Sony-Ericsson Sony Ericsson W580, 14mm slim Walkman slider

ne3ro
post Oct 18 2007, 05:11 PM

623 posts

I'm interested to buy this phone as my second phone. I like the color and design so much, especially the grey blue one. I have some question to ask the owner of this phone:

1) Does the keypad cracked easily?
2) how much internal memory it have
3)how much sms we can store in it
4) can we mod this phone just like the other SE phone
5) how is the picture quality since it doesn't have auto focus camera

Thanks..

This post has been edited by ne3ro: Oct 18 2007, 05:13 PM
ne3ro
post Oct 19 2007, 01:21 AM

623 posts

How come SE didn't do anything about the easily cracked keypad? Nobody complaint to them ke? If the keypad still crack after the warranty period then how? Of course have to repair it using our own money rite.. I think this is not fair to the user vmad.gif. SE should do something about this problem fast..
ne3ro
post Oct 19 2007, 04:09 PM

623 posts

The difference between ori and AP unit is RM20. better buy ori..I'm planning on buying this phone early next year or maybe Ipod touch. I'm confuse on which to buy. By that time I'm hoping that SE will replace the metarial used on the keypad coz I'm a super hardcore sms addict. The picture quality really concern me sweat.gif

At Alor Star got or SE servic center or not?

This post has been edited by ne3ro: Oct 19 2007, 04:11 PM
ne3ro
post Oct 20 2007, 04:54 AM

623 posts

Thanks for the tips. I'm waiting for my money to buy this phone the grey one thumbup.gif thumbup.gif probably in the end of next month rclxms.gif .Currently eyeing the w610i and w850i also. hmm.gif Until don't know which to choose sweat.gif sweat.gif

by the way Will there be a price differ between the colors?

edit: can we add pictures to the contacts stored on the phone? (when people call, their face displayed with their phone number at the screen).I did read somewhere that we can't set pictures on contact.

This post has been edited by ne3ro: Oct 20 2007, 05:09 AM
ne3ro
post Oct 20 2007, 04:40 PM

623 posts

is that so? How to make a video call on that phone? I can't find any 2nd camera?
ne3ro
post Oct 20 2007, 06:44 PM

623 posts

Hehe silly me blush.gif I'm looking forward to use this phone. Hope that by the time I bought it, the crack problem will be solved. I send about 5000 sms a month sweat.gif

Added on October 20, 2007, 6:55 pm
QUOTE(2uk3y @ Sep 25 2007, 12:54 AM)
this is my video, just to show all flash menu and themes that i have !!!!  rolleyes.gif

simple userbar for this phone 3 color for now, white, grey and black.... use as u like  wink.gif
pink color cant get more picture on the net !!!!  laugh.gif

ok its time to sleepzzzzz, ciaaaoo !!!!  yawn.gif  yawn.gif
Cool theme, Is it stock or you install it ur self?

This post has been edited by ne3ro: Oct 20 2007, 06:55 PM
ne3ro
post Oct 21 2007, 03:55 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(feikai @ Oct 20 2007, 11:27 PM)
5000 sms per month? wt hell~

u working as tricking ppl with sms one ar?
those sms winning prize one ar.. lolx
shocking.gif Hehe, no la.

QUOTE(lost123 @ Oct 21 2007, 12:10 AM)
those themes 2uk3y install himself wan... cool rite... i oso think so.. but too lazy to go do all da steps to get it in muh fone..

Added on October 21, 2007, 12:17 amoh yea and 5000msgs!!!!!!!!!! WTHHHH!!!!!! how is dat even possible..

24hrs x 30days = 720hrs a month

if one hr send one msg and still no need to sleep is oni 720 msgs...

to reach 5000 is like sms-ing 7times an hr with no sleep.. if u sleep half da day dat means u sms like 14times an hr without fail.. so one day u sms like about 160times!!!!!!!!!!

ur CRAZY!!!!!!!! i cant even sms 160 times in one month, and u can do dat in one day!!!!
You just need to find the right type of people you want to sms too la.. If they reply fast, you also wanna reply fast.

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Oct 21 2007, 01:25 AM)
r u sure 5000 sms/month ??  sweat.gif

yeah that themes i install myself  nod.gif
Yupp 5000 sms a month, more or less. Average 150 sms per day times 30 that would be 4500 a month sweat.gif sweat.gif I sms my girlfrend and some frens lor. Some if it only short-short message ones. about 2 or 3 sentenced, one minutes can send around 3-5 sms coz my girlfriend and friends reply fast. Looks like my thumb is more muscular than my other fingers,hahaha. Sure can win if join any thumb wrestling competition brows.gif

Why you guys shock when I'm sying I sms nearly 5000 per month? How much sms you guys usually send in a month.? I sms alot coz it's cheap that way for me to communicate. 1 cent per sms. Of course la using hotlink activ5 sms plan icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

I've always modded my Motorola phone. But since I changed to Vista, I can't do that anymore. And I guess it's the same to if I wanna mod my future W580i cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif I love the flash theme. That's one of the reason why I'm gonna change to S.E.

ne3ro
post Oct 22 2007, 09:32 PM

623 posts

Here in Alor star this phone cost rm1150.. It's the standard price or a bit expensive? It's a n AP set. Seems that here in Alor Star don't have black or grey phone. Only got white one. When I ask about other color, the seller told me that they only got white color. cry.gif cry.gif damn, I want the grey one..
ne3ro
post Oct 24 2007, 08:52 PM

