34 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies, Comprehensive guide on first page.

TSwengherng
post Jun 30 2017, 02:03 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 30 2017, 01:23 PM)
It's the official web wallet. So it's legit.

People who have trouble with desktop client can transfer funds there for now, still can claim GAS in the future. Be sure to backup wallet file and WIF.
ETH can eventually adapt with NEO, I wouldn't rule them  out just yet. Unless Vitalik joins the NEO team.

Larger share should obviously be on NEO side for better long term gains now.
Just throwing out a very hypothetical question here......you really think that ANS has similar long term potential as ETH?
I mean, I've got good gains from ETH so far, so I am seriously considering whether or not to cash more out to put into ANS.

TSwengherng
post Jun 30 2017, 03:18 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Jun 30 2017, 02:29 PM)
Just purchased some ANC from a fellow redittor. Received around 78 ANC from $100

https://www.reddit.com/r/Antshares/comments...B8Y&sh=cce99129
Interesting.
I don't have the time to sit down and think about it yet, but is it plausible that ANC could/should be worth a lot more than ANS?

TSwengherng
post Jun 30 2017, 03:28 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 30 2017, 03:22 PM)
So you're saying 0 ETH and 0 NEO is the right way.

Only Bitcoin matters right?

How do you feel going from $10 to $300 ETH while doing nothing about it?

Why all maximalist same pattern one?
I suspect he still bought some anyway......haha!

TSwengherng
post Jun 30 2017, 04:11 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 30 2017, 03:52 PM)
Only one exchange trades ANC/GAS for now

I believe so as well.

Very odd that polo lists dumbcoins left right and center, yet snubs NEO/GAS to this day.

I don't get it, they hate money?
All the better. I don't want it to spike too quickly.
To be honest, the ETH run from March to June was really too damn fast.
I did not have enough time to accumulate. sad.gif

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Jun 30 2017, 04:01 PM)
Not quite yet, I actually am considering...
If there are so many people like WooTz yet to be in the space, maybe I didnt miss out so much.

I might be doing it wrong after all. You dont make "money" by hodling.
GDAX crisis was actually a very good lesson. A rather 'flippening' for me.  thumbsup.gif
Well, one does what one must.
Me? I don't love any particular coin, I just try to ensure that I make enough money to provide a decent life for my family.
The way I look at the situation now, it seems quite near impossible for all the hundreds of coins (those that have actual practical use) to disappear totally and all the billions in market cap just transfer to one single coin.
I just don't believe it will happen.
So, I'm spreading my risk across several coins, and I'm convinced that when cryptocurrencies achieve global mainstream adoption, all of them will rise together.

TSwengherng
post Jun 30 2017, 06:15 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Jun 30 2017, 05:25 PM)
Ok for me this is the tricky part. You make "money" only if you "lock" the profit. Else it's paper gains, agree?
I decided to make Bitcoin as the 'anchor'.

Means it doesnt matter if my ETH entry is at 0.1btc, as long as it goes to 0.2btc and I sell it, I make 0.1btc profit. Same thing if I enter at 0.9btc. If price goes 1btc, I still make 0.1btc profit. Difference is I have more BTC, more money.

So, the use case for altcoins/ICO tokens is to trade them and earn more BTC. Hodling BTC will not make you have more BTC.

But also remem as WooTz said, put/invest amount of BTC you are willing to lose.  wink.gif

Maybe some people alrdy realized this, and I simply being ignorant. Not a trader  whistling.gif
Technically, you're right.
But remember, as long as you do not cash out your bitcoins, it is also paper profit.

Agreed that using bitcoin as a point of reference, as long as you gain in bitcoin, then that's your bitcoin "profit".
However, you did not account for the fact of inherent value of your bitcoin, as a point of reference to daily practical usage.
You might "earn" some bitcoin when altcoins spike, for example, but that might mean nothing if the fiat value of your bitcoin goes down, for example.

Today, 10 bitcoins is pretty much equivalent to a brand new Honda Civic, but even if you earn 1 bitcoin as profit from trading altcoins, it is meaningless if that 11 bitcoins now can only buy a loaf of bread (extreme example).

TSwengherng
post Jul 1 2017, 11:08 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 1 2017, 06:55 PM)
No lah.. all my passwords are not same and I am using at least 100 bits password.
What's a 100-bit password?

