13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

TSseeseng
post May 21 2007, 08:37 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ May 21 2007, 02:10 PM)
seeseng,

I am computer iliterate , I want to send a recorded pic of my bird call to you and let u have a look. How should I do that.?

By the way I am planing to use car stereo for the sound system . How many watt of amplifier I need to have to support 60 tweeters? Car stereo is 12w so I have to use adapter? Please advise.
The pic taken with digital camera or mobile phone? I think the easiest way is to use a memory card reader to copy out the JPG file. Can't wait to see 100 birds circling your car.
What's your advantage of using car stereo system? I've heard story of an experience farmer advising people not to get branded players. Himself using full set Pioneer player and amplifier for his first year. They lasted for a year only. They he changed to cheap China made VCD player. Also lasted for a year or so. For internal sound it's normal to play 24/7. Amplifiers maybe can last longer. The CD player may not. To extend the life of CD players we need to isolate them with the farm's humid environment. One way is put players and amps outside the farm's humid area. For me no place to put outside. So I made a wooden cupboard with aluminium foil as inside layer to isolate the humidity.
For people who's buying new players I'd like to recommend those DVD players with USB port. Even the CD player "kong" we still can use the USB port to play MP3 chirping sound from USB flash drive or memory card through card reader plug in to the USB port. So the player lifespan will be longer. An electronic shop in my town is selling a China made model for RM188. A friend of mine bought 2 units for his farm for internal and external sound. I heard Tesco selling even cheaper.
1 bad thing about car amp from my experience. It run hotter than normal integrated amps. Also you'll need 12v DC adapter to run each unit of player and amp. Before I had this idea of using car stereo also because I thought they should be cheaper. Then I found out they're more expensive than those Made in China systems. I'm not expert in sound system but I know if you don't want to stress your amplifier too much can add a condenser to each tweeter. The condenser I asked last week was RM1.20 each. Piezo tweeter special offer. 95 cents each.

This post has been edited by seeseng: May 22 2007, 12:35 PM
TSseeseng
post May 22 2007, 08:18 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ May 22 2007, 01:24 PM)
Do u know what is the differences between piezo n normal coiled speaker? Dr.Chris said he is using coiled speaker as its cheap n reliable. Any comment on that?  I am using car player coz to my opinion they r better sound quality than normal dvd or cd players. This is my own opinion , u may comment i would like to hear yr opinoin. i supposed all player r not designed to play 24/7 therefore we need a fan to cool it down. What is your email ? I will send the movie to yr email.
Piezo tweeters are the cheaper type and widely used in swiftlet farming. The difference with coil tweeters is piezo technology is simple, low cost of making and very durable. Very unlikely to short out. It doesn't contain magnet like coil tweeters. Piezo is technically water proof. Though it will no sound when the IC part soak in water. When water dry up it will still works fine. For entrance caller piezo is a must. I drill a hole at the back of my 45dg upwards piezo tweeter for water to come out. The sound from piezo is louder and crispier than coil. It require less input to produce sound. So at the same output we're able to install more units of piezo than tweeters.
As for coil tweeters it produce more natural and realistic sound to human ears. For example coil tweeter= black record. Piezo=digital CD. Or maybe coil=vacuum tube amplifier VS piezo=electronic IC amplifier. Crystal Swiftlet recommended "Carbon Carbite" tweeters for best sound qaullity. But I've no idea what type of tweeter is "Carbon carbite".
For piezo and coil so far nobody can prove which type is better for swiftlets' ears. Soon I'll try to prove it. Guess what? I will use both types of tweeters for my internal sound. My email address: seeseng@gmail.com

Are you going to use expensive Kenwood sound system? I personally think for swiftlets the sound quality from expensive sound system and China made player/pre-amps won't make much difference. For example MP3 is a lower quality sound format compare to CD. In real situation those IC players, SD memory card players which plays MP3 chirping sound perform equelly well as CD players.

