19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Choosing Life Insurance, Advice Please!!!

mtsen
post Jul 22 2009, 09:58 PM

1,473 posts

agent commissions not entirely a bad thing geh ... without the comm, only the mother company becomes filty rich and when they become rich enough, they pay themselves big bonus despite company collapse like AIG now.

As for commissions system, at least some of our friends may get some shares. You know quite a lot of my x-school mates who didn't make it to higher education, at least they didn't join the gang and get killed, instead they work very hard running around like mad dogs and today they are very much settled down lor ...

ya eventually everything online and direct to consumer, but I also suggest at least we should have 'online' agent who cut smaller commission, less work to do mah. By then, we pay for intellectual services and not the running around part, then whole society improve lor ...

vote me lah to become finance minister, everyone can eat ... ha ha

I didn't dig deep to PruMed sorry, other lower quotes draw my attention away *sorry* but I also think that by some tuning using an ILP, I may receive better quotes. I think I was asking for stand alone and then ended up with a quote with a build in 50k term life etc. Or I was just browsing some brochures to get those quotes myself ... I will share that here once I find that again ...

Added on July 22, 2009, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 22 2009, 05:49 PM)
it's just a matter of time. in europe allianz opened allianz24 just like many others. no agents, direct internet - and guess what: premiums are around 30% below the regular rate. and this is the same for most other insurers too. i look forward to this beeing just an agent for one company is not good enough. i guess there will only be a future for impartial insurance advisers. at least i would love to pay one to do all the comparison work me. at my hourly rate i am investing several annual premiums into the research alone *sigh* i rather pay someone else a few hundred bucks or so to do it for me on a regular basis.
wei wei, serious or not, my comparison is growing lor ... may be you let me know what your priorities are then while I am doing mine, I keep another copy for you .. then you look at it, if you like it, u pay me lor. if not like it then at least I know where I can improve smile.gif

Added on July 22, 2009, 10:53 pmhave found where I got the Pru rates, its from this link

http://www2.prudential.com.my/corporate/li...es/pmm5_eng.pdf

I choose the cheapest one, which is "Annual Premium Rates for Traditional Policies"

Hope this is useful for Pru Experts, and in terms help me back smile.gif ie. to choose a package fast. else tomorrow I kena hospitalize and didn't die, then die lor .... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mtsen: Jul 22 2009, 10:53 PM
PJusa
post Jul 23 2009, 06:43 PM

2,025 posts

this is interesting. and it confirms my previous assumption that a flexible premium will give you significant discounts over a fixed premium. i will add the plan to the list when i get to H&S plans attached to a life policy.

i would not limit my cover to 55-60. it's afterwards when you will really need the cover. choose a plan that offers a guaranteed renewal up to 70 or 80 - at least then you have the option. if you decide later, then you might be screwed. if you decide you dont need it you just dont renew. ideal lah.

for cover up to 70 there are plenty of plans. for up to eighty with guaranteed renewal and without fees that go into the 10s of thousands (yes i mean you Manulife and it also goes into the direction of Great Eastern - who in malaysia can or wnts to afford such premiums for your tiny cover that you furthermore cap with a lifetime limit!?) you are stuck with two options that i have found so far: Allianz and AXA.

if you go down to 70 there are a great number of plans - havent checked rates yet. will put in a feature to calculate the remaining life-time premiums and average anual premium. that is a better value to compare long term affordability and exposes hikes you otherwise overlook. afterall who cares about this years premium with a plan that runs 30 years right.

for small cover B.HealthNet might be interesting. dunno if guaranteed renewable though. AIA ExelCare Plus, ING MediPlus, Kurnia's MediGuard (catch: guaranteed renewal only until 65) are also in the game.
c.o.o.l
post Jul 23 2009, 07:14 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(mtsen @ Jul 22 2009, 09:58 PM)
I didn't dig deep to PruMed sorry, other lower quotes draw my attention away *sorry* but I also think that by some tuning using an ILP, I may receive better quotes.  I think I was asking for stand alone and then ended up with a quote with a build in 50k term life etc.  Or I was just browsing some brochures to get those quotes myself ... I will share that here once I find that again ...

