How do u warm up and down?, To prevent injuries

TSLionel90
post May 30 2017, 11:54 AM, updated 9y ago

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

So I f-ed up my hip for the 2nd time and went to "thit da" for help. The apprentice there who handled me advised me to properly warm up before every session and warm down after that. So would like to hear from u guys how do u warm up - if at all - before u go all out and warm down after that.

About myself, when i first started to lift, I "warm up" just for the sake of it, say like I would squat 37kg that day, I would just warm up 1 set of 8 with empty bar (around 17kg). Then I f-ed up my hip first time ever, I took warm up more seriously but I also read that warming up helps reduce injury risks is a myth, so it's more of a weight acclimatization process for me now. Like if I would squat 87kg that day, i will warm up by squatting 57kg for 4, 67kg for 4, and lastly 77kg for 4. I never warm down (if I need to get bashed for that, do come at me).

I'm all ears on how to properly warm up and down, I know someway it helps to lengthen the training career.

Edit: Dont mean to say that my hip is injured because I didnt warm up properly and didnt warm down at all, I believe my postures are the bigger issues (leave that for another day though). Just would like explore ways to possibly reduce the risks of injuries.

This post has been edited by Lionel90: May 30 2017, 12:01 PM
bafukie
post May 30 2017, 12:03 PM

1,406 posts

This is my routine

Bench/OHP - pull ups or any pulling variation. Then empty bar, 10kg increment for 3-5 reps till working set. No warm down.

Squats- dunno the term. Swinging legs forward/back/left/right to open the hips. 2 sets 10 reps each way. Then isometric squat position with arms push out the knees. Body weight squat, empty bar , 10kg increment as per bench protocol. Warm down with dead hang.

Dl- nada. Straight to pulling from 60kg all the way till working set. Dead hang for warm down
Armesh
post May 30 2017, 12:03 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 30 2017, 11:54 AM)
So I f-ed up my hip for the 2nd time and went to "thit da" for help. The apprentice there who handled me advised me to properly warm up before every session and warm down after that. So would like to hear from u guys how do u warm up - if at all - before u go all out and warm down after that.

About myself, when i first started to lift, I "warm up" just for the sake of it, say like I would squat 37kg that day, I would just warm up 1 set of 8 with empty bar (around 17kg). Then I f-ed up my hip first time ever, I took warm up more seriously but I also read that warming up helps reduce injury risks is a myth, so it's more of a weight acclimatization process for me now.  Like if I would squat 87kg that day, i will warm up by squatting 57kg for 4, 67kg for 4, and lastly 77kg for 4. I never warm down (if I need to get bashed for that, do come at me).

I'm all ears on how to properly warm up and down, I know someway it helps to lengthen the training career.

Edit: Dont mean to say that my hip is injured because I didnt warm up properly and didnt warm down at all, I believe my postures are the bigger issues (leave that for another day though). Just would like explore ways to possibly reduce the risks of injuries.
That's excellent warmup edy...
Maybe if still don't feel warmed up you can try 5 min light jog before weight warmup (dun get tired!)
bafukie
post May 30 2017, 12:08 PM

1,406 posts

I shud add in i do pause squats from 60kg onwards to get the blood in and to feel my joints, hips n muscles for the day. Warming up feedbacks to me shud i be conservative or go whammy on my lifts
TSLionel90
post May 30 2017, 12:13 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ May 30 2017, 12:03 PM)
That's excellent warmup edy...
Maybe if still don't feel warmed up you can try 5 min light jog before weight warmup (dun get tired!)
I dont know what's supposed to be the feeling of warmed up... If anything, I only feel like i have gone thru the first set of my working set by my way of warming up. I think that's the feeling of tired instead of warmed up?
TSLionel90
post May 30 2017, 12:20 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ May 30 2017, 12:03 PM)
This is my routine

Bench/OHP - pull ups or any pulling variation. Then empty bar, 10kg increment for 3-5 reps till working set. No warm down.