TSwengherng
post Jul 2 2017, 12:21 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 1 2017, 11:09 PM)
Like this ljE4tttT$%&**(RM18ZQBKiWj6
What the hell dude......and you even have different ones for different sites???
How on earth do you remember something like that???

TSwengherng
post Jul 2 2017, 03:26 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 2 2017, 12:43 PM)
Hopefully everything settled by early August. However, again, based on human nature, it is unlikely that such an impasse can be settled so soon.

Market started dropping after (evil) bitmain responded to UASF by coming up with it's own unilaterally-decided UAHF. If I'm not mistaken, bitcoin community in general was happy with UASF until UAHF was announced : https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/bitmai...k-announcement/
If you ask me, I'd say this is world war 1 in the digital world. Not surprising given the nature of human....errmmm.... greed?

I was planning to unload in mid-July but it looks like I'm late again. Others unloaded earlier  cry.gif and probably adopting a wait-and-see approach.

Oh well, riding through this storm too. Already so many storms past few weeks.....  vmad.gif  mad.gif  ranting.gif

Have.... to.... look... at the ..... big.... picture......  dry.gif
This news does not bode well for investors of bitcoin.
I still have some bitcoin, and am really at a loss of what to do with them.
If the hard fork happens and I am just holding the coins, it might be years before they come back to this price level again.
sad.gif

Archangel, what are your thoughts on this?

TSwengherng
post Jul 2 2017, 06:01 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 2 2017, 05:26 PM)
I

You cant jist unload bitcoin as others coin's profitability are depending on bitcoin price since you need to exchange back to BTC.

Better unload all...
True, but not all.
Many altcoins now have a direct conversion pair with ETH, and some direct to USDT as well.
I am just thinking whether or not to totally trade all my bitcoin to other coins.
Something of this magnitude has never happened before, so nobody really knows what will happen.

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 11:23 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(archangel22 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:32 AM)
https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/bitcoi...g-bip-148-uasf/

I'm not liking this at all.
Think I will cash out of BTC and wait till the dust settles.

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 11:46 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ Jul 3 2017, 11:25 AM)
convert to USDT ? or sell ? or to other altcoin?
Thinking of USDT at the moment.
When something of this magnitude happens, especially when there is no precedence, I do not think any coin in the entire crypto-sphere will be spared.
Nothing confirmed yet, just a thought.

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 12:11 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 3 2017, 12:07 PM)
I previously thought that storing USDT on Polo would be ok as my withdrawal limit is 2k. Now with the news of hackers using our coins/funds to trade and empty our holdings on exhange, makes me think twice. Of course, with 2FA, should be.... quite.... safe....

If you convert to USDT, are you going to keep on exchange or send to your USDT wallet, assuming there is such a wallet?  hmm.gif
Thought of splitting it between Poloniex and Bittrex, although as I said, it was just a thought and not really fully thought through yet.
With 2FA activated, and vastly different passwords for both my Poloniex and email accounts, I think the risk is sufficiently low from hacking thefts, but on-site trading hacks, now that's something new that I hadn't originally thought about, to be honest.
Maybe split them across as many online exchanges as possible?

What about you?
Cashing out, or just leaving them as-is?

This post has been edited by wengherng: Jul 3 2017, 12:12 PM
TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 01:03 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jul 3 2017, 12:13 PM)
Mainly not touching them (for now) but if coins rally these few weeks, which I doubt, will convert a bit to USDT. I keep telling myself that I have to look at the big picture and that this is just a temporary setback......  rclxub.gif
Well, I am not touching any of my altcoins at all, just bitcoin.
This civil war is a real threat, and I have enough bitcoin in my holding to make me uncomfortable with the uncertainty.
Think I will convert my BTC to USDT to be prepared to scoop up cheap coins during the ensuing bloodbath.
hmm.gif

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 04:04 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Secruoser @ Jul 3 2017, 03:56 PM)
New to CRC here.

1) Who here has cashed out successfully? Meaning from CRC to RM in your local bank account. From which exchange? How much did you withdrew and how long did it take?

2) What's the cheapest hard wallet a Malaysian can get? Or paper wallet is still practical and reliable? I don't trust exchanges, or would you recommend any?