have found where I got the Pru rates, its from this link

http://www2.prudential.com.my/corporate/li...es/pmm5_eng.pdf

I choose the cheapest one, which is "Annual Premium Rates for Traditional Policies"

Hope this is useful for Pru Experts, and in terms help me back smile.gif  ie. to choose a package fast.  else tomorrow I kena hospitalize and didn't die, then die lor .... biggrin.gif
the one in brochure is the insurance charges for only the medical card. Insurance charges will be increase by age. Actual premium will be different from what stated in the brochure. Also, try looking for PRUHealth instead of PMM5 as PMM5 will be phase out soon.

What help you needed? If you need a quotation which is 10k life/TPD + medical card, then I can make for you.
PJusa
post Jul 23 2009, 08:26 PM

2,025 posts

funny. i thought there are two ways too look at the premium (subject to portfolio adjustment across age bands):

(quote from brochure)

The premiums of PRUmajor med 5 are available in 2 forms. If PRUmajor med 5 is attached to a PRUlink policy or a Universal Life Policy, the level premiums are payable. However, premiums payable for a PRUmajor med 5 plan attached to a traditional life policy are based on the attained age. This means, as the age increases, its premium increases.

Added on July 24, 2009, 8:46 ammtsen,

share your comparison... i let you look at mine too wink.gif

This post has been edited by PJusa: Jul 24 2009, 08:46 AM
mtsen
post Jul 25 2009, 12:31 AM

1,473 posts

my personal theory of old age medical plan is, keep a minimum plan coz by then

1. rich n famous - up to u, do whatever u want
2. poor - GH

at old age, chances to hospitalize and die is high, so may as well load up CI and life.

But this part is personal, everyone make their own decision on how they view their lives or want their lives to be.
simplesmile
post Jul 25 2009, 12:46 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(mtsen @ Jul 25 2009, 12:31 AM)
my personal theory of old age medical plan is, keep a minimum plan coz by then

1. rich n famous - up to u, do whatever u want
2. poor - GH

at old age, chances to hospitalize and die is high, so may as well load up CI and life.

But this part is personal, everyone make their own decision on how they view their lives or want their lives to be.
But CI cover only until certain age. After that no more cover.
So what's the point of buying CI when you're young and healthy. But when you're old and may need the CI coverage, you're no longer covered.

This post has been edited by simplesmile: Jul 25 2009, 12:47 AM
PJusa
post Jul 25 2009, 09:29 AM

2,025 posts

simplesmile,

i think this is the point actually. you just insure yourself against the risk that it strikes way too early. so its a crisis cover of sorts to make up for loss of income. better than nothing but admitedly not ideal.
Vitorbarbosa
post Jul 27 2009, 04:39 PM

73 posts

Agree with PJusa.

There are a few plan out there which cover CI until age 80+.

sense_less143
post Jul 28 2009, 02:48 AM

428 posts

also, what can you guys tell me about einsurans.com? Medical card 500,000 wth 50k annual limit, quoted just RM44 per month. let me know..
PJusa
post Jul 28 2009, 08:31 AM

2,025 posts

hi,

the plans sounds like Allianz EB Medishield Plus to me. premiums would also fit roughly. i calculated 379.2 for a male, 33 - allianz quotes the exact same pricing. also benefits are the same. only plan with 10x lifetime limit i know. going direct might give you a better discount. the axa plan withtout lifetime limit would be 337 for the situation. cover seems slightly less but i will have to double check with them on some covers. basically the outpatient benefits for stroke, cancer and dialysis are a lot better with allianz since they are annually.
numbertwo
post Jul 28 2009, 10:06 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jul 25 2009, 12:46 AM)
So what's the point of buying CI when you're young and healthy. But when you're old and may need the CI coverage, you're no longer covered.
What about this type of plan :

Whole life non par, with a slightly more expensive premium than term life but cheaper than Par policy. Breakeven (cash value) is about ~15 years onwards and you are allow to carry a CI with the policy and expiry is age 100. This way you may lock-in a high CI coverage while young. ALthough you are paying a slightly higher premium for the life portion compares to just a term life, but if you believe you will live for the next 10, 20 years you are actually getting sort of a 'free' life coverage as the cash value will out-grow your premium after 15 years..

