This post has been edited by thechickadee: Jun 9 2017, 03:23 PM

abu.shofwan
post Jun 6 2017, 08:56 AM

1,455 posts

Hey, what would be the benefit of 120Hz screen
I mean dor a tablet... For gaming I would better understand, though I don't game that serious at all.
Cynox
post Jun 6 2017, 09:10 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Eager to get a new Ipad with LTE capability to replace my Ipad Air gen 1 Wifi. But really nothing much worth to upgrade now, have to wait for next gen maybe. sad.gif

btw, when will it be available in Msia?
TSthechickadee
post Jun 6 2017, 09:23 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Jun 6 2017, 08:56 AM)
Hey, what would be the benefit of 120Hz screen
I mean dor a tablet... For gaming I would better understand, though I don't game that serious at all.
From what i read, it's basically for those using ipad pro for design purpose, even for gaming, i doubt a lot of developers would make an effort to push their games graphic to 120 fps, i mean they still have to develop for the older ipads =/
TSthechickadee
post Jun 6 2017, 09:26 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jun 6 2017, 09:10 AM)
Eager to get a new Ipad with LTE capability to replace my Ipad Air gen 1 Wifi.  But really nothing much worth to upgrade now, have to wait for next gen maybe.  sad.gif

btw, when will it be available in Msia?
Honestly except for the processor, i don't see a much of a big upgrade from the older pro models, i mean most people don't use the ipad's camera, the display i kinda have to see it to appreciate it i guess but i doubt it's a major upgrade, especially when they didn't jump ship to OLED
abu.shofwan
post Jun 6 2017, 09:32 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Jun 6 2017, 09:26 AM)
Honestly except for the processor, i don't see a much of a big upgrade from the older pro models, i mean most people don't use the ipad's camera, the display i kinda have to see it to appreciate it i guess but i doubt it's a major upgrade, especially when they didn't jump ship to OLED
Well, actually the smaller one got a minor upgrade in screen real estate. A minor one, but Apple seems to think it will make a tangible difference, at least when talking about keyboards (on screen and hardware based)

As for gaming, yeah 120Hz makes sense for serious games, which implies you would need a good rig/console. You wouldn't want to be caught off guard because of your TV running at 24Hz, when you play a fast paced FPS game. Hence I wondered the benefit for the ipad...

Maybe the more avid user of the pencil could testify, since apple thinks it will improve the responsiveness.
Cynox
post Jun 6 2017, 09:40 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Jun 6 2017, 09:26 AM)
for light gaming, I think the bump up in processor also won't make much difference. My current Ipad Air still serve me well, just that wrongly bought the Wifi model instead of LTE model previously. It is basically my newspaper and mag reader and to surf internet only. All the CPU+GPU upgrade doesn't really matter to me.
Mavik
post Jun 6 2017, 10:54 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

They are definitely trying to target a group of users who would basically use the iPad as a laptop replacement. Meaning those who only use the laptop for browsing and light office work.

For design, I am sure most designers still prefer using a larger screen such as a 27" monitor or the iMac for their work.
Arvinaaaaa
post Jun 6 2017, 12:44 PM

Peace :D
3,930 posts

I still cant figure out the target audience for these ipad pros..imho it could never replace what a laptop can do
emy_xvidia
post Jun 6 2017, 03:18 PM

2,735 posts

Can anyone confirm whether the new iPad Pro support 3D Touch?
TSthechickadee
post Jun 6 2017, 03:48 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jun 6 2017, 03:18 PM)
Can anyone confirm whether the new iPad Pro support 3D Touch?
Pretty sure it doesn't support 3d touch
emy_xvidia
post Jun 6 2017, 06:43 PM

2,735 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Jun 6 2017, 03:48 PM)
Pretty sure it doesn't support 3d touch
That's too bad. Would like to know as well whether the home button is actually a button or not?

Anyway I notice bezel is much more thinner. Quite good looking albeit its pretty much identical to the last generation.
kambingkoh
post Jun 9 2017, 08:26 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jun 6 2017, 06:43 PM)
That's too bad. Would like to know as well whether the home button is actually a button or not?

Anyway I notice bezel is much more thinner. Quite good looking albeit its pretty much identical to the last generation.
I also want to know about the home button, is it like the one in iPhone 7? confused.gif

Wonder when we can buy locally in Malaysia. Have been waiting for it for sometime. And Singapore already selling it. Aih. sad.gif
nickygin
post Jun 9 2017, 09:36 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 9 2017, 08:26 AM)
I also want to know about the home button, is it like the one in iPhone 7?  confused.gif

Wonder when we can buy locally in Malaysia. Have been waiting for it for sometime. And Singapore already selling it. Aih.  sad.gif
Based on what I read (sorry cant remember which review blog), the home button is still a button and not like iPhone 7.

