Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ Discussion Thread V6, Infinity Display - Boundaries Removed

angel-girl
post May 30 2017, 08:27 PM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 30 2017, 07:08 PM)
Auto brightness, GPS on battery saving, AOD on, data and WiFi half half, sync on, a lot of useless features such as edge lighting turned off. I was expecting a lot more cuz exynos should be battery friendly. But that's not the case atm.
AOD drains battery. smile.gif
angel-girl
post May 30 2017, 10:08 PM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(haziqmck7 @ May 30 2017, 09:21 PM)
Ya..ive been testing..when i movie..gaming a bit n you tube..then sot achieved 6 n sumtimes 7 sot...when stare a lot at screen. Or put in ideal. Drain quite fast. For me if it can last through 8-5 office hour its good edi thumbup.gif ..n usually left around 40% when arrived home.
same. by the time i reach home around 40 percent. with at least 4 hours SOT.
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 10:41 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 31 2017, 09:49 AM)
Wrong...

Camera getting worse, and display got tint.  laugh.gif

What is getting really good would be the battery life for the performance it offer.
camera getting worst eh? but for me i feel its good enough for me, maybe i have lesser expectation? rclxms.gif
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 10:49 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(espeon @ May 31 2017, 10:47 AM)
true, for some people can only accept benzi/bm
others can drive saga/kancil happily.
nowonder im living happily now nod.gif
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 10:53 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ May 31 2017, 10:09 AM)
hi all.. just got my phone yesterday night.. upgrading from 3 y.o S5.. sorry for the noob question, but where can i view the battery usage.. i've tried to look for it under settings.. but the one under device maintenance doesnt show anything about the usage at all..
click on the battery icon inside the device maintenance, and then click on the battery usage then you will see in more details.
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 10:55 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ May 31 2017, 10:50 AM)
You can find more on this on Android Authority. There are certain aspect that gotten worse but there are improvements too. Depends on what you are looking for.

I dont trust review sites as much as you guys. Take it with a pinch of salt when it comes to something subjective like image quality or sound quality etc. The only thing that you can trust is benchmarks and certain technical things.
true, the best is you try it yourself.
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 11:18 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 31 2017, 11:13 AM)
I'm using the S8+. I'm staying in a condo, and I unplug from charger before I get out of home, so it's fully charged 100%. By the time i reach condo carpark, already drop to 99%. By the time I reach office which is half hour away, 98%. Simply not acceptable. I'll let it settle for few more days, today ady 4th day using.
you using dual sim?
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 11:19 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(hooh888 @ May 31 2017, 11:13 AM)
With that GTX1080 and X34 how to not live happily haha.
IKR biggrin.gif
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 11:33 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 31 2017, 11:28 AM)
Single sim.
i see. im using dual sim,so far so good,but i dont play game on my phone and no game installed. maybe give it another day or two to see how. console.gif
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 11:46 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 31 2017, 11:45 AM)
Because u are an android fanboy.  tongue.gif But honestly speaking, the android ecosystem was really weak then. We had to root our phones, install custom roms and stuff. With android nowadays, I dont even bother. I have even forgot how to root my phone already. tongue.gif
Are they mad? For f@cks would I wanna trade my S8+ with an Iphone 7 + and with top up of Rm 2.5k somemore?  rclxub.gif
the root and custom roms are real! haha .those were the days. i never thought of rooting s8. laugh.gif
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 11:50 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ May 31 2017, 11:49 AM)
till today android is still better than iphone

Based on my s8+

1. Phone have never hang yet
2. i can have AOD
3. Custom widget for fast access
4. curve edge loving it
5. flexibility can install custom apk
6. got earphone plug
7.  fully customizable settings or features
these are good for you, but might not for others. no point keep on comparing. laugh.gif
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 11:55 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 31 2017, 11:49 AM)
Those were the days when after installing custom rom, I would be swearing and sweating at the same time because the modem wont connect or the dialer wont work.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
installing rom half way and it got stucked = gg .i bricked few phones lol sweat.gif
angel-girl
post May 31 2017, 12:02 PM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ May 31 2017, 11:57 AM)
I have no games on my phone too that's why I'm a bit frustrated. Will give it a few more days.
good luck bra! maybe you can try to use the package disabler pro or greenify,both does a very good job. just to make sure the apps no longer in use are hibernated.
angel-girl
post Jun 1 2017, 08:55 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jun 1 2017, 08:50 AM)
At this rate, I seriously wonder who would pre-order the next Samsung flagship if no discounts were offered.
indeed a good question lol
angel-girl
post Jun 1 2017, 09:31 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jun 1 2017, 09:27 AM)
True Bro, but the online prices are affecting the phone's value in the overall market. So many good deals in our Garage Sale smile.gif
the price in garage sale literally makes me sweat.
angel-girl
post Jun 1 2017, 09:31 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 1 2017, 09:19 AM)
Haha don't care. U mobile signal is not equivalent to speed and their customer service very bad.
yes true but the "discount rate" is good enough to makes buyer take the risk.
angel-girl
post Jun 1 2017, 04:18 PM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(eetony @ Jun 1 2017, 04:02 PM)
just gotten a S8+ midnight black last week. the width size just nicely fit in my hand (with case) better than 6p. it is a very slippery naked phone. Got it at quite a good price RM32xx with add on protection plus.  battery life so far is good for me, 20% left with sot 6hrs, and now 40% left with sot 4hrs.  my display does suffer slight red tint, adjusted edge colour to far left cool, and -6 red.  however im using cinema or basic mode most of the time, adaptive is over saturated for me and hurts my eyes. im a graphic designer and i prefer accurate colour. no issue on the delay of whatsapp msg.

applied the ringke sp , it is tpu and grainny, will remove in future after getting the samsung rm39 sp.
Welcome to the club!!
angel-girl
post Jun 2 2017, 08:41 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(xchris @ Jun 2 2017, 07:42 AM)
guys, I am thinking of either getting a S8 or Mate 9 . What worries me about the S8 is the battery life. How is the battery life of the S8 with FB , whatsapps on the whole day but no gaming? Can it last 6.30-11pm?
if u need the extra juice, go for mate 9 and you wont be wrong.
angel-girl
post Jun 2 2017, 11:09 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jun 2 2017, 11:02 AM)
Mine even not using also will drop 1% every 10-15 minutesĀ  bangwall.gif
Still the same ? I tried disable my 2nd sim this morning.the battery life is much more better. Unplugged this morning @7am.2 hours sot on whatapps ,facebook,internet browser and wechat. Left 78%. Customized power saving mode with 1440p.Aod and gps off. Yea you should try to do a factory reset.

This post has been edited by angel-girl: Jun 2 2017, 11:09 AM
angel-girl
post Jun 4 2017, 12:09 AM

3,408 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jun 4 2017, 12:02 AM)
Factory reset and wipe everything on my phone yesterday, battery life is now amazing!
its was like finally haha

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1485sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:43 AM