34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies, Comprehensive guide on first page.

TSwengherng
post Jun 19 2017, 03:09 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 19 2017, 01:15 PM)
Because it's done offchain, no need to worry gas prices or mempools, unless you manually go and withdraw.

Having a large TenX userbase also means regular buyers of ETH, awesome synergy going on here.
Read through the whitepaper (didn't like the fact that it was only a draft and not the final version, but OK, I can accept that), and went through the AMA, blogs and all the videos.
Bloody went to sleep at 3am this morning...... yawn.gif

But OK, I'm now convinced that this is an investable project.
In fact, I think I will just sell my BTC to ETH for the token sale, since I am thinking of liquidating my BTC anyway.

With an already-working product and a dedicated team, this might just work out.
I especially liked the fact that they accept Humaniq, which is also working in this direction, to bring banking to the unbanked population, using biometrics.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

TSwengherng
post Jun 19 2017, 04:12 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 19 2017, 03:19 PM)
Dr Julian also noted that PAY token (yet to be listed) would be the second ICO with a working product and a realistic roadmap, right after Ethereum's success with ICOs

And no more dealing with exchange delays on withdrawals and obscene fees.

Just deposit whatever crypto you wish to liquidate and head on over to your local ATM, pay a flat rate of $2.75 plus the ATM rate and get cash instantly.

More people need to know this.
One thing that I still do not fully understand, and is not addressed in their whitepaper nor the FAQs, is how the cash via ATM process works.
Say, I am in Japan on vacation, and I need to get some Japanese yen from the ATM by selling some bitcoin.
So, I just link my TenX wallet with bitcoin, go to any ATM in Japan that supports Visa/Mastercard, insert the card, select cash withdrawal, and the TenX wallet will automatically sell bitcoin at the prevailing bitcoin price in USD, then the ATM bank converts the USD into Japanese yen at the prevailing bank rate, and dispenses the cash?

Sounds like I'll still lose out on the bank's forex rates.

TSwengherng
post Jun 19 2017, 06:37 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 19 2017, 04:56 PM)
Great day for Antshares and firstblood

Antshares intro by a redditor
I'll be buying some as well.
Why would anyone want to name their token First Blood???
Anyway, there are so many hundreds of tokens out there, very difficult to read up and research on all of them. sad.gif

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 19 2017, 06:29 PM)
Guys, I do agree that there should be a separate thread for mining, probably in hardware section. Somebody please open a thread there so that the topics discussed is more focused.

Since this thread was pinned up, it has gain 3 spots and now sits at 6th spot market cap... eh... I mean replies. biggrin.gif
I see. I googled and only got some specs and possible 10-30% more efficient in terms of mining. Guess have to wait for the final product.
How do you see the spot of the thread?

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 01:23 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 20 2017, 01:14 AM)
Downside about Bittrex is you have to convert currency to BTC before buying another.

Now - with the upcoming fork - what are you guys doing with your BTC?

I'm thinking whether I should convert all my coins to BTC and let it split, or just have it as some other altcoins until BTC fork irons out.
I'm actually converting most of my BTC into altcoins, leaving only a little bit of BTC still. (Because I started out with bitcoin, and I'm a sentimental guy...... wink.gif )
After all that I've read, I'm not really convinced that they will be able to iron everything out before August, although truth be told, I'm also not very convinced that they will allow the hardfork to happen......too much is at stake here.
I'm banking on another stalemate, but by then the damage would have already been done, and the FUD would have driven the prices down to obscene levels.
Once the dust settles, then I will slowly start to accumulate BTC again.

So, since I am liquidating BTC anyway, it's just the right time for me to move into the current hot topics, like TenX and Antshares.

This post has been edited by wengherng: Jun 20 2017, 01:24 AM
TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 02:56 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 20 2017, 02:50 AM)
what's this 'stats' thing people talking about?

Sorry not too familiar with terms.
Sats, not stats.
It stands for satoshi, the smallest divisible amount of bitcoin, which is 0.00000001 BTC.

