OEM or Retail, Prefer which one?
TSPakrol
May 23 2017, 09:14 AM, updated 9y ago
So i plan to build a rig which might 3~5 years future-proof and not gonna upgrade/change any mobo/gpu/ram etc.. and i did a research the differences between these oem vs retails windows 10 and i still cant decide which is worth for me? u guys prefer which one? and currently we are under ransomware attack, will it affect in both oem and retail windows? or just on oem? helppppppppppp thanks sifu!
otua
May 23 2017, 09:16 AM
retail ver is transferable while oem stick with that pc in term of licensing. other than that i think semua sama...
TSPakrol
May 23 2017, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(otua @ May 23 2017, 09:16 AM) retail ver is transferable while oem stick with that pc in term of licensing. other than that i think semua sama... means oem worth it if i dont change any parts for few years?
tbsalan
May 23 2017, 09:22 AM

yes oem will do for your situation...with oem license are tie to MB, u still can do minor upgrade...but some ppl even manage to transfer the license even when change PC...
wailam
May 23 2017, 09:24 AM
nope. OEM stick with your mobo. which means if you mobo is RMA there's a chance you have to buy a new licence for your OS because windows already register the licence to your previous mobo and it stuck there. Doesn't matter whatever upgrade you do just don't change the mobo. In short, get retail for desktop. OEM is prefer on laptop mostly.
TSPakrol
May 23 2017, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(wailam @ May 23 2017, 09:24 AM) nope. OEM stick with your mobo. which means if you mobo is RMA there's a chance you have to buy a new licence for your OS because windows already register the licence to your previous mobo and it stuck there. Doesn't matter whatever upgrade you do just don't change the mobo. In short, get retail for desktop. OEM is prefer on laptop mostly. noted
kongming
Aug 4 2017, 03:51 PM
If you decide to run your Windows 10 very long time in one PC, then it should be OEM. If you have enough $$, then you head to retail. ( only my advice for reference ).
1kokies
Aug 15 2017, 10:11 PM
Used to be in the same situation but after 5 machines there is nothing wrong with OEM, it is half the price cheaper. my MB does not break down all the time. The only reason i use retail nowadays is VMware
zhihao4456
Aug 24 2017, 01:41 PM
I would recommend to go for OEM, seldom will face MB breakdown unless you really unlucky~ Cheaper and u using it for long run
JshyanL
Aug 31 2017, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(wailam @ May 23 2017, 09:24 AM) nope. OEM stick with your mobo. which means if you mobo is RMA there's a chance you have to buy a new licence for your OS because windows already register the licence to your previous mobo and it stuck there. Doesn't matter whatever upgrade you do just don't change the mobo. In short, get retail for desktop. OEM is prefer on laptop mostly. Nop. The owner that help me to setup my rig told me that if you send your mobo to RMA, Microsoft will help you to transfer the key to the new mobo.
TheMrBinary
Aug 31 2017, 06:32 PM
OEM, not that expensive consider if you want to use on your PC for a very long term.
1kokies
Oct 8 2017, 10:10 PM
yeah just get OEM will do
Andrewtst
Oct 22 2017, 05:08 AM
For personal use just get OEM even though buying OEM license only without machine is illegal because shop supposedly only can sell you OEM with bundle new machine and installed it.
If your motherboard dead, you can call Microsoft and those customer service will help you settle it. Off course you need to tell them a story they accept for doing it because in actual term it is not transferable.
In a legal way, user only can buy retail box if didn't buy together with new machine and the shop in legal way only can sell you retail box set if you not buying full new set PC from shop.
This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 22 2017, 05:11 AM
nuvi
Oct 24 2017, 02:34 PM
OEM is good enough. I use Win 7 for more than 5 years and no issue. Even got free upgrade to Win 10
junclj
Nov 10 2017, 09:27 AM
You can switch OEM license to others PC too but need to depends on your luck. If that key is can't activate online in the new PC. You have to trick Microsoft by calling Microsoft UK toll free system. I have method to trick the Microsoft toll system. Just cheat the robot in the toll system. If the robot ask you "on how many computer you installed", just press 1 only to reply as Yes, only 1 computer.