122 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

ychan
post Mar 24 2008, 09:34 PM

Hi kent thanks for reply and the info, i have two cd and now, i guess i know which one is indoor sound--- that one have "yi-yi" sound right. thanks you
TSseeseng
post Mar 25 2008, 05:51 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

CON-Sultant website. Celaka punya copy-cat tak malu!

http://www.donnywijaya.com/Swiftlet%20Farming.htm

Copy-cat of Dr. Christopher Lim's website:- http://www.swiftletfarming.com.my/

This post has been edited by seeseng: Mar 26 2008, 12:00 PM

Attached image(s)
lyf5354
post Mar 26 2008, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(LogMac @ Mar 24 2008, 01:19 AM)
Thnks for quick reply, I'm using 24nos of 4" PVC pipe with elbow and 1 exhaust fan from 2pm to 6pm.
Hi, logmac
it seems that we encounted same problem. I have one 7mths BH in Pg, whcich is located in hill orchard land. Temp. at night as low as +/-22, day high as 34 dg. It has nested only 2 nest thus far. Not good I guess....
I've consulted a friend in indonesia. He told me to install few lightbulbs (covered with tin so light intensity is controlled) in grd floor of my BH controlled by timer, put it on at night to increase temp !!
I've not try yet. May be u should try his method, if the result is good pls inform me at lyf5354@gmail.com, so that i'can also follow...Hehe....
If not do email me also if u want.

LogMac
post Mar 26 2008, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(lyf5354 @ Mar 26 2008, 07:07 PM)
Hi, logmac
it seems that we encounted same problem. I have one 7mths BH in Pg, whcich is located in hill orchard land. Temp. at night as low as +/-22, day high as 34 dg. It has nested only 2 nest thus far. Not good I guess....
I've consulted a friend in indonesia. He told me to install few lightbulbs (covered with tin so light intensity is controlled)  in grd floor of my BH controlled by timer, put it on at night to increase temp !!
I've not try yet. May be u should  try his method, if the result is good pls inform me at lyf5354@gmail.com, so that i'can also follow...Hehe....
If not do email me also if u want.
Hello, lyf5354
1st of all, TQ Very Much 4your recomendation. Wow! It looks good 2me, if it works its sound cost effective. I'll get organise 2try it out and we can share the outcome 2gether.
I just finished filled up the air vent hole as per SeeSeng advice, and now start2 monitoring the tempreture, will keep UAll informed.
Mr. lyf5354, I'm fr PG also. Maybe someday we can meet up somewhere 2hv a cup of drinks, since we both share a common issue @ the farm. I sincrely hope that u like my idea.
TQ!

lyf5354
post Mar 26 2008, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(LogMac @ Mar 26 2008, 10:03 PM)
Hello, lyf5354
1st of all, TQ Very Much 4your recomendation. Wow! It looks good 2me, if it works its sound cost effective. I'll get organise 2try it out and we can share the outcome 2gether.
I just finished filled up the air vent hole as per SeeSeng advice, and now start2 monitoring the tempreture, will keep UAll informed.
Mr. lyf5354, I'm fr PG also. Maybe someday we can meet up somewhere 2hv a cup of drinks, since we both share a common issue @ the farm. I sincrely hope that u like my idea.
TQ!
Good since we might be just a few doors away from eachother. But makesure u try it out first ........HeHe...icon_idea.gif ! But i think u should try seeseng's way 1st, b'cos it is much economical & simple, even a child can do that, right?
swifbuild
post Mar 27 2008, 06:22 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Mar 25 2008, 05:51 PM)
CON-Sultant website. Celaka punya copy-cat tak malu!

http://www.donnywijaya.com/Swiftlet%20Farming.htm

Copy-cat of Dr. Christopher Lim's website:- http://www.swiftletfarming.com.my/
I think this guy just finished form 5 and still waiting for result, so got nothing to do just make us of the notebook and internet , paste here and there. I think those believe in him are ....st......

Such a young fellow. What experieces? He is still in puberty stage.

