Diamond Ring Recommendation, Help

bb100
post Jun 8 2017, 04:19 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jun 8 2017, 09:44 AM)

Round vs Heart Shape?  I know round is the most ideal shape for better shines and etc... i think heart shape is unique and mot many people will get heart shape diamond.

Allow me to reply to you with regards to heart shaped diamonds as I recently just gotten one for my engagement ring.

You can't really judge the quality of a heart shape based on its 4Cs alone, as it does not have a set of predefined ideal proportions like the round brilliant. What you need to do here (if you are set on getting a heart) is that you need to personally look at the stone to see if you like its shape cuz no two heart shaped diamonds are alike.

For engagement rings, people typically look for slightly plump hearts cuz they appear "happier", as opposed to an elongated heart. Elongated heart shapes make it have an overall skinner outline and it gives you the feeling macam the diamond tak cukup makan haha.

That's all for this post bro. Don't wanna load you with too many info. Let me know if you require more details on heart shaped diamonds.

This post has been edited by bb100: Jun 8 2017, 04:24 PM
bb100
post Jun 8 2017, 05:17 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jun 8 2017, 05:05 PM)
Hey...  I really appreciate all the advises and ideas from you guys.  I think Heart shape is unique but may not have a good value compared to round diamonds..and usually those really good value ones are easily 1ct and above... which is out of my budget... 

May i know where did you get your heart shape diamond ?  I am now deciding between heart shape and round...  but still budget comes first.
I am not sure about the value of heart shaped diamonds bro. But one thing I know, be it a round brilliant or heart shape or even an emerald cut, the diamond which you choose is going to be invaluable to your fiancee.

I got mine at JannPaul Singapore. Carat for carat, of course hearts are cheaper than rounds. So for the same amount of money, you are able to get a larger diamond if you go for heart shape.
bb100
post Jun 8 2017, 05:56 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jun 8 2017, 05:27 PM)
Hi Hi

Yes... Audrey offers a good place to survey the price of the diamonds...  as for the price... so far i saw 0.5 starts from 9k to 14k... 0.7 starts from 15k... cry.gif
There is a huge price jump at 0.7. So the best is to buy shy. Maybe a 0.68 or 0.69 could do the trick. Same goes for 0.5.

This post has been edited by bb100: Jun 8 2017, 05:59 PM
bb100
post Jun 8 2017, 05:57 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jun 8 2017, 05:28 PM)
Thank you very much...  i will research some heart shape diamond...  hopefully can get something good...
No problem bro. Glad I could help.
bb100
post Jun 9 2017, 09:26 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jun 9 2017, 08:50 AM)
Hi...  thanks for the tips...  i also noticed 0.7 and above is alot more expensive..  now can't decide about the color and clarity..  the sales guy from Poh Kong told me under normal lights, you won't noticed much color difference from D-G.. unless compare it side by side..

but really appreciate your help smile.gif
He is true but to a certain extend. D to G colours have little noticeable difference only if the diamond is a well cut one. With bright flashes of light coming from the diamond all at once at different angles, it would be difficult to spot the colour difference. Plus, nobody is going to compare your diamond side by side lahh, unless he/she is an a$$.

If you are getting a round brilliant, go for the lowest clarity grade which is eye clean. VVS1 or VS2 does not affect light performance if their inclusions cannot be seen with the naked eye. The same cannot be said to the price though haha. If both are eye clean, why pay more for VVS1?
bb100
post Jun 9 2017, 11:53 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jun 9 2017, 10:47 AM)
That's true...  now i started looking at VS1/VS2 the price difference is quite alot compared to VVS1/2.  Color wise i still sticking with D-F..  but i want nicely cut .. hehe..  using the GIA cut score tool sent by kambingkoh..  very useful for ppl like me
I am assuming that you are referring to the Enchanted cut score tool. That one is useful but do not depend entirely on it cuz the best way to judge is still with your own eyes. You can also try the HCA tool available here: https://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca. This functions as a rejection tool. Automatically reject any stones with a HCA score of more than 2.0 if you are looking for super ideals. Again, even with a score of 0.4, you still need to physically inspect the diamond with the aid of scopes.

Fluorescence is quite a tricky thing to deal with. Some people like their diamonds to exhibit some degree of fluorescence cuz of the soft glow emitted by the diamond under UV light. Drillz:

Personally, I only recommend up to medium fluorescence cuz if too strong then the stone might have an overall murky appearance. It will make the diamond look like a dead stone. Drillz of murky appearance:

Fluorescence in a diamond is considered by many as a "defect" so the price of a diamond with fluorescence is lower than one without, depending on the degree of fluorescence. But many consumers are not aware of this so jewellers also make don't know lohh. They will tag a fluorescent diamond with the same price tag as one without so do take note.
bb100
post Jun 9 2017, 06:31 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Jun 9 2017, 05:25 PM)
Bro....

Honestly speaking from my own experience, girl dont care what spec or how good is the diamond spec, all they care just how big is it and how shine it is visually....

So.... my advice... just buy the diamond ring that you feel visually nice within your budget....
I spent almost 1 months plus studying on diamond.... end up she just dont give a f to how good the spec of diamond...
The rock big big but looks like plastic, what's the point bro? Yes, I do agree that most ladies out there don't give any conceivable fooks on the 4Cs and all that crap. But in my opinion, the 4Cs are mainly for the buyer to know what he is getting himself into.

These tiny little rocks do not come cheap bro, for sure one would like to know more than just the carat weight.
bb100
post Jun 10 2017, 12:31 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jun 10 2017, 11:28 AM)
honestly speaking... in the end of the day, the one that is paying for the diamond will care more on the specs regardless man or woman...  for engagement ring, it will be the man  bangwall.gif  haha.... 

I started to increase my budget slowly by choosing bigger size and better color or clarity by looking at the GIA specs..  but now i changed to focus into cut, size, price and color.  I want super ideal cut now... haha...
Wise choice bro! Cut is king. No cut no bling.

flex.gif

Please keep us updated on your hunt bro!

0.0179sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:49 PM