This post has been edited by seeseng: May 22 2007, 10:05 PM
TSseeseng
post May 24 2007, 07:32 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ May 24 2007, 04:19 PM)
Hi, Already email my bird call movie to yr gmail. Please check . Any comment? I suppose you r busy wth yr new farm. Keep me up dated wth yr progress.
Actaully been busy with my full time work lately. Because when the carpenters at work I need to go supervise on and off so many work postponded. So now need to clear up some work. Watched the movie. Very successful bird call test. They really circling the car. I think in average the bird size is slightly bigger than average town area swiftlets. Is that true or just angle problem? I went to see a farm at urban area. The birds are also bigger. Due to more than enaugh food source and only a few farms operated there. Your farm is the pioneer farm in that area. Sole pioneer some more. I predict at least X3 population every year. My carpenters had finished their 8 days work. Finished nesting planks, leakage reapir, roof sprikler pipings, dog kennel entrance. Now left all my DIY. Tomorrow will do wall insulation with aluminium foil and ceiling board. This is a main disadvantage of wooden farm. Need extra work to conseal heat and light. Experimenting which type of heat insulation is the best. I'm trying rock wool, reflective aluminium foil and polysterin board. My tomorrow schedule includes paint inner part of the DK entrance.
Now got a problem. My roof top sprinkler using a water pump to suck water from ground floor water tank. My chicken farm humidifier take water direct from ground floor to 2nd floor tap. When the sprinkler running for few hours, the tank water level go down. Main water will flow into tank to fill it. When filling process not enaugh force to go up to 2nd floor tap for humidifier. Any suggestion? My idea is to use a small size plastic water tank to reserve water for the humidifier so it can still run when the main pipe not able to supply water. Then sprinkler timer controlled for 20 minutes running stop 10 minutes. So it won't suck the tanki so much. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by seeseng: May 25 2007, 01:27 AM
TSseeseng
post May 25 2007, 12:24 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(liurmas @ May 25 2007, 09:47 AM)
Hi, let me introduce myself. I own a birdfarm in Indonesia and concider myself as a beginner in this field also and eager to learn more. I had read all the postings in this forum but have not post anything yet so far. Is the movie that you guys are talking about the same as the one in the youtube website?
Welcome to the forum Pak liurmas. Can you introduce a bit about your farm? How long is it being operating? The movie we're talking about is not from Youtube. It's taken by our forum member Swifbuild himself when doing bird call test. Youtube have so many movies on Aerodramus Fuchiphagus. Which one in your mind? I've watched Youtube movies. Most are inside Indonesia farms movies. The 30 thousand Voux's swifts flying into a school chimney movie is amazing. But they're not Aerodramus Fuciphagus. They're migrating Vaux's Swift in Oregon, USA.

This post has been edited by seeseng: May 25 2007, 06:54 PM
TSseeseng
post May 26 2007, 03:01 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ May 25 2007, 01:21 PM)
I guess you have to store some plastic water tanks in your farm that connnected to the tanky. Bigger the volume of water will prevent the tanky runs dry. Seting timer to yr chicken Humidifier is also a good idea while the Chiken humidifier stop  the tanki can do its refilling works. If yr farm designed prevent hot air directly flow in to the farm u don't need continuous to humidify yr farm. Some sucessful farms don't use hunidifier and in-side is so cooling. After the renovation check the Temp n Hum without swicthing on the C.humidifier n c what is the reading.

You r right the birds r bigger here.At  1st tho it was a Aupus2 but when they fly closer n lower it can b clearly seen, grey rump n  brown fethers. I can 100%  sure its A.Fuciphagus. Some fly as close as 2f from me.

By the way do you know what is the ohm n watt of the piezo tweeter?
A secondary tanky is a good idea. But must put at higher level than the primary tanky. 2nd tanky take water from direct pipe then flow into primary tanky. So my double sprinkler pump can have more water to suck. BTW the pump will only be turned on during hottest time of the day. Later will add timer switch for the pump. Let it run on and off every 10 minutes. Rest 10 minutes. Main tanky got time to fill up and pump motor won't stress so much.
My chicken humidifier will not use timer. I will use humidistat/hygrostat instead for better accuracy. My hygrostat will arrive from China 15th June. My chicken humidifier take water from main pipe. Because the humidifier tap is on the first floor, the tanky is in ground floor. When the tanky water level low main pipe will only flow to the tanky and not enaugh force to go up 1st floor. Maybe it's better to add another small size tanky at 2nd floor just for the humidifier. Since humidifier consume a lot lesser water than double sprinkler. The small tanky can still supply water to humidifier when main pipe cannot push water to 1st floor.
From my test chicken humidifier won't help much in bring the farm temperature down. Only 0.x dg celcius only. The double sprinkler really help to cool down the zinc roof. Without sprinkler zinc roof surface temperate over 50. After on sprinkler down to 30dg. I'm not installing 2 layers of aluminium foil to all the walls then cover up with asbestos ceiling boards to cut down heat from the walls. If concrete walls can save lots of insulation DIY.
Swiftlets won't mind to stay even the humidity is low. Just the nests at low humidity farm may crack and fall because too dry. I tested piezo tweeter with multitester. No ohm at all. It's made in China and come it big carton so I don't think it got any manual. The structure is very simple. Just a piece of IC buzzer and a piece of black paper inside glued to the buzzer.