3) I'm looking at long-term investment, to hold for 5-10 years, or even more. It's quite late for Bitcoin now. Would you think there's still money to be made out of altcoins, to the extent Bitcoin's growth %? (Bitcoin grew ~3 million times from ICO iirc)

4) I have started out a bit with Luno, just to test how everything works. Bought BTC in Luno, transferred BTC to Jaxx. I will try transferring it to paper wallet soon. Any reliable and trusted website to generate paper wallet?

That's all I want to know now.

Thanks to all sifus!
Firstly, please read the first page for all relevant information.

On your specific questions:
1. I have not cashed out from Luno before, but have done so with XBit Asia. I transacted in the afternoon, and the proceeds were credit into my bank account the next morning.

2. Get a Ledger Nano S, it's about RM400 or thereabouts. Paper wallets are always reliable, provided you keep them safe, just not as convenient as hardware wallets. Never keep your cryptocurrencies on online exchanges, except what you need for short term trading.

3. It's never too late for bitcoin, if you believe in it. For altcoins, I personally think it would be rather difficult (though not impossible) to replicate the success of bitcoin in terms of absolute percentage, you would nevertheless still be able to get extremely good returns, especially since you mentioned that you are looking at 5 - 10 years horizon.

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 04:15 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Secruoser @ Jul 3 2017, 04:10 PM)
Thanks for your kind reply.

I'm on the look out for legit CRC companies in Malaysia because so far there isn't any. Would love to join such company to maximize my level of exposure to this industry. smile.gif
What do you mean by "legit CRC companies in Malaysia"?
Online exchanges?
Companies that are issuing tokens, etc.?

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 04:45 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Secruoser @ Jul 3 2017, 04:18 PM)
Can be any of the ones you mentioned. I don't mind. But if I find out that it's ran by china men looking to scam people, I'm out. biggrin.gif
The others might know better than I do.
The only natively home-grown company in Malaysia that I know that works purely in the cryptocurrency industry is XBit Asia, which is a local online exchange. This is a legit company.
There is also a company in Kelantan called Climate Protectors Sdn Bhd that claims to want to start an ICO working on the NEM blockchain with tokens called EcoBits, but there's not too much information around it so I am not sure what is the current status of that company.

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 06:20 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jul 3 2017, 05:33 PM)
Vicki went long on ETHBTC.
I am also looking into accumulating more, but now am sort of torn between ETH or ANS.
And just to complicate it further, I am also on the fence on whether it is actually more beneficial to accumulate ANC instead of ANS.

Maybe I should just stick with the devil I know, and keep accumulating ETH.
hmm.gif

TSwengherng
post Jul 3 2017, 06:33 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jul 3 2017, 05:33 PM)
Vicki went long on ETHBTC.
Hey I'm just curious, what's her performance record?
I see so many people talking about this bot and her tweets, and of course she has an amazingly incredible result, turning USD 1k into USD 688k or something, but I would like to know her winning trades vs losing trades.
Do people just copy her trades? Since she tweets her every trade publicly.

TSwengherng
post Jul 4 2017, 09:03 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jul 4 2017, 08:43 AM)
Thinking of moving all my saving to BTC (Luno platform), is it a good idea?
Short answer: Terrible idea.

TSwengherng
post Jul 4 2017, 10:09 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jul 4 2017, 09:45 AM)
Whats wrong with Luno that I dont know? the UI and UX from Luno is nicer as compare to other wallet I used. And it supports MYR to BTC
Nothing wrong with Luno per se.
It works fine as an online exchange.
However, it is a terrible idea to put your cryptocurrencies parked in online exchanges, no matter how safe they say their wallets are.

Exchanges should just be the place where you do your trades, nothing more.
Never ever use exchanges as a permanent storage wallet for your cryptocurrencies.

Bottom line is, if you do not control your own private keys, you do not really own your coins.
Always keep your coins in your own hardware wallet.

***EDIT***

OK, I need to elaborate a little bit more......a good many altcoins out there are not supported by any hardware wallet yet.
For those coins, as much as possible, try to transfer them to the official wallet of the developer.
Otherwise, you can also store them on dedicated online cold wallets.
Then, you have the option to create paper wallets and store them offline for maximum security.

Again, never store cryptocurrency on online exchanges beyond what you need for short term trading.

This post has been edited by wengherng: Jul 4 2017, 10:28 AM

34 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0971sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:38 AM