Squats- dunno the term. Swinging legs forward/back/left/right to open the hips. 2 sets 10 reps each way. Then isometric squat position with arms push out the knees. Body weight squat, empty bar , 10kg increment as per bench protocol. Warm down with dead hang.

Dl- nada. Straight to pulling from 60kg all the way till working set. Dead hang for warm down
QUOTE(bafukie @ May 30 2017, 12:08 PM)
I shud add in i do pause squats from 60kg onwards to get the blood in and to feel my joints, hips n muscles for the day. Warming up feedbacks to me shud i be conservative or go whammy on my lifts
Bench - pulling to warm up for pushing workout? Ok I do get that u still need the pulling muscles to stabilize but still...

Squats - I get that swinging routine u talk about. But dead hang? I googled it and it seems to be the starting position of pull up??? Pause squats is probably cool as a variation of the workout I'm going to kill, to get the blood flowing like u said.
Armesh
post May 30 2017, 12:21 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 30 2017, 12:13 PM)
I dont know what's supposed to be the feeling of warmed up... If anything, I only feel like i have gone thru the first set of my working set by my way of warming up. I think that's the feeling of tired instead of warmed up?
For me it's like reloading the movement pattern/solidifying the form. No more click/crack sound in my joints. Feeling slightly warm.
TSLionel90
post May 30 2017, 12:25 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ May 30 2017, 12:21 PM)
For me it's like reloading the movement pattern/solidifying the form. No more click/crack sound in my joints. Feeling slightly warm.
Well then my warm up seems to be able to serve that purpose. Just that the very first rep of the warm up set I already have all that click crack boom sound. Probably already injured that time though. Just gonna start warming up with lighter weight from now on and gradually add on.
bafukie
post May 30 2017, 02:17 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 30 2017, 12:20 PM)
Bench - pulling to warm up for pushing workout? Ok I do get that u still need the pulling muscles to stabilize but still...

Squats - I get that swinging routine u talk about. But dead hang? I googled it and it seems to be the starting position of pull up??? Pause squats is probably cool as a variation of the workout I'm going to kill, to get the blood flowing like u said.
Depending on yr training program. I do upper lower split so pull is always the first movement. Even if yr not doing the same, i believe pulling shud be yr warm up for pushing exercises. Lower weights, lower volume just for warm up. Tays just me.

Dead hang is something i learn to do after heavy squats n deadlifts. Broscience or not, the explanation is to 'straighthen' the spine after all the movement that compresses yr spine. Does not take up too much time nor eats into yr recovery. Usually just 30 seconds hanging there like a monkey lol
TSLionel90
post May 30 2017, 02:59 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ May 30 2017, 02:17 PM)
Depending on yr training program. I do upper lower split so pull is always the first movement. Even if yr not doing the same, i believe pulling shud be yr warm up for pushing exercises. Lower weights, lower volume just for warm up. Tays just me.

Dead hang is something i learn to do after heavy squats n deadlifts. Broscience or not, the explanation is to 'straighthen' the spine after all the movement that compresses yr spine. Does not take up too much time nor eats into yr recovery. Usually just 30 seconds hanging there like a monkey lol
Ok, noted on the pulling for warm up. But I'll probably stick to warm up for pushing exercises by pushing for now since the pulling muscles would be warmed up. It's a good tips anyway.

Dont think the "science" about dead hang is broscience, because I do feel my spine being stretched when I took a little too long in between reps of pull ups. Would incorporate this since it could help with grip too.
helven
post May 30 2017, 06:14 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

I do push pull routine. This is what I did recently

-- Strength Day --
Squat
Recently found this, feels quite good. Foam rolling on my middle back, simply want to open the thoracic spine so that I can have a straighter back and also easier to engage my back muscle to lock the bar at my back
Leg swing front and back, left right, 10 times each, body squat, ankle stretch, probably kettle bell squat. Then follow by 5x empty bar(20kg) > 5x 40kg > 5x 50kg > working set (70kg). Usually on my first working set, I'm still not too used to the weight, I perform better on 2nd set onwards.

