V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

weihow_2000
post Jun 4 2007, 11:28 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Jun 2 2007, 01:54 AM)
Status of my farm. Still under construction. Busy with full time job. Need to pick up the pace. Must open within this month. Otherwise next month my wife going to HK for 3 weeks. I need to take care of 10 months old boy.  rclxub.gif
Now what I'm doing is insulating 2 sides of the walls which take direct sunlight in the morning and evening with 2 layers aluminium foil then an asbestos ceiling board on top of them then paint the ceiling boards black. Now I'm running out of ceiling boards. Need to wait till Sunday to get my short 7 pieces. Inside walls of my DK entrance painted black & grey. Also I'm installing 4" ventilation PVC pipes. I've seen people using up to 4 or 5 feet max for the inside elbow. Because they said using 3' also got light come in. I have a tip for DIYers to reduce the length of ventilation PVC pipes.
1) Sand paper innner side of elbows to make it rough.
2) Sand paper or brush with steel brush inner part of PVC pipes.
3) Wash them and let them dry.
4) Paint the inside with black emultion paint.
The sand paper is to make the PVC more "makan" paint. Alternatively can use spray paint "Flat Black" colour but spray paint will leave some ordour.  I use PAR "Crown" black. Almost ordourless. After first layer dried check and see got part not "makan" paint then paint a bit there. This method tested and proven really reduce light.
Now also waiting for Nest Tech to send me my order of 45dg corner boards and some artificial nests. I have 30kg of swiftlet shit but I'm still consider to use it or just Nest Tech hormone.  You see, even Dr. Chris own farm in Melacca is using Nest Tech's "To build up a swiftlets' smell environment" potion and "Attract swiftlets and build nest with short period " potion. Those names are the english name they use in their chinese website. FYI Dr. Chris also use Nest Tech's 3 types chirping sound. I found out that in Mr. Phang Kam Wah second book about examples of successful farms using Nest Tech's products.
i just spray the hormone from nesttech yesterday. according from my dad, more birds is coming in and out... so wei'll keep observe see it's result.

weihow_2000
post Jun 4 2007, 03:38 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Jun 4 2007, 11:56 AM)
weihow,

After using the hormone can notice significant increase or not? How many liter you used for your 2 floors? You use the 10L backpack sprayer?
I just spray yesterday, so i can't judge on one day only... but will let you know.
but ofcos first few days i think the result will be good. but after that, i sked the result will drop abit because the smell will be sucked out by the fan. so the smell will be that strong anymore.

According to NESTTECH, they say for 2 floor, have to use 2.5L. but i think i will broke if i follow their instruction... hahahaha
so i divide the 5L into 3 times... and the smell still goes strong.

i bought a 8L sprayer... and the sprayer spoil when i just wanna spray... (cheap things)

so i borrow my consultant backpack sprayer...hahaha
weihow_2000
post Jun 8 2007, 01:45 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Jun 8 2007, 11:23 AM)
Hey ,

U guys have u got my cds?

rclxm9.gif
i just got it my friend... will let you know once i have try out the cd
weihow_2000
post Jun 11 2007, 01:36 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(liurmas @ Jun 10 2007, 11:07 PM)
Hi Guys, I am wondering since I live in Indonesia, could we exchange the CD sound by email? Usually, these CD's consist of repeated section of recorded swiftlet sound (typically I see less than 6 minutes). If we only take the first 7minutes or so and convert them to MP3 format I guess we can email them to each other. What do you guys think?

Regards,

Liur Mas
Liurmas

did you get my CD??
weihow_2000
post Jun 13 2007, 03:59 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Jun 13 2007, 11:30 AM)
So any birds stay in yr farm yet? Hope soon. My farm size is 1200s/f after minus the roving n stair area. i will take my time to do no hurry  but it shall be b4 sept just right for the breeding what say u? there r so many farms in my area here which some really heavy investment. So far I understand from them after 3 yrs only 20 birds. But when u do birds call hundredsxxx of them will come. This indicated that  birds don't stay at their farm n there r reason behind it.

So my objective is to make the birds stay n breed. There r so many ways to achieve this we both know very well. So how many birds visited yr farm?
3 years only 20 birds??? or 3 years only 20 nest??
seeseng, the Cd you send to me, got 3 Cd's inside. One is External and one is Internal. Another one is???
weihow_2000
post Jun 15 2007, 01:22 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Jun 15 2007, 11:32 AM)
I would advise u to give up yr farm at P.Indah.Possible sell it of if there is buyers.
Everybody in Klang Valley knows the bad record in P.Indah. Its a disaster area for farm. I have perssonaly sound test the place. All farms there (10 or more all failed some abandon)) failed hardly can see any birds at 7pm. Some bought it tho was a good buy actually disaster buy.

