Macbook randomly restart, anyone xpiriecne the same?
TSwizardboy
Mar 23 2007, 06:59 PM, updated 19y ago
to apple gurus,
i dont know what is the problem, i've been using mac all this years but when recently i bought macbook black, it has been restarting randomly which pretty annoying. how could i avoid this? i was preparing for an exhibition slides on keynote .. now i have to re-do the whole thing again. i went to library/logs i could not find any panics.log for karnel pannics
please.. i only want to hear the possibilities this could happen from an expirienced mac user. pls dont spam. thx
p/s: could this be due to my ram upgrade to kingstron v ram? but someone from other forum does not seems to have such problem even on heavy task. any idea anyone?
kwekeugene
Mar 23 2007, 07:05 PM
Apparently on Newegg's website, some Macbook users are having problems with the Kingston Value Rams.
Try using with your original RAM and compare?
TSwizardboy
Mar 23 2007, 07:30 PM
kwekeugene, thx. i read abt the same but strange many ppl claimed not an issue to them. perhaps v ram they just do random checks rather then 'select' ram which they test each n everyone of it. http://www.mandladventures.com/2006/08/02/...dilemma-update/man .. i hope leopard wont cause this problem for kingston v ram. else time to put up this ram for sales or use to for mac mini (need to get one then)
lokgotz
Mar 23 2007, 08:40 PM
u updated your mac?? i think it's the RSS....random shutdown syndrome...... EDIT: read this up.. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304308This post has been edited by lokgotz: Mar 23 2007, 08:53 PM
TSwizardboy
Mar 23 2007, 09:12 PM
lokgotz, thx for the link i dont require this update n no way i could install it my current smc is : SMC Version: 1.13f3
perhaps i have to wait for much later updates
some info:
Hardware Overview:
Machine Name: Mac Machine Model: MacBook2,1 Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo Processor Speed: 2 GHz Number Of Processors: 1 Total Number Of Cores: 2 L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB Memory: 2 GB Bus Speed: 667 MHz Boot ROM Version: MB21.00A5.B00 SMC Version: 1.13f3 Serial Number: [XXXXXXXXXXXX] Sudden Motion Sensor: State: Enabled
ram: BANK 0/DIMM0:
Size: 1 GB Type: DDR2 SDRAM Speed: 667 MHz Status: OK
BANK 1/DIMM1:
Size: 1 GB Type: DDR2 SDRAM Speed: 667 MHz Status: OK
any terminal codes to flush or reset the ram ?
This post has been edited by wizardboy: Mar 23 2007, 09:18 PM
Timber
Mar 23 2007, 11:54 PM
I had a same MacBook as yours that gives me a problem also even after a firmware upgrade. I can't restart it after a shutdown. I have to hold the power button for several seconds in order to boot it up. Sent it to VR Tech for warranty claim. Turns out that there is problem with the logic board and they changed it for me. Maybe your logic board got problem as well.
pukarix
Mar 24 2007, 12:02 AM
hope its not caused by the kingston value rams.coz i m getting it tommorow..but after reading this thread,i may hav to delay my purchase..
most shops sells kingston value rams...rm240 for a gig...is dat the standard price in LOW YAT..coz planning to get it there tomorrow
This post has been edited by pukarix: Mar 24 2007, 12:05 AM
babyk
Mar 24 2007, 12:56 AM
if you want to purchase RAMs for Macs...please do purchase Patriot RAMs. They run well on Macs compared to Kingston Value RAMs
TSwizardboy
Mar 24 2007, 01:00 AM
babyk, thx for ur input but could u at leat let us know where can we get such ram n how much does it cost?
timber, i dont have any problem. indeed my mac does not require any f/ware upgrade when i purchase it. it's already updated. only mostly on security and os update. it's just abt a month old. anyway, there was no problem booting up. i just have problem when i do my keynote n few days ago when iwas watching movie on VLC, it restart twice. i hope it's not logic board problem. damn i hate long delay for service
babyk
Mar 24 2007, 04:44 AM
QUOTE(wizardboy @ Mar 24 2007, 01:00 AM) babyk, thx for ur input but could u at leat let us know where can we get such ram n how much does it cost? timber, i dont have any problem. indeed my mac does not require any f/ware upgrade when i purchase it. it's already updated. only mostly on security and os update. it's just abt a month old. anyway, there was no problem booting up. i just have problem when i do my keynote n few days ago when iwas watching movie on VLC, it restart twice. i hope it's not logic board problem. damn i hate long delay for service you can get it at C-zone Lowyat Plaza The price is almost same as Kingston KVR
TSwizardboy
Mar 24 2007, 10:00 AM
babyk, thx
pukarix
Mar 24 2007, 10:03 AM
babyk...
r u sure it has d same price?i juz browsed through the product on newegg.com...its written that patriot rams are certified by apple..n i dont think its at d same price as KVR.nway i ll go to LY today or tomorrow to reconfirm the price..
TSwizardboy
Mar 24 2007, 10:16 AM
pukarix, pls update us here ok i need ur info  thx
pukarix
Mar 24 2007, 11:35 AM
^^^^so i m d lab rat ere issit??haha
nway its starting to rain,most probably not goin today....btw,wat if i ve bought d RAMS n its not compatible,could i send it back?or would they accept an exchange?
This post has been edited by pukarix: Mar 24 2007, 01:06 PM
TSwizardboy
Mar 24 2007, 11:51 AM
pukarix, u r not the lab rat, u r just sharing ur exp btw, i think they should accept
cutekid
Mar 24 2007, 06:34 PM

I don't know whether this is logic board problem or not la..... but 10 of my friend send to VR service centre for the same problem as you, 10 of them also get claim a new logic board...... hope this help you.... thanks
ed0gawa
Mar 24 2007, 06:56 PM
Well, i dont face random shutdown problem with my Kingston Value Ram which i bought from C-Zone
btw, i only upgrade 1 stick.. : ( too poor.. So i am using 1 stick of 1GB + 1 stick of 256. For the first few day, my apple did act weirdly. When i wake my MB up from standby or sleep, the screen will turn orange for a while, then back to original color.
But after few days, no more such problem
TSwizardboy
Mar 25 2007, 12:12 PM
cutekid, which batch was it? and it's core 2 duo or core duo version? how long does it takes for them to actually change the board? and i have bad xpirience with apple technician in m'sia especially the shop at midvallet machines. a simple thing that i asked abt upgrading ram and hdd, the tech said it will void warranty and no way i cld do it manually, i said it's even stated in apple website, n he goes bashing abt it. that is the simple example. mayb i should give it to mac asia instead.
btw, this happen drasticly when i was using keynote and on extended display 24".
Added on March 26, 2007, 11:06 ampukarix, any news dude?
guys.. ?
This post has been edited by wizardboy: Mar 26 2007, 11:06 AM
neekun
Mar 26 2007, 12:56 PM
Hmmm..those Kingston value RAM pricing are quite tempting for me to get a 1GB and plug into my MBP. However now gotta think twice.
BTW, i got an extra 1GB of ram (Kingston as well) from Apple Reseller during the purchase and so far no issue. Wat's the diiff between those Kingston RAM sold in Apple Reseller and those found in normal PC shops in LY? The price BIG difference leh.
TSwizardboy
Mar 26 2007, 01:05 PM
neekun, i had the same q. but perhaps those kingston in apple reseller are SELECT ram rather the Value Ram check on my post 3 link