Bench
I bench after squat, so blood is pretty pumped up, I just do mobility work on my shoulder join, then 5x empty bar(20kg) > 5x 40kg > 5x 50kg > working set (60kg)

DL
Not sure, I don have DL in my routine

OHP
Foam rolling on my middle back simply want to open the thoracic spine, mobility work on my shoulder join. 5x empty bar(20kg) > working set. Don't really need to warm up.

-- Hypertrophy day --
Body squat, shoulder mobility, leg swing, then whack whatever.

No warm down.

This post has been edited by helven: May 30 2017, 06:17 PM
TSLionel90
post May 30 2017, 06:33 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 30 2017, 06:14 PM)
I do push pull routine. This is what I did recently

-- Strength Day --
Squat
Recently found this, feels quite good. Foam rolling on my middle back, simply want to open the thoracic spine so that I can have a straighter back and also easier to engage my back muscle to lock the bar at my back
Leg swing front and back, left right, 10 times each, body squat, ankle stretch, probably kettle bell squat. Then follow by 5x empty bar(20kg) > 5x 40kg > 5x 50kg > working set (70kg). Usually on my first working set, I'm still not too used to the weight, I perform better on 2nd set onwards.

Bench
I bench after squat, so blood is pretty pumped up, I just do mobility work on my shoulder join, then 5x empty bar(20kg) > 5x 40kg > 5x 50kg > working set (60kg)

DL
Not sure, I don have DL in my routine

OHP
Foam rolling on my middle back simply want to open the thoracic spine, mobility work on my shoulder join. 5x empty bar(20kg) > working set. Don't really need to warm up.

-- Hypertrophy day --
Body squat, shoulder mobility, leg swing, then whack whatever.

No warm down.
Wow very good input bro :thumbs

Foam rolling is sthg I have been trying to squeeze into my workout schedule only to no avail so far, but looks like I really have to make time for it now. Wanted to do it for warm down though, but what u said makes sense, to help stabilize the bar when squatting.

What shoulder joint mobility work u do though? I only ever hold my hands together and push it up with palms facing up, if that even counts...

So your mobility works/ stretching are for middle back, shoulder joint & ankle, and the leg swinging for hips only?

This post has been edited by Lionel90: May 30 2017, 06:41 PM
helven
post May 30 2017, 07:04 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 30 2017, 06:33 PM)
Wow very good input bro :thumbs

Foam rolling is sthg I have been trying to squeeze into my workout schedule only to no avail so far, but looks like I really have to make time for it now. Wanted to do it for warm down though, but what u said makes sense, to help stabilize the bar when squatting.

What shoulder joint mobility work u do though? I only ever hold my hands together and push it up with palms facing up, if that even counts...

So your mobility works/ stretching are for middle back, shoulder joint & ankle, and the leg swinging for hips only?
Yup kind of. My hip and lower back is very stiff. Leg swing does help abit so that I don't feel like I'm squating like a robot.
I stretch my ankle after i watch Omar's video to open up the ankle mobility because I don have a squat shoe.
Initially I have no intention to do foam rolling, I did that because I was waiting my partner to finish his set, I saw his foam roller on the ground then I just pick it up and play, who knows I found something real useful for my own by incident tongue.gif
Those shoulder mobility, I just do it for safe, I have no problem without doing them.

Out of all warm up, the foam rolling and leg swing is kinda essential for me. Body squat is to let my body get use to the range of motion, i'm still seeking for a better one.

Don't take my word, it is just my own bro-science that works for me lol.
Everdying
post May 30 2017, 09:06 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

my warmup just basic stretching / pushup / pullup / a few reps of 20% lower weight of a 3x8 etc.
warmdown just stretching parts where I feel more stress.

This post has been edited by Everdying: May 30 2017, 09:09 PM
TSLionel90
post May 31 2017, 12:24 AM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 30 2017, 09:06 PM)
my warmup just basic stretching / pushup / pullup / a few reps of 20% lower weight of a 3x8 etc.
warmdown just stretching parts where I feel more stress.
U dont even gradually build up to your working set load, just go 20% from it? I actually did that, but the click crack sound is worrisome. But at least u're a living proof that warm up or no doesnt make much difference in terms of injury.