If Singapore is selling, maybe Malaysia might be following soon.... maybe smile.gif
Mavik
post Jun 9 2017, 09:55 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 6 2017, 12:44 PM)
I still cant figure out the target audience for these ipad pros..imho it could never replace what a laptop can do
It depends on what a person uses the laptop for. Most people in general only use the laptop for basic web surfing, listening to music and a little bit of productivity work. This is exactly the customers who they are targeting with the iPad. They want to replace the lower end laptop market with these iPads instead.

Of course they also try to target a certain target market which is the creative market where the iPad is an add-on to their already current workflow. For example, if a designer is using the new MS Studio at the office, the ipad would be the mobile carry around device for meetings.
zeroendless
post Jun 9 2017, 10:05 AM

352 posts

Just curious, how long usually does it take in Malaysia Apple online store they will start to order on new releases such as the new iPad Pro after announcement? I have checked and it's still unavailable as of now.

TSthechickadee
post Jun 9 2017, 02:58 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(zeroendless @ Jun 9 2017, 10:05 AM)
Just curious, how long usually does it take in Malaysia Apple online store they will start to order on new releases such as the new iPad Pro after announcement? I have checked and it's still unavailable as of now.
If you take iPad 2017 as a benchmark, it'll probs take roughly around 1 month for it to reach our shores (after it the first batch's release)

This post has been edited by thechickadee: Jun 9 2017, 03:08 PM
TSthechickadee
post Jun 9 2017, 03:07 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 9 2017, 09:55 AM)
It depends on what a person uses the laptop for. Most people in general only use the laptop for basic web surfing, listening to music and a little bit of productivity work. This is exactly the customers who they are targeting with the iPad. They want to replace the lower end laptop market with these iPads instead.

Of course they also try to target a certain target market which is the creative market where the iPad is an add-on to their already current workflow. For example, if a designer is using the new MS Studio at the office, the ipad would be the mobile carry around device for meetings.
To me the iPad pros target a very very niche market, especially right after they released the budget 2017 model, i take myself as an example, except for some spread sheets and a lot of ms word, the main purpose for my ipad is to watch some youtube videos and iflix, i got myself a 32gb ipad pro 9.7 and kinda regretted it (not because the 10.5 came out) because the stuffs im doing could easily be done on the 2017 ipad.

The ipad pro's biggest selling point is it's smart connector (which at this point is mostly being used as a dock for keyboards) and the apple pencil, which i think the general public would not even bother with, hence why i said niche market, i mean sure, better display better processor, and so on, but it only appeals to a very small portion of people. Most people would've got themselves a laptop (just a little more for macbook air) or a gaming laptop at that price.
s2000c
post Jun 9 2017, 05:25 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Jun 9 2017, 03:07 PM)
To me the iPad pros target a very very niche market, especially right after they released the budget 2017 model, i take myself as an example, except for some spread sheets and a lot of ms word, the main purpose for my ipad is to watch some youtube videos and iflix, i got myself a 32gb ipad pro 9.7 and kinda regretted it (not because the 10.5 came out) because the stuffs im doing could easily be done on the 2017 ipad.

The ipad pro's biggest selling point is it's smart connector (which at this point is mostly being used as a dock for keyboards) and the apple pencil, which i think the general public would not even bother with, hence why i said niche market, i mean sure, better display better processor, and so on, but it only appeals to a very small portion of people. Most people would've got themselves a laptop (just a little more for macbook air) or a gaming laptop at that price.
hi , which ipad pro 9.7 or ipad 9.7 ( 2017) can use pencil?thanks

ind3pend3nc3
post Jun 9 2017, 08:37 PM

110 posts

Can an ipad really replace a laptop?
i need thin and light machine for words/excel/power point processing, will ipad pro9.7/10/5 do the job? or a normal ipad air 2 is sufficient.

Also, is ipad pro's keyboard really that good to use? or a normal 3rd party blue tooth keyboard is usable as well.<< today went to apple store, tried the ipad pro keyboard, some of the keys doesnt do anything when i pressed (eg. command key), is it its broken, its sensitive, the connection not good? orrr....
Mavik
post Jun 9 2017, 08:55 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(s2000c @ Jun 9 2017, 05:25 PM)
hi , which ipad pro 9.7 or  ipad 9.7 ( 2017) can use pencil?thanks
Only the iPad with the word Pro in the name.
Mavik
post Jun 9 2017, 08:56 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Jun 9 2017, 08:37 PM)
i need thin and light machine for words/excel/power point processing, will ipad pro9.7/10/5 do the job? or a normal ipad air 2 is sufficient.

