Amps/Pedals BOSS GT 8 vs KORG AX3000G vs POD XT LIVE, Comparison based on ur likings + style

RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 10:55 AM

1,100 posts

I've never tried the Korg or the PodXT. But you can get good tone from the GT-8... if you have the patience.

The learning curve can be quite bloody steep - so many parameters which can be tweaked, and which have to be tweaked in order to get good tone. The GT-8's "tweakability" is second to none in that price range and that's a blessing or a curse, depending on what you're looking for. GT-8 = plug and pray.

Pod can be upgraded, no doubt, with all those extra FX, amp models etc. But it ain't free... IIRC, USD50-100 for each upgrade pack.

GT-8 on the other hand allows you to insert external pedals into your FX chain - h3ll, you could probably stick the Pod in the GT-8 fx chain and use the Pod just for the amp modelling... laugh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 02:00 PM

1,100 posts

The best of both worlds, yup. But it's not really cost-effective or practical since you won't be using the GT-8's amp modellers or the Pod's FX - and it'll be bloody bulky to carry around and a complete headache to set-up... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Mar 22 2007, 02:00 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 02:29 PM

1,100 posts

Not all of us are as fortunate as you to have roadies... tongue.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 03:14 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 22 2007, 03:04 PM)
Actually, he's my friend who owes me a favor and wants to jam as well...... and since I don't gig, I don't need a "roadie" often.
tongue.gif
Ok, ok... enough spamming poor davidlow7's thread... tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

davidlow7':
You're running through a Laney MXD120? That's the successor to the Hardcore Max right?

When jamming, I usually hook up my GT-8 through a Laney Hardcore Max half or full stack. It's not exactly transparent, but you can get some nice heavy tones from that combination. Not sure about the Korg though...
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 04:12 PM

1,100 posts

Hmmm, actually getting a 2nd hand GT-6 wouldn't be such a bad idea. They go for sub-RM1,000 now and is not much different than the GT-8.

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 22 2007, 04:00 PM)
Any GT-6 users here?
Valkyrie's got one. He bought it off a local Eastern Melodic Metal guitarist... biggrin.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 06:09 PM

1,100 posts

Try looking at the other forums (no names mentioned!)... wink.gif

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 22 2007, 05:39 PM)
really? wanna ask about a few things on the 6. . . like how to actually work the damn sound on sound. . . and a few other tweak stuff =( so damn complicated. . .
"sound on sound"? the Hold delay is it?

Yeah, and the learning curve is about as steep as the GT-8.. pretty much same interface with minor differences. Have you checked out bossgtcentral? ... a lot of good stuff there, very friendly and helpful forumites too. thumbup.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 07:48 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 22 2007, 07:39 PM)
means what? now you're gonna expand your topic to 4 items?
when is it gonna end? tongue.gif
it'll end when the hammer of doom becomes a flower in bloom... thumbup.gif

seriously though, there's a pretty good comparison article on thestompbox.net (sp?) which reviews everything about the 4 main MFXs: PodXT Live, Boss GT-8, the GNX and the Tonelabs. The guy compares everything from amp modelling tone, effects, connectivity, tweakability etc. thumbup.gif

and hey, gapnap, when are we going for some baku-... errr... herbal soup? wink.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Mar 23 2007, 10:52 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Mar 22 2007, 08:32 PM)
Hehe coz I just get to find out

I don't want to limit myself just from 1 or 2 or even 3...

Since I am not a rich persons.. I can only choose 1 and sacrifice the others.. so I hope to make a good choice of it... and even given the opportunity to test it myself.. I would still love to understand more of these babies.. tongue.gif
hehe I hope you guys don't mind  blush.gif
sometimes maybe not in term of sound but oso about others which I may not being able to read or find out.. hehehe so u guys' words can mean alot to me and also the fellow musicians here.. biggrin.gif

hopefully all these advices, recommendation and opinions will help our fellow musicians if they happened to have the same dilemma as me.

I just heard about GNX3 from a friend.. so juz would like to know mroe although i am reading reviews online at the same time. juz wish to know more..

thx smile.gif
Seriously, go for the GT-8. There may not be upgrades, etc. like the XT Live, but the fact that it has its own effects loop means you can "upgrade" with new pedals etc... maybe the sansamp like gapnap et al say.

And many people have been selling and are selling GT-8 second hand, so you may want to keep an eye out for it...

And if the RM1.9k is in reference to GT-8, no way... that is way way overpriced...
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 23 2007, 01:49 PM

1,100 posts

Last time could get for RM1500 new... I think Bents also was selling around that price. And it wasn't old stock either because the GT-8 came with the latest firmware version (1.03 at that time)...

Price difference could be because our distributor here got a better deal than the one in Singapore...

RustReaver4D1
post Mar 23 2007, 05:38 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Mar 23 2007, 04:14 PM)
hey

http://mightymusic.com.my/boss_promo.htm

whoops..sorry not 1550..1530  tongue.gif
ok, since gapnap let the cat out of the bag... I got mine from Mighty Music last year for RM1500... that was the promo then... whistling.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Aug 27 2007, 04:25 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Aug 27 2007, 02:05 PM)
Nope. I've been amp-less for a few years now...
I practice with my PODxt LIVE into my laptop, and with a software metronome or with WMP, so everything can be heard through my headphones.
The Mark of a True.... FRFR guitarist! biggrin.gif

0.0446sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:12 AM