TP-LINK Malaysia Official Thread, Technical Enquiries and Support

LolzWhat
post Jun 30 2017, 12:26 PM

39 posts

Hey guys, was wondering, I got a Maxis IPTV Technicolor Modem, and I was looking for a new router for wireless extension. What would be a good model for me?
LolzWhat
post Jun 30 2017, 04:39 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Jun 30 2017, 04:29 PM)
get any access point/extender will do. but depends on your modem location (house/room).
Thanks. currently my modem is in my living room, but my room is quite far from the modem. My modem also is about 4 - 5 years old, and I was thinking it is due for a change, especially since its just the default one from Maxis.

What is the difference between an access point & a router?
LolzWhat
post Jun 30 2017, 05:31 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Jun 30 2017, 04:53 PM)
alot diff..access point is to boost the wifi coverage. router is only for dial up only. some router do have built in access point but its crap for me.  would prefer to get access point ( pure) and range extender is similar with access point but diffirent on the configuration. you better change the new modem and router better. another is either you get powerline will do.
I see.. Thanks a lot. Any recommendations? I would like to get one with a good range.

LolzWhat
post Jun 30 2017, 05:51 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Jun 30 2017, 05:48 PM)
for which one you looking?unifi?
Maxis. Currently looking at the Archer C1200 from TP-Link. Any good?

This post has been edited by LolzWhat: Jun 30 2017, 05:53 PM
LolzWhat
post Jun 30 2017, 05:58 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Jun 30 2017, 05:57 PM)
yup same thing i used for my unifi recently already got aweek liao using unifi. blush.gif  just that you need the proper configuration for maxis settng will do. if you stay in single setorey then that router should be able to handle the coverage else you need access point/ extender or powerline with at least av500 > this can boost the performance.
Hmm.. I live in a double storey house. Should I get a extender/powerline then?

0.1000sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:58 PM