Also, is ipad pro's keyboard really that good to use? or a normal 3rd party blue tooth keyboard is usable as well.<< today went to apple store, tried the ipad pro keyboard, some of the keys doesnt do anything when i pressed (eg. command key), is it its broken, its sensitive, the connection not good? orrr....
The moment you need to do office productivity work, definitely the laptop will be more productive overall.
s2000c
post Jun 9 2017, 11:53 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 9 2017, 08:55 PM)
Only the iPad with the word Pro in the name.
thank for info , but the pencil is one version only , correct?
Mavik
post Jun 10 2017, 12:37 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(s2000c @ Jun 9 2017, 11:53 PM)
thank for info  , but the pencil is one version only  , correct?
Yes, so far only the same pencil
TSthechickadee
post Jun 14 2017, 04:16 PM

179 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=138szki_-J8

Holy, geekbench score almost doubled
s2000c
post Jun 14 2017, 04:42 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Jun 14 2017, 04:16 PM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=138szki_-J8
Holy, geekbench score almost doubled
Nice ipad . Anyone buying at Sg or wait Malaysia apple .?
shennwuu
post Jun 16 2017, 11:58 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Jun 9 2017, 08:37 PM)

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry85307936

I am personally a reviewer and this is my founds. Go and have a look mate!
yashin
post Jun 16 2017, 08:31 PM

152 posts

When expected to land in malaysia?
shennwuu
post Jun 16 2017, 10:28 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Jun 16 2017, 08:31 PM)
When expected to land in malaysia?
Saw an article said it would be in November but I doubt it. Should be in the next month or two. If iPad Pro could have the bezelless display next year...hmm...will it be ?
yashin
post Jun 17 2017, 12:20 PM

152 posts

Must be soon as Singapore has it available already. A week or two at most
Mavik
post Jun 17 2017, 05:25 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

After trying the new iPad 10.5" at Hong Kong, I am completely sold on getting it. Love the 120mhz refresh rate and how smooth everything was running on the iPad. Can't wait to get it once it is released here in Malaysia.
shennwuu
post Jun 17 2017, 07:14 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 17 2017, 05:25 PM)
After trying the new iPad 10.5" at Hong Kong, I am completely sold on getting it. Love the 120mhz refresh rate and how smooth everything was running on the iPad. Can't wait to get it once it is released here in Malaysia.
Yaya saw how it performs better than current Pro. Was thinking to get one but after considering the 120Hz screen refresh rate is not significant in making my works done faster. I am using iPad Pro 9.7 as my everyday carry and my only "bag" to carry all my lecture notes, ebooks and daily planner, I didn't see any problem yet. I can't wait to see how far will the technology on iPhone 8 goes, if the rumoured bezelless display is real, I can't wait to see the next gen iPad. Save for next consecutive iPad.

Superman7
post Jun 17 2017, 09:15 PM

11,086 posts

Cheapest is RM2999
shennwuu
post Jun 17 2017, 09:21 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 17 2017, 09:15 PM)
Cheapest is RM2999
It worth the upgrades. iPad Pro 9.7" 32GB Wifi cost you RM2699. iPad Pro 10.5 with bigger and much better display, 64GB, 4GB Ram cost you RM300 more than 9.7 only
Superman7
post Jun 17 2017, 09:29 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(shennwuu @ Jun 17 2017, 09:21 PM)
It worth the upgrades. iPad Pro 9.7" 32GB Wifi cost you RM2699. iPad Pro 10.5 with bigger and much better display, 64GB, 4GB Ram cost you RM300 more than 9.7 only
need the cellular model which means extra RM650 cry.gif
shennwuu
post Jun 17 2017, 09:39 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 17 2017, 09:29 PM)
need the cellular model which means extra RM650  cry.gif
I got an iPad Pro with cellular, sincerely, I didn't insert sim card, phone hotspot will do. Do you wanna buy it from me ? Haha!
Superman7
post Jun 17 2017, 09:50 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(shennwuu @ Jun 17 2017, 09:39 PM)
I got an iPad Pro with cellular, sincerely, I didn't insert sim card, phone hotspot will do. Do you wanna buy it from me ? Haha!
haha.. no thanks. I already have sim card from my current iPad mini
Mavik
post Jun 18 2017, 08:20 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jun 17 2017, 09:15 PM)
Cheapest is RM2999
In HK it is around RM200 cheaper after conversion.
s2000c
post Jun 18 2017, 12:29 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 17 2017, 05:25 PM)
You should buy and help us buy at hongkong .@
Cynox
post Jun 18 2017, 11:54 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 18 2017, 08:20 AM)
In HK it is around RM200 cheaper after conversion.
Thanks for the info, may get my colleague to help get one from HK. Can save around RM420 for Pro 10.5 plus Pencil. biggrin.gif
loongzai2
post Jun 19 2017, 07:50 AM

