wanna do my survey before i ended up regret picking the wrong one..
any PODxt user here ?
Amps/Pedals BOSS GT 8 vs KORG AX3000G vs POD XT LIVE, Comparison based on ur likings + style
Aug 27 2007, 11:52 AM
972 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
im playing all types of music but mostly distortions and some jazz flow.. im not quite sure what suits for me ..im just a noob starter for a multieffect pedals.. i feels like wanna grab out the PODxt live but many people suggest shud go for a GT-8 ..
wanna do my survey before i ended up regret picking the wrong one.. any PODxt user here ? |
Aug 27 2007, 12:36 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i think discussed lots of times already between gt-8 and pod.
gt-8 of cos sounds better, but you need lots and lots of patience to mess around with it to get a good sound. pod is easier to use out of the box. im no longer a fan of multi-fx, but if i really had to choose one now it'll be the boss ME-50. has just enough pedals on it that i would use, and so i dont have to tap dance everywhere, and its much much easier to use than the GT-8. of cos there is no amp-modelling in that, but do you really need that? |
Aug 27 2007, 01:21 PM
1,170 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Aug 27 2007, 08:08 AM) You mean the chassis?It's metal. Zoom is plactic, GT8 is metal too. The beauty of GT8 and PODxt LIVE is they have preamps, so you can record directly into your PC with it, nothing else. Well... a good soundcard helps a lot though. Added on August 27, 2007, 1:24 pm QUOTE(aceejay @ Aug 27 2007, 11:52 AM) im playing all types of music but mostly distortions and some jazz flow.. im not quite sure what suits for me ..im just a noob starter for a multieffect pedals.. i feels like wanna grab out the PODxt live but many people suggest shud go for a GT-8 .. I would gladly send you some PODxt LIVE clips if that will help in making your decision.wanna do my survey before i ended up regret picking the wrong one.. any PODxt user here ? But could you hold up for another one or two months? The next generation of the PODxt LIVE will be released next month, I know because I've seen the new price list from the dealer It's called the X3. I think just wait for it, and then only choose which one you want. It is still very affordable. This post has been edited by Rossie: Aug 27 2007, 01:24 PM |
Aug 27 2007, 02:00 PM
1,000 posts Joined: May 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(Rossie @ Aug 27 2007, 01:21 PM) You mean the chassis? so u jsut plug ur pod into a PA? no amp used?It's metal. Zoom is plactic, GT8 is metal too. The beauty of GT8 and PODxt LIVE is they have preamps, so you can record directly into your PC with it, nothing else. Well... a good soundcard helps a lot though. u urself got an amp not? |
Aug 27 2007, 02:05 PM
Nope. I've been amp-less for a few years now...
I practice with my PODxt LIVE into my laptop, and with a software metronome or with WMP, so everything can be heard through my headphones. This post has been edited by Rossie: Aug 27 2007, 02:05 PM |
Aug 27 2007, 04:25 PM
1,100 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Aug 27 2007, 07:57 PM
972 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Rossie @ Aug 27 2007, 01:21 PM) Added on August 27, 2007, 1:24 pm I would gladly send you some PODxt LIVE clips if that will help in making your decision. But could you hold up for another one or two months? The next generation of the PODxt LIVE will be released next month, I know because I've seen the new price list from the dealer It's called the X3. I think just wait for it, and then only choose which one you want. It is still very affordable. X3 ? hopefully it will be a great pedal to come out with !! |
Aug 30 2007, 01:56 PM
942 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: KL |
tried the gt-8 and also the korg and the pod, i prefer gt-8 more versatile tho. but u need a decent amp to make it sound really good
Sep 3 2007, 10:25 AM
19 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Ok, here goes, I've tried all three effects and I own a Korg AX3000G, if you're looking for the best value around it's of course going to be the AX3000G, the GT8 while slightly more expensive has the versatility and it's a good metal sounding effect, if you're into Blues and 70's rock you wanna go for the AX, the thing is though, while I praise the AX, the AX doesn't have the versatility of the GT8, being newer than the AX, the GT8 gives u a lot more options, but if you've got the cash, I saw someone selling a Digitech GNX4 on Jamtank for around RM1500, and I think that would be your best bet, while I haven't tried this unit personally, from the reviews it seems like a great unit. The GNX4 comes with a built in XLR input and you can record directly into the GNX via it's 8 track recorder but the drawback it's stored in Compact Flash form. The Pod XTlive one the other hand, has great tone, and if you want to go for something that got great tone, you wanna go for the Line 6 products, their tones are unbeatable. Even their early editions like the POD and the POD 2.0 sound awesome. But at the end of the day you're running top notch effects with a really crappy sound you're gonna get really crappy sounds. So my advice is, invest in a good amp, a good guitar with decent sounding p/ups and then go for the multieffects. Just my 2cents.