Ur warm down seems to be on point though. Probably sthg I'm gonna do.
TSLionel90
post May 31 2017, 12:42 AM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(helven @ May 30 2017, 07:04 PM)
Yup kind of. My hip and lower back is very stiff. Leg swing does help abit so that I don't feel like I'm squating like a robot.
I stretch my ankle after i watch Omar's video to open up the ankle mobility because I don have a squat shoe.
Initially I have no intention to do foam rolling, I did that because I was waiting my partner to finish his set, I saw his foam roller on the ground then I just pick it up and play, who knows I found something real useful for my own by incident  tongue.gif
Those shoulder mobility, I just do it for safe, I have no problem without doing them.

Out of all warm up, the foam rolling and leg swing is kinda essential for me. Body squat is to let my body get use to the range of motion, i'm still seeking for a better one.

Don't take my word, it is just my own bro-science that works for me lol.
Dont worry bro, just need some input and do what suits me.
Everdying
post May 31 2017, 12:44 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 31 2017, 12:24 AM)
U dont even gradually build up to your working set load, just go 20% from it? I actually did that, but the click crack sound is worrisome. But at least u're a living proof that warm up or no doesnt make much difference in terms of injury.

Ur warm down seems to be on point though. Probably sthg I'm gonna do.
i guess diff ppl approach differently.
but say ur squat warmup...imo from 57kg to 67kg its very little difference especially 4x only...and just serves to tire u out more on the way to ur 87kg.

warming up doesn't prevent injury...but doesn't mean its useless.
it does make sure muscles are where they are supposed to be if that makes sense / enough blood etc flowing so u dont strain some cold muscle somewhere and its working close to optimal.
now not warming up...and going straight to main lift...probably pull something somewhere... then really gg.
TSLionel90
post May 31 2017, 01:46 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 31 2017, 12:44 AM)
i guess diff ppl approach differently.
but say ur squat warmup...imo from 57kg to 67kg its very little difference especially 4x only...and just serves to tire u out more on the way to ur 87kg.

warming up doesn't prevent injury...but doesn't mean its useless.
it does make sure muscles are where they are supposed to be if that makes sense / enough blood etc flowing so u dont strain some cold muscle somewhere and its working close to optimal.
now not warming up...and going straight to main lift...probably pull something somewhere... then really gg.
I treated it the same way, especially since there are studies to proof that warming up doesnt help prevent injuries. U're also spot on that my way of warming up tire me out before my working set, seriously been feeling that the warming up is like the 1st set of my workout if not more.
Everdying
post May 31 2017, 01:52 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Lionel90 @ May 31 2017, 01:46 PM)
I treated it the same way, especially since there are studies to proof that warming up doesnt help prevent injuries. U're also spot on that my way of warming up tire me out before my working set, seriously been feeling that the warming up is like the 1st set of my workout if not more.
warming up has never been said to prevent injuries directly tho... as it still comes down to technique.
but if ur muscles are not optimal, then ur technique may be off if u start heavy... then gg.
its the same with any sport... u can't expect to perform optimally if the muscles are not warmed up... be it from sprints, kicking stuff etc.
unclemike
post May 31 2017, 04:57 PM

538 posts

My Routine, Upper Body, Lower Body

Upper Body Day Warm Ups:

- Shoulder Mobility movements 3 sets of 10reps either by bands or weight for shoulder and chest exercises.
- Dead hang to stretch the back 30sec to 1min .

3 warmup sets for each exercise

Lower Body Warm Ups:
- Dead Hang before and after workout session. 30sec to 1min.
- 3 warm up sets of Hamstring curl and leg extension before moving to big compound movements

3 warmup sets for each exercise

most of the time my gym session is between 1h 30mins to 2h. I know, its long. My wife nags about my gym time often. But ive gotten injured before... Better safe than sorry.

Warm ups doesnt help to prevent injury? try deadlifting 180kg cold and see what happens...

This post has been edited by unclemike: May 31 2017, 05:04 PM

0.0219sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:19 AM