822 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jun 18 2017, 11:54 PM)
Thanks for the info, may get my colleague to help get one from HK. Can save around RM420 for Pro 10.5 plus Pencil.  biggrin.gif
Can HK set claim in Msia Apple
Cynox
post Jun 19 2017, 09:29 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(loongzai2 @ Jun 19 2017, 07:50 AM)
Can HK set claim in Msia Apple
Most likely ok but if really cannot, then ask my HK colleague to help claim in HK. Just recalculate, saving not that much, only RM274 for the Pro 10.5 (most likely is the 6% GST effect). Pencil exact same price after conversion. Yesterday Google conversion not so accurate, just now use Maybank rate to convert.
Mavik
post Jun 19 2017, 10:11 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(s2000c @ Jun 18 2017, 12:29 PM)
You should buy and help us buy at hongkong .@
Too late, back in KL already.

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jun 18 2017, 11:54 PM)
Thanks for the info, may get my colleague to help get one from HK. Can save around RM420 for Pro 10.5 plus Pencil.  biggrin.gif
Yeah, the more items you buy there the more you can save on.
sembilan
post Jun 19 2017, 11:40 AM

644 posts

Hi, was wondering if anyone had any experience with apple pickup service?

A friend is coming back from Singapore and i'm planning to purchase an ipad online and have him pick it up before he leaves

Edit: realised Apple Store (online) doesnt accept international cards

This post has been edited by sembilan: Jun 19 2017, 11:50 AM
shennwuu
post Jun 19 2017, 12:23 PM

183 posts

Apple device is claimable globally, as what there stated international warranty. I bought my iPad in Myanmar, renew the warranty status in Penang, renew the phone call support as well by calling to Apple Support. It is kinda funny but it worked.
kambingkoh
post Jun 24 2017, 02:28 AM

76 posts

rejoice! you can now go to apple store MY website to purchase ipad pro!
Wendell Pierce
post Jun 24 2017, 03:56 AM

Ya it is convenient and cheap compared to a mac although i am using mac cuz I love mac so much. The ipad pro has some dope functions as well.
ftan
post Jun 24 2017, 06:46 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 24 2017, 02:28 AM)
rejoice! you can now go to apple store MY website to purchase ipad pro!
Nice. Estimate shipping in 1-2 weeks.
neekun
post Jun 24 2017, 09:15 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Jun 24 2017, 06:46 AM)
Nice. Estimate shipping in 1-2 weeks.
Ordered from Apple Store online and waiting now for my iPad Pro 12.9!
ftan
post Jun 24 2017, 10:52 AM

2,532 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Jun 24 2017, 09:15 AM)
Ordered from Apple Store online and waiting now for my iPad Pro 12.9!
Congrats. smile.gif

I'm in the market for an iPad. Just deciding on the weight (don't want heavy) and budget.
westlife
post Jun 24 2017, 06:43 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jun 19 2017, 09:29 AM)
Most likely ok but if really cannot, then ask my HK colleague to help claim in HK.  Just recalculate, saving not that much, only RM274 for the Pro 10.5 (most likely is the 6% GST effect).  Pencil exact same price after conversion.  Yesterday Google conversion not so accurate, just now use Maybank rate to convert.
Actually buy Apple products at Apple shops in airport can also save quite a bit becos no GST. Of course provided u must find one and the shop must have stock of the ipad too.
Cynox
post Jun 24 2017, 08:46 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 24 2017, 06:43 PM)
Actually buy Apple products at Apple shops in airport can also save quite a bit becos no GST. Of course provided u must find one and the shop must have stock of the ipad too.
too bad my HK colleague won't be coming again until end of July. Will just grab one from online store. tongue.gif
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 26 2017, 08:10 PM

2,776 posts

Too bad the price is kinda steep.
westlife
post Jun 26 2017, 08:48 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 26 2017, 08:10 PM)
Too bad the price is kinda steep.
The spec of the new iPad Pro is certainly Monster.

If one does not use the 'pro' functions of the iPad Pro, it is quite overkilled.

But compare to iphone, which it can do more things and it got the same camera as the iphone 7. It is actually more worthy than iphone but it could not make calls of course.
Savor_Savvy
post Jun 28 2017, 09:46 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 26 2017, 08:48 PM)
The spec of the new iPad Pro is certainly Monster.

If one does not use the 'pro' functions of the iPad Pro, it is quite overkilled.