Added on May 26, 2007, 3:10 am
QUOTE(liurmas @ May 25 2007, 07:14 PM)
I have just started the birdfarm about 3 years ago. Here in Java, we all start our birdfarms from converting grass swiflet populatioin to Aerodramus Fuchiphagus population by replacing their eggs and let them be foster parents. I have 3 farms of my own and 4 of joint ventures. Out of these 7 farms, one starts producing and I can harvest about 1 kg every 4 months. The others are still in the process, one already has 18 nests of Aerodramus Fuchiphagus, one has 2 Aerodramus Fuchiphagus, the others are still grass swiftlets. This year I want to start using bird chirps to attract more birds and still in the process of designing the sound system and what types of chirps I should use. I have a humidity controller, but do not use it. In one of my farms placed bricks on the floor and sprinkle some water everyday using a timer. I like using these bricks as they are porous and therefore release a lot of moisture due to the large surface of evaporation. So far this method has been successful for me. As far as the humidity controller, I will use it in my other farm where currently I have 900 nests of grass swiftlet which I am trying to convert. All of us are still learning I supposed and therefore exchanging information is always beneficial for us.
Foster method is very time consuming. Can't they use the same method as in Malaysia? Design a AF specialise farm then just use chirping sound to attract AF to stay? AF is originated from Java so I presume there got more AF than Malaysia. In foster method how they lure grass swiftlets to breed in house farm?

This post has been edited by seeseng: May 26 2007, 10:26 AM

TSseeseng
post May 26 2007, 11:33 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(liurmas @ May 26 2007, 09:47 AM)
Grass swiftlets are lured the same way as the A.F. It is just that most of the time the house is populated first with the grass swiftlet. I guess they are easier and more abundant around the suburb and they have had the habits of nesting in residential houses since I remembered, whereas the A.F. were used to be found in caves only
What if the chirping sound change to A.F. chirping sound and the internal light intensity change to 2-3 lux only? Then can directly lure only A.F. into the farm to stay lah. At that low light intensity common swift cannot stay in the farm.

Pic of my dog kennel style entrance hole. Not yet painted and long range, mid range tweeters not yet install. The holes size @2.5'x2' one facing south and the other facing river at west.

This post has been edited by seeseng: May 26 2007, 11:46 AM

TSseeseng
post May 26 2007, 03:12 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ May 26 2007, 12:26 PM)
Yr Dk looks great,  Yr contractor did a good job.  u have 2 entrace holes , I un'stand facing the river as the food change is there but facing the south? Must be some farms at the south ?

I also tested d tweeter wth multitester it has no reading also then I suppose we only can check wth the supplier. The watt n ohm r higher than normal speaker as I inter-change n attached to player ,the normal speaker r louder at lower volume n piezo tweeter has to push volum higher to have the same loudness. I think we need to use a higher watt of amp.

How much is yr small tweeter? I bought from Crytalswiftlet(penang) rm2.30 each .I think its  expensive. Where do u buy it from?? Nestech?

By the way how should I attach picture on this forum page like u? pls advise.
swifbuild,
The south is where most birds from nearby farms fly to for food searching. Then in the evening most birds fly home from the south to north. So my south entrace is waiting for them. Telling them no need to waste energy fly home so far. Can stop here half way to stay. tongue.gif

Both piezo tweeters in the pic I bought @ 95 cents each. The shop directly imported from China to sell in their few shops. Other shops selling RM2.xx each. Crystalswiftlet price of RM2.30 i think should be normal selling price. The shop selling 95 cents tweeter finished their 1st batch of 500 units in the first day of promotion. Did you try to find in Jalan Pasar? Do you know any swiftlet farming accessories shop in Klang Valley? I'm looking for more rubber synthetic nests. Nest Tech selling RM68 for a pack of 10 pieces. Super expensive man. Looking for cheaper source.
To attach picture in post just go down to File Attachments section. Press the "Browse..." button to find your picture file in your computer, choose the file the press the "Add This Attachment" button. Then "Add Reply" to summit the post.