BCO_SP
post Mar 28 2008, 01:27 PM

QUOTE(LogMac @ Mar 22 2008, 12:29 AM)
Hi Seeseng & Hello to all swiftlet master,

This is LogMac from Penang & I'm new here. I sincerly hope that i can be given a chance to learn from anyone of you in this trade.

I think I've encounter tempretue problem at my newly build farm @ village near Kuala Kangsar ( 6 mths of age ). 
I DIY the farm myself & Its a 14'x70' 1 storey with zinc roofing & open roof concept. Todate there are only 2 nests - 1 fully complete the other just trace of nest base.
The recorded minimum tempreture at night reaching 21 deg. Is there any solution to bring up the tempreture in a cost effective way?

My humble opinion - Due to the recent iregular climate change with longer rainny season (in a way is good to swiftlet for more food supply), those farms which is in remote area or closer to any hill nead to take precaution on structure insulation otherwise extra cost needed to optimise the tempreture, just like me......

Appreciate any advise & opinion.
Thnx in advance.
Hi LogMac and all old timers, Seeseng, Swifbuild etc on this forum

I've been following all the remarks , ideas and topics discussed here on this forum
I'm very new here, hope u guys wud welcome me . Thanks.

I'm from SP and just like most guys, having the urge to own a birdhouse.

Need some advice from u guys.
I've got a single storey house on my land in a kampung.

It's in a Tanah Lot, just one house beside my land
Nearest house is a neighbour's bungalow, abt. 50 metres away

I was thinking of converting my single storey rented house into a birdhouse after reading Logmac's comments on his bird house.

Hope u guys and LogMac can advise me if birds wud fly in at lower height, abt. 12 feet high above ground...

Added on March 28, 2008, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(LogMac @ Mar 22 2008, 12:29 AM)
Hi Seeseng & Hello to all swiftlet master,

This is LogMac from Penang & I'm new here. I sincerly hope that i can be given a chance to learn from anyone of you in this trade.

I think I've encounter tempretue problem at my newly build farm @ village near Kuala Kangsar ( 6 mths of age ). 
I DIY the farm myself & Its a 14'x70' 1 storey with zinc roofing & open roof concept. Todate there are only 2 nests - 1 fully complete the other just trace of nest base.
The recorded minimum tempreture at night reaching 21 deg. Is there any solution to bring up the tempreture in a cost effective way?

My humble opinion - Due to the recent iregular climate change with longer rainny season (in a way is good to swiftlet for more food supply), those farms which is in remote area or closer to any hill nead to take precaution on structure insulation otherwise extra cost needed to optimise the tempreture, just like me......

Appreciate any advise & opinion.
Thnx in advance.

I've been following all the remarks , ideas and topics discussed here on this forum

I was thinking of converting my single storey rented house into a birdhouse after reading Logmac's comments on his bird house.

Hope u guys and LogMac can advise me if birds wud fly in at lower height, abt. 12 feet high above ground...

This post has been edited by BCO_SP: Mar 28 2008, 01:28 PM
lyf5354
post Mar 28 2008, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(BCO_SP @ Mar 28 2008, 01:27 PM)

Hi, BCO_SP
I"m from Pg, & also quite new in this forum.
I'don't thingk it is advisable 2 convert ur single storey house into a BH, not b'cos of the height but b'cos of it is rented. I think most of guys in this forum would agree with me. Imagine what will ur house owners do after 3 yrs, if ur BH already heavyly populated with swiflets ? .....!!!
BCO_SP
post Mar 29 2008, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(lyf5354 @ Mar 28 2008, 04:23 PM)
Hi, BCO_SP
I"m from Pg, & also quite new in this forum.
I'don't thingk it is advisable 2 convert ur single storey house into a BH, not b'cos of the height but b'cos of it is rented. I think most of guys in this forum would agree with me. Imagine what will ur house owners do after 3 yrs, if ur BH already heavyly populated with swiflets ?  .....!!!
Hi lyf5354,

Thanks and Appreciate yr reply.
Maybe i passed the wrong info last time.
Actually the land, as well as the rented house is ours.
I'm also staying in another house on the same land
It's about half an acre land

And we are presently renting it out to tenants.
Would have to vacate the tenants shud i decide to convert it

Anyway, just wondering if yr birdhouse in Pg Orchard Land,
Izit wooden or a concrete one?
Single or double storey?