But compare to iphone, which it can do more things and it got the same camera as the iphone 7. It is actually more worthy than iphone but it could not make calls of course.
I am using my Ipad Air 2 everyday. I guess this PRO is geared towards productivity. If only it has MacOS.
westlife
post Jun 28 2017, 10:01 AM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 28 2017, 09:46 AM)
I am using my Ipad Air 2 everyday. I guess this PRO is geared towards productivity. If only it has MacOS.
yes, the pro is more for productivity, i think over the years, apple also realise that if they dun do anything to the iOS for ipad, it is not going to be able to replace laptop.

yes, personally, i also do not feel that ipad pro can really replace laptop unless it runs macos. but hopefully with ios 11 or even later os, apple can improvise the ios to really make full use of the capability of ipad pro as ipad pro in terms of spec is really powerful

but obviously apple will never go for this move as they will not try to kill the market for macbook.
CodexHalo
post Jun 28 2017, 01:48 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 28 2017, 09:46 AM)
I for one hope they don't put MacOS on them. I'm not willing to give up having affordable apps for a file browser and mouse support. ><

Savor_Savvy
post Jun 28 2017, 04:01 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(CodexHalo @ Jun 28 2017, 01:48 PM)
I for one hope they don't put MacOS on them. I'm not willing to give up having affordable apps for a file browser and mouse support. ><
Macbook is getting too expensive nowadays.
westlife
post Jun 30 2017, 02:09 AM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 28 2017, 04:01 PM)
Macbook is getting too expensive nowadays.
2015 time the MacBook Pro has the best value in terms of price and spec. After 2016 the price up significantly.

I'm 2015 times, the base model of retina MacBook Pro is just adding a little bit from the highest model iphone plus.
Mavik
post Jun 30 2017, 08:08 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Sucks that Thailand is already selling the iPad Pro 10.5" at their premium resellers. After conversion slightly pricier compared to Malaysia
mitodna
post Jun 30 2017, 11:09 AM

14,039 posts

offtopic, is buying the iPad Pro at reseller and can then buy Apple Care online? thanks
CodexHalo
post Jun 30 2017, 03:24 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 30 2017, 08:08 AM)
Sucks that Thailand is already selling the iPad Pro 10.5" at their premium resellers. After conversion slightly pricier compared to Malaysia
Even Thailand gets to have them earlier than we do.

#triggered
pmsoo
post Jul 3 2017, 12:15 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jun 30 2017, 11:09 AM)
offtopic, is buying the iPad Pro at reseller and can then buy Apple Care online? thanks
Apple care dont need to know where you buy it from, it is only concern if your warranty is still valid or not.
If it is, it is applicable.

shennwuu
post Jul 5 2017, 02:28 PM

183 posts

Can't really understand what is the purpose to use an iPad to replace a laptop if you can afford a laptop which is definitely perform better than a tablet would be in terms of versatility and ability. Tablet is not going to replace a laptop, never will be. If you saying addition of mouse and MacOs, we wouldn't call it a tablet anymore! Tablet is a handhold device which increase the portability for lightweight task on it, such example will be a massive Excel working on a desk using laptop or PC, then transfer the document to your tablet so you can review or make some light modification on the go, or spend more time to do some bigger modification on a tablet which you could do faster on a laptop. Tablet is just a smart device classified between smartphone and laptop, it does better work than a smartphone but less a big step than a laptop. After using iOS 11 Public Beta, I could say that iPad covered 75% of my work which I previously done on a laptop, but at the end of the day, it still couldn't replace a laptop.
Mavik
post Jul 5 2017, 06:04 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(shennwuu @ Jul 5 2017, 02:28 PM)
Can't really understand what is the purpose to use an iPad to replace a laptop if you can afford a laptop which is definitely perform better than a tablet would be in terms of versatility and ability. Tablet is not going to replace a laptop, never will be. If you saying addition of mouse and MacOs, we wouldn't call it a tablet anymore! Tablet is a handhold device which increase the portability for lightweight task on it, such example will be a massive Excel working on a desk using laptop or PC, then transfer the document to your tablet so you can review or make some light modification on the go, or spend more time to do some bigger modification on a tablet which you could do faster on a laptop. Tablet is just a smart device classified between smartphone and laptop, it does better work than a smartphone but less a big step than a laptop. After using iOS 11 Public Beta, I could say that iPad covered 75% of my work which I previously done on a laptop, but at the end of the day, it still couldn't replace a laptop.
The argument is flawed because the iPad is not meant to challenge a laptop and what a laptop can do. The key is catering to a market who uses perhaps 25% of what a laptop can achieve. That means basic programs and basic tasks.
Cynox
post Jul 6 2017, 10:04 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

yes, I agree too. For me, iPad is just in between a smartphone and a laptop. Laptop is purely for work - Ipad will never replace the laptop for me. Phone is the most portable device i carry all the places. Ipad for media consumption on the sofa, on a trip, in a flight, etc.

