soulfly
post Mar 25 2007, 01:19 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Mar 25 2007, 09:39 AM)
What he mean here is for those who oledi on s939 platform, all they nid 2 do is juz buy a new board 4 s939 which supporting DDR2 n sum DDR2 RAMS. The difference is upgrade d s939 by juz buy a new board n RAM modules compare 2 AM2 which required end users buy NEW AM2 proc, NEW AM2 board n NEW DDR2 RAM modules laugh.gif
Like this can attract those who oledi on s939 2 upgrade rather than buy a whole new system mah! Can save $$$ on procs loh.

save what money?

sorry but please do your homework

sAM2 has 940-pin
s939 has 939-pin

all K8 architecture has built-in memory controller, so if you want to use DDR2, you need to have AM2, no excuse. s939 has strictly DDR-only memory controller.
NOX
post Mar 25 2007, 01:30 PM

278 posts

Hurm.. me a proud owner of winchester.. i got a q here(maybe stupid q).. is it a must to use ddr2 800mhz ram? what's d diff between using ddr2 667 and the 800? let say, i'm using x2 proc and using ddr2 800.. is there any increase in proc speed?

i hav no idea on dual core architecture..
killerloop81
post Mar 25 2007, 01:39 PM

SpLiTfIrE
1,429 posts

How bout C2D system?does it kill fast oso?wanna know oso here:)
afosz
post Mar 25 2007, 01:39 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

Yup, that's technology nowadays. Very cruel. They'll force you to spend $$ on new stuff if you want something better. I think the last DDR is 1GB, no further than that. Some more DDR3 is coming, surely they put that away and then DDR2 is dying.

But I guess AMD shouldn't release 939 at the 1st place. They should just stick with 754 that support PCIE. 754 also support PCIE right? But mostly 754 is DDR/AGP, 939 DDR/PCIE and AM2 is DDR2/PCIE. What to do, their choice. Want to use DDR2, must upgrade to AM2 laa laugh.gif if that's the case, some might say that it is better to go for C2D. Then new stuff from AMD, maybe better one, then shift again doh.gif
redart
post Mar 25 2007, 03:01 PM

315 posts

^lol what do you mean force user to spend? Unless you really need to, there's no need to upgrade everytime new tech. come out. If there's a need, just upgrade the ram capacity or new GC and the 939 system is pretty much good to go for most applications.
SUSjoe_star
post Mar 25 2007, 03:09 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Exactly. I have a s939 system that I got around a year ago and so far its going very strong. Nothing yet has made me scream my head off like the slowness of my old P4 1.5ghz system!!! Moreover my 3800+ OC's like a charm (2.6-2.7Ghz). I doubt I'll be getting a new system for another 2 to 3 years.
MangKoK^ayon
post Mar 25 2007, 03:11 PM

look at my stars
859 posts

whatever it is..money is still the most important thing smile.gif
akachester
post Mar 25 2007, 03:16 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Ok..need a comparison here..

Assuming you are tight on budget in building a new system, would it be a good choice in spending a few hundreds more in getting a NEW AM2 system or maybe save those hundreds and get a 2nd Hand 939 system?

In comparison, is there really such a significant edge of DDR2 in AM2 towards d DDR in 939?
afosz
post Mar 25 2007, 04:20 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

2nd hand 939 would be a wise choice for normal use, for student example. It does save a lot. DDR2 is just a newer tech, slightly faster than DDR but why wanna change so much if changing the whole system doesn't seem to be changing at all in performance.

Current 939 user, just stick to the specs. Maybe change them when there's quad core AMD or something. New user wanna get a PC, should get AM2. At least it is new

@akchester
Using Opteron eh? I'm thinking of upgrading to Opteron 1210 for my AM2, is it worth it for the price of RM600+, just like C2D price except I don't have to change my mobo as well
jcliew
post Mar 25 2007, 06:18 PM

Retired Enthusiast
889 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 25 2007, 01:19 PM)
save what money?

sorry but please do your homework

sAM2 has 940-pin
s939 has 939-pin

all K8 architecture has built-in memory controller, so if you want to use DDR2, you need to have AM2, no excuse. s939 has strictly DDR-only memory controller.
Oh my godness doh.gif
U seem misunderstand what i wanna express here. What is express here is juz assumption that IF AMD produce platform which utilize s939 n support DDR2 memory then can save $$$ on s939 procs.
lol...I also know there is no such thing since DDR2 in real world only supported in AM2 platform for AMD lah... doh.gif
P/S: Plz go through d thread posted previously by whom I replied.

This post has been edited by jcliew: Mar 25 2007, 06:21 PM
LJS
post Mar 25 2007, 07:37 PM

823 posts

just because S939 AGP DDR1 is really hectic for me after my MSI neo2 platinum died....so shift to C2D
woopypooky
post Mar 25 2007, 08:44 PM

1,292 posts

right now I am stuck with 939 3000 venice. also running window vista, and its just enuff only, if open too much application---which i luv to do like in winxp,it will lag.

i bought my pc a little over a year ago, Feb 2006, at that time i didnt wan wait for AM2 cos ppl tell me once AM2 debut, its S939 price will come down and i thought i will be able to upgrade to a S939 4800X2. but who will have thought AMD discontinued it. right now, i got money wanna upgrade also cant.

i dun wan to choose amd anymore, if both amd and intel are slightly on par, i will choose intel liao.

soulfly
post Mar 25 2007, 08:57 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Mar 25 2007, 06:18 PM)
Oh my godness doh.gif
U seem misunderstand what i wanna express here. What is express here is juz assumption that IF AMD produce platform which utilize s939 n support DDR2 memory then can save $$$ on s939 procs.
lol...I also know there is no such thing since DDR2 in real world only supported in AM2 platform for AMD lah... doh.gif
DDR and DDR2 have different voltage requirement... so you still need different motherboards.