Below were writen/quoted by well known Sifus:
1)   
From my observation in pulau indah and pandamara..most of
the farm have used a wrong cd and method design inside their
farm..some of them use internal cd for external call.and internal use
external cd..most of the farm owner simply invest their money and let
the consultant to do for them( without any research)...those bird like
your sound cause you have use the right bird call...and i also have
experienced to listen to thier bird call cd..most is junk

2)
        Interestingly one of the sifu of swiftlet consultants told me that
amongst all his projects,  the one in Pulau Indah hold one of the worst
records. He quoted to me that after putting on the external audio for the
finished farm, not a single swiftlet came to visit on that day. So the owner
waited and waited ...... finally he spotted some swiftlets after 3 days !! I
have confidence in this sifu that he has the skill to build the right farm
and to get to correct music but it just puzzled us why the Pulau Indah farms
are so 'unusual'

Added on June 15, 2007, 11:57 am

Seeseng ,

Don't feel bad if u didn't make the Run way.Anyway yr farm's size doen't permit u to do runway or OR type of farm.The OR n Runway take lots of space normally the bigger the better. This is for people who r loadded with lots of cash n invest in 3 or 4 storey farm where they can have huge Roving n Runway. The have plenty of space to waste, like yr farm if I still could remember its only 18 x something 50 or smaller, if u do OR or Dk wth 15f runway then how much space left for your nesting? Something we have to weight n even. I suppose all u need to do now is to start yr farm soonest n c what the result is from here u can do some alteration.
U will never know perhap yr design in lliked by the birds. Not two of a same design in a same place will attract the same amount of birds. That is why some new farm builded in the area wth thoudsand of birds, wth best consultants ,result FAILED. I guess we ourselves know what is best for our farm after observing n testing it out.

So yr farm without runway is still too premature to say its not good. Wait n see. For DK runway the best is 15f not many people will do that. Because they believe the Swiftlet is a F15 tomcat so no need long runway.

I supposed lots of people r reading our forum. In no time its going to be stiff competition. I
Does run way same with roving area??

weihow_2000
post Jun 16 2007, 12:37 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Jun 15 2007, 02:47 PM)
A runway is before or after the birds fly thru hole.  It has to be a certain distance for the birds to have pick up.

I tested yr cd (EXTERNAL) Hope no hard feeling ok, Not good the birds don't seem to pay attention to the sound. I discovered that it has too many internal sound this is good for internal but not external. The swiftlet don't really attracted to it. It may not work here but not necessary other place. When I changed to mind the birds fly closed. I changed a few times the results same,verdit reached. Yr cd score very low point.

Where did u buy it?
May be u r unlucky u bought the poor type. There r many poor type in the market but the only thing we can do is that to choose the best . I bring my walkman along to test the sound. I will only buy the good one.

Added on June 15, 2007, 8:59 pm[Seeseng,

Received yr cd today. Thanks .Tested it our it is more like a external sound as the mating sound is lound n many repetation over covered the chick sound. Chick sound only about 40% I guess this cd encourage breeding. I have heard weihow internal cd the chick sound is plenty. I am very sure this cd can use as external sound I will test it out this weekend n c it can attract birds or not if yes then yr cd is a 2 in 1. Most sound (external) one r mature birds sound on mating attracting young birds to come to mate or cari boy fren n girl fren type. Nowadays the farm grow like mushroom. I went to some area a week ago n re-visit again this week n discovered 8 new farms crazy man. I wonder how the birds going to support this indusrty. It will ended up having so many hotels but limited of guess n eventually all hotels cant cari makan n close shop. Those hotel wth extra features n good services n birds friendly will survive the rest " wong fei hong sau tong" in fact now
its clearly seen already which alraedy happenning, like my place here one of the place P.Indah . farms r more than sundry shops + coffee shop+ saloon all these combined still fewer than birds farm.