Whether to choose a laptop or ipad depends very much on the intended usage for each individual.

A lot of youtube videos is kinda "misleading" to analyze whether the ipad can replace a laptop coz I think most ppl getting the ipad are not thinking of replacing their laptop with an ipad. It is just an Apple's marketing word that the ipad is as powerful as a laptop.
shaunkL
post Jul 6 2017, 02:15 PM

238 posts

10.5 vs 12.9 inch,

normally which 1 will you choose if use most of the time at home?
westlife
post Jul 6 2017, 02:16 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 6 2017, 02:15 PM)
10.5 vs 12.9 inch,

normally which 1 will you choose if use most of the time at home?
10.5 of course
shaunkL
post Jul 6 2017, 02:21 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 6 2017, 02:16 PM)
10.5 of course
oh, because 12.9inch too big?
westlife
post Jul 6 2017, 05:05 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 6 2017, 02:21 PM)
yup. unless ur workflow really requires such size.

Else u may not be using it as a tablet but likely use like a laptop which u are likely to use it on table.
westlife
post Jul 6 2017, 05:14 PM

14,312 posts

I think Apple has really attain their goal to differentiate between ipad and iPad Pro.

Saw more forumers (aka pro users) are going for iPad Pro instead of ipad.
pmsoo
post Jul 6 2017, 07:57 PM

374 posts

It couldn't replace a laptop for you. Doesn't mean it can't replace laptop for others.

Apple already said that Ipad can be a laptop replacement for most people, not everyone

I think as long as the person view (read news/review docs & emails) more than typing/using complex software, for sure the iPad is better because it is more convenient, longer battery life and lighter. You don't even need iOS 11 for that
shennwuu
post Jul 6 2017, 11:57 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Jul 6 2017, 07:57 PM)
It couldn't replace a laptop for you. Doesn't mean it can't replace laptop for others.

Apple already said that Ipad can be a laptop replacement for most people, not everyone

I think as long as the person view (read news/review docs & emails) more than typing/using complex software, for sure the iPad is better because it is more convenient, longer battery life and lighter. You don't even need iOS 11 for that
Yes, I understood what are you telling here. By the way, we are talking about the iPad will never be a laptop replacement or it will never been call a laptop, the form factor is totally different. It can cover the works of some people doing which they used to do on a laptop but in definition or ability, tablet will always a tablet.

This post has been edited by shennwuu: Jul 6 2017, 11:58 PM
pmsoo
post Jul 7 2017, 10:05 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(shennwuu @ Jul 6 2017, 11:57 PM)
Yes, I understood what are you telling here. By the way, we are talking about the iPad will never be a laptop replacement or it will never been call a laptop, the form factor is totally different. It can cover the works of some people doing which they used to do on a laptop but in definition or ability, tablet will always a tablet.
I dont think theres a right or wrong to this because a laptop means different things to different people.

I believe there will be a convergence of products where iPad Pro will be mature enough to replace even an engineer's laptop or an architect's laptop. Tablets are on the decline because phones are getting bigger. Either the iPad matures to step up or it will be eliminated. Thats whats happening the the "iPad" now. I think the definition of tablet will change in the near future.

Ultimately Apple requires third party companies to step up to refine their apps to be truly independent of laptop. If a full fledged autocad or photoshop or dreamweaver is on iPad, you will see more "laptop replacement" converters.

Im trying to convert to full time iPad Pro myself (with the new 10.5 512GB when available) but i can't solve my storing of old emails issue.
shaunkL
post Jul 7 2017, 11:03 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 6 2017, 05:05 PM)
yup. unless ur workflow really requires such size.

Else u may not be using it as a tablet but likely use like a laptop which u are likely to use it on table.
okay thanks for your opinion! thumbup.gif
Mavik
post Jul 7 2017, 12:21 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 6 2017, 02:21 PM)
Yes, used to have a 12.9" iPad Pro but it was too large, too heavy for my usage. Especially one handed usage is tough
westlife
post Jul 7 2017, 02:41 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 7 2017, 11:03 AM)
okay thanks for your opinion!  thumbup.gif
no prob. tongue.gif

but eventually go with your own heart as you are the only one who really know what you need.
Mavik
post Jul 8 2017, 01:04 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Jul 7 2017, 10:05 AM)
I dont think theres a right or wrong to this because a laptop means different things to different people.