Actually i still nedd to get more info from my local city council
before doing any conversion coz got a few houses around my land

Anyway, would really like to visit yr orchard some day, lyf5354,
if u don't have any objection
Izit a Durian Orchard?

Wud appreciate if u cud enlighten me more about "OPEN TOP ENTRANCE"
as seen being discussed in this forum

Thanks lyf5354

BCO_SP smile.gif

jongkolkhoo
post Mar 30 2008, 12:47 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Mar 27 2008, 05:22 PM)
I think this guy just finished form 5 and still waiting for result, so got nothing to do just make us of the notebook and internet , paste here and there.  I think those believe in him are ....st......

Such a young fellow. What experieces? He is still in puberty stage.
another cheating guy... ? (carrissakat)
i checked in ebay malaysia and there is this one guy selling birdnest. however, i suspect this guy to be a cheater. all the people buying birdnest from him is vcd /dvd seller(every single buyer also dvd seller) doh.gif . also the picture of birdnest showen by him is not raw birdnest as claimed by him.
any comments? cheater or not? rclxub.gif

LogMac
post Mar 30 2008, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(BCO_SP @ Mar 29 2008, 03:29 PM)
Hi lyf5354,

Single or double storey?

Izit a Durian Orchard? 

Thanks lyf5354

BCO_SP smile.gif
BCO_SP,

I think the situation of the location of your proposed birdhouse is similar with mine. I try to overcome the lower height of the single storey BH by adopting the higher Box Type Entrance with "OPEN TOP ENTRANCE", I hope this choice of mine can work. Maybe Seeseng & other Sifu can give us their comment & opinion, tnks in advance.
As i find out earlier, more attn is advisable to put on the daily tempreture diffrence n make it a point when designing your BH.
Anyway BCO_SP, what is Tanah Lot, is it a land title?
Thnks.

kent kt
post Mar 31 2008, 09:14 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(ychan @ Mar 24 2008, 09:34 PM)
Hi kent thanks for reply and the info, i have two cd and now, i guess i know which one is indoor sound--- that one have "yi-yi" sound right. thanks you
So how is the sound effect?attract any bird?
BCO_SP
post Mar 31 2008, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(LogMac @ Mar 30 2008, 10:55 PM)
BCO_SP,

I think the situation of the location of your proposed birdhouse is similar with mine. I try to overcome the lower height of the single storey BH by adopting  the higher Box Type Entrance with  "OPEN TOP ENTRANCE", I hope this choice of mine can work. Maybe Seeseng & other Sifu can give us their comment & opinion, tnks in advance.
As i find out earlier, more attn is advisable to put on the daily tempreture diffrence n make it a point when designing your BH.
Anyway BCO_SP, what is Tanah Lot, is it a land title?
Thnks.
Hi Logmac,

My land is in lots, with separate land titles for each lot,
unlike some areas where one title of a big piece of land held by one owner who breaks up the land into parts and
sub rents or sells lots from that particular land grant

Anyway, Logmac as per what i know, u're from Penang right...
So, as u said yr BH somehow quite similar to mine to be,
does that mean it's also a single storey wooden house on a land in PG?
So did u appoint a contractor to build yr open top entrance design?

I'm gonna try do the bird call test first at my area and see how's the response
I'd probably try my best to follow seeseng's footstep, DIY
I was actually fascinated by all his stories, read all of it
From the first step he started to renovate his shophouse

Thanks for yr reply, Logmac
Do keep in touch...

