Choosing Life Insurance, Advice Please!!!

yewkhuay
post Nov 7 2007, 02:30 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Nov 7 2007, 12:27 PM)
HI, im just fresh grad and now working for about 5 months oledy..i plan to buy an insurance, but duno which company is offer better...so can i ask

im 23 years old this year, female ..

should my insurance cover all this

-deaths
-medical card (i think this is a must)
-TPD
-PA
-36 Diseases ( is it a need?)
-female diseases

currently my frens recommend ,Prudential, but i wan to hear all of u opinion...
mind to share with me?my budget is around rm 160.00
wub.gif thanks..
160/m, 23F

1. Death + 36DD, TPD = 120K
2. Medical card =50K-->150K lifetime
3. TPD income 120K
4. Waiver for premium during TPD @ 36DD
5. Option to add female disease but RM160/m may not sufficient , else hav to cut down 1. n 3. at least by half.
6. PA 30K
yewkhuay
post Nov 7 2007, 08:21 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Nov 7 2007, 03:04 PM)
Age =23
Fresh Grad
Occupation = Material Analyst
y 20years?? --> I've been told that after pay for few years, the premium or interest can cover the RM163...Erm...y 20years har rclxub.gif mistaken for something else...mistake...pai seh wub.gif
Yup...need more insurance 20yrs later... but currently just as starting... around RM160 monthly is ok lor...
Question: When i feel need more insurance, i can revise my policy rite? So IMO, i pay RM160 for few years, then when the premium/interest able to cover the RM160, it's time for me to revise the insurance lor...
Terminate the medical card,36 Critical Illness,PA but remain the life insurance. Then get a new Policy with higher coverage. So by this way, the old policy(Life Insurance only) still on going, as the premium/interest can cover, i need to pay for the new policy right??

Bout the medical card, i din ask that "someone" also lar...i just hear hear hear only...That "someone"  is my GF's bro blink.gif  first time visit her house, he told me this stuff pulak  doh.gif

Anyway, i only plan to get insurance mid next year...so now i only listen n read only... tongue.gif
Reasons, dun want insurance be my burden now...and also building up my liquidity...planned to change job next year rolleyes.gif so need to review again my salary whether can cope with what i've to pay whistling.gif
ar....verl lazy wanto read paragraph tongue.gif (next time pls put number for question.... tongue.gif )
1. if it is investmentlinked (ILP), yes, u can increase premium later at anniversary.
2. Y terminate medical card ? use until it expires at age 70 or so...
3. Nowadays , Life insurance = Death+ TPD + 36Disease , u need critical illness more when u r old, death is only an ending when u r old coz ur dependants are independant at tht time, u donwan them to pay their hard-earned money to hospital for ur sickness...
4. by the time u terminate old policy n get new policy, the premium is higher than u expect...old is gold as it accumulates cash bonus / return.
5. 1 thing about buying insurance from someone u know, u can't ask until very detail due to Paiseh, so u can get a stranger agent n ask kaokao.
6. never think insurance is a burden, it's a commitment, it's not accessary, it is necessary.

QUOTE(SK2 @ Nov 7 2007, 04:42 PM)
can i ask what is the difference for saving and investment link insurance? which 1 is more suitable for me?
my frens said if buy investment link insurance, then the medical card not need to top up when we are getthing older cos will using investment money to top up.is it right?

then the saving insurance will not.

but what are u all guys opinion?

thanks for u all opinion..
1. savings = u keep money in insurance company, it provides u some coverage n give u CASH bonus on the money u save and maturity bonus when it matures / expires at certain year. investmentlinked aka ILP , u pay for all the coverage u wan in the policy ($$ burnt), remaining $$ goes into insurance company investment fund (differs by portfolio) and invest ur money , risk of return is involved.

2. the medical card fees for ILP still increase every few yrs, is just that in ur policy everything is calculated ( charges as in 1.) , it will generate a projected return from ur investment that will be sufficient to cover the premium increment for ur medical card, so ur guess is right. saving insurance does not have medical card, u hav to buy standalone medical card .
yewkhuay
post Nov 9 2007, 12:31 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(SK2 @ Nov 8 2007, 04:31 PM)
blink.gif
Then is it means savings insurance is better than investment link insurance? sweat.gif

my frens recommend me this :Investment link

Death -30k
36 diseases -30k
medical card + hospital benefit
PA -30K
TDP -30K
Female -50K

the fees is rm 190/month..

so what do u all think?for me is a bit high the fees ...so anyone can give me some opinion which 1 need to cut down? blink.gif
look at ur family history (mom, sis, aunt, grandma...) , if there is no female disease case b4 age60, then female coverage to u not so important yet.

190/m u can actually get the above excluding female coverage , for 150-200K protection in 3D.
yewkhuay
post Jan 24 2008, 06:45 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Jan 24 2008, 08:31 AM)
What's the name of this policy?

Added on January 24, 2008, 8:33 am
My fren just quote me a 3D policy, 50k --> RM125mthly, 100k --> RM240++ mthly  rclxub.gif
perhaps u might wanto ask ur fren is tht a traditional life insurance which cover only 3D or a investmentlinked plan tht cover 3D n allow u to add many riders. the way i see it, it is a traditional plan. it depends on ur personal need n taste.
yewkhuay
post May 3 2008, 06:34 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ May 3 2008, 05:39 PM)
hi all, I'm considering between Prudential (PAP) and Great Eastern life insurance.

For Prudential
- covers up to 100k...I think Medical Card - 150k
- monthly fees - RM300
- plus some small investment-like savings whereby at the end of 30 years I may get back 130k

For Great Eastern
- covers up to 200k but the coverage is split between PA, 36 CI, etc (I only remember seeing 70k, 40k, 25k, 50k for the four main coverage)
- upon death (touch wood) the benefiter gets 160k
- also has some small investment-like savings whereby at the end of 30 years I may get back 97k.

I don't have much details on Great Eastern coz their agents are not allowed to give out any proposals like Prudential. Any of you guys can recommend which is better?
rm300 a month and u r getting 100K coverage ? how old are u?

something is wrong with the quotation tht u received from both party, ILP should be able to get u higher coverage like 200K up.
yewkhuay
post May 3 2008, 06:40 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ May 3 2008, 06:36 PM)
the 300 is split actually. 150 goes to insurance while the other 150 goes to savings I mentioned. Btw, I'm 24.
for Great Eastern...its just RM150 per month.
u mean 150 goes to investment? ic

btw, 150/m for ur age , u should be getting something like 150K coverage for Death TPD n CI, and a medical card of 150K total. PA u can get better buy outside the plan, tht is if u need it.
yewkhuay
post Aug 15 2008, 08:05 AM

6,657 posts

life insurance normally covers death, TPD, critical illnesses.
Personal insurance ? i think u mean medical insurance. med insurance covers ur medical bills.

0.0169sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:39 AM