I got a quote on this type of plan. Female age @ 34, a 100K CI costs RM843 - till age 100.

just to share.
PJusa
post Jul 28 2009, 11:15 AM

2,025 posts

this plan in general sounds not too bad to me. life cover is how much? in this scenary you can use the CI cover to actually cover medical costs due the age limit. this is a twist from the usual application of using CI to cover for loss of income in which case cover until 65 is fine but the ideal cover would be a decreasing cover which is close to impossible to get in the market. so you must underinsure first or overinsure when ending age comes near. so CI until 100 is in my eyes an interesting alternative. cant say much about the premium - havent gotten to comparisons there.
Vitorbarbosa
post Jul 28 2009, 11:37 AM

73 posts

I think 50k annual limit is too low especially for you who is so young. But you can always start small, and increase later.
numbertwo
post Jul 28 2009, 11:51 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 28 2009, 11:15 AM)
this plan in general sounds not too bad to me. life cover is how much? in this scenary you can use the CI cover to actually cover medical costs due the age limit. this is a twist from the usual application of using CI to cover for loss of income in which case cover until 65 is fine but the ideal cover would be a decreasing cover which is close to impossible to get in the market. so you must underinsure first or overinsure when ending age comes near. so CI until 100 is in my eyes an interesting alternative. cant say much about the premium - havent gotten to comparisons there.
Life 100K at RM1134.
PJusa
post Jul 28 2009, 12:09 PM

2,025 posts

i figured - life and CI have to tandem right? always must have a catch. cause if you really keep the CI then the life part wont benefit you too much. a small life cover 10k maybe to cover funeral would be nicer.
numbertwo
post Jul 28 2009, 01:11 PM

1,784 posts

Yes, no surprise , we all know there is no free rides.
PJusa
post Jul 28 2009, 02:20 PM

2,025 posts

its not about free rides. more that insurers dont want to supply a CI plan as a standalone or in a way that it makes sense from a financial planning point of view. if you attach a high life cover along even coverage until 100 becomes less worthwhile since the life insurance destroys the purpose of the CI plan.
raph
post Jul 28 2009, 05:42 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jul 28 2009, 10:06 AM)
What about this type of plan :

Whole life non par, with a slightly more expensive premium than term life but cheaper than Par policy.  Breakeven (cash value) is about ~15 years onwards and you are allow to carry a CI with the policy and expiry is age 100.  This way you may lock-in a high CI coverage while young.  ALthough you are paying a slightly higher premium for the life portion compares to just a term life, but if you believe you will live for the next 10, 20 years you are actually getting sort of a  'free' life coverage as the cash value will out-grow your premium after 15 years..

I got a quote on this type of plan.  Female age @ 34, a 100K CI costs RM843 - till age 100.

just to share.
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jul 28 2009, 11:51 AM)
Life 100K at RM1134.
why dont you go for:

life RM20K = RM 326.80 per year
PCLR RM100k = RM 937 per year
total = RM 1263.80

PCLR is different with normal CI, because with normal CI, the claim is whichever come first basis. lets say 100K life and 50k CI, if CI happen, u get 50k, but your life coverage left 50K.

edit: PCLR 100,000

This post has been edited by raph: Jul 28 2009, 05:48 PM
ChinHong86
post Jul 28 2009, 10:17 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jul 25 2009, 01:46 AM)
Actually our company have CI coverage till age 100,
and i blif many others have it too

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Jul 28 2009, 03:48 AM)
also, what can you guys tell me about einsurans.com? Medical card 500,000 wth 50k annual limit, quoted just RM44 per month. let me know..
To let u know
our unlimited lifetime coverage medical card with RM90k annual limit is only RM588 P.a.
PJusa
post Jul 28 2009, 10:45 PM

2,025 posts

is this excel care plus? how to eliminate lifetime limit? please post entire premium schedule until age 100 for male and female with and without lifetime limit so one can really compare.

thanks smile.gif

19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:01 PM