TSseeseng
post May 27 2007, 01:10 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

The 4" PVC pipe tweeter I made is for mid range. 2 feet long. The advantage is sound can reach upt to 500m away and the disturbance to neibouring houses can cut down up to 50%. I will make long range tweeter later. With 4 feet long pipe. Hopefully sound can reach up to 1km and nearby disturbance cut down to 70%. Of course cone shape is better. But will be harder to make. Need to use zinc or aluminium and will require some welding and grinding jobs. Nest Tech is selling those type of mid-range and long range tweeters. Their specs performance is mid-range up to 500m with 50% less disturbance and long range up to 1km with 70% lesser disturbance. Mine are "home made" sure cannot compare with their performance. I've compared with and without PVC pipe. The disturbance really lesser and at range of about 40m I compare, same level of volume. I can hear the PVC pipe tweeter louder than just bare tweeter. So it really works, easy to make and most important. Cheap! Cost of making less than RM10. Anyone know how much Nest Tech selling their mid and long range tweeters? The concept is like fishing rod. At the same force apply with longer rod we can throw longer range than shorter rod. I have an idea of putting more than 1 piezo tweeter inside the pipe. Since the pipe will act as its cone, I'll cut off the cones of round piezo tweeter so can fit in more than 1 tweeter. Nest Tech's mid and long range tweeter using 4x piezo inside. Without the big cone I'll try to fit in 4x piezo fit in 4" PVC pipe. whistling.gif If not 2-3 tweeters also good enaugh.

TSseeseng
post May 27 2007, 01:24 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(liurmas @ May 27 2007, 01:18 AM)
If you are trying to cut down the sound to your neighbour, would wrapping the outside of the PVC with say polyurethane foam will dampen the sound even further? What is the idea of putting more tweeter inside the PVC? Can we jut put 1 tweeter but very powerful one in term of wattage?
Because the pipe tweeters are pointing 45dg to 60dg upwards. Rain/water proof must be considered. For water proof as far as I know only piezo-electric tweeters can be used. You are right. By wrapping the pipe with sound damping meterial outside or apply to inside wall is a good idea. This can cut down disturbance and may be can increase range.

p/s pics borrow from www.nesttech.com.my

TSseeseng
post May 27 2007, 10:22 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(liurmas @ May 27 2007, 07:48 AM)
I would not apply the damping material to the inside wall as you want the sound wave to travel far. The reflecting wall is needed for the sound wave to travel. You just want to dampen the sound that is caused by the vibration of the PVC wall. If you apply the inside wall with damping material, only unreflected sound wave will be transmitted (the one that does not hit the inside wall) and therefore the amplitude of the sound that you intend to travel far will be reduced.
Actually I mean using sound proof material for inside wall. Such as Sonotube. The material people use for custom made speakers and woofers. But these kind of material sort of hard to get.
TSseeseng
post May 29 2007, 08:16 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(weihow_2000 @ May 28 2007, 01:36 PM)
Hi Seeseng

i just shipped the CD's to you.
i think you will received it tomorrow or wednesday.

Inside the package have 2 cd. one internal and one external. i have labelled the CD's as well.

when you can ship yours to me?
Received your CDs today. Haven't test power yet. Sent you 3 CDs by Poslaju today to your Mentakab address. The address no mistake? House number then taman name then Mentakab. No street number?
TSseeseng
post May 31 2007, 01:21 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(weihow_2000 @ May 30 2007, 08:20 AM)
okay...
no street number... is just a small taman only.

i have bought the hormone from nesttech. Now looking for pressure sprayer.

My consultant just help me to spray some potion last 2 weeks. Can i spray again using nesttech potion?
For tight budget I also choose to buy the hormone from Nest Tech. It's RM280 for 5L or 4.5L? Their quotation to me stated 5L.
What type of potion your consultant sprayed? If it's 30 days potion then wait after 30 days to spray the hormone lah. No need to waste.
TSseeseng
post May 31 2007, 08:03 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(weihow_2000 @ May 31 2007, 10:57 AM)
seeseng.

what kind of pressure sprayer you use?
How much you buy for the sprayer?
I bought 2 Liter gardening pressure spray for that purpose. Come with metal nozzle. Price forgot. Less than RM10 lah. How your tweeters facing? Only 1 side? Both sides or multiple sides?
TSseeseng
post Jun 2 2007, 01:54 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Jun 1 2007, 12:31 PM)
Weihow,