I believe there will be a convergence of products where iPad Pro will be mature enough to replace even an engineer's laptop or an architect's laptop. Tablets are on the decline because phones are getting bigger. Either the iPad matures to step up or it will be eliminated. Thats whats happening the the "iPad" now. I think the definition of tablet will change in the near future.

Ultimately Apple requires third party companies to step up to refine their apps to be truly independent of laptop. If a full fledged autocad or photoshop or dreamweaver is on iPad, you will see more "laptop replacement" converters.

Im trying to convert to full time iPad Pro myself (with the new 10.5 512GB when available) but i can't solve my storing of old emails issue.
Yeah that is one of the issues whereby you can't store old emails because it functions to sync the email from the server. Things such as attaching emails is also one thing the iPad can't properly do yet as well.
ftan
post Jul 8 2017, 05:14 PM

2,532 posts

Went to machines at the curve to have a look. But they don't have the latest iPad pros yet.

I wanted to have a look at the 10.5".

This post has been edited by ftan: Jul 8 2017, 05:15 PM
Mavik
post Jul 8 2017, 07:20 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Purchased the 10.5" iPad Pro 256Gb Wifi+Cellular at Mac Studio at Paradigm mall earlier this afternoon. Not bad, going to list my iPad 9.7" at the Garage sales soon.
westlife
post Jul 8 2017, 08:09 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 8 2017, 07:20 PM)
Purchased the 10.5" iPad Pro 256Gb Wifi+Cellular at Mac Studio at Paradigm mall earlier this afternoon. Not bad, going to list my iPad 9.7" at the Garage sales soon.
Yup, 10.5 inch is seriously a major upgrade from 9.7 inch one.

Obviously last year 9.7 inch iPad Pro is simply a transition product.
singgung
post Jul 8 2017, 09:44 PM

1,303 posts

I seriously can't see the difference of 120hz. Lol
westlife
post Jul 8 2017, 10:23 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 8 2017, 09:44 PM)
It is good for u actually, because u can save the money for not buying the iPad Pro since it makes no difference. tongue.gif
singgung
post Jul 8 2017, 11:28 PM

1,303 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 8 2017, 10:23 PM)
It is good for u actually, because u can save the money for not buying the iPad Pro since it makes no difference.  tongue.gif
Yea i know. Hahaha. Every reviewer was like "you can't see in YouTube but you'll definitely see it in person", so i was a bit disappointed i cant see the difference even when i used it next to the cheap ipad. Lol. But this pro is a bit overkill for me. As much as i like the bigger screen, I'd rather buy the 2017 ipad and use my laptop for works.
Mavik
post Jul 9 2017, 12:04 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 8 2017, 11:28 PM)
Yea i know. Hahaha. Every reviewer was like "you can't see in YouTube but you'll definitely see it in person", so i was a bit disappointed i cant see the difference even when i used it next to the cheap ipad. Lol. But this pro is a bit overkill for me. As much as i like the bigger screen, I'd rather buy the 2017 ipad and use my laptop for works.
Yes I used to think that but I realised that the 9.7" iPad for me isn't enough. I use the iPad a fair but coupled with a laptop. So the pro was a good need for me
singgung
post Jul 9 2017, 10:33 AM

1,303 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 9 2017, 12:04 AM)
Yes I used to think that but I realised that the 9.7" iPad for me isn't enough. I use the iPad a fair but coupled with a laptop. So the pro was a good need for me
There sure are people who are going to use the pro to it's full capability but my line of work can't really use it for works except emailing. Lol. My usage for ipad is mostly media & gaming. My only problem with ipad 2017 is 32gb as base model. My current ipad 32gb just barely make it.
westlife
post Jul 9 2017, 11:07 AM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 9 2017, 10:33 AM)
There sure are people who are going to use the pro to it's full capability but my line of work can't really use it for works except emailing. Lol. My usage for ipad is mostly media & gaming. My only problem with ipad 2017 is 32gb as base model. My current ipad 32gb just barely make it.
Go for 128gb then.
shennwuu
post Jul 9 2017, 03:26 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 8 2017, 09:44 PM)
Should be liase with what you are doing on the iPad. The Promotion technology will regulate the refresh rate based on what you are doing. If the task doesnt need high refresh rate, the display will be adjusted to stay at 24 or 60hz.
westlife
post Jul 9 2017, 05:03 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(shennwuu @ Jul 9 2017, 03:26 PM)
Should be liase with what you are doing on the iPad. The Promotion technology will regulate the refresh rate based on what you are doing. If the task doesnt need high refresh rate, the display will be adjusted to stay at 24 or 60hz.
Yup to save battery.
westlife
post Jul 9 2017, 05:03 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 9 2017, 10:33 AM)
For my parents, 32gb is more than sufficient for them. thumbsup.gif
singgung
post Jul 9 2017, 06:57 PM

1,303 posts

QUOTE(shennwuu @ Jul 9 2017, 03:26 PM)
Yea i know most of them falls back to the apps themselves. But reviewers said you can see the difference from scrolling the home page so that's what i did. Haha. But nevermind. It just means it's not that significant for me to notice.