TSseeseng
post Apr 1 2008, 09:51 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(BCO_SP @ Mar 28 2008, 01:27 PM)

Before all the converting plans and day dreaming, you must have complete records of the site. i.e direction of the sun of different time of the day, direction of birds out for food in the morning, direction of birds flying home at 7pm to 8pm. If the area is a swiftlet central then all those no need. If no, better do them. Bird call test must be done before dreaming of house full of nests. Best time should be 9am-10am and 3:30pm to 4:30pm. Worst time is 11am to 2pm. This time frame if anybody can conduct a successful bird call is very unusual. Even in bird central this time frame birds don't want to responce to sound. DO NOT conduct bird call after 5pm. No "business" man. Yesterday myself just made a stupid mistake by conducting a bird call forgotting the time passed 5pm. Was a failure even at a good site.
kent kt
post Apr 1 2008, 03:23 PM

101 posts

So now ECER know already birdnest can boost economy,the next thing we need to pay tax,license,etc

http://www.malaysianinsider.com/mni/swiftl...cer-states.html
lyf5354
post Apr 2 2008, 11:35 PM

QUOTE(seeseng @ Apr 1 2008, 09:51 AM)
Before all the converting plans and day dreaming,  you must have complete records of the site. i.e direction of the sun of different time of the day, direction of birds out for food in the morning, direction of birds flying home at 7pm to 8pm.  If the area is a swiftlet central then all those no need. If no, better do them.  Bird call test must be done before dreaming of house full of nests.  Best time should be 9am-10am and 3:30pm to 4:30pm.  Worst time is 11am to 2pm.  This time frame if anybody can conduct a successful bird call is very unusual. Even in bird central this time frame birds don't want to responce to sound.  DO NOT conduct bird call after 5pm. No "business" man. Yesterday myself just made a stupid mistake by conducting a bird call forgotting the time passed 5pm. Was a failure even at a good site.
Hi. Seeseng
Regarding your time frame of bird call test, can we just run it just like any existing BH from +/-7:30am to pm?
How to determine the path of birds going out for foods in morning, direction of birds return if we don't know/or do not have BH at all?
What is the meaning of bird central (central of populated BH area or .....?)

Appreciates any advise

Thank U

Added on April 3, 2008, 12:53 am
QUOTE(BCO_SP @ Mar 29 2008, 03:29 PM)
Hi lyf5354,

Single or double storey?

Izit a Durian Orchard? 

Thanks lyf5354

BCO_SP smile.gif
Hi. BCo_SP
No objection 2 yr orchard visit, however i do have 2 consult my partners consent cos it is a jv land, it is a mixed orchard land planted with durian, banana, cempedak & etc but not very well maintained, (must be very2 well prepared b4 u enter the bush!) We used a small portion of it to build a 2 storeys Bh, also a single storey house for parnets weekend/free time hangout place. Too bad at present, no income from BH which nested only 2 lah!!!! ..... Only got spendings that has to be beared by whoever is up there. If anyone on this forum has any advise or idea on how to improved performance on BH on hill or even the better use of the orchard would be much appreciated. Banyak terima kasih !!!!

This post has been edited by lyf5354: Apr 3 2008, 12:53 AM
williamlee_1985
post Apr 3 2008, 01:03 PM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,006 posts

hm.. i thought its illegal to do swiflet business at housing area coz of the noise and dirt?

if neighbour complain then authorities will come and check.
TSseeseng
post Apr 3 2008, 02:12 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(lyf5354 @ Apr 2 2008, 11:35 PM)
Hi. Seeseng
Regarding your time frame of bird call test, can we just run it just like any existing BH from +/-7:30am to pm?
How to determine the path of birds going out for foods in morning, direction of birds return if we don't know/or do not have BH at all?

Appreciates any advise

Thank U

Hi. BCo_SP
The time frames I mentioned was for swiftlet passes by and vegetation areas. Swiftlet central the time is different for the evening session. Do you have the time to wait there and observe from 7:30am to pm? No need to waste time. Time like 11am-2pm sure no bird. After 5pm bird call is waste of time. The purpose is the see how's the population activities in your area. For return home direction at 7:30pm or before dark look up in the sky. The flock of birds fly at 1 direction. Don't see any bird? Don't do it.
Bird central= Area where at 4pm you look up in the sky easily few hundreds to few thousands birds around. For sure there're many BH there.
BCO_SP
post Apr 3 2008, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(lyf5354 @ Apr 3 2008, 12:35 AM)
Hi. Seeseng