Nice talking to u That day. Please check yr mail I need your address, Still have not received yr cds. U should try the Indon's way no harm trying. I told seeseng already. Very cheap one no need hormone spray n 100% enviroment frenly.
I have been to Mentakab plenty of house swiftlets but A.F I am not sure. Its a good
place, but for sure one thing we must use tecnology in order to be in front right!
Seeseng,

Check your gmail,

How is your farm? Sound blast tested?  How is the tanki doing?
Do u put swiftlet shit in your farm? not all shit r good shit (Ha ha ha)there is one sucessful farm in Taiping selling but not cheap. Nestect also selling?
Status of my farm. Still under construction. Busy with full time job. Need to pick up the pace. Must open within this month. Otherwise next month my wife going to HK for 3 weeks. I need to take care of 10 months old boy. rclxub.gif
Now what I'm doing is insulating 2 sides of the walls which take direct sunlight in the morning and evening with 2 layers aluminium foil then an asbestos ceiling board on top of them then paint the ceiling boards black. Now I'm running out of ceiling boards. Need to wait till Sunday to get my short 7 pieces. Inside walls of my DK entrance painted black & grey. Also I'm installing 4" ventilation PVC pipes. I've seen people using up to 4 or 5 feet max for the inside elbow. Because they said using 3' also got light come in. I have a tip for DIYers to reduce the length of ventilation PVC pipes.
1) Sand paper innner side of elbows to make it rough.
2) Sand paper or brush with steel brush inner part of PVC pipes.
3) Wash them and let them dry.
4) Paint the inside with black emultion paint.
The sand paper is to make the PVC more "makan" paint. Alternatively can use spray paint "Flat Black" colour but spray paint will leave some ordour. I use PAR "Crown" black. Almost ordourless. After first layer dried check and see got part not "makan" paint then paint a bit there. This method tested and proven really reduce light.
Now also waiting for Nest Tech to send me my order of 45dg corner boards and some artificial nests. I have 30kg of swiftlet shit but I'm still consider to use it or just Nest Tech hormone. You see, even Dr. Chris own farm in Melacca is using Nest Tech's "To build up a swiftlets' smell environment" potion and "Attract swiftlets and build nest with short period " potion. Those names are the english name they use in their chinese website. FYI Dr. Chris also use Nest Tech's 3 types chirping sound. I found out that in Mr. Phang Kam Wah second book about examples of successful farms using Nest Tech's products.

This post has been edited by seeseng: Jun 2 2007, 01:55 AM
TSseeseng
post Jun 2 2007, 03:26 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(GameMonster @ Jun 2 2007, 02:44 AM)
guys, need ur advise,someone in my hometown selling a 5years farm,but have a bad production, he say 1 month 1kg also no have, he say 20 30pcs or more mayb have la each month,he plan to sell 2 shop lot for RM700k.do u feel is it worth to use 700k to invest over there? he says he got a lot nest,but only can produce little bit nia.

last time when i read u guys's thread, one of u guys mention about everywhere in malaysia have birdnest, but is it we need to check the place can attract a lot of bird or not?
For a 5 years farm, 20-30pcs is less than half kg. It's consider a failed farm. From the results I presume it's a double storey shoplot. Both shoplots got farm on 2nd floor or just one? Lots of things to consider before you buy.
1) Is it near residentioal area
2) Determine the reasons of failure
3) 20-30pcs nests can cover bank installment?
4) Is the area ready populated with Aerodramus Fuciphagus?
5) Are you willing to spend extra to renovate the farm?
The risk is high. Do a bird call test nearby first and foremost.

TSseeseng
post Jun 4 2007, 11:56 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(weihow_2000 @ Jun 4 2007, 11:28 AM)
i just spray the hormone from nesttech yesterday. according from my dad, more birds is coming in and out... so wei'll keep observe see it's result.
weihow,

After using the hormone can notice significant increase or not? How many liter you used for your 2 floors? You use the 10L backpack sprayer?

This post has been edited by seeseng: Jun 4 2007, 12:04 PM
TSseeseng
post Jun 8 2007, 12:15 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

TSseeseng
post Jun 10 2007, 02:14 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

Finally received your CD today. Tested on my PC and I notice it's a remix version of few different CDs. Especially the part with echoes I have the whole CD with the same echo effects.
My nail gun supports 1", 1.5" and 2" brad nails. There's a bigger type up to 2.5". 1 size smaller than mine only support 1" nail which is not enaugh because our plank already 1" thick. I only use the nailgun for corner boards installation myself with a borrow 2.5HP compressor FYI my nailgun do not support T-nails yet cost me RM200(Personally I think this price sort of cut throat) 2HP compressor should be better with lighter weight.
My advice, DIY the nesting planks only if you got 1-2 helping hands. Alone? Don't. I just sprained my right elbow last week when 1 hand holding asbestos board and 1 hand screw in. Until now I grab fist and lifting things elbow feel pain.