623 posts

I did a survey for this phone price at Sungai Petani (Central Square) this evening. and I this is the result

1) Original Set got two color to choose, grey and white. no black so far (RM1260)
2) AP set only got white color (RM1150)

Here in Alor Star and Sungai Petani doesn't have sony Ericsson service center, so where to claim for warranty if the keypad crack? If send back to the seller, sure take a very long time to get it fixed.
ne3ro
post Oct 27 2007, 02:46 AM

623 posts

The more I look at the phone, the more I fell in love with it. Until don't know which to buy, Grey or White, hehehe.. Btw, how to watch video in landscape mode ar? I can't find any instruction in the manual I've downloaded..
ne3ro
post Oct 28 2007, 05:08 AM

623 posts

hmm.. now I really can't make up my mind Between w580i and w850i. I found that W850i is a quite attractive phone too. Can somebody here tell me why I must buy W580i rather than w850i.. I really need you guys to help me here..
ne3ro
post Oct 28 2007, 02:46 PM

623 posts

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Thanks, I feel lot better now nod.gif

I kinda like the full sccreen horizontal picture viewfinder, so cun lah,hehe..

I've heard from one of the video review on youtube about this phone said that the keypad problem is fixed. Is it true? I Can't remember which review lbecause I open many videos at the same time. blush.gif blush.gif
ne3ro
post Oct 28 2007, 10:20 PM

623 posts

Guys, how is the build quality of this phone compared to w300i? Does teh w580i body feels like cheap plastic as the w300i? Thankss...
ne3ro
post Oct 29 2007, 12:46 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Oct 28 2007, 10:27 PM)
u need to go to shop n test it ur self la, after that u will know la  doh.gif
hehe, segan la. When go to shop there, sure the salesman talk so much and introduce new phone. That could be poison to me tongue.gif

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Oct 28 2007, 11:14 PM)
UPDATE 1.4

1) the keypad prob solved already? is the key still usable after it crack? [ANSWERED]
2) can anyone upload image of the black w580i? [ANSWERED]
5) if the keypad cracked n i took it to repair, when can i get the phone back? i mean how long it took to repair the phone? [ANSWERED]
6) how long will it be until the slide bcom loose? (normal usage) [ANSWERED]
7) the color fade prob.. where fade? the keypad? wat is D pad by the way? [ANSWERED]
8) how long is the battery life? (for normal usage) [ANSWERED]
9) wat is the walkman version for w810i? (jes wanna noe) [ANSWERED]
13) this phone got infra-red? [ANSWERED]
14) is it easy to type with the phone? (for normal ppl? ^^) [ANSWERED]
3) how much is it (both ap and original)? [EDITED]
4) how to diff ori from ap set (other than the midland sticker and serial number) [EDITED]
10) wat is the trade-in value for w810i? (trade-in n buy the phone)
11) how much does Sony M2 2gb memory cost? [EDITED]
12) this phone got light? like w810i light function where u can turn it on n off
15) how is the sound quality of the phone compare with w810i? is it MUCH better or onli slightly better?
16) [refer to (7)] there r complains about fading color. can anyone upload the picture of the phone with faded color?
17) can anyone upload the picture of cracked keypad? [ANSWERED]
18) i found out that the speaker is under the play/pause button. will pressing the button too hard or too often damage the speaker?

EDIT : CHANGED LAYOUT
Let me try to answer you, feel pity already,huhu.. I get kinda irritated seeing this post over and over again

3)where are you from? i'm at Alor Star AP=1150 Ori=1260
4)Other than that I think don't have la. If got, it's very hard to check la. If it have the authorised dealer sticker, then it's ori la doh.gif
11) Sandisk 2gb M2 RM135. The SOny m2 2GB didn't officially launch here yet. At least don have any at the sonystyle shop.
12)If you mean the light at back of the phone, it's a flash led. W580i don't have that kinda light. No Flash NO LED
16 & 18) The phone is still consider new in the market, and people who bought it may take a good care if their phone. So it's hard to see the faded color and the damages speaker. Wait for few month, then you should get the answer
ne3ro
post Nov 6 2007, 12:38 AM

623 posts

Err, will the price of this phone drop after W910i officially launch here? It seems to be that W580i and W980i compete with the same range of target customer. Didn't it?
ne3ro
post Nov 9 2007, 11:58 PM

623 posts

for me, better buy w910 lorr.. unless you want the fitness application.
ne3ro
post Nov 13 2007, 03:13 AM

623 posts

I've never seen black color also. Most of shop only got white. Only 2 shop I saw sell the grey one.

I'm a lot more confuse on which phone to buy sweat.gif

w580i--> got color at the side, pedometer
w610i --> AF camera
w850i --> 3G
w910i --> 3G, walkman 3.0, accelerometer

Does SE have to make the customer pening before buying their pruduct, hehe... If w580i have an AF camera, sure no problem to me to choose.
ne3ro
post Nov 14 2007, 02:47 AM

623 posts

would somebody care to upload pic taken by This camera. Thanks..
ne3ro
post Nov 24 2007, 11:26 PM

623 posts

may i know what is the current price for ori and ap set please? thanks..
ne3ro
post Dec 2 2007, 09:11 PM

623 posts

is it a good idea to buy an AP set of this phone? :think:

0.0339sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:22 PM