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 09:31 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 20 2017, 09:05 AM)
Wootz really high-roller, but eh you are in Singapore. Buying BTC is so much cheaper. biggrin.gif

Tonight I think I put 0.04 BTC only.
Invested amount doesn't matter, everyone should just put in whatever he is prepared to lose.
Just keep your focus on the percentage instead.
At least that's what I keep telling myself anyway. smile.gif

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Jun 20 2017, 09:09 AM)
Then need to go in before the whale. Hehe. Im always caution when come to this investment, but tonight YOLO with all BTC holdings. Best part, Bittrex ca change to USD as well. And daily limit of 1BTC. Later need to try upgrade the account
Don't YOLO everything!
Leave some for the TenX token sale!

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 11:41 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Jun 20 2017, 11:30 AM)
Seems hovering around 35k - 40k. Hopefully will reach around 55k by later tonight when alot of whales pump in. Time to sleep and wake up at 6pm
Wow, are you working the night shift, or are you just living in the western hemisphere?

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 01:11 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 20 2017, 12:48 PM)
I plan to buy another cheap laptop just to sync Antshares node and do nothing else

Don't forget you're missing out on ANC while leaving it at the exchanges
So, at the current moment, you have transferred all your ANS to the official ANS wallet?
I still have all mine on Bittrex at the moment, haven't had time to research on the wallet yet.
But from my understanding, the wallet doesn't deal with decimals, which means that you have to transfer whole units.
This also means that the minimum transaction fee will be 1 ANS unit, which is more than USD 9......pretty steep.

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 05:57 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 20 2017, 05:50 PM)
I wanted to buy but all out of stocks. So sad....
Another one huh? biggrin.gif
What's the waiting period like?

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 07:02 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(powerlinkers @ Jun 20 2017, 06:34 PM)
In my opinion, cryptocurrencies are like tulip mania, a scam that would crash anytime. Fiat currencies like USD are backed by petrodollar,US military & US federal income tax,Yuan ,Ringgit are backed by their people's & government's income tax, natural resources.
You actually stated the single most important reason why we are investing in cryptocurrencies: it is decentralized and therefore not "backed" by any entity, government or country.
Because like it or not, being "backed" means being manipulated.
Make no mistake, fiat value is not determined by the people's income nor natural resources. Those days are long gone. It is now valued at whatever the government says it has.
And if they don't have enough, they'll just print more.

Being backed by the government didn't help Venezuela, it didn't help Zimbabwe, and it won't help us.

However, that said, the volatility of cryptocurrencies should still be treated with utmost respect.
Never put in more than you are prepared to lose.

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 09:10 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Jun 20 2017, 07:43 PM)
well this dude got his point in certain level, couldn't disagree entirely.
Uh, no he doesn't.
Which part of "cryptocurrency is a scam" did he have a point on?
I must have missed it.

TSwengherng
post Jun 20 2017, 11:48 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Chelsea-Fan @ Jun 20 2017, 08:24 PM)
There is positive development that Aug 1 bitcoin civil war could be deter.

https://cointelegraph.com/news/segwait-is-o...rt-for-segwit2x

SegWait Is Over! Bitcoin Network Shows 80 Percent Support For SegWit2x

“This is a positive development if you’re hoping to avoid a permanent split as it looks like Bitcoin will stay on one chain,” he wrote.

“But the battle is not over. The bigger and more contentious issue of a 2MB hard fork is the one that still needs to be settled.”
Yes I saw that too.
Positive development indeed, although it doesn't truly resolve the heart of the problem, at least it's a major step in the right direction (or any direction).
If a hard fork can ultimately be avoided, I'm willing to bet that the prices are going to test the ATH again in the coming weeks, especially after the beta release.

TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 10:31 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Jun 21 2017, 08:31 AM)
I also bought it at a high yesterday..patiently waiting for the conference tonight and sell it off once got profit
The conference is tomorrow, 22nd June......not tonight.
Price of ANS is dropping because of the recent news that Segwit2x seems confirmed to be activated for bitcoin, with more than 80% support already achieved.
BTC prices have been inching up steadily, taking market cap away from nearly everyone else, since overall market cap seems not to have changed much.

TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 10:43 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 21 2017, 10:34 AM)
Which is awesome btw, no August sales.

