and a deposit of 500yen is required when you get the card. Once you have it, all you need to do throughout the trip is just to top up the card when the credit runs low (top up available in all the stations via machine). When you return the card (in airport), you'll get your 500yen refund.

You may want to check this out too:
https://www.japan-rail-pass.com/common-ques...or-a-suica-card
http://www.pasmo.co.jp/en/

Hahahaha your list have covered most of the major attractions. Since you're there for autumn viewing, I will recommend the Shinjuku Gyoen 新宿御苑 (entrance fee 200yen for adult). Worth a visit for autumn foliage. But towards end November was just like the time I went last year, and autumn was coming to an end that time. So manage your expectation; there'll still be beautiful leaves here and there but a lot had fallen off by then.

Other places you can consider going:

- Nakano Broadway: For shopping and anime enthusiasts
- Akihabara: Worth dropping by for a visit
- Yoyogi Park: Its just next to Meiji Shrine; you can pack lunches and picnic at the park. I find it a very pleasant experience
- Tokyo Station: Souvenirs, shopping, food - go down to Basement
- Odaiba: New Gundam is almost up, hopefully in time for your time - but also go there for breath taking night view at the Decks
- Ginza: Get to Chuo Dori on a weekend morning, around 11am and enjoy the car-less road at Chuo Dori, as its closed for pedestrians - landmark: Uniqlo
- Mt Takao: If you like nature - its a vVery pleasant hike with beautiful views and chairlifts/ cable car to ride, much to see as well. Info: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3029.html

Have not stayed in Hakone or Nikko, but it is very nice to stay in a ryokan. So choose one (be it Hakone or Nikko) and splurge for the night laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 14 2017, 10:57 AM
sweet_pez
post Aug 14 2017, 11:01 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 14 2017, 10:57 AM)
Use to go there nearly every week, and i not mistaken the road closes from 12PM instead till 5PM or 6PM depending on the month.
Its one of my favourite place, and I always drop by there whenever I'm in Tokyo wub.gif ...while my friends shop in Uniqlo, I'll just sit down and be amazed by my surroundings.

Last year when I went in Nov, they close off the road at 11am. I remember the time coz was there too early, so we strolled along nearby streets and stopped by Lawson for some snacks before heading back close to 11.

If its some other season then I have no idea. Let me validate it next month laugh.gif since the tour will bring us there, I'll ask the guide.
sweet_pez
post Aug 14 2017, 11:16 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 14 2017, 11:10 AM)
From the Japanese website it did mention 12PM. Maybe your watch still showing Malaysia time. smile.gif

http://www.keishicho.metro.tokyo.jp/kotsu/doro/hoko.html
Yeah hmm.gif maybe I was looking at Malaysia time loll!!!

But wow I didn't know 中央通り秋葉原地区 is also closed off at certain time for pedestrians. Think I usually avoid 秋葉原 on weekend especially Sunday as it'll be crowded. Next time must go on Sunday ady to check out 秋葉原の歩行者天国。
sweet_pez
post Aug 14 2017, 11:29 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 14 2017, 11:23 AM)
But I like the feel of Ginza rather than Akihabara.....guess most probably the crowd they attract are different. And also because I use to stay quite close to Ginza. smile.gif
Yeah I kinda agree. I checked the photos of both Akihabara and Shinjuku's pedestrian heaven but it didn't look as attractive as the one in Ginza hurhur. The "feel" is a little different. Its alright, better not to make too much pre-judgment and just enjoy it before commenting biggrin.gif
sweet_pez
post Aug 14 2017, 11:56 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 14 2017, 11:33 AM)
sunday morning is no car day for akiba and there's an otaku free market next to mcdonald there where people go n sell their figurines n stuff. often go there for great deal
Wow nice! There are others too: https://tokyocheapo.com/shopping-2/fashion/...o-flea-markets/
Haven't had a chance to visit flea market yet, hope I could catch one next time.
sweet_pez
post Aug 15 2017, 12:42 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Aug 15 2017, 11:12 AM)
I will be traveling to Tokyo & Hokkaido ( Or maybe Kyoto ) between 1st May & 13th May. Is there any communication issue in Hokkaido? As I think resident there are not english literature.  Will I face lots of communication issue in Hokkaido? Should I get a tour guide to assist my trip during hokkaido trip?

Is my trip date the best time to visit Hokkaido? As most of the activities are related to ice skiing. However during that time, it should be spring.
You'll face no less issues in Tokyo. Even in Shinjuku station (one of the main station), I have encountered station masters who could not speak English hahaha. But they're still very helpful.

Guides are expensive but if its not an issue for you then it's fine. Otherwise few things you can do is - use translator (Google translate), body language and learn few basic Japanese words. The experience will be enriching.
sweet_pez
post Aug 15 2017, 02:13 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Aug 15 2017, 01:42 PM)
How about Hokkaido? Will there be any communication issue?
Have not been to Hokkaido, but an acquaintance told me its not too different than the situation in Tokyo where most could not converse in English. However, they are still able to communicate via translator and body language.
sweet_pez
post Aug 15 2017, 06:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ Aug 15 2017, 05:48 PM)
Hi sifu-sifu sekalian,

I'm planning for my Japan trip during the end of November. I am joining my friend half way through his trip, hence the weird day 1 itinerary.  laugh.gif

Day 1
Reach KIX
Travel to Nagoya
Free and easy day

I can only comment on Nagoya HAHAHAHA. Its a pleasant city, so enjoy your shopping and sight seeing.