RM5600 material+workmanship for 70'x20' so good deal fast fast ask them do lor. Higher density wood shouldn't be a problem as long as you got enaugh grooves on them. Mine meranti bukit is also quite hard. Harder wood has the advantage of durability & better/more accurate echolation. There's a thread in kelab walet Indonesia where someone asked about nests being built on concrete walls just beside nesting planks. Their conclusion was walls provide more accurate echolation. Check out http://www.swiftnests.com/ there are pictures of nests build on concrete walls.

Nesting plank installation consider heavy job not to mention red meranti is heavy. If not used to heavy work after that musle pain here and there some more you'll need to set up scafolding for plank installation. Plain ladder just won't do the job.

Just like what I did. Hire the pros to do. We watch and learn. After watching them do step by step may be you'll realise it's the right decision to ask the professional to do. There are lots more other stuff for us to DIY. So which type of entrance are you going to use?

Today I will do more corner boards installation. Get to play with nailgun hehe. The more I do my plan keep changing results in more DIY things to do. 10 more ventilation holes were added coz just found out that side good wind blowing after evening.

This post has been edited by seeseng: Jun 10 2007, 02:37 PM
TSseeseng
post Jun 12 2007, 01:34 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Jun 10 2007, 08:06 PM)
I am going to make the open roof type reason being is that in my area here i don't want to attract the boleh land people u know once they know they will squeez yr balls.As we know we r 2nd class citizen can't chalengge 1st class citizen one..I have bought a circular saw at carfoure rm 79.99. U can cut from 40dg to 140dg. The metal base can be adjusted. I can use this for future use.the cuting will be 100% accurate. The nailer n compressor I will look around till i find the good n reasonable one. What I can do is to order the planks n try to do myself n if difficulty sets in I will ask people to do it.Since my roofting n some hacking down works r done by Indon I will ask the same guy to help me out. I will pay him salary per day as helper. I had spoken to him he said no prob as he can fix n do the wood structure of the roof that support the roof tiles. Obviusly he has not done the nest plank b4. I show him the picture he said is the same works as roofting.

I guess if any other people read our forum here they might laugh at us Ha ha ha ha ! What r these guys doing ? Crazy man!wasting time, should let consultant to handle whole job! But what they don't realise is that we learned a great deal than them. We hold n control our own balls. They let other people hold their balls n freely let people squeeze ha ha ha. I am confident that people like us will make better n successful farms. As we know our "motto" zero torlerance to defeat.

Its not a cheap hoby tho, neitheir a business investment I suppose not many people can afford it. One must have a property. Mine cost almost rm500k to start wth this excluding the things that we r doing now. Hope we will get back what we had invested. Not to mention if those people invested in this business n letting people holding their balls n lead them and at the end it failled in hokkien" Kau Lak"

We did it ourselves  so fail or success no one to blame am I right?

Added on June 10, 2007, 8:20 pmSeeseng,

what is the height of yr farm " from nesting plank to the floor?

Rgs

Swifbuild
Open roof is so far the best no doubt. If I have a choice I would've do it. RM79.99 for a circular saw is dirt cheap. So which type of meranti wood are you going to order? If red meranti better ask for length more than 8' because I heard from my plank supplier got ppl sell durian tree wood as red meranti. They look/smell exactly the same but durian wood a lot cheaper. To avoid this ask for 12' or up length because durian wood maximum only 8'.
I just measured my floor to ceiling is 9' 5 inches. So if deducted 6" nesting plank should be 8' 11 inches from floor to nesting plank. Still consider in the range of ideal height lah. I think ideal height should be 8' to 10'. Higher no advantage at increase bird poplulation unless later your farm full house higher height has the advantage of making double or tripple layer planks.
TSseeseng
post Jun 13 2007, 10:46 AM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

Successful or failure rate of a swiftlet farm. In my opinion number 1 is height, then skill/knowledge, then design lastly only luck. We're already lucky we're in A.F. populated region. The American, British etc. where got this kind of "luck" ?

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:12 AM