even if you save the old s939, you still wont be able to use it with DDR2... that just defeats the purpose of saving your old s939 or changing to DDR2 platform. things just don't work that way.
Daywalker
post Mar 25 2007, 10:34 PM

What the hell?? This will gonna shit happen.......??
1,988 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 25 2007, 08:57 PM)
DDR and DDR2 have different voltage requirement... so you still need different motherboards.

even if you save the old s939, you still wont be able to use it with DDR2... that just defeats the purpose of saving your old s939 or changing to DDR2 platform. things just don't work that way.
Yeah..... I agree soulfly statement, just like this...... smile.gif

s939 = DDR (2.5v)
AM2 = DDR2 (1.8v)

whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Daywalker: Mar 25 2007, 10:37 PM
akachester
post Mar 26 2007, 08:54 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Mar 25 2007, 04:20 PM)
2nd hand 939 would be a wise choice for normal use, for student example. It does save a lot. DDR2 is just a newer tech, slightly faster than DDR but why wanna change so much if changing the whole system doesn't seem to be changing at all in performance.

Current 939 user, just stick to the specs. Maybe change them when there's quad core AMD or something. New user wanna get a PC, should get AM2. At least it is new

@akchester
Using Opteron eh? I'm thinking of upgrading to Opteron 1210 for my AM2, is it worth it for the price of RM600+, just like C2D price except I don't have to change my mobo as well
The reason i am asking is because i still have some parts for the socket 939 which i hope to sell to a friend.But considering the fact that the AM2 price is kinda cheap, i am still considering whether to keep those parts or really sell to him at a cheaper price...

Well, to be honest with you, i had never tried the C2D before so, no comparison there with the Intel. But, considering S939 Opteron and the X2 series, i just feel there are next to no difference at all during usage.I mean, comparing the X2 3800 with the Opteron 165, there might just be a slight advantage the Opteron have towards the X2.In fact, many reviews had stated that the X2 of s939 might even be better than the Opteron..

So, i guess its really up to you whether you utilize the system or not.X2 AM2 is already at a rock bottom price which does seem to be a very very good deal.About Opteron AM2, i still haven use or see the review of any yet so i would wana give a comment there.But i guess, with the price of 600+, there are plenty of choices as in the AM2 X2 series.Opty would be good as well as long as you utilize the features...
afosz
post Mar 26 2007, 09:25 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 26 2007, 08:54 AM)
The reason i am asking is because i still have some parts for the socket 939 which i hope to sell to a friend.But considering the fact that the AM2 price is kinda cheap, i am still considering whether to keep those parts or really sell to him at a cheaper price...

Well, to be honest with you, i had never tried the C2D before so, no comparison there with the Intel. But, considering S939 Opteron and the X2 series, i just feel there are next to no difference at all during usage.I mean, comparing the X2 3800 with the Opteron 165, there might just be a slight advantage the Opteron have towards the X2.In fact, many reviews had stated that the X2 of s939 might even be better than the Opteron..

So, i guess its really up to you whether you utilize the system or not.X2 AM2 is already at a rock bottom price which does seem to be a very very good deal.About Opteron AM2, i still haven use or see the review of any yet so i would wana give a comment there.But i guess, with the price of 600+, there are plenty of choices as in the AM2 X2 series.Opty would be good as well as long as you utilize the features...
I see. In that case, I'll opt to X2, save more money tongue.gif I'm not into much heavier stuff like .. well I don't know

I think you might wanna let go to your friend, IF the price he offered satisfies you. If not, keep it. Having several rigs also not a problem like some have 3, some 8 biggrin.gif
redart
post Mar 26 2007, 07:56 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Mar 25 2007, 06:18 PM)
Oh my godness doh.gif
There won't be such "IF".

It's not about platform but it's about the proc architecture.

Unlike Intel proc, AMD have memory controller built-in on their proc.

S939 proc would only work with DDR1 because it only has DDR1 memory controller on it.

It's not that AMD don't want to produce s939 platform with DDR2 support but that has no purpose whatsoever, it's like making a chair that people cannot sit on it.
akachester
post Mar 26 2007, 10:30 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Mar 26 2007, 09:25 AM)
I see. In that case, I'll opt to X2, save more money tongue.gif I'm not into much heavier stuff like .. well I don't know

I think you might wanna let go to your friend, IF the price he offered satisfies you. If not, keep it. Having several rigs also not a problem like some have 3, some 8 biggrin.gif
Well, thats why i would say opting for X2 might be a wiser choice unless you really need the extra L2 cache..lol..

NOX
post Mar 29 2007, 11:17 PM

278 posts

whoa.. no one answer my q? so no different for am2 if using either ddrII533 or ddrII800.. ok.. i'm waiting for the quad core to comeout first then only buy a new rig.. for now.. it's still enough juice for my daily usage.. gaming still ok.. only my hdd space.. too small.. need bigger hdd capacity.. anyone want to donate.. me poor student.. hehe.. smile.gif
kmarc
post Apr 15 2007, 10:58 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Maybe we should make an "appeal" to AMD to revive the 939 line of CPUs.

You know, like last time, when there was an appeal for a better AGP card besides the ATI X850PE. The industry finally came to their senses and produced better AGP cards!!

I'm stuck with a 3500+ but am willing to upgrade to 6000+ (or higher!) if it is available! (within an acceptable price, of course)

To AMD, read this!!!!

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0166sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:30 PM