Now is the time to shop for cheap coins.
Yes, indeed.
I think it will take some time for the euphoria and uncertainty surrounding bitcoin to be fully factored in, since the 2MB hard fork has a deadline of 6 months, so we're not out of the woods yet, but when it does, and the volatility subsides somewhat, we will see fresh money being dumped in again.
Might I even be so bold as to say that we will be seeing the same magnitude of spikes we saw earlier this year.

It is rather encouraging to see that even traditionally non-SegWit supporters have finally come to their senses and started to support SegWit2x.
I guess they finally realised that there is just too much to lose in the long run, if this scalability stalemate prolongs and the shit hits the fan.

TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 11:51 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ Jun 21 2017, 10:48 AM)
I sold off all my altcoin yesterday and keep in BTC

Kinda lucky because today most altcoin in red

And BTC on rise... my value increase 10%
QUOTE(roy_zu @ Jun 21 2017, 11:07 AM)
Nice. I still keep 0.8 BTC worth of altcoins in Polo for sentimental purpose.Hehe. The rest of BTC bought ANS from 27k - 45k sats. Still holding 6.5 ETH. Will hold the altcoins and ETH for now. Lets see what the market decide tomorrow for ANS.
Good for you.

Again, we all need to keep a long term perspective here, which in my books mean 5 years or more.

We are standing on the precipice of an evolution of world finance. This is disruptive, this is fundamental, and this is going to change how the world functions on a very practical level.
We are talking about changes as revolutionary as when email disrupted the world postal system.
And we are now, unprecedentedly, given a chance to participate in such an evolution. This has never happened before, so there will undoubtedly be volatility due to fear, uncertainty and doubt.

In the long run, though, all these dips and spikes we see today wouldn't matter at all......they would only be seen as temporary fluctuations in the grand scheme of things.

This post has been edited by wengherng: Jun 21 2017, 11:52 AM
TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 02:23 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jun 21 2017, 01:24 PM)
so with this new development, u foresee that there won't be august 1 sales eh?

so alt coin price won't drop eh as expected earlier?  hmm.gif
If this works out, starting 21st July, miners will start officially signalling for SegWit2x.
When that happens and it is consistently more than 80%, SegWit is pretty much a done deal.
Confidence in bitcoin will soar and price will surge, most likely drawing in fresh money from outside, but also taking up market cap from other altcoins.
Altcoins will see a temporary decrease in market cap and prices.
Conclusion, cheap altcoins toward end of July.

However, things could change as quickly as the weather, so keep an eye on this SegWit2x news.

TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 04:14 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(bb.supplements @ Jun 21 2017, 03:34 PM)
so hardfork cancelled?
An aggressive hard fork on 1st August seems very unlikely now. If more than 80% of hashrate is signalling it for SegWit2x, then it gets locked in and activated after a certain number of blocks.
Any block that does not signal it after that point, simply gets rejected.
In this context, then yes, the hard fork is "cancelled".

However, the New York Agreement also gave a deadline for a 2MB hard fork within 6 months of SegWit2x activation, i.e. circa 1st February 2018.
This is the one that is still unclear at the moment.

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Jun 21 2017, 03:41 PM)
Antbase lost more than half of the volume within 12 hours. What does it mean?
It just means people are not buying and selling as much as before, i.e. the dust is settling, those in the East who want to buy and hold, have already bought and are holding.
Now we wait for those in the West to wake up and start trading.

This post has been edited by wengherng: Jun 21 2017, 04:15 PM
TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 04:20 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Jun 21 2017, 04:15 PM)
So what you guys think of ANS?

Enter now or wait?

Need sifus guidance...
"......you've got to ask yourself one question: "Do I feel lucky?" Well, do ya, punk?......" quoted from Dirty Harry (1971) biggrin.gif

TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 05:02 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 21 2017, 04:45 PM)
Copied from Reddit.
Haven't set up the desktop wallet yet.
Not entirely convinced that my desktop is totally clean and uncompromised.
Guess I'll be leaving my ANS on Bittrex for now, until things settle down somewhat.

TSwengherng
post Jun 21 2017, 05:12 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(sirxl @ Jun 21 2017, 05:09 PM)
get a Linux PC, definitely safer than a Win machine.
Yeah, maybe, if it comes down to that.
Damn, I just hate it when I can't store my coins in a hardware wallet.

34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:20 PM