Cheers; Chris. |
Sep 3 2007, 01:07 PM
366 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
i'm a proud owner of a gt-8. haven't tried any other MFX, so cannot give my review. for sure bias one....
i'm a member at thestompbox.net (for general MFX enthusiasts) and bossgtcentral (for Boss GT users - GT-8, GT-6 etc). there are tonnes of useful info there. if u r into MFX, i highly recommend these 2 sites. anyway, since this thread is like a Battle of the MFX, i guess the following review is the best UNBIASED article u can get to judge and decide which one is THE ONE - FOR U!!! coz there is no winner. The battle is between Behringer V-Amp Pro, Boss GT-8, Digitech GNX3000, Line 6 POD XT Live (w/all Model Packs), Vox ToneLab SE and Zoom G9.2tt: MFX SHOOT-OUT!!! Cheers! |
Sep 3 2007, 02:52 PM
I guess recorded clips by us users are better to judge the tone/functions of the MFXs... Those clips on Roland/Boss/Line 6/Zoom website, foiyo, use super equipment to record, and most likely eq-ed in the video editing stage... A raw recording of the MFX by amateurs (us forumites) would be a nicer choice
Sep 3 2007, 02:58 PM
yalo..... i oso wanna listen to those clips by forumers....
btw, the MFX doesn't have the Korg AX3000 |
Sep 3 2007, 03:47 PM
366 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(Rossie @ Sep 3 2007, 02:52 PM) I guess recorded clips by us users are better to judge the tone/functions of the MFXs... Those clips on Roland/Boss/Line 6/Zoom website, foiyo, use super equipment to record, and most likely eq-ed in the video editing stage... A raw recording of the MFX by amateurs (us forumites) would be a nicer choice +1. I second the motion Added on September 3, 2007, 3:51 pm QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Sep 3 2007, 02:58 PM) that's a clear sign that AX3000 belongs to different league. u know what i mean? This post has been edited by opfish: Sep 3 2007, 03:51 PM |
Sep 5 2007, 02:02 AM
new vox tonelab LE has released.
any1 tried before? arrived in malaysia yet? |
Sep 5 2007, 03:00 PM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
Long time arrived. Demo unit available at CK Music.
I'm using the Tonelab SE, which is just a bigger version of the LE (Ie: An additional expression pedal)...... The sounds are VERY good, and the amp models are excellent...... But they don't have alot of effects to play with and their pitch shifter...... put it this way, I had to buy a Digitech Whammy just for that....... Also didn't like the fact that the overdrive and wah are in the same group, so you can't have both of them at the same time (again, I use a ZW-44 Overdrive and a Wylde Wah seperate, so not an issue for me)...... but the Amp distortions can be used with the wah and they sound great. But I have to say again...... the sounds and models are VERY good....... The JCM800 sound, with enough tweaking sounds very convincing...... Will TRY to post some samples after my internship is over to give you some idea. |
Sep 5 2007, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Sep 5 2007, 03:00 PM) Long time arrived. Demo unit available at CK Music. ok. i'm outdated -.-I'm using the Tonelab SE, which is just a bigger version of the LE (Ie: An additional expression pedal)...... The sounds are VERY good, and the amp models are excellent...... But they don't have alot of effects to play with and their pitch shifter...... put it this way, I had to buy a Digitech Whammy just for that....... Also didn't like the fact that the overdrive and wah are in the same group, so you can't have both of them at the same time (again, I use a ZW-44 Overdrive and a Wylde Wah seperate, so not an issue for me)...... but the Amp distortions can be used with the wah and they sound great. But I have to say again...... the sounds and models are VERY good....... The JCM800 sound, with enough tweaking sounds very convincing...... Will TRY to post some samples after my internship is over to give you some idea. the overdrive cant be used with the wah? |
Jun 29 2008, 03:06 AM
788 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: 127.0.0.1 |
id go for the pod xt
if u get gt-8 need tube some more for recording i mean the pod xt got usb interface |
Aug 31 2008, 03:19 AM
238 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
i don't know whether the original poster has already got this multi-FX..
wonder which one he choose? the versatility of Pod XTL.. plus can jam without amp - just plug it to usb port of your laptop.. then you can already jam.. practise or recording ur playing.. with any sequencer software.. or multi tracking software..! what better way to learn your guitar other than recording ur play and hearing it back? |
| Change to: | 0.0519sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:13 PM |