It show lots of people got money but just blindly invest. I sincerely thanks these people at least they help the hardware business industry. These r those come n go so that will keep on putting money in this industry. it will generate the economy. thumbup.gif
I guess this how the world works everything is 90% to 10% ratio. So hope we r the 10%. ha ha ha ha ha . The well known consultant called me again today he is offering me special price for planking. Rm 3.5 p/sf. "pau ka liow" what a good price. hard sell man! thumbup.gif

I also discovered a place here sell guarantee merati bukit at rm 2200 p/ton including transportation in a radius of 50km. The supplier is an old sawmill ,somemore money back guarantee if I not sastisfied. I told him I will check wth FRIM. He say no problem as he has been in the wood business more than 20  yrs.Wah! it seemed the longer I wait the cheaper everything. I think the longer I wait the birds will be less ha ha ha so eventually all swiftlet good supplier cant sell their product anymore so they lelong lah! rclxm9.gif
Hi Swiftbuild,

I think diff cd's reacts diff in diff locations. For my locations, i still using the same CD but the results is diff... birds seems like it.

The CD is given by my consultant.

So you mean my external sound can be used as internal? i guess i have to change the external CD's...

Actually how you rate the CD? how do you know the CD is good or not.. ?
weihow_2000
post Mar 12 2008, 10:11 AM

89 posts

Hi seeseng, Hi everyone.

It's been a while since my last visit... alot of things happened huh.

Got one question here...
My farm got alot of those flea. Their size is damn tiny.
Whenever i went in, those flea will bite me like crazy and my whole body gets itchy.
Alot of those flea hide inside the nest as well.

Any idea how to solve this?

**nest tech got sell those flea control stuff... but i bet it will be expensive one. So i'm looking for other alternatives**
weihow_2000
post Mar 12 2008, 04:08 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Mar 12 2008, 01:33 PM)
Hi weihow it's been a long time since you last posted. The flea you're talking about is blood sucking bird ticks. Like those ticks on dogs and cats just they're way smaller. They can hop from bird to bird and always like to attack featherless babies. If they attack babies on a nest you will notice there are tiny black dots at inner part of nest those are blood of baby birds. There are quite many farms having this problem. The longer you wait the severe the problem become. Try to buy the smallest pakage from NT to test to see if it's effective. Otherwise try consult local pest control company. Clean up bird shit more often.
Let say if i don't wish to buy the pesticide, and let the flea bite the baby bird.
What is the worst effect will bring to the bird?
weihow_2000
post Jun 9 2008, 03:48 PM

89 posts

Hi Seeseng

So far do you have any knowledge on how to process the bird nest or not?

what i mean is cleaning up the nest
re-mould it like a nest shape.

I've try it up but it fails

weihow_2000
post Jun 24 2008, 04:09 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(69ing @ Jun 24 2008, 10:28 AM)
Books By Kelvin Heng (by tigerben16 on 2008-01-24, 08:33:52 am)

i've been tying to call u for more than 10 over times 016 and 017 but u never answer the call and you NEVER reply my call after u said u will send my order to my freind in Miri ( very near to your Miri Office ) . If that's the way u do business , forget it ! I m wondering what's going on to you.  cry.gif

Re: Books By Kelvin Heng (by tirokswifts on 2008-01-27, 03:06:38 pm)

I have yet to receive the CD as promised.  vmad.gif

Re: Books By Kelvin Heng (by tirokswifts on 2008-02-11, 01:29:16 pm)

Hi Kelvin,

You said that you have sent me your CD but its more than a week and I have yet to receive it. Please check if the address that you sent is correct. The CD should be sent to :

Please check if it is correct and hope to hear from you  ohmy.gif

Best Regards

Re: Books By Kelvin Heng (by tirokswifts on 2008-03-14, 01:27:19 pm)

Dear Kelvin,

Sad to say, I have yet to receive the CD you said that you had send sometime in February 2008. Did you do the sending yourself? Something is wrong somewhere and hope you can check where it goes wrong. It has been a very long time and I have been waiting patiently.  mad.gif

Re: Books By Kelvin Heng (by raymond on 2008-03-15, 11:25:55 pm)

just wondering where is kelvin .. my dad still wait him at sitiawan and the cd as promise.  shocking.gif

Re: Books By Kelvin Heng (by panjang on 2008-03-18, 07:51:08 am)

Every one, pls dont cheat by him,
he's cant believe de ppl....
every time say already post out good, but cant be receive de...
call him 20 time just pick up 1 time, if really bz, also will call back...
but he dont, never seen businessman like tat........
every one here, pls dont cheat by him again...  mad.gif  vmad.gif  cry.gif
report it to the dispute corner la....

wah... long time never visit here.
Suddenly got so many thing happens.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0760sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:01 PM