Shopping street - Osu Kanon (there's also a temple nearby)
Shopping district - Sakae area
Visit the Nagoya Castle

Sadly the Nabana no Sato night illumination no more ady in Kuwano. Otherwise really well worth going.
sweet_pez
post Aug 15 2017, 06:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Aug 15 2017, 05:55 PM)
want to ask...it is 100k yen is enough for 2 week trip to japan (osaka-kyoto-tokyo) minus accommodation & flight ticket??
For 2 weeks, 100,000yen is a little tight. You'll still have to pay for transport, entrance fee (if any), rides or tickets (if any), food, souvenirs/ shopping etc.

Will suggest that you bring at least 150,000yen for 2 weeks to be safe. The amount is not including your shinkansen ticket right?

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 15 2017, 06:06 PM
sweet_pez
post Aug 16 2017, 09:19 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(zeipher @ Aug 16 2017, 12:46 AM)
Yupe, too bad Nabana no Sato ended earlier this year.  sad.gif  Thank you for the suggestions. Will consider those with my friend.  notworthy.gif

Time to google for Nagoya/Kyoto/Osaka food recommendations.
Ain't much to do in Nagoya, those are the popular/ top places ady biggrin.gif if you like cars, check out the Toyota Automobile Museum. Atsuta Jingu is also worth a visit, its bigger than Osu Kannon temple and there's a popular kishimen there.

Anyway for food, I'd recommend you try Nagoya's specialty - Misokatsu. Its chicken katsu but addon Nagoya's red miso sauce. It's not bad, I enjoyed it although a little salty.

Recommended place:

Yabaton Honten (the HQ/ main shop)
3-6-18 Osu, Nakaku, Nagoya 460-0011, Aichi Prefecture
Opening Hours: Daily 11:00-21:00
Cost: 1,000-2,000yen

Other Nagoya specialty: Tebasaki (fried chicken wing) & misonikomi udon. If you have the time, try them.
sweet_pez
post Aug 16 2017, 01:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 16 2017, 10:41 AM)
Yabaton are serving Pork as their specialty miso katsu.  90% of thier menu are pork. If I remember correctly, they no serving chicken.
Gosh you're right, its pork katsu. I kept thinking it's chicken because katsu.

sweet_pez
post Aug 16 2017, 04:00 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Aug 16 2017, 02:14 PM)
piggy katsu the best  thumbsup.gif
Malaysia you can rarely get pork katsu, it's most chikin katsu hmm.gif

In fact, there's only 1 place that friend found, which serves tendon. Ahhhh Daikokuya tendon... my comfort food wub.gif
sweet_pez
post Aug 17 2017, 09:37 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 16 2017, 06:24 PM)
lol shouldn't it be the other way around, "katsu" to me defaults to pork, not chicken smile.gif
Maybe coz too used to Malaysia style. It's always chicken katsu here. In Japan yes, pork is more common. Brain didn't switch to Japan mode laugh.gif

QUOTE(zeipher @ Aug 17 2017, 12:25 AM)
That is one big piece of tonkatsu there and looks really good. What is the other plate with the sticks?

How bout hitsumabushi? Saw lots of recommendation for Atsuta Horaiken. Seems to be a very heavy meal with a hefty price.  sweat.gif 

One question, in Japan, you usually don't share meals. Am I right?
The other one is kushikatsu, it's also piggy but in skewers. You can check Yabaton's menu here: http://www.english.yabaton.com/#menulist

Was there before 7pm but there's already a queue. It wasn't a long wait thankfully because the Honten (main branch/ HQ) is pretty big.

As for the eel, yes it was in our list but didn't manage to go for 2 main reasons:
1. We were in Atsuta Jingu on New Year's Day, a lot of shops and restaurants were not open.
2. We did came back to Nagoya last 2 days before flying off, but had plans for other places so we didn't go back to the Atsuta area.

Our trip was:
Nagoya (3 nights) -> Takayama (1 night) -> ShirakawaGo (1 night) -> Nagoya (2 nights)

While we didn't manage to do a lot of things, I think one of the best day trip we did was Kiso Valley (about an hour+ from Nagoya). It was quiet but the hike was interesting. Nature, history and appreciation for old town... I find that our trip had a good closure with the visit.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 17 2017, 08:51 AM)
nasizwan chinti RegentCid sacwoc Please try this so-called "michelin starred" cup noodle and let us know if legit or not 😬

http://goodyfeed.com/theres-one-michelin-s...n-bought-japan/
sacwoc Now in HK. I'm sure you can ask him about HK cup noodles. HAHAHAHA!

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 17 2017, 09:38 AM
sweet_pez
post Aug 17 2017, 09:48 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 17 2017, 09:26 AM)
google gib me this. コロッケ西郷亭
correct? gotta star/fav em on my google map.
chinti are you talking about Nakano station/ Nakano Broadway area/ street?

The one Fyonne found is in Setagaya, 30min by car to Nakano broadway.

sweet_pez
post Aug 17 2017, 11:37 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Aug 17 2017, 10:45 AM)
Tutup kedai liao.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 17 2017, 11:46 AM

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top