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 9 2017, 05:03 PM)
For my parents, 32gb is more than sufficient for them. :thumbsup:
For parents 16gb pun enough d. Lol.
westlife
post Jul 9 2017, 07:33 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(singgung @ Jul 9 2017, 06:57 PM)
Yea i know most of them falls back to the apps themselves. But reviewers said you can see the difference from scrolling the home page so that's what i did. Haha. But nevermind. It just means it's not that significant for me to notice.
For parents 16gb pun enough d. Lol.
No. 16gb is not enough. 32gb still have enough rooms for apps and games etc. And also room for future iOS upgrade.

16gb is totally out.
jenern84
post Jul 9 2017, 10:53 PM

Morphling
748 posts

Am looking for a cover which includes a keyboard and pencil holder. Budget below rm300. Any recommendation?
shaunkL
post Jul 10 2017, 09:03 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 7 2017, 12:21 PM)
Yes, used to have a 12.9" iPad Pro but it was too large, too heavy for my usage. Especially one handed usage is tough
QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 7 2017, 02:41 PM)
no prob.  tongue.gif 

but eventually go with your own heart as you are the only one who really know what you need.
Thanks, may i know the 10.5 inch already can buy in Malaysia Shopping mall Apple distributor?

nickygin
post Jul 10 2017, 09:08 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 10 2017, 09:03 AM)
Thanks, may i know the 10.5 inch already can buy in Malaysia Shopping mall Apple distributor?
Yup, saw it in Machines at Gardens over the weekend.
shennwuu
post Jul 10 2017, 11:28 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(jenern84 @ Jul 9 2017, 10:53 PM)
Am looking for a cover which includes a keyboard and pencil holder. Budget below rm300. Any recommendation?
Lazada might have what you demanding. But it is difficult to get both under RM300. Good luck shopping!
shaunkL
post Jul 12 2017, 09:25 AM

238 posts

Is it sufficient of 256 GB for ipad pro 10.5 inch?

Kind of regret didnt go for 512 GB.
TSthechickadee
post Jul 12 2017, 10:21 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 12 2017, 09:25 AM)

what's your ipad usage? 256 is a lot already
shaunkL
post Jul 12 2017, 10:38 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Jul 12 2017, 10:21 AM)
what's your ipad usage? 256 is a lot already
Just normal watching movie online, play game only...
westlife
post Jul 12 2017, 11:56 AM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 12 2017, 09:25 AM)

depends on what are you doing on the ipad pro i guess.

256gb to a tablet is considered a lot i would say.

of course if u can really make the ipad pro a replacement of laptop, then no harm to go for 512gb also.
shaunkL
post Jul 12 2017, 11:59 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 12 2017, 11:56 AM)
depends on what are you doing on the ipad pro i guess.

256gb to a tablet is considered a lot i would say.

of course if u can really make the ipad pro a replacement of laptop, then no harm to go for 512gb also.
Ok great!

Thanks a lot...
cause first time using it.
westlife
post Jul 12 2017, 12:01 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 12 2017, 10:38 AM)
then seriously overkilled.

if u are using the ipad pro for content consumption.

then u seriously do not need so much space unless u are using it for content creation.

if u are saying that you are putting a lot of videos into the ipad. then seriously no point also, u just try to fill up the space and a lot of time those videos u put u hardly will watch it.
TSthechickadee
post Jul 12 2017, 01:39 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(shaunkL @ Jul 12 2017, 10:38 AM)
Ahh i see i see, with that usage, you should be fine with 256gb
nickygin
post Jul 14 2017, 02:59 PM

240 posts

It seems to be hard to find a 10.5 cover that can hold a Pencil... went all over midvalley and gardens and they don't have it.

Anyone saw one elsewhere?

lockheed90
post Aug 30 2017, 12:05 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jun 6 2017, 12:44 PM)
wait until iOS 11 comes out..it really improves the capability of the ipad
shennwuu
post Aug 30 2017, 02:09 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(nickygin @ Jul 14 2017, 02:59 PM)
It seems to be hard to find a 10.5 cover that can hold a Pencil... went all over midvalley and gardens and they don't have it.

Anyone saw one elsewhere?

I have one Targus for 10.5, shockproof 4ft drop no problem, have a loop can hold apple pencil. PM me

0.0678sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:23 AM