Appreciates any advise

Thank U

Hi. BCo_SP
No objection 2 yr orchard visit, however i do have 2 consult my partners consent cos it is a jv land,  it is a mixed orchard land planted with durian, banana, cempedak & etc but not very well maintained, (must be very2 well prepared b4 u enter the bush!) We used a small portion of it to build a 2 storeys Bh, also a single storey house for parnets weekend/free time  hangout place. Too bad at present, no income from BH which nested only 2 lah!!!! ..... Only got spendings that has to be beared by whoever is up there.  If anyone on this forum has any advise or idea on how to improved performance on BH on hill or even the better use of the orchard would be much appreciated.  Banyak terima kasih !!!!
Hi lyf5354,

Thanks for yr reply to my last Qs
I did read somewhere that if there r too many tall trees around, difficult for the swiftlets to have a clear flight path
Anyway, i don't know bout the status in yr orchard
Well, 2 bird nests is still better than none....hehe

Anyway, best of luck to improving populations to yr birdhouse

Added on April 3, 2008, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(seeseng @ Apr 1 2008, 10:51 AM)
Before all the converting plans and day dreaming,  you must have complete records of the site. i.e direction of the sun of different time of the day, direction of birds out for food in the morning, direction of birds flying home at 7pm to 8pm.  If the area is a swiftlet central then all those no need. If no, better do them.  Bird call test must be done before dreaming of house full of nests.  Best time should be 9am-10am and 3:30pm to 4:30pm.  Worst time is 11am to 2pm.  This time frame if anybody can conduct a successful bird call is very unusual. Even in bird central this time frame birds don't want to responce to sound.  DO NOT conduct bird call after 5pm. No "business" man. Yesterday myself just made a stupid mistake by conducting a bird call forgotting the time passed 5pm. Was a failure even at a good site.
Hi Seeseng,

Thanks for yr last advice and suggestions regarding bird call timings etc
Will bear in mind the times when dird will not respond to the calls

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BCO_SP: Apr 3 2008, 10:57 PM
lyf5354
post Apr 4 2008, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(seeseng @ Apr 3 2008, 02:12 PM)
The time frames I mentioned was for swiftlet passes by and vegetation areas. Swiftlet central the time is different for the evening session.  Do you have the time to wait there and observe from 7:30am to pm? No need to waste time. Time like 11am-2pm sure no bird. After 5pm bird call is waste of time. The purpose is the see how's the population activities in your area. For return home direction at 7:30pm or before dark look up in the sky. The flock of birds fly at 1 direction. Don't see any bird? Don't do it.
Bird central= Area where at 4pm you look up in the sky easily few hundreds to few thousands birds around.  For sure there're many BH there.
Hi, Seeseng & all

Thanks for advice seeseng. My BH in orchard does have bird flying path right accross. I guess u r right, after 5.00pm even we see lots of swiflets flying pass BH, but they seem deaf even if we were to hingher the volume !! Birds do come during 8.30am-10.30am, 3pm-4pm but it seems that lots of them just circle around BH during the above period of time, some will go in & out, at the end most up them will fly up-up & away.! What is the problem? Is it normal? This Bh only nested 2 after 7mths, any ways to speed up progress?

Thank u.

Added on April 4, 2008, 9:57 am
QUOTE(BCO_SP @ Apr 3 2008, 10:52 PM)
Hi lyf5354,

Thanks for yr reply to my last Qs
I did read somewhere that if there r too many tall trees around, difficult for the swiftlets to have a clear flight path
Anyway, i don't know bout the status in yr orchard
Well, 2 bird nests is still better than none....hehe

Anyway, best of luck to improving populations to yr birdhouse

Added on April 3, 2008, 10:57 pm
Hi Seeseng,

Thanks for yr last advice and suggestions regarding bird call timings etc
Will bear in mind the times when dird will not respond to the calls

thumbup.gif
Hi. BCO_SP & seeseng
Read ur massage. we have cut down all the trees around the BH & single storey house which is just next to it, so i think flight path of birds should be no problem. Maybe it could be the temperature difference within day & night from +/- 32~c - 22~c. light intensity in BH is alright also. what do u think seeseng?

This post has been edited by lyf5354: Apr 4 2008, 11:23 PM

122 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:40 PM